Strip BD extras but keep menus? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-21-2010, 01:11 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
BigZAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anyway yet to just strip out the unwanted audio tracks and bonus features for blu-rays but keep the menu intact to allow for nice and pretty chapter selection??
BigZAJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-21-2010, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here you go:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1033822

It's a long thread, but most of what you will need is right in the begining
davdev is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-21-2010, 07:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
jidelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Glen Allen, VA, USA
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I haven't tried this yet but here's something that the author of multiAVCHD is developing: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=151925

jidelite
jidelite is online now  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-21-2010, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
ANDYK48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just ript the Blu-Ray in a folder using ANYDVD HD.
Then browse to the stream folder where all m2ts files resides.
Delete the m2ts files that holds the extra crap and replace them with text files which you rename to the same names as the m2ts files.
This way the Blu-Ray structure is intact and you can enjoy your movie witout all tha annoying extras and warnings
ANDYK48 is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-02-2010, 08:11 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
BigZAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANDYK48 View Post

Just ript the Blu-Ray in a folder using ANYDVD HD.
Then browse to the stream folder where all m2ts files resides.
Delete the m2ts files that holds the extra crap and replace them with text files which you rename to the same names as the m2ts files.
This way the Blu-Ray structure is intact and you can enjoy your movie witout all tha annoying extras and warnings

I didnt think that worked?
BigZAJ is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-02-2010, 11:13 PM
Senior Member
 
ANDYK48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
BigZAJ,
This method definitely works
I have all my blu-rays ripped this way and they all work flawlessly.
ANDYK48 is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-03-2010, 12:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pepster returns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANDYK48 View Post

BigZAJ,
This method definitely works
I have all my blu-rays ripped this way and they all work flawlessly.

Thanks for this info, I might give it a bash.

A more important task than deleting the 'fluff' is to create a new LPCM track to you can output lossless audio over SPDIF.

I also use Clown BD converter (free) to create a new LPCM track from the TRUEHD or DTSMA as required so I can have lossless audio over SPDIF -works very very well.

The audio of my set up is 1st grade.
Pepster returns is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-03-2010, 03:01 AM
Senior Member
 
ANDYK48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You cannot have lossless audio from SPDIF. SPDIF has not enough bandwidth for lossless audio. You may get LPCM through SPDIF but is not lossless
ANDYK48 is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-03-2010, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
BigZAJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can you identify what m2ts file is what?
BigZAJ is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-03-2010, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANDYK48 View Post

BigZAJ,
This method definitely works
I have all my blu-rays ripped this way and they all work flawlessly.

But can you play them from within Media Center? Are they easily cataloged for meta data, etc? I don't think that's possible, as Media Center does not support BD playback at all, so a third party app would be needed.
kegobeer is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off