EDID Overrides to solve bitstreaming issues for ATI 5xxx's - Page 137 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4081 of 4093 Old 12-16-2014, 09:16 AM
Member
 
thetesterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
My mistake ...
Again many thanks Tulli, new inf working perfectly
Happy holidays
Tester
thetesterman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4082 of 4093 Old 12-23-2014, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey this is the audio block from my .inf that was captured with moninf:

HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE,"1",0x01,0x02,0x03,0x23,0xF1,0x4 B,0x90,0x1F,0x04,0x13,0x05,0x14,0x03,0x12,0x20,0x2 1,0x22,0x23,0x09,0x07,0x07,0x83,0x01,0x00,0x00,0xE 2,0x00,0x0F,0x67,0x03,0x0C,0x00,0x10,0x00,0xB8,0x2 D,0x01,0x1D,0x00,0x72,0x51,0xD0,0x1E,0x20,0x6E,0x2 8,0x55,0x00,0xA0,0x5A,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x1E,0x01,0x1 D,0x00,0xBC,0x52,0xD0,0x1E,0x20,0xB8,0x28,0x55,0x4 0,0xA0,0x5A,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x1E,0x01,0x1D,0x80,0x1 8,0x71,0x1C,0x16,0x20,0x58,0x2C,0x25,0x00,0xA0,0x5 A,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x9E,0x01,0x1D,0x80,0xD0,0x72,0x1 C,0x16,0x20,0x10,0x2C,0x25,0x80,0xA0,0x5A,0x00,0x0 0,0x00,0x9E,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x0 0,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x0 0,0x00,0x00,0x0D

What do I need to change? I have connected PC to TV with dsiplyprot to hdmi, and than from TV to audio converter with optical cable.
qzem is offline  
post #4083 of 4093 Old 12-23-2014, 11:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok I have attached my inf file, can correct it for me Tulli? Please
Attached Files
File Type: zip samsungUE40D5500.zip (1.2 KB, 1 views)
qzem is offline  
post #4084 of 4093 Old 12-23-2014, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 91
...
Attached Files
File Type: zip samsungUE40D5500+AC3,DTS.zip (1.3 KB, 5 views)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4085 of 4093 Old Yesterday, 01:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks a lot Tully! But unfortunatly I still see only stereo configuration under him audio when I try to configure speakers. And there is another problem, every time I restart laptop audio is not going to TV trough hdmi, then I unplug hdmi and plug it in again, then it works but still only stereo. Should I recollect edid on another hdmi input, cause my TV has 4?
qzem is offline  
post #4086 of 4093 Old Yesterday, 04:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 91
For multichannel to work the audio stream must be encoded to AC3 or DTS by the application. Because of bandwidth limitation by the TV only 2 channels of uncompressed audio are possible.

The problem of routing of audio is driver related. What is the graphic adapter? if it is Intel then it won't even accept an EDID override.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4087 of 4093 Old Yesterday, 08:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have AMD radeon HD 7400M. On the Web site it says it has 7.1 audio channels. My TV also supports Dolby digital, at least that is what is advertised.
qzem is offline  
post #4088 of 4093 Old Today, 12:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
soooo yeah.. i got an RCA RT2911 5.1 surround sound setup for xmas... and im like SWEET i can FINALLY get some surround sound out of my PC.. WRONG.. lol i only get stereo and now im sad.. i tried to read this forum.. but its like reading greek... im so utterly lost and confused as to what i need to do to override what and where... i have the radeon 5570...
XmasPresentFail is online now  
post #4089 of 4093 Old Today, 06:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Check 1st. post.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4090 of 4093 Old Today, 04:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i did.. and im confused as hell.. this got complicated quickly lol.. i thought id plug my hdmi into the reciever.. and POOF thered be 5.1 surround haha... stupid me.. lol
XmasPresentFail is online now  
post #4091 of 4093 Old Today, 05:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
[QUOTE=Tulli;18138259]Ok, the bitstreaming issue with ATI 5xxx's cards and some AVR's has been fixed in CAT 10.4.

[UPDATE 1/3/2014]
 
A DIY EDID OVERRIDE THAT FIXES THE AMD HD-AUDIO BITSTREAMING BUG WITH 5.1 AVRs
 
The problem is with the 6LPCM descriptor in the audio block (0x0D) of the AVR EDID. Just change it to 0x0F (8LPCM). E.g.:
 

0x38,0x09,0x7F,0x07,0x0D,0x7F,0x07,0x17,0x07,0x50,0x3F,0x06,0xC0,0x4D,0x02 ,0x00,0x57,0x06,0x00,0x5F,0x7E,0x01,0x67,0x54,0x00

0x38,0x09,0x7F,0x07,0x0F,0x7F,0x07,0x17,0x07,0x50,0x3F,0x06,0xC0,0x4D,0x02 ,0x00,0x57,0x06,0x00,0x5F,0x7E,0x01,0x67,0x54,0x00


Capture the real-time EDID of the AVR with the TV connected (PC-AVR-TV), i. e. the merged EDID by the AVR from the TV EDID. The audio block is in the 'HKR,EDID_OVERRIDE,"1", ...' line. If needed use Extron EDID Manager[/URL] to find it.
 
i have Extron EDID and i still don't understand
XmasPresentFail is online now  
post #4092 of 4093 Old Today, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 91
The RCA RT2911 is supposedly a home theater system (HTS), hence it will only pass 2-LPCM (uncompressed) audio or multichannel DD/DTS (compressed) audio over the HDMI connection. For multichannel to work audio must be encoded to DD or DTS.

OTOH an EDID override is required only if DD and DTS are not listed as supported formats for the HDMI audio device. I don't think this is your case.

Search for related posts on the subject of HTS in the thread for more info.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4093 of 4093 Old Today, 05:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
when you say encoded to DD or DTS do you mean like encoded into the file?
0.o
XmasPresentFail is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off