Nvidia DVI to HDMI shows as analog on computer - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-04-2009, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
connectedav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One day my HTPC stopped displaying anything on my TV. I rebuilt the entire machine and when I plugged it back into the TV it shows nothing on the screen. After trouble shooting I realized the connection was showing as an analong connection to a generic monitor. When it does work It shows a sprcific device as the monitor with a digital connection. I have a dvi to hdmi cable to the hdmi of the TV. Any suggestions how to fix this, or is it possible its the TV's hdmi that is causing the issue.
connectedav is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-04-2009, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
slothy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what video card? and have you tried updating drivers for it?
slothy is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-04-2009, 08:31 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
connectedav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Older Nvidia GT 8500. Updated to the latest and greatest.
connectedav is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 12-04-2009, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Bubster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Isn't DRM grand?

1. Try different cable.
2. Try diff video card.
Bubster is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-04-2009, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
connectedav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thing is it was working fine for the longest time, then swapped the MB. Since then I could not get the TV to work, yet brougt it to work and used a VGA cable to a monitor without any issues, take it back home use a DVI and it can no longer find the signal. Then at one point I got it working and thats when I realized the TV was showing correctly. Reboot and it goes back to pnp monitor again and now no longer shows up.
connectedav is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 12-04-2009, 11:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What resolution are you sending over the DVI-HDMI connection to the
TV using the Nvidia 195.xx drivers?do a
Is the TV turned on with the HDMI connection you are using selected when you set the resolution in the Nvidia drivers?
Are you able to perform a F8 SafeMode boot using the TV as the dispaly?
walford is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 12-04-2009, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
connectedav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had it working on 1280 x 720, but also had it working fine on just about every other resolution.
TV tuned check..set to hdmi 1
At least point I get nothing on the TV, not even boot/post screen.
connectedav is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 12-04-2009, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bigbird999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like the DVI port is not being detected or is not enabled. In Your bios there might be a setting where you select which video card/port is the primary. Can you go to the NV control panel and force detection of the panel or clone the VGA so that DVI works

I am an ATI guy but I think I had a similar problem once that I solved by hooking up a vga monitor and in the CCC I enabled the DVI port as a secondary display, extended mode. Then I made the dvi the primary, shut down, disconnected the monitor, rebooted et voila, it worked on the DVI.

Just giving you something to try.


BB

New wealth is created in 2 ways:
You dig it from the ground (mining and oil)
Or you grow it (fishing, farming and forestry).
Everything else is just processing what you dug up or grew.
Bigbird999 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off