EDID into from new Intel Drivers is not correct - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 12-13-2009, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I went to put in the registry entry for the resolution, after the latest Intel drivers allowed my screen to drop to 800 x 600 resolution.

I use DTDCalc to do this, taking the EDID info from the info button in the Intel control panel.

Now, the EDID info looks strange. DTDCalc does not accept it.

Anyone know anything more about this?

Here is what the EDID looks like now:

Raw EDID:
0 ff ff ff ff ff ff 0 11 ee c 0 1 1 1 1
0 11 1 3 80 0 0 78 a da ff a3 58 4a a2 29
17 49 4b 0 0 0 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
1 1 1 1 1 1 2 3a 80 18 71 38 2d 40 58 2c
45 0 98 6 32 0 0 1e 1 1d 80 18 71 1c 16 20
58 2c 25 0 98 6 32 0 0 9e 0 0 0 fc 0 44
45 4e 4f 4e 2d 41 56 41 4d 50 a 20 0 0 0 fd
0 3b 3d f 44 f 0 a 20 20 20 20 20 20 0 0
cybrsage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 12-13-2009, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Please correct me if I am wrong, but I think the leading zero is missing from all of the single digit entries. I have edited it to be the following:

00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00 11 ee 0c 00 01 01 01 01
00 11 01 03 80 00 00 78 0a da ff a3 58 4a a2 29
17 49 4b 00 00 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
01 01 01 01 01 01 02 3a 80 18 71 38 2d 40 58 2c
45 00 98 06 32 00 00 1e 01 1d 80 18 71 1c 16 20
58 2c 25 00 98 06 32 00 00 9e 00 00 00 fc 00 44
45 4e 4f 4e 2d 41 56 41 4d 50 0a 20 00 00 00 fd
00 3b 3d 0f 44 0f 00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00

Does this seem correct?

It gave me two lines which appear to be correct, with my limited knowledge. One was 1080p and the other 1080i.
cybrsage is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 12-13-2009, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I discovered moninfo, a better way of getting the EDID info.
cybrsage is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 12-13-2009, 01:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Parsing EDID problems with a Denon receiver? If you're on Vista or Win7 an EDID override is a better, much safer solution than editing the registry. Anyway the created monitor driver will always be better than the GenericPnp Monitor driver that Windows uses by default.

If you didn't have EDID issues with your Denon AVR EDID before, then just capture the EDID with moninfo, create the monitor driver and apply the EDID override.

Otherwise use the Denon_MOD.inf I posted here. It should work fine for you.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 12-13-2009, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I don't know what happened to my post...I probably messed up in the posting somehow.

I followed the directions in your other thread (which is where I learned of the moninfo). I saved the file an an ini file, applied it, rebooted, and all Hell broke loose.

The ini file set the resolution to somethin which could not be displayed. My TV showed the big word DENON, like you see if you turn off the HTPC but leave everything else on.

It would then reboot by itself, and enter a loop.

I connected a PC monitor to the HTPC and it then entered Windows and told me of a horrific error to Windows.

I had to uninstall my monitors (in the hardware section) and reboot to stay in Windows without the pc monitor...but then the Intel drivers would only allow me to choose either 30Hz or 31Hz (odd, I know). I had to uninstall the Intel drivers and reboot, upon which Windows installed the Windows Update version of the drivers and I was fine again.

I then reinstalled the latest Intel drivers and it worked.


My issue is it would occasionally drop to 800 x 600 in Media Center. Windows itself would stil be at full 1080p, which is odd.
cybrsage is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 12-13-2009, 02:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
That's pretty interesting as there's another poster having a similar issue with an Intel IGP driver and a Denon AVR when he applied the EDID Override.

So maybe the EDID override cannot be used with these Intel chipsets?

Anyway, glad you worked it out. Will refer the other poster to this thread so that he's informed.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 12-14-2009, 05:19 AM - Thread Starter
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
After my initial "oh crap, how do I fix THAT" moment, I calmed down and was able to work through it.

cybrsage is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 12-14-2009, 01:59 PM
Member
 
usctrojan98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

After my initial "oh crap, how do I fix THAT" moment, I calmed down and was able to work through it.


So you are able to override the EDID through moninfo (or otherwise)?
usctrojan98 is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 12-14-2009, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

That's pretty interesting as there's another poster having a similar issue with an Intel IGP driver and a Denon AVR when he applied the EDID Override.

So maybe the EDID override cannot be used with these Intel chipsets?

Anyway, glad you worked it out. Will refer the other poster to this thread so that he's informed.

Last time I checked (a while ago now) EDID override using a custom inf really crapped out Intel's drivers. Has this changed? Can we finally pull DTDCalc from our site and leave this to Entech? What was your solution Cybrsage?

Not looking forward to the "does DTDCalc support Clarkdale" questions either (especially as I haven't seen Archi around for a while) so I really hope DTDCalc is now redundant. I hope even more that there'll be no need for either "workaround"

Fingers crossed.

Wo0zy
Wo0zy is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 12-14-2009, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll try to see if Clarkdale can be EDID Overridden with the current drivers. The "leading zeroes" bug is fixed on the set of drivers I have.

DTDCalc is good for overscan correction calculation, even if the new Intel driver GUI permits specification of custom timings.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 12-14-2009, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wo0zy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by archibael View Post

I'll try to see if Clarkdale can be EDID Overridden with the current drivers. The "leading zeroes" bug is fixed on the set of drivers I have.

DTDCalc is good for overscan correction calculation, even if the new Intel driver GUI permits specification of custom timings.

I'll ensure the download is left for a bit longer then but good to hear the drivers have the custom rez feature as standard (no reg hack?).

Will await your feedback re Clarkdale EDID override (and other features) with interest

Good to hear from you old friend. Seasons greetings.

Wo0zy
Wo0zy is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 12-14-2009, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I can guarentee the G45 hates the custom inf.
cybrsage is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 12-14-2009, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wo0zy View Post

I'll ensure the download is left for a bit longer then but good to hear the drivers have the custom rez feature as standard (no reg hack?).

Will await your feedback re Clarkdale EDID override (and other features) with interest

Good to hear from you old friend. Seasons greetings.

Wo0zy

And to you and the family. I can't say much about my beta system because I would rather not be fired, but external reviews sites have already showed the new GUI.

EDID override I will still have to check on. I've informed the team it is a valuable feature, but there are many "valuable" features and I don't know what precedence it will take over other important items. Haven't personally checked it in months (and several driver/BIOS releases). It still doesn't work on my Nvidia board. [shrug]

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 12-14-2009, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

I can guarentee the G45 hates the custom inf.

Certainly all drivers I have tried so far on G45 concur with your assessment.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 06-29-2010, 04:41 AM
Newbie
 
cyf4746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by archibael View Post

Certainly all drivers I have tried so far on G45 concur with your assessment.

Hi,
I got video problem with Clarkdale. My setup is:
Gigabyte H55m-USB3
i3 530 processor.
Optoma HD20 Projector with Marantz SR5003 AV Amp.
Screen not display correctly, and most of the time screen freeze, and no display. I try on my LCD TV with no problem.
Is it due to the EDID hand shake problem? Is the Marantz EDID available?
cyf4746 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 06-29-2010, 06:12 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
It looks like an EDID problem, but AFAIK the Clarkdale cannot be EDID-overriden. A Gefen Detective put between the Optoma and the Marantz (and programmed with the Optoma EDID) should work.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 06-29-2010, 08:52 AM
Newbie
 
cyf4746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

It looks like an EDID problem, but AFAIK the Clarkdale cannot be EDID-overriden. A Gefen Detective put between the Optoma and the Marantz (and programmed with the Optoma EDID) should work.

Hi Tulli,
Thanks for your reply.
Just tested with my old HTPC. The Optoma and Marantz works with no problem on my old HTPC:
Nvidia 9400.
Asus Xonar HDAV 1.3
C2D Processor.

Is this problem due to incompatible of intel h55m with marantz/Optoma?

bg

cyf4746
cyf4746 is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 06-29-2010, 09:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
If it works with your old htpc then the Marantz is doing its job as expected (repeating the Optoma EDID with no issues).

Can you try cleaning all monitor drivers (beware, not the graphic drivers) from your system? (follow section 4 from link in my sig. from "Make sure to delete all leftovers from the system"). Try then reconnecting the Optoma through the Marantz to the H55 and let Windows auto-detect it and reboot. See if it works now.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 06-29-2010, 09:32 AM
Newbie
 
cyf4746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Tulli,
Will post the result later...
cyf4746 is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 06-30-2010, 01:19 AM
Newbie
 
cyf4746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Tulli,
I have no luck with your recommendation and I even re-install the entire system with no luck.
And, I found out something. If i switch on the Optoma HD20 AFTER I fully boot up the Intel H55 HTPC. The screen display will have no problem. If I restart my HTPC with Optoma HD20 still on. Screen display will goes wrong and most of the time just display Green color.
Any ideas what's went wrong with it?
cyf4746 is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 06-30-2010, 03:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Ok, so it's an EDID issue indeed. Like I said above a Gefen Detective between the Optoma and the Denon will do. Or maybe an ATI 5xxx card for a cheaper solution.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 06-30-2010, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
cyf4746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Tulli....
cyf4746 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off