HDPC with YPbPr - YUV (Component) out - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-08-2009, 01:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
goloetmala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking for a HDPC (mini-ITX motherboard if possible, but not mandatory) that can output a HD signal (up to 1080p) in YPbPr out of DVI or out RCA connectors.
As every new chipset comes with HDMI, it's barely impossible to find one that can still output an HD analog signal.

I have successfully done HDTV-out over DVI with special dongle on ATI 3450 cards, but it's on a Desktop computer and I am looking for something more compact.

--> Anyone who can redirect me to a HDPC supplier that proposes such feature ?
goloetmala is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-08-2009, 07:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You probably will not find a MOBO that supports YPrPb component(HDTV-Out) directly. You would need to use a DVI to YprPb transcoder instead. I suggest that you get a MOBO that does not have an IGP and then you can choose a graphics card that best meets all of your current and potential future requirements.
walford is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-08-2009, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
goloetmala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am also digging into the transcoder solution.

I ask another question :
--> Any hard facts around that tell me which source is 'the best' out of HDMI, DVI, RGB to generate a YPbPr signal. 'The best' in the sense that best picture quality and best reliability from the transcoder.
goloetmala is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-08-2009, 08:43 AM
osv
AVS Special Member
 
osv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just got a brand new 54" panny plasma, and it won't display a 1080p signal via the component inputs... i think that is probably the norm these days, so take a good look at the monitor that you are using.
osv is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-08-2009, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I think there is only one hdmi/dvi to component transcoder - the hdfury. for the cost though, you are probably much better off with a $30 discrete card.
Derek K. is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-08-2009, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Servicetech571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If your TV will only accept component use a video card with dongle. I Don't know of any TV's w/o an HDMI input that can accept a 1080p signal. If your TV doesn't have HDMI it won't do 1080p (Just 1080i).
Servicetech571 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-10-2009, 08:06 PM
Member
 
fiteclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you don't use the HDFury, then the resolution will be reduced to 540p on the component output if the copy protect flag is set on Bluray disks. The HDfury overcomes this because it is an HDCP compliant HDMI to Component/RGB converter.
fiteclub is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-11-2009, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiteclub View Post

If you don't use the HDFury, then the resolution will be reduced to 540p on the component output if the copy protect flag is set on Bluray disks. The HDfury overcomes this because it is an HDCP compliant HDMI to Component/RGB converter.

easily overcome without a hdfury.
Derek K. is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-11-2009, 10:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Neither RGB component or YPrPb component support HDCP since they are broadcast interfaces and not handshaking interfaces. AFAIK all of the studios have agreed not to release any Blu-ray DVDs with the Image Control Token(ICT) flag set until 2012 so their content can be output at HD resolutions over component until that time without problem.
walford is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-11-2009, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdunnill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiteclub View Post

If you don't use the HDFury, then the resolution will be reduced to 540p on the component output if the copy protect flag is set on Bluray disks. The HDfury overcomes this because it is an HDCP compliant HDMI to Component/RGB converter.

Slysoft overcomes this, too. And it's a lot cheaper than an HDFury.

Blu-ray: 50+
HD-DVD: 23
DVD: 600+ and lost count
rdunnill is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 12-11-2009, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdunnill View Post

Slysoft overcomes this, too. And it's a lot cheaper than an HDFury.

I agree. It's too bad tho that people need to resort to criminal acts just to play their movies.
sebberry is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off