EDID Overrides to solve bitstreaming issues for ATI 5xxx's - Page 130 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3871 of 4039 Old 03-23-2014, 04:19 AM
Newbie
 
TheBigRoberto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

When you have the problem (due to switching, I guess) check the present monitor driver in device manager. If a GenericPnP driver is listed apply the same EDID override to it and reboot.

Otherwise you may want to try blocking pin 19 on the HDMI connector to disable hotplug detection, as shown in 1st. post.

Thanks I will give it a try smile.gif
TheBigRoberto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3872 of 4039 Old 03-23-2014, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
RSargeant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

First, a big thanks for all the work here. It's been a long struggle, things only improved once I dumped the ATI video card in favour of NVidia.

Almost there, but like many others here, I am hoping you can produce an inf file for my Denon AVR-A100 / Mitsubishi HC5500 combo.

I'm attaching the files.

DON0021DenonAVR-A100.txt 5k .txt file

MEL3103HC5500.txt 5k .txt file


Thanks in advance from Switzerland (your fame is global)!

Richard
Attached Files
File Type: txt DON0021DenonAVR-A100.txt (5.0 KB, 5 views)
File Type: txt MEL3103HC5500.txt (5.0 KB, 4 views)
RSargeant is offline  
post #3873 of 4039 Old 03-23-2014, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Need the full EDID of the Mitsubishi HC5500 (256-bytes ... see instructions in 1st. post). BTW, what is the issue, specifically?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3874 of 4039 Old 04-02-2014, 03:30 PM
Newbie
 
srnickolas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello,i am using a home cinema lg bh9420p and an lg 42 lv4500 led tv.I connect my ati5450 via hdmi to the home cinema and then from there via hdmi to the tv.video is travelling fine but audio is only recognised as 2.1.I tried the various preconfigured infs,but to no avail(a couple worked but in the audio test in realtek only the front speakers worked).So having tried other staff like updating drivers ,i think the problem is the edid of the tv.Now i downloaded moninfo but i can only find,according to instructions,one edid inside, also used get edit...does that mean my computer recognizes my 2 devises as one?Sorry i am a little confused,any help would be appreciated.With the post i upload the zip with all the info from moninfo and getedid lg.zip 3k .zip file  

Attached Files
File Type: zip lg.zip (3.2 KB, 2 views)
srnickolas is offline  
post #3875 of 4039 Old 04-02-2014, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
No need of an EDID override per the posted EDID which shows DD & DTS capability (should be listed as supported formats for the HDMI audio device).

Please check first post and countless posts in this thread on the "2 channels" detection by windows when there's the limitation of a S/PDIF bandwidth over an HDMI link.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3876 of 4039 Old 04-03-2014, 01:03 AM
Newbie
 
srnickolas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

i understand what are you saying,but i dont use a s/pdif connection,but hdmi so to take advantage of hd and uncompressed audio formats,i connected my home cinema  via hdmi with tv: i used this configuration

pc-ati with hdmi to home cinema and then hdmi to tv, Also my tv doesn't have an ARC so i cant go like ati to tv to home cinema. Home cinema supports  Dts-hd,dolbytruehd and flac among others . If EDID of the tv is not to blame then why do windows only see 2.1.Sorry to ask you again my friend,but i have tried everything from updating bios ,swapping drivers,powering up my devises in a specific order and so on,could you pinpoint any possible solutions(if there any) specifically.Thank you for your time and sorry for the bother.

srnickolas is offline  
post #3877 of 4039 Old 04-03-2014, 03:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I was referring to S/PDIF bandwitdh, not the physical connection. Because you won't get HD audio over the HDMI link of your LG Home Cinema as bandwidth is limited to S/PDIF (per your posted EDID).This is typical of such devices. They only support HD Audio for their built-in blu-ray player.
srnickolas likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3878 of 4039 Old 04-03-2014, 04:29 AM
Newbie
 
srnickolas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

thanks tulli, I didn't know of this detail,i guess i should have researched more before buying but this is an absolutely horrible  consumer trap.I cant even find it in the manual or the site of lg.So i can't even get actual hd-audio from a hard-disk connected directly  on the player i imagine,i have to firstly burn  the data on a bluray disk?nightmare.i guess i'll try the optical output and see if windows successfully indentifies 5.1 at least(ati hdmi to tv optical to home cinema).

 

 

 

edit: so i have tried both configurations and the audio is detected as 2.1.even if the bandwidth is limited,should't i at least get lossy surround sound,even if it isn't hd?why can't windows detect the layout of the speakers?also in the manual it states that the device can via its hdmi output bitstream hd audio,could it be that my hdmi cable its to blame for the poor bandwidth or that i first send the data to an input of the device and then via the hdmi output to the tv?

srnickolas is offline  
post #3879 of 4039 Old 04-03-2014, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Yes, no problem with lossy or compressed audio. Just set the audio of the player to not decode the audio stream and it will work.

AFAIK the bandwitdh limitation of the HDMI input of these devices is by design. And the Windows detection of # of channels for HDMI audio applies to uncompressed or LPCM audio streams, which is of course 2 when the bandwidth is for S/PDIF.
srnickolas likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3880 of 4039 Old 04-03-2014, 08:21 AM
Newbie
 
srnickolas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

THX tully for all your help,things got a Lot clearer now.Just ticked the audio formats in lav audio decoder with mpc-hc and whenever there is a multi channel audio stream,speakers seem to work fine,even if windows can't identify them.

srnickolas is offline  
post #3881 of 4039 Old 04-06-2014, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
markieeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi,

 

I can't play DTS-HD and Dolby TrueHD with XBMC (Windows 8.1 x64) on my PC. I think there is a EDID Override needed. My PC with an AMD HD5450 Graphics Card (lastest AMD 13.12 driver), is connected with HDMI to an Onkyo TX-NR616 receiver. The Onkyo TX-NR616 is connected to my Philips 37PFL9604 TV also with HDMI.

 

I attached the results from GetEDID. What more do you need for create an EDID Override?

 

Mark

 

GetEDIDresults.zip 2k .zip file  

Attached Files
File Type: zip GetEDIDresults.zip (1.8 KB, 1 views)
markieeee is offline  
post #3882 of 4039 Old 04-06-2014, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
You shouldn't need an EDID override at all. Are all audio formats listed as supported for the HDMI audio device? Is the AVR set to not passthrough the TV audio?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3883 of 4039 Old 04-07-2014, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
shpitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by markieeee View Post

Hi,

I can't play DTS-HD and Dolby TrueHD with XBMC (Windows 8.1 x64) on my PC. I think there is a EDID Override needed. My PC with an AMD HD5450 Graphics Card (lastest AMD 13.12 driver), is connected with HDMI to an Onkyo TX-NR616 receiver. The Onkyo TX-NR616 is connected to my Philips 37PFL9604 TV also with HDMI.

What's your playback software? Did you configure either the software or codecs used to bitstream? this is usually not enabled by default...

shpitz is offline  
post #3884 of 4039 Old 04-08-2014, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
markieeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have found a solution. My PC is always on. If I'm going to watch a movie, I put the receiver on. Then the audio formats gives only Dolby Digital. When I restart my PC the audio formats in the list are Dolby Digital, DTS, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD, etc. Then DTS-HD bitstream works in XBMC. When I turn on my receiver, the list audio formats is not refreshed. Is this a known issue?

 

Excuse me for my bad english.

 

Mark

markieeee is offline  
post #3885 of 4039 Old 04-08-2014, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 50
i fixed it with the pin 19 tape trick. disable the pin for hot plug detect: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1419465/wake-from-sleep-issue-edid#post_22203961
Any time you reboot, just make sure the receiver is on and htpc is selected, then reboot. as long as the htpc does not restart again, it doesnt matter what the receiver does or input you select.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is offline  
post #3886 of 4039 Old 04-17-2014, 11:52 PM
Member
 
jywc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Forgive me if this has been covered already in this thread....
Could this EDID override solve problems with video output via AVR?

My current set up is HTPC (A75M-ITX) -> Pioneer VSX 823 AVR -> Panasonic TCP55UT50 TV
Latest AMD Catalyst driver installed

Here is what works and does not work for me:
1. I can output 1080p/60Hz directly from HTPC to TV without a problem
2. If I attempt to route my signal through my AVR, I get static
3. However, I can output an extended desktop (with an additional VGA monitor attached) via AVR, but the TV is limited to only 1080i/30Hz
4. When I attempt to switch to 1080p/60Hz via Catalyst Control Centre, I get static

This is incredibly frustrating! Please help!!!
jywc55 is offline  
post #3887 of 4039 Old 04-18-2014, 06:13 AM
Member
 
jywc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Please disregard my above post.
I appear to have fixed my problem with an incredibly simple solution.

For future reference, in case any body reads this with a similar issue, here is what I did:
1. turned off all equipment
2. turned on TV (waited 1 minute)
3. turned on AVR (waited 1 minute)
4. turned on HTPC

Interestingly, I noticed that Windows' display options detects my AVR-to-TV combination as "PanasonicTV0" rather than "VSX-823". When I had my HTPC directly connected to the TV, it also read as the former label, whereas when I initially had problems routing through my AVR, it read as the latter label. I suspect that my underlying problem was a so-called "handshake" failure, whereby my AVR did not "handshake" my TV properly....

Hopefully I don't post back with further related problems! smile.gif


Edited to correct "VSX-823" rather than "Pioneer VSX"
jywc55 is offline  
post #3888 of 4039 Old 04-18-2014, 06:49 AM
Member
 
jywc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Argh! Of course, I spoke to soon... I'm going to blame this on sleep deprivation from attempting to troubleshoot last night no avail...

Another facepalm moment: turns out I left my HDMI connection directly to the TV. I should have clued in when I noticed the display reading as "PanasonicTV0" rather than "VSX-823"...

Please help!!!!!
In the mean time, I will attempt this EDID override and report back
jywc55 is offline  
post #3889 of 4039 Old 04-18-2014, 08:10 AM
Member
 
jywc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Sorry to bombard this thread, but here is an update:

1. installed EDID override as per instructions in first post
2. still unable to route via HTPC-AVR-TV ; behaviour is similar as before, with extended desktop working at 1080i/30Hz for TV
3. However, there is one new development: I am able to switch to 1080p/60Hz for TV via CCC. However, this breaks again if I disable extended desktop (single display to AVR-TV).

Sounds like the EDID override has helped to some degree (or my ability to switch to 1080p/60Hz is intermittent and just hadn't been successful prior to the override).
Overall, I get the feeling that my problem has the flavour of a handshaking problem.... but I do not know how to proceed from here....


Here is a link to my override inf file:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3xx9t2j62i0kbtb/Pioneer%20VSX-823.inf
I notice that within it, there are these lines, which look relevant and correct...
[DPMS]
HKR,,DPMS,,0
HKR,,PreferredMode,,"1920,1080,60"
[MODE1]
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1920,1080,60"

(Edited to include link to inf file and relevant lines)
jywc55 is offline  
post #3890 of 4039 Old 04-18-2014, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
You shouldn't require an EDID override. Try connecting to different HDMI ports on the AVR and/or swapping cables. Also check the HDMI setup on the AVR.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3891 of 4039 Old 04-18-2014, 10:17 AM
Member
 
jywc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Thanks for the advice Tulli.

I have tried each of the ports and I only have 2 cables available to me. The cables transmit the following without a problem:
1. PS3-AVR-TV gives me 1080p
2. HTPC-TV gives me 1080p/60Hz
3. HTPC-AVR-TV gives me extended desktop with 1080i/30Hz , and on one single occasion this morning, I was able to switch this to 1080p/60Hz within CCC but since then I have not been able to replicate it.
It seems that the cables are not the problem?

Should I uninstall the override?

What should I check with regards to HDMI setup on the AVR?
The only options that are apparent to me are for HDMI Control (on/off), ARC (on/off) and Standby Through (each HDMI output)
jywc55 is offline  
post #3892 of 4039 Old 04-18-2014, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Doesn't make sense. Perhaps a problem with the driver installation? Anyway, could you post the real time EDID of the TV to have a look at it? Maybe an EDID override could help.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3893 of 4039 Old 04-18-2014, 09:10 PM
Member
 
jywc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I did try uninstalling and reinstalling the video card driver prior to attempting the EDID override, to no avail...
Below is my TV EDID capture followed by AVR EDID capture
If it helps, you had pointed me to this file when advising me for an audio related issue:
http://www.avsforum.com/attachments/74612

As a slight update, I found over the course of the afternoon that the output is very temperamental. No sure sequence of connecting or switching desktop display configuration could reproducibly allow me to output 1080p, and sometimes even 1080i did not work. But every once in a while, switching amongst configurations would result in successful 1080p output.



TV EDID capture (Panasonic TCP55UT50)

; INF file generated by Monitor Asset Manager (2.70.0.989), 12/01/2014
; Copyright (c) 1995-2013, EnTech Taiwan.
; Internet: http://www.entechtaiwan.com

[Version]
Signature="$WINDOWS NT$"
Class=Monitor
ClassGUID={4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
Provider=%MFG%
DriverVer=12/01/2014, 1.0.0.0
;CatalogFile=YourSignedCatalogFile.cat

[DestinationDirs]
DefaultDestDir=23

[SourceDisksNames]
1=%DISC%

[SourceDisksFiles]
;YourColorProfileFile.icm

[Manufacturer]
%VENDOR%=EDID_OVERRIDE,NTx86,NTamd64

[EDID_OVERRIDE.NTx86]
%PRODUCTID%=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install, MONITOR\MEIA0DA

[EDID_OVERRIDE.NTamd64]
%PRODUCTID%=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64, MONITOR\MEIA0DA

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTx86]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg, MODE1, DPMS
CopyFiles=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg, MODE1, DPMS
CopyFiles=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTx86.HW]
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64.HW]
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg]
;Base EDID
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE,"0",0x01,0x00,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0x00,0x34,0xA9,0xDA,0xA0,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x00,0x16,0x01,0x03,0x80,0x00,0x00,0x78,0x0A,0xDA,0xFF,0xA3,0x58,0x4A,0xA2,0x29,0x17,0x49,0x4B,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x02,0x3A,0x80,0x18,0x71,0x38,0x2D,0x40,0x58,0x2C,0x45,0x00,0xBA,0x88,0x21,0x00,0x00,0x1E,0x01,0x1D,0x80,0x18,0x71,0x1C,0x16,0x20,0x58,0x2C,0x25,0x00,0xBA,0x88,0x21,0x00,0x00,0x9E,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xFC,0x00,0x50,0x61,0x6E,0x61,0x73,0x6F,0x6E,0x69,0x63,0x54,0x56,0x30,0x0A,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xFD,0x00,0x17,0x3D,0x0F,0x44,0x0F,0x00,0x0A,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x01,0x9A
;Extension bloc #1, e.g., CEA-EXT, DID-EXT, etc.
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE,"1",0x01,0x02,0x03,0x2A,0x71,0x49,0x90,0x05,0x20,0x04,0x03,0x02,0x07,0x06,0x01,0x23,0x09,0x07,0x01,0x73,0x03,0x0C,0x00,0x10,0x00,0xB8,0x2D,0x2F,0xC0,0x07,0x81,0x49,0x01,0xFE,0x06,0x08,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xE3,0x05,0x1F,0x01,0x01,0x1D,0x00,0x72,0x51,0xD0,0x1E,0x20,0x6E,0x28,0x55,0x00,0xBA,0x88,0x21,0x00,0x00,0x1E,0x8C,0x0A,0xD0,0x8A,0x20,0xE0,0x2D,0x10,0x10,0x3E,0x96,0x00,0xBA,0x88,0x21,0x00,0x00,0x18,0x8C,0x0A,0xD0,0x8A,0x20,0xE0,0x2D,0x10,0x10,0x3E,0x96,0x00,0x0B,0x88,0x21,0x00,0x00,0x18,0x8C,0x0A,0xA0,0x14,0x51,0xF0,0x16,0x00,0x26,0x7C,0x43,0x00,0xBA,0x88,0x21,0x00,0x00,0x98,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x86

[DEL_CURRENT_REG]
HKR,MODES
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE
HKR,,MaxResolution
HKR,,PreferredMode
HKR,,DPMS
HKR,,ICMProfile

[DPMS]
HKR,,DPMS,,0

HKR,,PreferredMode,,"1920,1080,60"
[MODE1]
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1920,1080,60"

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\1920,1080,60",Mode1,,"15.0-68.0,23.0-61.0,+,+"

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles]
;YourColorProfileFile.icm for non-sRGB displays

[Strings]
MFG="EnTech Taiwan"
DISC="Monitor EDID Override Installation Disk"
PRODUCTID="PanasonicTV0 (MEIA0DA EDID Override)"
VENDOR="Panasonic"



AVR EDID capture (Pioneer VSX 823)

; INF file generated by Monitor Asset Manager (2.70.0.989), 18/04/2014
; Copyright (c) 1995-2013, EnTech Taiwan.
; Internet: http://www.entechtaiwan.com

[Version]
Signature="$WINDOWS NT$"
Class=Monitor
ClassGUID={4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
Provider=%MFG%
DriverVer=18/04/2014, 1.0.0.0
;CatalogFile=YourSignedCatalogFile.cat

[DestinationDirs]
DefaultDestDir=23

[SourceDisksNames]
1=%DISC%

[SourceDisksFiles]
;YourColorProfileFile.icm

[Manufacturer]
%VENDOR%=EDID_OVERRIDE,NTx86,NTamd64

[EDID_OVERRIDE.NTx86]
%PRODUCTID%=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install, MONITOR\PIO0000

[EDID_OVERRIDE.NTamd64]
%PRODUCTID%=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64, MONITOR\PIO0000

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTx86]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg, MODE1, DPMS
CopyFiles=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg, MODE1, DPMS
CopyFiles=OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTx86.HW]
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.Install.NTamd64.HW]
AddReg=OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID_AddReg]
;Base EDID
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE,"0",0x01,0x00,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0xFF,0x00,0x41,0x2F,0x00,0x00,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x00,0x16,0x01,0x03,0x80,0x00,0x00,0x78,0x0A,0xDA,0xFF,0xA3,0x58,0x4A,0xA2,0x29,0x17,0x49,0x4B,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x01,0x02,0x3A,0x80,0x18,0x71,0x38,0x2D,0x40,0x58,0x2C,0x45,0x00,0xBA,0x88,0x21,0x00,0x00,0x1E,0x01,0x1D,0x80,0x18,0x71,0x1C,0x16,0x20,0x58,0x2C,0x25,0x00,0xBA,0x88,0x21,0x00,0x00,0x9E,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xFD,0x00,0x17,0x3D,0x0F,0x44,0x0F,0x00,0x0A,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x00,0x00,0x00,0xFC,0x00,0x56,0x53,0x58,0x2D,0x38,0x32,0x33,0x0A,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x20,0x01,0x8C
;Extension bloc #1, e.g., CEA-EXT, DID-EXT, etc.
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE,"1",0x01,0x02,0x03,0x41,0x71,0x49,0x90,0x05,0x20,0x04,0x03,0x02,0x07,0x06,0x01,0x38,0x09,0x7F,0x07,0x0F,0x7F,0x07,0x15,0x07,0x50,0x3E,0x1E,0xC0,0x49,0x2A,0x00,0x57,0x06,0x00,0x5F,0x7E,0x01,0x67,0x7F,0x00,0x83,0x4F,0x00,0x00,0x71,0x03,0x0C,0x00,0x15,0x00,0xB8,0x2D,0x2F,0xC0,0x07,0x01,0x49,0x01,0xFE,0x06,0x0E,0x00,0xE3,0x05,0x1F,0x01,0x01,0x1D,0x00,0x72,0x51,0xD0,0x1E,0x20,0x6E,0x28,0x55,0x00,0xBA,0x88,0x21,0x00,0x00,0x1E,0x8C,0x0A,0xD0,0x8A,0x20,0xE0,0x2D,0x10,0x10,0x3E,0x96,0x00,0xBA,0x88,0x21,0x00,0x00,0x18,0x8C,0x0A,0xD0,0x8A,0x20,0xE0,0x2D,0x10,0x10,0x3E,0x96,0x00,0x0B,0x88,0x21,0x00,0x00,0x18,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x51

[DEL_CURRENT_REG]
HKR,MODES
HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE
HKR,,MaxResolution
HKR,,PreferredMode
HKR,,DPMS
HKR,,ICMProfile

[DPMS]
HKR,,DPMS,,0

HKR,,PreferredMode,,"1920,1080,60"
[MODE1]
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1920,1080,60"

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\1920,1080,60",Mode1,,"15.0-68.0,23.0-61.0,+,+"

[OVERRIDDEN-EDID.CopyFiles]
;YourColorProfileFile.icm for non-sRGB displays

[Strings]
MFG="EnTech Taiwan"
DISC="Monitor EDID Override Installation Disk"
PRODUCTID="Pioneer VSX-823 (PIO0000 EDID Override)"
VENDOR="Pioneer"
jywc55 is offline  
post #3894 of 4039 Old 04-19-2014, 05:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I see no issues. The Pioneer EDID is a correct merge. So it should be a driver problem installation requiring a clean install of the driver. Do you have a laptop with a HDMI port or another PC to try?

You could also try cleaning up all registry leftovers. See first post.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3895 of 4039 Old 04-19-2014, 07:37 AM
Member
 
jywc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Thanks for looking!
I will take another stab at a driver clean reinstall.

Unfortunately I do not have another HDMI PC. I have a DVI output with HDMI adaptor but I don't expect that would give us any helpful information...
Does the fact that the PS3 works properly tell us anything more than that the cables and AVR are working ?
jywc55 is offline  
post #3896 of 4039 Old 04-20-2014, 09:20 AM
Member
 
jywc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'd like to make sure that I am not making any undue assumptions that I am doing this correctly... so please let me know if my reinstall process is correct:

1. disconnect from AVR/TV, connect to VGA display
2. uninstall video card driver via Add/Remove Programs
3. restart
4. follow Step 4 in the first post of this thread to remove EDID override, including cleaning leftovers in registry
5. restart
6. install most recent AMD Catalyst driver (13.12)
7. shut down
8. reconnect AVR and TV
9. turn on TV, then AVR, then HTPC
10. install EDID override via Step 2 on first post (using my Pioneer EDID as posted above https://www.dropbox.com/s/3xx9t2j62i0kbtb/Pioneer%20VSX-823.inf)
11. restart
jywc55 is offline  
post #3897 of 4039 Old 04-20-2014, 09:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Use this AMD utility to make a clean uninstall of the driver.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3898 of 4039 Old 04-20-2014, 09:38 AM
Member
 
jywc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Okay thanks! That replaces only step 2, right?
jywc55 is offline  
post #3899 of 4039 Old 04-20-2014, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Just run the AMD Clean Utility and install the graphic driver again. You can do the the registry clean-up either before or after the AMD driver clean install. It makes no difference.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #3900 of 4039 Old 04-20-2014, 12:21 PM
Member
 
jywc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Okay thanks.
And after the clean install of the AMD driver, I should proceed to install the Pioneer AVR EDID override?
jywc55 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off