Will this work for a 1080p htpc - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-08-2009, 06:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pheare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

Was looling at the zino's among other machines for a dedicated htpc when I realized I have an old pc sitting around doing nothing.

But before I go and buy a needed power supply to get it running again, I'd like to get some opinions on whether this would work for a 1080p htpc.

I would install windows 7 on it.

cpu is a athlon 64 3200+.
Motherboard is asus abn-e - has pci-e
2 gig ram

In reading the stickied htpc guide, it sounds like if I add a video card such as the radeon hd 2600, I should be good for 1080p, correct?

Do you think these specs will suffice?

With a card like the 2600, I presume I don't need a separate sound card to do 5.1?

Since the card just has dvi out, will any old dvi to hdmi adapter work or do you need something special to get the 5.1 sounds as well?

Thanks a lot.
--------
edit

Or would the radeon hd 4650 card be even better yet? native hdmi connection and 7.1 suppport. I presume this will do all the h.264 encoding as well?

http://www.memoryexpress.com/Product...2%28ME%29.aspx
pheare is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-09-2009, 07:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The 4650 is a much better choice. I am not sure the 2600 even has enough GPU power and onboard memory to handle 1080i content.
walford is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-09-2009, 07:36 AM
Member
 
Disaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

The 4650 is a much better choice. I am not sure the 2600 even has enough GPU power and onboard memory to handle 1080i content.

Agreed, I think you need to go to the 3XXX or 4XXX series to get full hd decoding support. The minimum is the 3450,...or 3850, if I recall. Check out ATI's website. ATI lists the capabilities of the GPU's.
Disaster is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-09-2009, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pheare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool thanks.

info on HD 4600 series from ati's website:

ATI Avivo HD Video and Display Platform1
* 2nd generation Unified Video Decoder (UVD 2)
o Enabling hardware decode acceleration of H.264, VC-1 and MPEG-2

So, with this card, is it a safe bet I will be fine for 1080p with just my athlon 64 3200+?

2 gigs of ram enough?

I would be looking to use Win 7 Media center with either My Movies 3 or Media Broswer - there shouldn't be any issues offloading playback to the gpu, should there?

Thanks.
pheare is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-09-2009, 09:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Your CPU and memory are fine.
walford is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-09-2009, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 134
I don't know a lot about video cards but I have a ATI 2400 which is like 2 years old and I can play 1080p files at 10-15% with a dual core processor and DXVA acceleration. I think you will be just fine and not have to upgrade the card.
StinDaWg is online now  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-09-2009, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pheare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post

I don't know a lot about video cards but I have a ATI 2400 which is like 2 years old and I can play 1080p files at 10-15% with a dual core processor and DXVA acceleration. I think you will be just fine and not have to upgrade the card.


Ya, I don't actually have the 2600 or any card right now that would be suitable for 1080p. Plus, I like that the 4650 will do 7.1 and has hdmi out built right in.

Well, I am happy all I have to get is the card and a new power supply. Much cheaper than the ~$700cdn it was going to cost me for a new htpc
pheare is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-09-2009, 11:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Are you sure you need a new power supply?
Since you only have one HDD and 2gb of ram your current supply may do just fine.
walford is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-09-2009, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pheare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^I guess my wording in my initial post wasn't that clear. I need a new power supply cause the computer does not currently work. Nothing happens when I hit the power button - I'm assuming it is power supply.

Not sure if there is any easy way to test the ps out.
pheare is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-09-2009, 12:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
One one of my sytems I thought I had a bad power supply but it turned out that that my MOBO had shorted to the cabinet frame and had to be replacedl. There was nothing wrong with the system power supply. I had an old power supply that I could try and helped to realize that the power supply was not the problem.
walford is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 12-09-2009, 01:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pheare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well, hope that is not the case for me. Guess we'll see.
pheare is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off