EDID Overrides to solve bitstreaming issues for ATI 5xxx's - Page 136 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4051 of 4058 Old 11-02-2014, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Maybe the (S/PDIF?) connection from the Xbox to the HTPC does not accept multichannel (is this your connection?).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4052 of 4058 Old 11-03-2014, 04:47 PM
Newbie
 
xstefanx42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Htpc->hdmi->xbox one passthrough->hdmi->tv->optical->receiver.

The only thing currently not playing in 5.1 is the htpc. The tv itself does and any other app from the Xbox does except for the tv app.
xstefanx42 is offline  
post #4053 of 4058 Old 11-03-2014, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Should work then. Perhaps the htpc video application is decoding the AC3 audio stream to PCM (or sending a PCM audio stream not encoded as AC3). In that case you'd certainly only get 2 channels.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4054 of 4058 Old 11-04-2014, 09:15 PM
Newbie
 
xstefanx42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've gone through the settings and read through their wiki and it should be working. That being said, I wouldn't be shocked if it ended up being that.

Here is how the HTPC application is set up. I don't expect you to go digging or anything, just wanted to post this as a reference.



Now the part that is throwing me is this. It says there's no support for compressed formats. Shouldn't there be if you said it had AC3 Support?

xstefanx42 is offline  
post #4055 of 4058 Old 11-05-2014, 03:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Weird. Try overriding the EDID with the captured monitor driver. It has the 6AC3 descriptor.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4056 of 4058 Old 11-05-2014, 05:38 PM
Newbie
 
xstefanx42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just gave that a try and the supported formats still says the same thing. Attaching the file I used rather than copy and paste this time in case I messed something up before. Renamed to .txt is all.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xbox.txt (2.9 KB, 5 views)
xstefanx42 is offline  
post #4057 of 4058 Old 11-05-2014, 07:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 84
File is fine. Double-check the installation procedure (a reboot is necessary). Check 1st. post for more info.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4058 of 4058 Old 11-05-2014, 08:45 PM
Newbie
 
xstefanx42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just double checked the first post and that's definitely how I installed it. =\
xstefanx42 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off