EDID Overrides to solve bitstreaming issues for ATI 5xxx's - Page 138 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4111 of 4124 Old 01-20-2015, 06:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Might of put this in the wrong spot so I'll repost here,



First post here so Hi all!

I am near completing my HTPC build and started testing things and just found out last night I cant pass full surround sound through my TV to my AVR. setup goes htpc>tv>avr. my avr only has optical inputs so no hdmi pass thru. On my custom build it would be pretty hard to get the optical out to work.I am stuffing a mid range gaming computer in a nes, with the I/O panel of the motherboard hidden in the nes.

I tried figuring it out last night for about an hour,will try fresh drivers tonight if I have time.

would really like to get this to work thru a EDID edit or some other software if possible ,let me know if you need any more info.

I really like my avr its been so good to me the last 10 years would be a pity to get a new one.

Any help to get me going in the right direction would be awesome.This is new territory for me, I never had to deal with not getting my 5.1+sound to work from my normal rig tho that is thru a optical out.
All I know this is going to drive me nuts until it is fixed lol.

Thanks

AVR- yamaha HTR-5740
TV- vizio e600i-b3

HTPC specs
windows 7 64
intel g3258
gtx 750ti

will show some pics when I get 5 posts if you guys want
Attached Files
File Type: zip vizio-e600i-b3.zip (1.2 KB, 7 views)
ungreedy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4112 of 4124 Old 01-20-2015, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,288
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Your Vizio TV can already pass through DD, so I only added DTS. Please check both EDID threads about Windows 2-LPCM channel detection in this case. It's not an issue.
Attached Files
File Type: zip vizio-e600i-b3+DTS.zip (1.2 KB, 5 views)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4113 of 4124 Old 01-20-2015, 06:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
Your Vizio TV can already pass through DD, so I only added DTS. Please check both EDID threads about Windows 2-LPCM channel detection in this case. It's not an issue.
wow that was fast, Thanks .Going to check the threads now
ungreedy is offline  
post #4114 of 4124 Old 01-20-2015, 07:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
Your Vizio TV can already pass through DD, so I only added DTS. Please check both EDID threads about Windows 2-LPCM channel detection in this case. It's not an issue.
Ok I tried searching about the "Windows 2-LPCM channel detection" I am pretty lost on what to do from here? also updated my EDID ,Thanks again for that.
ungreedy is offline  
post #4115 of 4124 Old 01-21-2015, 03:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,288
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Check post #4097 on previous page.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4116 of 4124 Old 01-21-2015, 08:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OK I checked out that post and some others ,I am getting a better understanding what's going on.I'm at work right now so I can do any testing.

Going to delete all sound drivers and try fresh tonight,did not have time last night.
Is there any drivers I should be getting and codec's

Pretty much the big thing I am wondering is it going to be possible to get the 5.1 sound from my HTPC>tv>avr . really bugging me there is a few games I would love to play with glorious surround sound.

Thanks for help,much appreciated!
ungreedy is offline  
post #4117 of 4124 Old 01-21-2015, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,288
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Install the EDID override and test with MPC-HC. Set LAV audio decoder to bitstream DD and DTS. Play a movie with a DD or DTS audio track. It should work.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4118 of 4124 Old 01-21-2015, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'll see how it goes tonight,I'll report back
ungreedy is offline  
post #4119 of 4124 Old 01-21-2015, 06:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
ok great news just got it working with the help of you and the other EDID thread , I had to use Jriver20 drivers and BAM surround sound.

I'm so happy now lol,3 days of research pays off.

Thanks so much!
ungreedy is offline  
post #4120 of 4124 Old 01-21-2015, 06:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
games are still not work right tho,but progress is progress.
ungreedy is offline  
post #4121 of 4124 Old Today, 06:53 AM
Newbie
 
AberDino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Tulli, hope you can help . I have recently upgraded my TV from a Philips PFL9632D to a Samsung HU7500. My HTPC is connected to the TV with a HDMI cable, and my old Yamaha DSP-A2 amplifier is connected to the digital audio out of the TV. Unfortunately my new Samsung TV does not allow AC3 or DTS passthrough to my amplifier, and I have verified with moninfo that the TV reports to the HTPC that it only supports 2-channel LPCM. My previous Philips TV allowed AC3 and DTS passthrough from the same HTPC without any issues. Would you be so kind to mod the attached inf file so I can get AC3 and DTS passthrough working again with my new TV? Thanks in advance!
Attached Files
File Type: zip samsung_hu7500.zip (1.3 KB, 1 views)
AberDino is online now  
post #4122 of 4124 Old Today, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,288
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 93
What is your graphic adapter?

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4123 of 4124 Old Today, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
AberDino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Tulli, it's an ATI Radeon HD 5550.
AberDino is online now  
post #4124 of 4124 Old Today, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,288
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 93
...
Attached Files
File Type: zip samsung_hu7500+DD&DTS.zip (1.3 KB, 0 views)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off