what software for downsizing bluray mkv's? (pc/mac) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 01-27-2010, 02:24 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
modbox14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i rip my bluray movies (yes, that i own) to my harddrive as an mkv via Makemkv (mac) then play on plex on my mac mini. but at 25-30gb it sucks space-wise.

i need a way to downsize that to... well anything smaller. i have a mac and pc so any software recommendations are appreciated.

ps. i tried handbrake and once i got it to work actually then another time it just wont read the m4v file i made afterwords so idk
modbox14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 01-27-2010, 03:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by modbox14 View Post

i rip my bluray movies (yes, that i own) to my harddrive as an mkv via Makemkv (mac) then play on plex on my mac mini. but at 25-30gb it sucks space-wise.

i need a way to downsize that to... well anything smaller. i have a mac and pc so any software recommendations are appreciated.

ps. i tried handbrake and once i got it to work actually then another time it just wont read the m4v file i made afterwords so idk

Take a look at Ripbot264, here is the wiki I put together:

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/wiki....php/RipBot264

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 01-27-2010, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Handbrake is my tool of choice. The current release version does have a bug that can crash it when converting MKVs, but the current development build fixes it and seems stable to me.
pkscout is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 01-27-2010, 04:58 PM
 
Karmyna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Take a look at Ripbot264, here is the wiki I put together:

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/wiki....php/RipBot264

+1 for RipBot264.

Works like a charm.
Karmyna is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 01-28-2010, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
modbox14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkscout View Post

Handbrake is my tool of choice. The current release version does have a bug that can crash it when converting MKVs, but the current development build fixes it and seems stable to me.

i tried the current dev build on mac and the resulting .m4v file is unplayable even on VLC player ???

so i'll try handbrake again just so i dont have to switch to pc and try encoding it from a huge .mkv to a smaller .mkv i guess

if that's a no go, i got ripbot264 that i'll give a shot.

why won't the m4v file work?

and thanks for the tips by the way
modbox14 is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 01-28-2010, 08:06 AM
 
Karmyna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by modbox14 View Post

i tried the current dev build on mac and the resulting .m4v file is unplayable even on VLC player ???

so i'll try handbrake again just so i dont have to switch to pc and try encoding it from a huge .mkv to a smaller .mkv i guess

if that's a no go, i got ripbot264 that i'll give a shot.

why won't the m4v file work?

and thanks for the tips by the way

RipBot264 also do mp4 and avchd beside mkv.
Karmyna is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 01-28-2010, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
can ripbot read wtv to convert?
jrwalte is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 01-28-2010, 08:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte View Post

can ripbot read wtv to convert?

no to wtv or drvms. You would probably have to convert the wtv to dvrms to then mpeg and then use Ripbot264

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 01-28-2010, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks. And that's why I just buy more HDs for my Norco 4220 instead. Too much work converting I've tried MCEBuddy 2.0, which supposedly can convert WTV to 264, but I get mencoder errors and can't get it to work.
jrwalte is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 01-28-2010, 10:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte View Post

Thanks. And that's why I just buy more HDs for my Norco 4220 instead. Too much work converting I've tried MCEBuddy 2.0, which supposedly can convert WTV to 264, but I get mencoder errors and can't get it to work.

Really, I am using MCEBuddy 1.1 which does wtv to 264 without a problem for me. I am just waiting for the mkv profile to be added.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 01-28-2010, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'll have to check out 1.1, then.
jrwalte is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 01-28-2010, 10:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte View Post

I'll have to check out 1.1, then.

So far it has worked fine. I am thinking about getting Show Analyzer to use in place of comskip, but have been using it to convert my sons recorded wtv shows, and much faster t hen my older method which was:

- Right click on wtv, convert to dvr-mr
- Using dvrmstoolbox cut out commercial, convert to MPEG
- Using handbake convert MPEG to mkv

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 01-28-2010, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So right now you just leave it in mp4 with MCEBuddy? Doesn't seem like an issue over MKV. Since you're using this, have you found a program that will automatically change the name of the file to a friendly metadata version from the WTV naming structure? Such as 24.S08.E04?
jrwalte is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 01-28-2010, 11:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte View Post

So right now you just leave it in mp4 with MCEBuddy? Doesn't seem like an issue over MKV. Since you're using this, have you found a program that will automatically change the name of the file to a friendly metadata version from the WTV naming structure? Such as 24.S08.E04?

Yeah, I just keep as mp4 for now. Really no reason not to keep as is, I have just gotten so used the using mkv. I never thought of that, but I haven't seen a program that would rename the wtv to a more metadata friendly format, may have to do a little research as that would be a big plus. I use metabrowser or tvrename to automatically rename my shows, don't think they can do it off the wtv generated name but will dig around.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 01-30-2010, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TSHA222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: barely within my means
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I will add my name to the Ripbot list. I haven't been doing this long at all. In fact, I implore you all to go to this thread and give me some feedback.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post18035371

I use MAKEMVK to rip the movie only. If it is a title that we will not be watching much, I will use ripbot to reduce the filesize. Since I have the original disks, I can always pop the disc in if I am unhappy. I have not found a way to use Ripbot with MKVs and I may be overlooking something. What I do now, once I have an MKV, is convert it to a ts file in tsMuxerGUI. Then I use Ripbot264 to reduce the filesize. I just do CQ, 18 and it seems that that cuts the size in half. I honestly don't see a difference and I only do this with films that won't get a ton of repeated viewing or films that are fun for movie nights, but aren't works of art, pre se - ie Transformers 2. I cut it in half and it is fine. Movies like Gone with the Wind, Wizard of Oz, the Disney and Pixar stuff, I just leave alone. With hard drives so cheap now, it is kind of a moot point anyway. My 2 cents.
TSHA222 is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 02-02-2010, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
dbone,

Thanks for the tip that MCEBuddy 1.1 works. I tried it and had no issues with WTV conversion. I found the time it takes to convert (with an e6600), the complexity of having to deal with renaming the files for metadata and (unless I'm doing something wrong) the drop from AC3 to 2.1 audio not worth the trouble.

But in my search while dealing with this I came across DVRMSToolbox again and found out that with the newest version of ShowAnalyzer that it now supports WTV and I was able to setup the automatic skipping of commericals in 7MC, which was the ultimate goal I was seeking with MCEBuddy (since I have plenty of hard drive space ). So thanks for the help!
jrwalte is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 02-02-2010, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeEby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Osceola, Indiana
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any interest in adding compression as an option to AnotherEac3to GUI?

Mike
MikeEby is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 02-02-2010, 08:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte View Post

dbone,

Thanks for the tip that MCEBuddy 1.1 works. I tried it and had no issues with WTV conversion. I found the time it takes to convert (with an e6600), the complexity of having to deal with renaming the files for metadata and (unless I'm doing something wrong) the drop from AC3 to 2.1 audio not worth the trouble.

But in my search while dealing with this I came across DVRMSToolbox again and found out that with the newest version of ShowAnalyzer that it now supports WTV and I was able to setup the automatic skipping of commericals in 7MC, which was the ultimate goal I was seeking with MCEBuddy (since I have plenty of hard drive space ). So thanks for the help!

Great to hear, I am going to get Show Analyzer as well. The only issue I have with DVRMSToolbox is that the mkv conversion profile appears to only work with SageTV recordings and not W7MC recordings (after I record I like to have my shows encoded down to mkv with the commercials stripped out). DVRMSToolbox does have a lot of other great features though, so I would like to get it to work for me.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 02-02-2010, 08:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeEby View Post

Any interest in adding compression as an option to AnotherEac3to GUI?

Mike

Do you mean similar to what a program like RipBot and handbrake does?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 02-02-2010, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeEby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Osceola, Indiana
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Do you mean similar to what a program like RipBot and handbrake does?

yep...Looking at some of those it looks like they just run x264.exe...I haven't found real clear documentation on x264.exe, still looking.

Mike
MikeEby is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 02-02-2010, 08:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeEby View Post

yep...Looking at some of those it looks like they just run x264.exe...I haven't found real clear documentation on x264.exe, still looking.

Mike

I think there would be a lot of interest. I guess the thing you would have to think of is that if you go down that route you need to provide different options or at least create profiles to choose from (similar to handbrake). I like the idea of having just one program that does it all, whereas right now I use Another eac3to GUI if I don't want to encode, but then use handbrake of ripbot if I do want to encode. Curious to hear what others think.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 02-02-2010, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jrwalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Great to hear, I am going to get Show Analyzer as well. The only issue I have with DVRMSToolbox is that the mkv conversion profile appears to only work with SageTV recordings and not W7MC recordings (after I record I like to have my shows encoded down to mkv with the commercials stripped out). DVRMSToolbox does have a lot of other great features though, so I would like to get it to work for me.

The main reason I prefer just the auto skip instead of cutting the commercials out is so when an analysis screws up and thinks part of the show is commercials, I can turn off the auto skip with the press of a remote button and go back. I haven't used it long enough to know if this is really a problem or not (happened once out of about 10 so far), but I like knowing that the video is still there if I need it.
jrwalte is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 02-04-2010, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Yes Mike, please add compression to your already great AnotherEac3to GUI tool. I'd like to use a single tool for BD to MKV instead of Clown_BD, MakeMKV, RipBot & BD-Rebuilder.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off