EDID Overrides to solve bitstreaming issues for ATI 5xxx's - Page 135 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4021 of 4047 Old 08-14-2014, 01:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does it actually make a difference (in quality) wether the DTS-signal is decoded by my AVR or by my Computer?
funky-munky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4022 of 4047 Old 08-14-2014, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
No difference.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4023 of 4047 Old 08-17-2014, 09:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Tulli,

I'm glad I found this thread! I'm also having trouble with my receiver playing DTS HD MA.

My setup is as follows:

Panasonic TC-P50G10 HDTV
Onkyo HT-R380 receiver
AMD Radeon HD 6770 (with latest update)

I ran MonInfo and I created the INF files from there for my TV and receiver. Also, the INF files said "Registry" in their Display ID's in MonInfo. I hope these are the ones you need. I appreciate any help you could provide me with. Thank you.
Attached Files
File Type: zip TMOD INF files.zip (2.1 KB, 11 views)
TMODdev is offline  
post #4024 of 4047 Old 08-18-2014, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
The captures only included the basic block (128-bytes). Use the attached mod:

Panasonic-TC-P50G15 - Onkyo HT-R380.zip
TMODdev likes this.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4025 of 4047 Old 08-18-2014, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you Tulli! It's finally working! Much appreciated.
TMODdev is offline  
post #4026 of 4047 Old 08-22-2014, 09:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys, new there!
With my ATI card I can't get multichannel support and all audio codecs, just stereo and Dolby Digital. I try different AMD drivers, no differences. See picture:



I tried to undesrtand if I have the EDID problem, so I create my .inf file. Here's the step I did:
1) connected HDMI directly to my LG 42LV340A and created .inf with moninfo
2) connected HDMI to receiver Denon X4000 and created .inf with moninfo
3) opened the denon .inf and pasted the string from lg .inf after HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE,"0",
4) saved, installed and rebooted


no differences at all!
i did something wrong?


thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: zip EDID.zip (3.7 KB, 7 views)
Pissa is offline  
post #4027 of 4047 Old 08-22-2014, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Just read my previous exchange with TMODdev as it applies to your case. According to your CAP the problem should be in the AVR. Set the HDMI to not replicate the TV audio specs (in older DENONs it needs to be set to "AMP"). Otherwise make sure to use an AMD provided driver (not Microsoft).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4028 of 4047 Old 08-22-2014, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
Just read my previous exchange with TMODdev as it applies to your case.
You mean that my .inf has only the basic block?
How do I get the full one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
According to your CAP the problem should be in the AVR. Set the HDMI to not replicate the TV audio specs (in older DENONs it needs to be set to "AMP").
Can't remeber that option, I'm going to check and report to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
Otherwise make sure to use an AMD provided driver (not Microsoft).
Yes I use ONLY AMD drivers!
Pissa is offline  
post #4029 of 4047 Old 08-22-2014, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Sorry, I meant my exchange with @funky-munky .

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4030 of 4047 Old 08-22-2014, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
in HDMI configuration I have:


- auto lip sync: ON
- HDMI audio out: AVR
- video output: monitor 1
- pass through HDMI: OFF
- HDMI control: OFF


not selectable because HDMI control is OFF:
- pass through souce: -
- power off control: -




I confirm drivers are by AMD and not by Microsoft.
I think the setting you ask me to check is HDMI audio out, I can choose AVR or TV but unfortunately it's already selected on AVR.

Last edited by Pissa; 08-22-2014 at 01:03 PM.
Pissa is offline  
post #4031 of 4047 Old 08-22-2014, 01:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
the really strange fact is that if I install realtek ati hdmi drivers (that I don't want to use because they are incompatible with wasapi) I get this situation:





really don't understand what could be the problem....
Pissa is offline  
post #4032 of 4047 Old 08-22-2014, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
What is your setup? (OS and specific AMD graphic card)?

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4033 of 4047 Old 08-23-2014, 01:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
What is your setup? (OS and specific AMD graphic card)?
Asrock 939A790GMH with AMD HD3300 IGP graphic card -> http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/939A790GMH/
Windows 8.1 x86

Last edited by Pissa; 08-23-2014 at 01:56 AM.
Pissa is offline  
post #4034 of 4047 Old 08-23-2014, 04:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
The Radeon HD3000 series has limited bandwidth to compressed 5.1 and 2 channels uncompressed audio:

http://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages...-review,3.html

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4035 of 4047 Old 08-23-2014, 04:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
and so?
also don't understand why with ATI drivers I have these settings, and with Realtek ones those settings....
Pissa is offline  
post #4036 of 4047 Old 08-23-2014, 05:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
The IGP has S/PDIF bandwidth limitation. That's it: only stereo uncompressed or 5.1 compressed audio (perhaps only AC3, per ATI driver detection).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4037 of 4047 Old 08-23-2014, 05:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
so edid override has nothing to do with my system, right?!

I'm using xbmc and powerdvd 14,they can manage wasapi exclusive mode, if I use them in that way it's ok?
Pissa is offline  
post #4038 of 4047 Old 08-23-2014, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Correct. You can get lossless 2-PCM (e. g. for music). For multichannel set PDVD to passthrough the audio stream (non-decode mode).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4039 of 4047 Old 08-23-2014, 06:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
many thanks mate!
Pissa is offline  
post #4040 of 4047 Old 10-03-2014, 07:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello Tulli

First of all I will like to thank you for all the work you are doing to help people here. I have been reading this long thread for a few days now and trying to learn as I am very new to all this. My current set up is very similar to lots of other people who have mentioned in the forum. Currently I have my HTPC connected to my Sony TV using the HDMI cable and my TV is connected to Yamaha AVR using the Optical Toslink cable.

HTPC (Using HDMI) ------ Sony TV KDL46V3000 (Using Optical Out) ------ Yamaha RXV 550 AVR

I am using Gefore 210 video card in my HTPC and have the latest NVIDIA drivers installed. I have also removed any previously installed drivers and disabled any other existing audio drivers. I am using Windows 7 and when I configure NVIDIA HD sound I only see the Stereo option, which means like I will need the EDID override for all the other options to show up. I want to use my Sony Tv as a passthrough while using XBMC so that content I play in XBMC which is configured as 5.1 I can get the 5.1 surround sound.

I can create my TV display INF using the MonInfo but I don't know how to create my AVR INF which is Yamaha RXV550. I will be thankful to you if you could create or help me create the required INF so that I can solve the surround sound audio issue.

Thanks again.
Palvish is offline  
post #4041 of 4047 Old 10-09-2014, 09:53 AM
Member
 
ontherocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I uninstalled the edid override. Then tried to install it again. This time it won't install the override. Getting error telling me that driver is not digitally signed as shown in the image below.


Last edited by ontherocks; 10-09-2014 at 10:35 AM.
ontherocks is offline  
post #4042 of 4047 Old 10-09-2014, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Check this post.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4043 of 4047 Old 10-09-2014, 10:33 AM
Member
 
ontherocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
Check this post.
I have Windows 7 64bit. The Windows Security pop up appears and I select "Install this driver software anyway". This was exactly how it was during the first time I had installed the override.

ontherocks is offline  
post #4044 of 4047 Old 10-12-2014, 03:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all

i came here from another (XBMC) forum, when i was trying to solve audio streaming problems from my XBMC, to play correct DTS and DTS HD audio streams, because now it didnt recognize them.
my AVR is ONKYO HT-R548
my TV is LG 50PK-550

i found my amplifier in first post (with * marked) but i did not find my TV.
i also found a file with LG PK-350 which is similar TV to mine, (but lower model), but with different AVR than mine.

is it possible to merge these two files, to get my own correct file?
if not, is it possible for you Tulli to make one right for me?

thanks in advance

sorry for my bad english..
DarK_HumOuR is offline  
post #4045 of 4047 Old 10-12-2014, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 82
The LG PK-350 - ONKYO HT-R380 mod on first post should work with your TV and AVR.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4046 of 4047 Old 10-12-2014, 04:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
thank you very much Tulli!!
DarK_HumOuR is offline  
post #4047 of 4047 Old 10-20-2014, 10:57 AM
Member
 
TOMillr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any news for people using an Intel HD gpu?
TOMillr is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off