EDID Overrides to solve bitstreaming issues for ATI 5xxx's - Page 143 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4261 of 4272 Old 11-24-2015, 01:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
AFAIK full audio will work only with the built-in Bluray player, not over the HDMI-in connection (hence the lack of support for HD audio formats in the native EDID detected on the PC).
Attached is the table of the LG LHB755W HDMI spec.

I think if the Source on the left column here refer strictly to the built-in Bluray player, then you're probably right.

I was interpreting this "Source" to be either one of its 2 HDMI inputs, but maybe I'm wrong. If the native EDID detected on the PC doesn't show any of these options as seen on the spec, then you're probably right that the "Source" here is just the Bluray player.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LG LHB755W HDMI spec.JPG
Views:	72
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	1076818  
Volusiano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4262 of 4272 Old 11-24-2015, 04:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volusiano View Post
The spec for the LG LHB755W manual shows support for 5.1 and 7.1 LPCM (page 70 of the Appendix), so I wouldn't discount it yet.

I think you should tinker around with the PC's audio settings some more to make sure that you have 5.1 LPCM set in your Sound Control Panel's configuration setting, and that your video app is outputting 5.1 and not stereo, and that your content indeed does have 5.1 audio for sure.
I discovered that through the optical output of the PC and a patch for realtek HD, I get a Dolby digital live 5.1, however in certain applications that support it. My LG LHB755W shows the display "DD3:2/0.1" when the input is optical TOSLINK: it is something good to get around the limit. As far as the uncompressed PCM 5.1 surround sound it is only output mode. It is a limitation of the device driver LG
The suggestion to use an AVR professional is not so bad.
sfoneloki is offline  
post #4263 of 4272 Old 12-08-2015, 06:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Newby to Override

I have a vizio E60-C3 LED tv, just got it and I'm having the trouble with the override. I tried using the MOD below.

Vizio SV420m - DENON 590Vizio LCD + DENON AVR.

When installed, the video looses sync, TV says resolution not supported. Trying the Samsung LN-S4095D - DENON AVR988 next. Below is the Monoinf report. If a custom override is not needed, can someone point me in the right direction?


Monoinfo report attached.
Attached Files
File Type: txt moninfo.txt (7.7 KB, 8 views)
mtboyd is offline  
post #4264 of 4272 Old 12-08-2015, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Why the connection through the TV? No HDMI on the Denon?

What is your graphic adapter and OS? (An Intel adapter won't accept EDID overrides)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4265 of 4272 Old 12-08-2015, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
Why the connection through the TV? No HDMI on the Denon?

What is your graphic adapter and OS? (An Intel adapter won't accept EDID overrides)
Let me explain my setup. It's not a denon, just tried that driver beacuse it was listed to work with most brands. I have a Vizio TV with a Vizio 5.1 sound bar setup. HDMI from a Geforce 210 to the TV. Optical audio out of the tv to the bar system. Windows audio control says 2 channel only when detecting my Tv. So my tv is the switch for the sound system.

I did get the override to work with the Vizio inf in the list sometimes, but the video still goes out randomly, then will come back.


Geforce 210, Win 7 64bit
mtboyd is offline  
post #4266 of 4272 Old 12-08-2015, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 98
According to the real-time EDID of the Vizio there's already the capability of multichannel AC3 enabled. No need of overriding the EDID.

2 channels LPCM is the maximun bandwidth over the TV for uncompressed audio. Nothing to do about it.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4267 of 4272 Old 12-08-2015, 06:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtboyd View Post
Let me explain my setup. It's not a denon, just tried that driver beacuse it was listed to work with most brands. I have a Vizio TV with a Vizio 5.1 sound bar setup. HDMI from a Geforce 210 to the TV. Optical audio out of the tv to the bar system. Windows audio control says 2 channel only when detecting my Tv. So my tv is the switch for the sound system.

I did get the override to work with the Vizio inf in the list sometimes, but the video still goes out randomly, then will come back.


Geforce 210, Win 7 64bit
When you said you got the override to work with the Vizio sometimes, are you saying that your Geforce can see 5.1 channel options in the Windows audio control panel? And you're able to get DD or DTS through the TV to the Vizio sound bar? Only that your video goes in and out randomly?
Volusiano is offline  
post #4268 of 4272 Old 12-30-2015, 03:36 PM
Member
 
icstm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question

Hi,

Thank for this thread. Throughout my Win7 time it helped get the right digital output from my PC.
Now upgraded to Win10, the same inf files do not work, as Device manager says they need to be signed. Is there a solution?
icstm is offline  
post #4269 of 4272 Old 12-30-2015, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Disable digital signature verification and then install the EDID override.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #4270 of 4272 Old 01-02-2016, 07:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Happy new year...

Recently I finally changed the LG home theater with a decent AVR, the Yamaha rx v479.

Now when I connect HDMI directly to the AVR, the PC operates in PCM 5.1.

Unfortunately, however, if I connect to the PC to HDMI TV to the AVR via HDMI ARC, the PC returns to work only in 2.0.
The TV is a Panasonic 2011, TX-P50ST30.

Thanks a lot.
Attached Files
File Type: txt moninfo.txt (8.2 KB, 7 views)
sfoneloki is offline  
post #4271 of 4272 Old 01-09-2016, 11:41 PM
Newbie
 
GregoryRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EDID Override

HI Tulli about 7 years ago you provided me with EDID override filefor a Denon AVR 3808/ Pioneer Kuro plasma system. which has worked fantastically ever since.

My Denon has failed, and is not repairable, and I am about to commit to an Integra DTR 30.7 ( Pioneers Plasma still going strong). Do you have any experience with Integra models? I could not see Integra in your list of prior solutions so maybe thisd infers Integra AVR's do not require EDID overrides??

Please let me know your thoughts.

I would like to know a solution ( if needed), can be provided before I commit to buying the Integra

Thanks

Greg
GregoryRB is offline  
post #4272 of 4272 Old 01-10-2016, 04:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 98
You can use the same EDID override if needed. It will work with the Integra or any other AVR as the video part is the same for EDID detection.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off