FFmpeg/ffdshow ISO MPEG-4 codec - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-13-2009, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JimB0b123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I've downloaded a file from: http://www.bigbuckbunny.org/index.php/download/ that I wish to play.

If I run the file through GSpot, it says the CODEC that I need (and is not installed) is: Fmpeg/ffdshow ISO MPEG-4 or FMP4.

A quick google search will point me to plenty of codec packs and players but all I want is the single CODEC.

Has anybody else encountered this before?

Thanks!
JimB0b123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-13-2009, 08:45 AM
Member
 
buzzqw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XviD decoder should be able to handle this

ffdshow is a better choice

BHH

HDConvertToX, AutoMKV, AutoMen, AutoX264 developer, Panasonic P46G10, Htpc, PS3, Yahama 663, himedia 900a, neotv550, dune smart h1

buzzqw is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-13-2009, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JimB0b123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I already have Xvid and unfortunately, it doesn't.

As for FFDShow, I don't want to use any codec packs.

Thanks for your help anyway.
JimB0b123 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-13-2009, 11:00 AM
Member
 
buzzqw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when you install xvid (i suggest to use the Koepi build's) you have the possibility to decode all mpeg4 formats..

maybe worth a try to reinstall xvid

BHH

HDConvertToX, AutoMKV, AutoMen, AutoX264 developer, Panasonic P46G10, Htpc, PS3, Yahama 663, himedia 900a, neotv550, dune smart h1

buzzqw is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-13-2009, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JimB0b123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using this version:

http://www.koepi.info/xvid.html

There wasn't any option for enabling all MPEG4 codecs.

I managed to get the file to work in DirectShow by changing the FourCC to XVID.

However, after reading your post, I decided to open the "Configure Decoder" option in the start menu and now I am getting an error about opening the ax file for it. Is this a Windows Vista 64 bit error (file paths different or something?).

Thanks.

Ps. I've just (after replying) rerun the installation of Xvid. I see what you mean, I enabled the all options tickbox. The configuration option in the start menu still doesn't work, but I think that's because the xvid.ax file is stored in the syswow64 folder instead of perhaps the system32 folder. Would it just be a simple case of moving the file and reregistering it?

Thanks.
JimB0b123 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-13-2009, 12:45 PM
Member
 
buzzqw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes, moving and registering again should do the trick

BHH

HDConvertToX, AutoMKV, AutoMen, AutoX264 developer, Panasonic P46G10, Htpc, PS3, Yahama 663, himedia 900a, neotv550, dune smart h1

buzzqw is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off