ATI HD 5000 Series Known Problems (5870 5850 5770 5750 5670 5570 5450) - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
DeadmanInc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to a new article from Rage3D the HD5450 is capable of VA and Enforced Smooth playback with an updated driver

http://www.rage3d.com/articles/hd545...g_performance/

Quote:


Using the new drivers, we retested both the AMD ATI Radeon HD 5450 and HD 5750. Technically, the HD 5450 should have enough shader power to perform vector adaptive deinterlacing and maintain smooth playback. Using the Advanced Color controls along with Enforce Smooth Playback might result in some of the advanced color options being skipped as the shaders load up in complex scenes. However, the new drivers allowed the HD 5450 with default settings to use vector adaptive deinterlacing and maintain smooth playback, without a loss in quality.


If this is the case then I'm definately going to order ther HD5450 once the TMT3 patch is final.
DeadmanInc is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 04:08 PM
Member
 
trapo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tulli, can this tool extract 256 byte EDID?
http://www.nicomsoft.com/wini2cddc/h...tm#ReadEDID256
trapo is offline  
post #183 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
peterho3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadmanInc View Post

According to a new article from Rage3D the HD5450 is capable of VA and Enforced Smooth playback with an updated driver

http://www.rage3d.com/articles/hd545...g_performance/




If this is the case then I'm definately going to order ther HD5450 once the TMT3 patch is final.

New beta patch for TMT3 bitstream is out for test now.
peterho3 is offline  
post #184 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,602
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Yes, correct.

Well, that rules out ATI for me since they still haven't figure out how to parse EDID.

Strange how nVidia and Intel have figured it out.
Stereodude is online now  
post #185 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 04:29 PM
Member
 
csmcdem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a similar problem as gfbonomi. I have a 5670 with a Sony kdl46xbr9 and onkyo tx-sr606. The problem I have is that the picture is overscanned. It seems that if I watch a blu-ray, the picture returns back to normal. But when I watch a file, it does not fix the resolution so the picture is zoomed in. Is this an EDID issue?
csmcdem is offline  
post #186 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by trapo View Post

Tulli, can this tool extract 256 byte EDID?
http://www.nicomsoft.com/wini2cddc/h...tm#ReadEDID256

That's not a "tool". It's a developer API but at $495 per developer license, I'm not about to try it. I considered testing it but I knew that I would never buy it so I decided not to waste my time.
vladd is offline  
post #187 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 04:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by trapo View Post
Thanks, Tulli!
Well try with this NEC Monitor + DENON "Frankenstein" mod and see if it works ...

 

NEC Monitor - DENON AVR.zip 0.3486328125k . file

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #188 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 04:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Metric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
More headaches... i had issues getting a 5770 to work in my pc, eventually did by turning off smart for the drives (i know odd). I now have a couple of 5450 cards and ive tried them both in two different machines but neither will post with the card installed... anyone else have this issue?

I want to die in my sleep like grandpa... not kicking and screaming like the people in his car.
Metric is online now  
post #189 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 05:56 PM
Member
 
blackcell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Tulli,

Can you make a EDID mod for my Denon AVR-1910 and Panasonic TC-P50G15.

INFs attached.

Thanks!

 

EDID.zip 2.380859375k . file
blackcell is offline  
post #190 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 05:59 PM
Newbie
 
Brysaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgive me if these are not correct as this is all new to me. I would like a mod for the following Denon AVR-790 and Sony KF-E50A10 but not sure how to mod them together. Can you help me out Tulli?

Thank you very much!

; INF file generated by Monitor Asset Manager, 2/12/2010
; Copyright (c) EnTech Taiwan, 1995-2009.
; Internet:

[Version]
Signature="$WINDOWS NT$"
Class=Monitor
ClassGUID={4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
Provider=%MFG%
DriverVer=2/12/2010, 1.0.0.0
;CatalogFile=YourSignedCatalogFile.cat

[DestinationDirs]
DefaultDestDir=23

[SourceDisksNames]
1=%DISC%

[SourceDisksFiles]
;YourColorProfileFile.icm

[Manufacturer]
%VENDOR%=EDID_OVERRIDE,NTx86,NTamd64

[EDID_OVERRIDE.NTx86]
%PRODUCTID%=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install, MONITOR\\DON0015

[EDID_OVERRIDE.NTamd64]
%PRODUCTID%=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64, MONITOR\\DON0015

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTx86]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg, MODE1, DPMS
CopyFiles=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg, MODE1, DPMS
CopyFiles=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTx86.HW]
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64.HW]
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg]
;Base EDID
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE,"0",0x01,0x00,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0x00,0x11,0xEE,0x15 ,0x00,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x00,0x13,0x01,0x03,0x80,0x00,0x00 ,0x78,0x0A,0x0D,0xC9,0xA0,0x57,0x47,0x98,0x27,0x12,0x48,0x4C ,0x20,0x00,0x00,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01 ,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x1D,0x80,0x18,0x71 ,0x1C,0x16,0x20,0x58,0x2C,0x25,0x00,0x10,0x09,0x00,0x00,0x00 ,0x9E,0x8C,0x0A,0xD0,0x8A,0x20,0xE0,0x2D,0x10,0x10,0x3E,0x96 ,0x00,0x04,0x03,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x18,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xFC,0x00 ,0x44,0x45,0x4E,0x4F,0x4E,0x2D,0x41,0x56,0x41,0x4D,0x50,0x0A ,0x20,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xFD,0x00,0x3B,0x3D,0x0F,0x2E,0x08,0x00 ,0x0A,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x01,0x62

[DEL_CURRENT_REG]
HKR,MODES
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE
HKR,,MaxResolution
HKR,,DPMS
HKR,,ICMProfile

[DPMS]
HKR,,DPMS,,0

[MODE1]
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1920,1080"

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\\1920,1080",Mode1,,"15.0-46.0,59.0-61.0,+,+"

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles]
;YourColorProfileFile.icm

[Strings]
MFG="EnTech Taiwan"
DISC="Monitor EDID Override Installation Disk"
PRODUCTID="DENON-AVAMP (EDID Override)"
VENDOR="Denon"




; INF file generated by Monitor Asset Manager, 2/12/2010
; Copyright (c) EnTech Taiwan, 1995-2009.
; Internet:

[Version]
Signature="$WINDOWS NT$"
Class=Monitor
ClassGUID={4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
Provider=%MFG%
DriverVer=2/12/2010, 1.0.0.0
;CatalogFile=YourSignedCatalogFile.cat

[DestinationDirs]
DefaultDestDir=23

[SourceDisksNames]
1=%DISC%

[SourceDisksFiles]
;YourColorProfileFile.icm

[Manufacturer]
%VENDOR%=EDID_OVERRIDE,NTx86,NTamd64

[EDID_OVERRIDE.NTx86]
%PRODUCTID%=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install, MONITOR\\SNY01F8

[EDID_OVERRIDE.NTamd64]
%PRODUCTID%=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64, MONITOR\\SNY01F8

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTx86]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg, MODE1, DPMS
CopyFiles=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg, MODE1, DPMS
CopyFiles=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTx86.HW]
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64.HW]
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg]
;Base EDID
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE,"0",0x01,0x00,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0x00,0x4D,0xD9,0xF8 ,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x00,0x0E,0x01,0x03,0x80,0x00,0x00 ,0x78,0x0A,0x0D,0xC9,0xA0,0x57,0x47,0x98,0x27,0x12,0x48,0x4C ,0x20,0x00,0x00,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01 ,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x1D,0x80,0x18,0x71 ,0x1C,0x16,0x20,0x58,0x2C,0x25,0x00,0x10,0x09,0x00,0x00,0x00 ,0x9E,0x8C,0x0A,0xD0,0x8A,0x20,0xE0,0x2D,0x10,0x10,0x3E,0x96 ,0x00,0x04,0x03,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x18,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xFC,0x00 ,0x53,0x4F,0x4E,0x59,0x20,0x54,0x56,0x0A,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20 ,0x20,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xFD,0x00,0x3B,0x3D,0x0F,0x2E,0x08,0x00 ,0x0A,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x01,0xDF

[DEL_CURRENT_REG]
HKR,MODES
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE
HKR,,MaxResolution
HKR,,DPMS
HKR,,ICMProfile

[DPMS]
HKR,,DPMS,,0

[MODE1]
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1920,1080"

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\\1920,1080",Mode1,,"15.0-46.0,59.0-61.0,+,+"

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles]
;YourColorProfileFile.icm

[Strings]
MFG="EnTech Taiwan"
DISC="Monitor EDID Override Installation Disk"
PRODUCTID="SONY TV (EDID Override)"
VENDOR="Sony"
Brysaldo is offline  
post #191 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 06:01 PM
Member
 
trapo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

That's not a "tool". It's a developer API but at $495 per developer license, I'm not about to try it. I considered testing it but I knew that I would never buy it so I decided not to waste my time.

Thanks for the info.
trapo is offline  
post #192 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 06:06 PM
Member
 
trapo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Well try with this NEC Monitor + DENON "Frankenstein" mod and see if it works ...

It's a bin file. Sorry my question, but how to get the inf file from that bin?
trapo is offline  
post #193 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 06:08 PM
Newbie
 
airian9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice work Tulli, I've got everything working very nicely . Also nice work to Albaine for his ffd builds. I got DTS-HD/TrueHD via MPC-HC and the ffdshow build working great. I originally tried doing it in Vista, but that was a lost cause. I did a clean install of 7 and everyting starting lighting up on my receiver.

There's only one problem I have and I not sure if it's a known issue to be fixed.
When I play an M2TS with DTS-HD audio, I have no problems skipping back and forth throughout. My receiver usually takes 2 seconds to re-intilalize the audio, but it will still play fine.

When I play one with TrueHD, it has issues skipping ahead. It will start playing the audio from the beginning just fine and it will also pause and resume throughout just fine. The reciever takes about 2 seconds to re-initialze, but it plays great after that. When I try to skip ahead, the audio will do one of the following:

1.) The audio will work after 2-3 seconds. More often in the 32bit, but sometimes with 64bit.
2.) The receiver will display the TrueHD logo, but the audio is now silent. Both versions.
3.) The receiver will take 5-10 seconds to display what audio it's decoding and at this point the receiver will display Dolby Pro Logic. The sound will also be silent. This happened in the 64bit version only.
4.) The reciever will take 5-10 seconds to re-initialize, but it will work. More often in the 32bit version.

One other thing, is there a way to make the video wait for the audio after hitting play from a pause in MPCHC? Most of the time it only takes about 2 seconds, but it still sucks to miss part of the movie.

This makes the whole setup still awesome, but I figured I would point out this issue to you. Here are my specs:

MPC-HC 1650 32 and 64, ffdshow 3259 32 and 64
HIS 5450, Onkyo SR607, Samsung 61" DLP (Using the EDID override), ATI 8.692RC2_feb10, Windows 7 x64
I've tried all different audio renderer's in MPCHC, but still get the same results.

Again, thanks for your hard work on this
airian9 is offline  
post #194 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 06:14 PM
Member
 
tycoonheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by airian9 View Post


1.) The audio will work after 2-3 seconds. More often in the 32bit, but sometimes with 64bit.
2.) The receiver will display the TrueHD logo, but the audio is now silent. Both versions.
3.) The receiver will take 5-10 seconds to display what audio it's decoding and at this point the receiver will display Dolby Pro Logic. The sound will also be silent. This happened in the 64bit version only.
4.) The reciever will take 5-10 seconds to re-initialize, but it will work. More often in the 32bit version.

I have similar issue, except only option 2 happens to me. I have a few blurays ripped as mkvs with TrueHD audio. When I change chapters, the audio completely drops out sometimes. I will just skip ahead or back, or flip through chapters again to get the sound back.

Edit: This is in 7MC for me using ffdshow DXVA video decoder.
tycoonheart is online now  
post #195 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadmanInc View Post

According to a new article from Rage3D the HD5450 is capable of VA and Enforced Smooth playback with an updated driver

http://www.rage3d.com/articles/hd545...g_performance/




If this is the case then I'm definately going to order ther HD5450 once the TMT3 patch is final.

Great news thanks for that. Was going to spring for the 5670 because of these issues but it seems once the drivers are stable things will be all good.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #196 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 06:50 PM
Member
 
trapo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Well try with this NEC Monitor + DENON "Frankenstein" mod and see if it works ...

I created the inf file in moninfo (is that right?).
After install, I lost image scaling options in CCC and the HD audio formats in sound control panel (Realtek HDMI), only stereo remains. What's wrong?
trapo is offline  
post #197 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 07:05 PM
Newbie
 
airian9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tycoonheart View Post

I have similar issue, except only option 2 happens to me. I have a few blurays ripped as mkvs with TrueHD audio. When I change chapters, the audio completely drops out sometimes. I will just skip ahead or back, or flip through chapters again to get the sound back.

Edit: This is in 7MC for me using ffdshow DXVA video decoder.

Yah I can sometimes go back and forth a few times and get it working again. 7MC is very nice overall, but I hate that it DRM's all your TV recordings.
airian9 is offline  
post #198 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 09:08 PM
Newbie
 
airian9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW, Realtek just put out a new version of the ATI HDMI Audio driver, 2.42.
http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...&GetDown=false
airian9 is offline  
post #199 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 09:34 PM
Newbie
 
airian9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new realtek drivers keep your receiver's audio decoder "synced" with it. Meaning, when you pause it and play it, the audio will play in under a second. Before, it would take 2-3 seconds to re-initalize the bitstream it was decoding. Good improvement, but it still didn't fix my truehd problem.
airian9 is offline  
post #200 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
j5627429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: seattle, wa (currently in taipei, TW)
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's the secret to playback without DXVA?

Bitstreaming HD audio seems to work flawlessly for me as long as I use the MPC Video Decoder with DXVA and EVR. However, I much prefer the video quality with DXVA turned off, and I have to use MadVR with 3dLUT or VMR9 with pixel shaders to correct my JVC projector's wide gamut.

Whenever I use the FFDshow Video Decoder w/o DXVA the frame rate seems to hover slightly above 24fps and the audio cuts in and out and the video lags. This happens no matter if i set video card refresh to 23hz , 24hz or 60hz. The looks laggy even if I plug my DVI monitor in and leave the Onkyo off (source>ffdshow video decoder>madVR renderer and nothing else)

I have a 5770 and Onkyo 606.
Here's what I've tried so far to get it working with DXVA off:

1. catalyst 10.1, catalyst 10.2 RC2 > no difference

2. Realtek HDMI driver > no difference

3. ESVP on > seems to keep it under 24fps better, but it still goes up to 23.99 and 24.08fps and still get audio dropouts and video is still is not butter smooth like with my old 4830.

4. Tulli's Onkyo 906 override > no difference. And instead of my projector reporting 10 Bit Deep Color it only said 8-bit, so i uninstalled it, went back to my auto-created 606 and the 10-bit Deep Color color is back.

5. ReClock audio renderer > if only it worked with bitstream! This seems to play smoothly without DXVA, but obviously i dont want to listen to PCM audio, since i bought the 5xxx solely for its bitstreaming capabilities!

Is there another filter combination i should be looking at? tried different audio renderes and its all the same. audio cuts in and out and video doesnt look smooth.

My gut feeling is that I'm missing something to keep the frame rate under control with DXVA off. Any suggestions?

Thanks
Joel
j5627429 is offline  
post #201 of 2707 Old 02-12-2010, 11:26 PM
Member
 
MasterKeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Have you checked that the EDID override is actually installed on Device Manager->Monitors? Did you reboot after install?

Yes I did, verified that they are installed. I even tried updating the realtek drivers to the new 2.42 version, didn't work either. I also restored my PC to the point before all of these driver installs and attempted to install everything fresh. Still nothing.

I did have Shark007 codecs installed so I uninstalled them just to be sure but that didn't fix my lack of bitstreaming in PowerDVD either.

Good news is, video quality is great!
MasterKeef is offline  
post #202 of 2707 Old 02-13-2010, 12:21 AM
Member
 
blaubart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread + Cheese Clices, hand in hand at AnandTech here
blaubart is offline  
post #203 of 2707 Old 02-13-2010, 12:50 AM
Member
 
UnDecoded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone want to share how MPC is working? If Im correct it can open Blurays without menus? But If Im correct in PDVD you have to choose region, how does that work in MPC? I'm mostly using local discs but may order some from asia etc.

edit:wow i post in the wrong thread every friggin time
UnDecoded is offline  
post #204 of 2707 Old 02-13-2010, 01:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
@ Tulli,

Ok, so my issues with my Pio VSX94 got more interesting. Right now I only get the core audio with the 5670. I u sed the Onkyo 906 EDID override, no change. I hooked up a PCH A110 and verified that I can get HD Audio with my Pio, so no issue there. I decided to take the HTPC and hook it up to my Onkyo downstairs since I know that one works with my other HTPC. Hook it up, play a movie, and full HD Audio bitstreaming!!

So everything in this HTPC is set up correct, and the problem must lie with how with Pio is receiving the audio from the HTPC. So what do you think, is the next step to try and create an EDID Override for the Pio?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #205 of 2707 Old 02-13-2010, 04:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I've found another issue (which I remember from back when I had a 4350 but it is less serious now): when watching live DVB-T broadcasts and switching from a channel with 2-channel PCM audio to one with 5.1 Dolby Digital, the picture will freeze and the audio drop in and out for about 5 seconds before it settles down and I get undisturbed audio and video.

It only happens when switching from a PCM stream to DD5.1, not when switching from one PCM to another or from a DD5.1 to PCM stream.

Maybe the silent stream bug manifests itself this way?

XFX 5670, 500MB
Win 7 Utimate 32-bit
GA-E7AUM-DS2H
Yamaha 1800
politby is offline  
post #206 of 2707 Old 02-13-2010, 05:03 AM
Senior Member
 
DeadmanInc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterho3 View Post

New beta patch for TMT3 bitstream is out for test now.

I know, but given that Arcsoft specifically states there a lot of bugs I think I'd rather wait until it's a final release. I already have to hear about it when something doesn't work on my HTPC.
DeadmanInc is online now  
post #207 of 2707 Old 02-13-2010, 05:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by trapo View Post

I created the inf file in moninfo (is that right?).
After install, I lost image scaling options in CCC and the HD audio formats in sound control panel (Realtek HDMI), only stereo remains. What's wrong?

No need to create a new .inf file, just extract and install the one I posted. But that didn't work at all.

Anyway, I capture the EDID of my Dell 2407WFP and Samsung T240HD monitors, and both have no extension block (didn't expect that!).

So, capture your Dell Monitor 128-byte EDID and post it. I'll just add the extension block from the AVR988 mod and create a new .inf.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #208 of 2707 Old 02-13-2010, 05:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

@ Tulli,

Ok, so my issues with my Pio VSX94 got more interesting. Right now I only get the core audio with the 5670. I u sed the Onkyo 906 EDID override, no change. I hooked up a PCH A110 and verified that I can get HD Audio with my Pio, so no issue there. I decided to take the HTPC and hook it up to my Onkyo downstairs since I know that one works with my other HTPC. Hook it up, play a movie, and full HD Audio bitstreaming!!

So everything in this HTPC is set up correct, and the problem must lie with how with Pio is receiving the audio from the HTPC. So what do you think, is the next step to try and create an EDID Override for the Pio?

That's really odd! And a new override wouldn't help at all (same audio block than the 906 EDID override).

Just shooting in the dark: could be a ffdshow-Pioneer related issue. Could you try Albain versions on soundforge (3246 if you're on x32 or 3248 for x64)?

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #209 of 2707 Old 02-13-2010, 05:22 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterKeef View Post

Yes I did, verified that they are installed. I even tried updating the realtek drivers to the new 2.42 version, didn't work either. I also restored my PC to the point before all of these driver installs and attempted to install everything fresh. Still nothing.

I did have Shark007 codecs installed so I uninstalled them just to be sure but that didn't fix my lack of bitstreaming in PowerDVD either.

Good news is, video quality is great!

Absolutely odd! Can you at least bitstream with MPC-HC?

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #210 of 2707 Old 02-13-2010, 05:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

That's really odd! And a new override wouldn't help at all (same audio block than the 906 EDID override).

Just shooting in the dark: could be a ffdshow-Pioneer related issue. Could you try Albain versions on soundforge (3246 if you're on x32 or 3248 for x64)?

Good idea, I will try and report back. Very weird stuff though!!!

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off