HTPC with Zalman HD160XT Rev.1 Running on windows 7!! - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 39 Old 12-29-2009, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wackid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As we hd160xt rev 1 users know is that the touchpanel sucks with Vista and Windows 7 even worse. This all of lack from Digitouch support drivers.

I've had contact with the distributor in Holland of Zalman. And they are more willing to help than Zalman headquarters.
I've asked them if the PCB controller unit can be swapped with one of the rev 2 and three case.
And guess what? its possible!!! I am running windows 7 with the Egalax touch controller and software.

The PCB is screwed behind the display in the right upper corner.

So for just 25 euro my windows htpc is running smooth.
wackid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 39 Old 12-31-2009, 02:25 AM
Newbie
 
kanonkurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds VERY interesting! What did You buy and from where?

I am running Vista x64. Could You give me a detailed explanation what I have to do to swap the PCB controllers and uninstall/install the software?

/Fredrik
kanonkurt is offline  
post #3 of 39 Old 12-31-2009, 08:35 AM
Member
 
Girma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wackid View Post

As we hd160xt rev 1 users know is that the touchpanel sucks with Vista and Windows 7 even worse. This all of lack from Digitouch support drivers.

I've had contact with the distributor in Holland of Zalman. And they are more willing to help than Zalman headquarters.
I've asked them if the PCB controller unit can be swapped with one of the rev 2 and three case.
And guess what? its possible!!! I am running windows 7 with the Egalax touch controller and software.

The PCB is screwed behind the display in the right upper corner.

So for just 25 euro my windows htpc is running smooth.

Nice find on the PCB swap! I too have a rev. 1 case and am running windows 7. Can you post the part number or provide a link to where it is available online?

Thanks.
Girma is offline  
post #4 of 39 Old 01-02-2010, 01:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wackid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

unfortunatly there are no partnumbers on the bag or packing list.

Just ask for the HD160XT rev.2 touch controller pcb (the one from Egalax). I haven't ordered the part on internet. Ordered it by Zalman distributor.

The new part looks like this from Egalax.

http://home.eeti.com.tw/web20/eg/4w.htm

The zalman part have a different connector.


The digitouch pcb is screwed on the base plate of the display. The Egalax pcb comes with double sided tape.

Just screw out the display (4 screws) unplug all cables. Then screw of the backplate of the display. And there you'll see the pcb. (one with the usb cable)
wackid is offline  
post #5 of 39 Old 01-07-2010, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
kanonkurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have ordered a Touch Controller PCB for Zalman HD160XT rev. 2 from my Zalman distributor.

What about software? Did You use any software from Zalman or did You just install the touch driver from Egalax?

/Fredrik
kanonkurt is offline  
post #6 of 39 Old 01-07-2010, 10:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wackid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have installed the Egalax drivers from their website.
As i am running windows 7 and no drivers yet on the zalman website.

I had never installed Zalman software only the software from Rolf in combination with speedfan.
And i have installed Microsoft Origami experience 2.0 (works only with primary display off)

You are running Vista 64, did you check on the drivers (egalax) if 64 bit drivers are available??? For windows 7 there are. So i think for Vista also??

Succes on the mod.
wackid is offline  
post #7 of 39 Old 01-09-2010, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
kanonkurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have found the Vista 64 drivers at the Egalax website, so that looks fine. I will probably get the PCB in the beginning of next week.

What do You think about Microsoft Origami Experience 2.0? Is it possible to use Spotify together with that software?

I was hoping that Microsoft would make it possible to run Microsoft SideShow on the small monitor, but AFAIK it is only possible at resolution 320x240, which I think is too low. Have You tried those media center gadgets?

/Fredrik
kanonkurt is offline  
post #8 of 39 Old 01-11-2010, 05:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wackid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont use mediacenter. Because it doesnt have nice touchscreen lay-out.
When i watch a movie i dont wanna see it on my zalman display.

I use mediaportal with a touchscreen add-on

Spotify is not available for my country i see and dont know the program.
wackid is offline  
post #9 of 39 Old 01-11-2010, 12:43 PM
Newbie
 
kanonkurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank You for the info! Microsoft really has its advantages and disadvantages , and the absence of a good solution for secondary screens in Mediacenter is really bad.

I received the Touch Controller PCB today and I took a picture of it, please look at the attached file. Could You please verify that this is the right one?

I didn't find any double sided tape, was that supposed to be included?

/Fredrik
LL
kanonkurt is offline  
post #10 of 39 Old 01-11-2010, 10:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wackid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought they've had solutions in windows 7 for touchscreens. Because of the new tablet pc's. But doenst work with the case.

Yes thats the right pcb. I received it with two double sided strips. Because the screws in the old pcb doesnt match the new one.
I've also received a flat usb cable to connect it to the MB. But afaik the cable was the same. Didnt really compared it.

Maybe my part was over in their warehouse and the salesman put the extra parts in himself?? I dont know.
wackid is offline  
post #11 of 39 Old 01-11-2010, 10:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wackid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This are some pictures i've mailed to the zalman distributor.

On foto 1 you see the back of the monitor on the upper left the old pcb.
On foto 2 only the old pcb.
LL
LL
wackid is offline  
post #12 of 39 Old 01-12-2010, 12:40 PM
Newbie
 
kanonkurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank You very much for the info . I hope I will get time this weekend to disassemble the case and the display, to be able to mount the new PCB instead.

/Fredrik
kanonkurt is offline  
post #13 of 39 Old 01-15-2010, 01:04 AM
Newbie
 
Hydra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Also have a 160XT rev.3 for a few years now.

It is indeed rather dissapointed that we don't get anny support from Zalman. The only thing they say that we can download the proper drivers from theire site... and you have to update Windows... The major problem is that they don't answer after you tell them that those drivers are almost 2 years old and not compatible with Windows Vista and Windows 7. It's clearly aren't doing anything to solve this issue.

In Windows 7 you can set the compatibillity to XP, but not everything will work, like the Equalizer and the Network-graph.

I don't recommend anyone to buy this case, but recommend the SilverStone CW03B-MT. At least they have proper drivers.

Isn't there anything we can do?
Hydra is offline  
post #14 of 39 Old 01-15-2010, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wackid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have never liked the orginal zalman interface. (cant remember the name) Pretty useless.

I use the software from rolf. Search on google rolf and hd160xt.
You can control the casefans temperatures etc.

As for the Zalman support the really suck indeed.... try the rolf software.
wackid is offline  
post #15 of 39 Old 01-21-2010, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
Canabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanonkurt View Post

I have ordered a Touch Controller PCB for Zalman HD160XT rev. 2 from my Zalman distributor.

What about software? Did You use any software from Zalman or did You just install the touch driver from Egalax?

/Fredrik

which distributor did you use? I called the usa number and they dont have the part. If I order it straight from Egalax which one should i get? There are like 6 models listed all with different wattage.
Canabian is offline  
post #16 of 39 Old 01-22-2010, 02:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wackid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canabian View Post

which distributor did you use? I called the usa number and they dont have the part. If I order it straight from Egalax which one should i get? There are like 6 models listed all with different wattage.


Just order the touch controller from the Rev. 2 Case. And should know enough.

In the Rev.1 case the used the Digitouch touch controler
and Rev 2 and 3 the Egalax touch controller.

I think if you ask for Egalax touch controller with the Zalman distributor they dont understand. Because i think the partsstore dont know the brands wich are used for every part.

I've orderd it in the Netherlands http://www.spacepromotions.nl

@Kurt
How is your unit doin???
wackid is offline  
post #17 of 39 Old 01-23-2010, 11:24 AM
Newbie
 
kanonkurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@wackid:
Still waiting for the new USB-cable, the USB interfaces of the rev1 PCB and rev2 PCB weren't compatible . But I have dismounted the old PCB, that was no problem.

@Canabian
I ordered mine from the Swedish Zalman distributor. It is easier for Your local distributor if You supply them a picture of the PCB You want. Mine had no problem to locate it when they had the picture. You find the pictures above in the thread.
kanonkurt is offline  
post #18 of 39 Old 01-25-2010, 06:09 PM
Newbie
 
Canabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sent pics and even this forum thread to the USA Zalman Distributer and they don't have it as a separate part. They can only suggest that I order it straight from Egalax, but they also couldn't tell me which one to get from Egalax .

I'll call Egalax tomorrow and ask if they know which wattage and version I need but I have been under the assumption they would not know specifics about Zalman parts.

In the meantime if anyone that has purchased the new touch controller can post model numbers or specs they may have I would greatly appreciate it.

This case and past history with Zalman's customer support has been, well, let's just say disappointing. I spent a lot to get what I thought would be a great case and I really want to get it to work. I wouldn't feel right 'ebaying' an inferior product and just passing this problem on.

I'll let you know what happens with Egalax.
Canabian is offline  
post #19 of 39 Old 01-31-2010, 09:48 AM
Newbie
 
kanonkurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Success!!!! The new touch controller PCB works perfectly in my Rev.1 case under Vista x64 with the Egalax drivers

/Fredrik
kanonkurt is offline  
post #20 of 39 Old 02-04-2010, 09:46 AM
Newbie
 
Canabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been getting the run-around from all sides. Don't know why, but the US Distributer cant even give me a part number for the version 2 controller.

If anyone can just give me the part number from egalax so i can just give them that number and order it straight from them that would be great...PLEASE!!!!!

thanks,

C
Canabian is offline  
post #21 of 39 Old 02-27-2010, 12:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wackid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@kanonkurt

Nice to hear everything works fine..... Also deliverd with no partno.?

@Canabian
I think your distributor is a little bit lazy. If they take a partslist from a rev2 or 3 case then they will have to find it.

I dont have a p/n from egalax and looked on the pcb but no numbers from egalax there.

Maybe if you call my distributor?? they will send it to the USA??

Succes
wackid is offline  
post #22 of 39 Old 03-11-2010, 09:11 AM
Newbie
 
Canabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this sucks...no love at all from the usa. what number was the distro you used wack??
Canabian is offline  
post #23 of 39 Old 03-18-2010, 11:45 PM
Newbie
 
Hydra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@kanoncurt: Can't find the part you are talking about on the site you provided.
Hydra is offline  
post #24 of 39 Old 03-26-2010, 03:27 AM
Newbie
 
christix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=kanonkurt;17872913]I have ordered a Touch Controller PCB for Zalman HD160XT rev. 2 from my Zalman distributor.

Hi! correct me if I'm wrong, but "Kanonkurt" sounds Swedish.
Could you tell me where you ordered the Egalax controller pcb?

Would be wery greatefull

Christer
christix is offline  
post #25 of 39 Old 03-26-2010, 02:18 PM
Newbie
 
kanonkurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@Hydra
AFAIK I haven't provided any site, could You please give me more info?

@christix
Kanonkurt is truly Swedish. As I have written before I ordered the PCB Touch Controller for Zalman HD160XT rev.2 from the Swedish Zalman distributor, which is PCB, http://www.pcb.se. I just sent them the picture from the Egalax web site, and they found the item I was looking for. But I guess You could use my picture above and they will find the item immediately.

/Fredrik
kanonkurt is offline  
post #26 of 39 Old 03-28-2010, 11:33 AM
Newbie
 
christix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanonkurt View Post

@Hydra
AFAIK I haven't provided any site, could You please give me more info?

@christix
Kanonkurt is truly Swedish. As I have written before I ordered the PCB Touch Controller for Zalman HD160XT rev.2 from the Swedish Zalman distributor, which is PCB, . I just sent them the picture from the Egalax web site, and they found the item I was looking for. But I guess You could use my picture above and they will find the item immediately.

/Fredrik

Hej Fredrik!
Du har inte möjligtvis något ordernummer från dina köp. Tänkte att det kanske kunde underlätta detektivarbetet för PCP.

MVH//
Christer
christix is offline  
post #27 of 39 Old 04-06-2010, 07:03 PM
Newbie
 
KMac747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I found the PCB available in the USA.
The part pictured earlier in this thread is EETI (who acquired EGalax) part number ETP-MB-4000UFCG. This board is EOL and no longer available from the manufacturer.
The board has been replaced with EETI part number ETP-MB-S4000UFGG and is slightly longer. See attached .pdf for details.
The US distributor Interlogic Industries (interlogicindustries.com) has a few of the older UFCG boards in stock and more UFGG boards on order.
I will update this thread if the older UFCG board works and if not I will be ordering the newer UFGG board.
Thank you wackid for the info.

 

ETP-S4000UFGG-01.pdf 189.234375k . file
KMac747 is offline  
post #28 of 39 Old 04-20-2010, 07:14 AM
Newbie
 
christix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have found a solution that works. A touchscreen controller from EETI: S4000UEGG.
You will also need a cableconverter: 4XN02, for it to work.
I bought the stuff direct from EETI, Taiwan. There were a very helpful guy named Jesse Chen
(jessechen@eeti.com)

Parts and prices:


ETP-S4000UEGG-02
4 Wire USB controller (ETP-MBS4000UEGG)
4pin Flat cable (4XN02)
USB Cable (SXU00)
1 $14 $14
2 EMS Delivery 1 $14 $14
BRANCH: Shi-Hu Branch
US$28.00
http:/www.eti.com
NAME : eGalax_eMPIA Technology Inc.

SHIP BY : EMS Delivery
christix is offline  
post #29 of 39 Old 04-24-2010, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nc88keyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 25
will this modification allow you to install the updated touchscreen software instead of that zini pos

i have a zalman hd160xt rev.1

HT1: UN78HU9000 , AVR: AVR4311CI, AMP: UPA-7, SPKRS: L/R: Veritas 2.3I C: 2.0CI SUR: V2.0R, HGHT: V-MiniCx2, SUB: S10.3x2 ATMOS: 4X RC-6C, NUC i5/XBMC**
HT2: LC80LE844U, AVR: AVR3312CI, SPKRS: L/C/R: Veritas 2.2C, SUR: RC-RCRx2, SUB: 10.3x1, MC0001/XBMC**
STORAGE: DS1812, DX513 x 2 - 4TBx18 Hybrid Raid, (It Just Works!!) R/C: OneX2, 880x1
nc88keyz is online now  
post #30 of 39 Old 04-29-2010, 02:19 AM
Newbie
 
christix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes it will. Rev 1 here to
christix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off