EDID Overrides to solve bitstreaming issues for ATI 5xxx's - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 4010 Old 04-11-2010, 12:47 AM
Newbie
 
ram_kumarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is great, bitstreaming works perfectly fine (after so long of searching for true answers, thank you), but I ran into video issues during sleep/wake of my HTPC. I hope I can get a mod, here is my current setup

Current mod: Samsung LN-S4095D - DENON AVR988.inf
TV : Sony KDF-55XS955
AMP : Denon AVR 4310CI

Thank you

 

Sony-KDF-55XS955-Denon-4310CI.zip 0.205078125k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sony-KDF-55XS955-Denon-4310CI.zip (210 Bytes, 0 views)
ram_kumarb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 4010 Old 04-11-2010, 04:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by ram_kumarb View Post

This is great, bitstreaming works perfectly fine (after so long of searching for true answers, thank you), but I ran into video issues during sleep/wake of my HTPC. I hope I can get a mod, here is my current setup

Current mod: Samsung LN-S4095D - DENON AVR988.inf
TV : Sony KDF-55XS955
AMP : Denon AVR 4310CI

Thank you

The attachment has only an empty folder.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #993 of 4010 Old 04-11-2010, 08:31 AM
Newbie
 
ram_kumarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oops, sorry. Guess I need to review carefully what I do in the midnight debugging.

Here is the new attachment

Thanks

 

Sony-KDF-55XS955-Denon-4310CI.zip 0.205078125k . file
ram_kumarb is offline  
post #994 of 4010 Old 04-11-2010, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
rubixtious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need help getting trueHD bitstreaming working on this system. I can get dts-hd working on tmt3. I can only get dts core on mpc-hc (using ffdshow). TrueHD only outputs pcm on tmt3. Here is my setup:

Win7 x64
Onkyo ht-s3300 (ht-380 is the receiver)
optoma hd20
ati hdmi driver (10.3)

I have attached my edid file.

Thanks!

 

monitor.zip 1.1865234375k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip monitor.zip (1.2 KB, 0 views)
rubixtious is offline  
post #995 of 4010 Old 04-11-2010, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubixtious View Post

I can get dts-hd working on tmt3. I can only get dts core on mpc-hc (using ffdshow).

You probably downloaded MPC-HC from sourceforge, correct? The latest build on sourceforge is old and the source filter stripped the HD metadata and only passed the DTS-Core to the audio decoder. Download the latest SVN buld from http://www.xvidvideo.ru/media-player...inema-x86-x64/
vladd is offline  
post #996 of 4010 Old 04-11-2010, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
Rickhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi! Just bought HD5450 to get bitstream work with Blu-Ray movies, DTS-HD bitstreaming did work out of box, but my biggest problem was that True-HD did not.

after some reading of this forum i did try one of the EDIT mods listed on this site (Sony 52W5500 - DENON AVR1910) and True-HD bitstream did work, but somehow it seems like maybe picture was little better with original display EDIT, could it be so different?

I was just wondering could you do MOD for me too ?

also with my original EDIT info, sometimes when start HTPC from sleep picture does change from 1080p to 1080i, i think it has something to do with handshake maybe...

but anyway i would appreciate to get atleast True-HD bitstream work, without sacrificing picture quality

EDIT: btw AMP what i'm using with my HTPC is Denon AVR-1910
and my TV is Sony KDL-40W4500

there is my edit info below
Rickhard is offline  
post #997 of 4010 Old 04-11-2010, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Try the following mods from the first post (the one in bold may work the best):

Sony KDL-40D3000 - DENON 1909
Sony KDL-40L4000 - DENON 1610
Sony KDL-40W5500 - DENON2309
vladd is offline  
post #998 of 4010 Old 04-11-2010, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
Rickhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

Try the following mods from the first post (the one in bold may work the best):

Sony KDL-40D3000 - DENON 1909
Sony KDL-40L4000 - DENON 1610
Sony KDL-40W5500 - DENON2309

ok have to try those also, i was just wondering could there be any difference with picture, it did flicker maybe little bit more with 52W5500 and Denon AVR-1910 MOD compared to original or is it just me difference was very hard to notice.

EDIT: btw download link for KDL-40W5500 - Denon2309 MOD did not work anymore, atleast for me.
Rickhard is offline  
post #999 of 4010 Old 04-11-2010, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by ram_kumarb View Post
Oops, sorry. Guess I need to review carefully what I do in the midnight debugging.

Here is the new attachment

Thanks
Ok, here you go ...

 

Sony KDF-55XS955 - DENON 4310.zip 1.205078125k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sony KDF-55XS955 - DENON 4310.zip (1.2 KB, 0 views)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1000 of 4010 Old 04-11-2010, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubixtious View Post

I need help getting trueHD bitstreaming working on this system. I can get dts-hd working on tmt3. I can only get dts core on mpc-hc (using ffdshow). TrueHD only outputs pcm on tmt3. Here is my setup:

Win7 x64
Onkyo ht-s3300 (ht-380 is the receiver)
optoma hd20
ati hdmi driver (10.3)

I have attached my edid file.

Thanks!

TrueHD SAD is fine on the ONKYO EDID so your issue is not EDID related.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1001 of 4010 Old 04-11-2010, 01:54 PM
Newbie
 
ram_kumarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Ok, here you go ...

Works perfectly with video now, thank you
ram_kumarb is offline  
post #1002 of 4010 Old 04-11-2010, 11:57 PM
Member
 
blackEyEz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is my setup:
TV: samsung LE37A557 full hd
Receiver: Onkyo 606
Case: Origenae S16T with 7" screen
HTPC: amd phenom x370 - ATI 5750 - Windows 7 x64 ultimate

Hey Trulli, im at the end of my options. Maybe you can help me.

When I start up my htpc i am having trouble getting a signal. I log into my htpc remotely and when i switch to 1080/24 i have a signal. When i go back to 60hz or 50hz the signal drops and also i see that CCC window dissapears and then comes back. When i go to a lower resolution i get a signal, when changing back to 1080/60 the signal drops.

Reboot/reinserting hdmi cable/changing to a diff HDMI out on my onkyo/starting(stopping) ADM external service, all doesnt fix it. And then magicaly after 20-25 minutes it works on 60hz without doing anything.

Can you make an EDID override for samsung LE37A557 - onky 606? And if this doesnt work i am buying a new receiver (if its a receiver problem)

Thank you
blackEyEz is offline  
post #1003 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 03:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
The 606 is known to be failing after some time (~12-14 months) so you definitely need a new AVR. See here for one of the many exchanges on this subject. As expressed there: "The problem really starts with HDMI handshake issues getting worse and worse with time."

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1004 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 04:00 AM
Newbie
 
BenFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't get it. I've got the INFs (TV & AVR) from MonInfo but what to do now?

I got a SHARP Aquos 42" 1080p with an ONKYO 607 AVR using ATI 5450 HDMI - Bitstreaming using PDVD9 or TMT3 won't work...

Help please!

Ben

 

sharp_o607.zip 2.318359375k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip sharp_o607.zip (2.3 KB, 0 views)
BenFish is offline  
post #1005 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 04:40 AM
Member
 
blackEyEz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

The 606 is known to be failing after some time (~12-14 months) so you definitely need a new AVR. See here for one of the many exchanges on this subject. As expressed there: "The problem really starts with HDMI handshake issues getting worse and worse with time."

Thanks for your link, im off to the store, i prolly go for a Denon. Or is there a brand you more recommend with bitstreaming?
blackEyEz is offline  
post #1006 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackEyEz View Post

Thanks for your link, im off to the store, i prolly go for a Denon. Or is there a brand you more recommend with bitstreaming?

If you don't want to mess up with EDID overrides get anything different than a DENON or SONY. Of course the EDID override is an easy fix so if you do prefer a DENON just go for it.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1007 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 05:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenFish View Post

I don't get it. I've got the INFs (TV & AVR) from MonInfo but what to do now?

I got a SHARP Aquos 42" 1080p with an ONKYO 607 AVR using ATI 5450 HDMI - Bitstreaming using PDVD9 or TMT3 won't work...

Help please!

Ben

Did you read the 1st. post? The 607 is not one of the failing AVRs so you don't need an EDID override at all. I double checked anyway and it's fine indeed.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1008 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 05:52 AM
Member
 
charlyholland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi tulli, i did some searching arround and even when a buy a adapter with display port it is not enough to get 3 outputs work at the same time, i also need an active displayport adapter to get things to work.

is nt there an other way to get hdmi output from my card just for hdmi audio and 2 pictures. otherwise i need to buy a new adpater like xfx5750 and and active displayport adapter from arround 100$ ..pffff
charlyholland is offline  
post #1009 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 06:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlyholland View Post

hi tulli, i did some searching arround and even when a buy a adapter with display port it is not enough to get 3 outputs work at the same time, i also need an active displayport adapter to get things to work.

is nt there an other way to get hdmi output from my card just for hdmi audio and 2 pictures. otherwise i need to buy a new adpater like xfx5750 and and active displayport adapter from arround 100$ ..pffff

hmm ... not quite right it seems:

http://www.widescreengamingforum.com...ic.php?t=17468
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/27...assive-adapter

Anyway you just need an active dp adapter as you say. Sapphire for instance has one for his cards ... see here.

You could get a Sapphire 5xxx card + this adapter.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1010 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
FYI I've PM'ed DenonJeff, who is the contact of DENON in the forum to help/assist with DENON products, about this EDID issue. Hope he's still there for his assistance has been always excellent.

I'll let you know of course about his reply (hopefully he'll even post here for all of you to know).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1011 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 08:12 AM
Member
 
charlyholland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes yes know i have seen them already an have read many posts about those adapter at the end i would need the dell/sapphire or accel one that one is active the pasive/native onces don t work very good. or do i say not at all.. but i wait for your post of jeffdenon.. i hope he can help..us to figure out what to do.
charlyholland is offline  
post #1012 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 09:09 AM
Newbie
 
Rickhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still have need for EDIT Override for my Denon AVR-1910 and Sony KDL-40W4500 combo i would appreciate if you would do it specially for me.

I did post my scan earlier, my problem was only that i cannot get True-HD bitstream work. I tried some mods listed and audio part worked, but somehow I still think that picture quality is better with original information if i'm not totally wrong.

I know that many people have asked special mod from you and you must be "Over- Employed" already

I think you are doing great job, luckily I found answer to my problem from this forum.
Rickhard is offline  
post #1013 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickhard View Post
I still have need for EDIT Override for my Denon AVR-1910 and Sony KDL-40W4500 combo i would appreciate if you would do it specially for me.

I did post my scan earlier, my problem was only that i cannot get True-HD bitstream work. I tried some mods listed and audio part worked, but somehow I still think that picture quality is better with original information if i'm not totally wrong.

I know that many people have asked special mod from you and you must be "Over- Employed" already

I think you are doing great job, luckily I found answer to my problem from this forum.
Ok, here's your mod.

 

Sony 40W4500 - DENON 1910.zip 1.208984375k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sony 40W4500 - DENON 1910.zip (1.2 KB, 0 views)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1014 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 09:35 AM
Newbie
 
Rickhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much Tulli, I will try it.
Rickhard is offline  
post #1015 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 09:52 AM
Newbie
 
Rickhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bitstream of True-HD seems to be working fine now and i didn't see any difference in picture compared to original when i did fast look with one Blu-ray, so good job Tulli again!
Rickhard is offline  
post #1016 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 11:04 AM
Newbie
 
Keithxp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Still 128-byte captures. Are you using the latest moninfo version? But previous mod should have worked. Try removing any monitor driver leftover by following section 5 on first post.

And here you go ...

All working now. Thank you very much indeed.

Keith

ps. Might be worth adding to your guide on getting captures, that MonInfo needs to be run as administrator. Unless it's really obvious to anyone but me!
Keithxp is offline  
post #1017 of 4010 Old 04-12-2010, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keithxp View Post

ps. Might be worth adding to your guide on getting captures, that MonInfo needs to be run as administrator. Unless it's really obvious to anyone but me!

Info added to 1st. post. Thanks!

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1018 of 4010 Old 04-14-2010, 04:36 AM
Member
 
blackEyEz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Trulli do you have an EDID for me:

SAMSUNG LE37A557 - DENON 1910

Thank you
blackEyEz is offline  
post #1019 of 4010 Old 04-14-2010, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Mike99TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upon reading the last page of this thread I assume that ATI hasn't fixed any of these EDID issues in their driver, and also newer Denon 1910s don't have a firmware fix for this? Just curious as I have a Denon 1910 arriving in 2 days and an ATI 5450 arriving at the same time - I guess I should end up having to install the EDID override? I have a mistu DLP (WD-65C9 which is very similar to the 65835 so I guess the existing mitsu DLP + denon AVR override will work even though the Denon is a completely different model?)

Thanks.
Mike99TA is offline  
post #1020 of 4010 Old 04-14-2010, 06:50 AM
Newbie
 
tbones_69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been struggling trying to get this XFX HD5770 card to bitstream either DTS-HD or True-HD and could really use some help as I am running out of options. I have read through these posts which are fantastic and think I have everything setup correctly but still can't even get DTS-HD. Here is my setup;

-Windows 7 Ultimate x64
-XFX HD5770 (Realtek ATI HDMI Audio Device 2.42 and latest Catalyst drivers)
-TMT 3 Platinum Trial
-Cyberlink PowerDVD 8 Ultra
-JVC RS20 Projector
-Intgra DTR-8.9 AVR (i think this is the same as Onkyo TX-SR876)
-Resolution set to 1080p/24

I can get regular DD and DTS to play without problem. At this point I am just trying to get DTS-HD to work as I know that shouldn't be as much of an issue as True-HD. I was testing last night using TMT3 Platinum Trial using Shine A Light Blu-Ray with audio set to DTS-MasterHD. When I selected the option to "show information" in TMT I confirmed it was streaming in DTS-HD yet my receiver was only playing DTS and could not get DTS-HD.

I tried applying Tulli's JVCRS20 and Denon AVR5308 inf(even though I have Integra AVR) and rebooted and tested again with the same results, only DTS sound. I looked for the "Verify that to your AVR/AVP is set to "AMP" mode, i.e, to NO audio-passthrough of your display device`option in my AVR but couldn`t find anything like that. The only option I could find that was similar was in the `Monitor out` setup where I had options for Through, Source, Auto or any resolution from 480p and up. I tried every option without any change and left it on Source which is what it was originally set to.

I am not sure at this point if I need a different EDID or if there may be something wrong in my setup. Any help would be very much appreciated as I am out of options now.

Thank you!
tbones_69 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off