EDID Overrides to solve bitstreaming issues for ATI 5xxx's - Page 39 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1141 of 4039 Old 04-26-2010, 05:12 PM
Member
 
marcdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay ill try it out tonight then! In between periods of the Blackhawks game... GO HAWKS!!!
marcdaddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1142 of 4039 Old 04-27-2010, 10:37 AM
Member
 
marcdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Tulli i tried the Overide you made me for the Sony5300 and Panasonic projector and now in Poerdvd i do not get the 3rd option, and it still doesnt fix my Problem of ATI locking my Refresh at 30i which is crap that i cant run in 1080P mode. I am about to give up on ATI/PDVD its been months and i still cant get it to work lol.
marcdaddy is offline  
post #1143 of 4039 Old 04-27-2010, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcdaddy View Post

Hi Tulli i tried the Overide you made me for the Sony5300 and Panasonic projector and now in Poerdvd i do not get the 3rd option, and it still doesnt fix my Problem of ATI locking my Refresh at 30i which is crap that i cant run in 1080P mode. I am about to give up on ATI/PDVD its been months and i still cant get it to work lol.

Checked the override and it's fine. Video timings are native to the projector too. Did you uninstall any previous monitor driver/leftover by following section 5 from 1st. post?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1144 of 4039 Old 04-27-2010, 02:50 PM
Newbie
 
sannieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Onkyo TX-SR606, Panasonic TX-P42S10E (have to check that!) and ATI 5750 (10.3). I'm using PowerDVD 10 on Windows 7, but can't get DTS-HD working. PowerDVD says that it's playing DTS-HD audio en the output is compressed data, but the AVR only shows the DTS icon.
sannieboy is offline  
post #1145 of 4039 Old 04-27-2010, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by sannieboy View Post

I have a Onkyo TX-SR606, Panasonic TX-P42S10E (have to check that!) and ATI 5750 (10.3). I'm using PowerDVD 10 on Windows 7, but can't get DTS-HD working. PowerDVD says that it's playing DTS-HD audio en the output is compressed data, but the AVR only shows the DTS icon.

You need to select the third audio option audio settings while the movie is playing back. If you only get 2 audio options then your 606 is faulty and needs an EDID override.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1146 of 4039 Old 04-27-2010, 06:37 PM
Newbie
 
richarddz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I am hoping someone can help as I am having the same trouble as most with the bitstreaming issue and I have a ATI 5750 video card. I do not want to add the wrong EDID to my system yet the one I need does not exist I have a Mitsubishi WD52725 DLP display and a Sony STR DA4400ES AVR. Can I use a similar EDID or do I need the specific to my equipment. I am having no video troubles is there a way I can modify the EDID I am using now to correct for my receiver. Thank you in advance for any help.
richarddz is offline  
post #1147 of 4039 Old 04-27-2010, 07:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by richarddz View Post

Hi,
I am hoping someone can help as I am having the same trouble as most with the bitstreaming issue and I have a ATI 5750 video card. I do not want to add the wrong EDID to my system yet the one I need does not exist I have a Mitsubishi WD52725 DLP display and a Sony STR DA4400ES AVR. Can I use a similar EDID or do I need the specific to my equipment. I am having no video troubles is there a way I can modify the EDID I am using now to correct for my receiver. Thank you in advance for any help.

See if a similar EDID Override works for you (i.e. meaning no video issues, as any of the listed EDID overrides will give you bitstreaming over the SONY AVR).

If you have video issues post the full 256-byte of the Mits and the SONY AVR and I'll mod it for both.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1148 of 4039 Old 04-27-2010, 11:31 PM
Newbie
 
tvboy1428's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear Tulli,

I am using a 5-year old Plasma TV (Hitachi 42PD5000) with DVI - HDMI cable connected to my Sony STR-DA2400ES AVR. There is no audio signal from my ATI HD5450 card HDMI port that can be reconized by my Sony AVR. I have tried to use both the below EDID Override files on my computer but I got no luck on getting the any audio signal from my HD5450 card.

SONY KDL40-X3500 - SONY STR DA2400ES.inf
Sony KDL-46D3500 - SONY STR-DA2400ES.inf

My guess is the problem is caused by the DVI input to my old Plasma TV which the first part of the EDID Override files on the TV cannot be applied to my Hitachi Plasma TV.

Can you help on working out an inf that fits my Hitachi Plasmas TV and my Sony STR-DA2400ES AVR?

John
tvboy1428 is offline  
post #1149 of 4039 Old 04-28-2010, 02:14 AM
Newbie
 
sannieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

You need to select the third audio option audio settings while the movie is playing back. If you only get 2 audio options then your 606 is faulty and needs an EDID override.


That did the trick! Thank you
sannieboy is offline  
post #1150 of 4039 Old 04-28-2010, 03:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvboy1428 View Post

Dear Tulli,

I am using a 5-year old Plasma TV (Hitachi 42PD5000) with DVI - HDMI cable connected to my Sony STR-DA2400ES AVR. There is no audio signal from my ATI HD5450 card HDMI port that can be reconized by my Sony AVR. I have tried to use both the below EDID Override files on my computer but I got no luck on getting the any audio signal from my HD5450 card.

SONY KDL40-X3500 - SONY STR DA2400ES.inf
Sony KDL-46D3500 - SONY STR-DA2400ES.inf

My guess is the problem is caused by the DVI input to my old Plasma TV which the first part of the EDID Override files on the TV cannot be applied to my Hitachi Plasma TV.

Can you help on working out an inf that fits my Hitachi Plasmas TV and my Sony STR-DA2400ES AVR?

John

Sure. Post the full 256-byte EDID of both and I'll do the mod.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1151 of 4039 Old 04-28-2010, 02:06 PM
Newbie
 
richarddz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Tulli,

Thank you for the assistance, I tried a Mitsubishi DLP and Denon EDID today and found that I lost video to my TV. I imagine the computer went above my TV's resolution so I connected another monitor and followed your guide to remove the EDID (Thank you for that info) and was up and running again with the generic Monitor EDID. I again followed your guide and used Moninfo to create 2 EDID one for my Mitsubishi and one for my Sony AVR. I have included them and hope you will have the time to create an EDID I can use. I believe the other Mitsubishi I used was a 1080P display and mine is only 1080I/720P so that most likely caused the video issue.

 

Mitsubishi WD-52725 and Sony STR-DA4400ES.zip 2.1572265625k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Mitsubishi WD-52725 and Sony STR-DA4400ES.zip (2.2 KB, 0 views)
richarddz is offline  
post #1152 of 4039 Old 04-28-2010, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by richarddz View Post

Hi Tulli,

Thank you for the assistance, I tried a Mitsubishi DLP and Denon EDID today and found that I lost video to my TV. I imagine the computer went above my TV's resolution so I connected another monitor and followed your guide to remove the EDID (Thank you for that info) and was up and running again with the generic Monitor EDID. I again followed your guide and used Moninfo to create 2 EDID one for my Mitsubishi and one for my Sony AVR. I have included them and hope you will have the time to create an EDID I can use. I believe the other Mitsubishi I used was a 1080P display and mine is only 1080I/720P so that most likely caused the video issue.

Guys, this thread is HISTORY!!!

I can confirm ATI fixed the EDID issue with Cat 10.4!

Tested on both my x32 & x64 systems over my DENON 988!

Enjoy!!!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1153 of 4039 Old 04-28-2010, 03:09 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Guys, this thread is HISTORY!!!

I can confirm ATI fixed the EDID issue with Cat 10.4!

Tested on both my x32 & x64 systems over my DENON 988!

Enjoy!!!

But will they break it again with Cat 10.5?

Edit - And THANK YOU very much for all the work you've put into the EDID overrides.
gsr is online now  
post #1154 of 4039 Old 04-28-2010, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

But will they break it again with Cat 10.5?

Edit - And THANK YOU very much for all the work you've put into the EDID overrides.

Well, I must say I learned a lot, and that was nice!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1155 of 4039 Old 04-28-2010, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
That's great news!
vladd is offline  
post #1156 of 4039 Old 04-28-2010, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Win7 selection for 10.4 still seems to be broken on ATI site. Choose Vista instead as it's the same driver.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1157 of 4039 Old 04-28-2010, 06:14 PM
Newbie
 
richarddz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Tulley,

Thank you for all the help I installed 10.4 and Bingo I had DTSTrue-HD on my receiver. I can see by how many people needed your help that this may have been the push for ATI to initiate this fix.

Thanks Again!
richarddz is offline  
post #1158 of 4039 Old 04-28-2010, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Win7 selection for 10.4 still seems to be broken on ATI site. Choose Vista instead as it's the same driver.

Win7 x64 selection worked for me at http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx
vladd is offline  
post #1159 of 4039 Old 04-28-2010, 11:42 PM
Newbie
 
ken.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
finally , they released this HDMI driver officially .
I've verified the HDMI driver weeks ago, but cant talk about it publicly .
ken.s is offline  
post #1160 of 4039 Old 04-29-2010, 04:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Well, I still need my override though. My Denon can't handshake with the ATI card when switching, maybe because it's an old model. But TrueHD problem is solved once and for all so I'm using an EDID override without the TrueHD SAD fix.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1161 of 4039 Old 04-29-2010, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Silent Stream bug?

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #1162 of 4039 Old 04-29-2010, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimwhite View Post

Silent Stream bug?

No joy ... still there.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1163 of 4039 Old 04-29-2010, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GreenEyez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Yup, works for my Denon 1610 too. Ati should pay you 6 months salary for the work you`ve done until they finally sorted this out.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


HTPC : AMD Zacate E350 with XBMC 10.00 + Aeon MQ
Storage : 6TB DLink NAS
GreenEyez is offline  
post #1164 of 4039 Old 04-29-2010, 06:48 PM
Newbie
 
daril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using a ati 5450 on my Samsung LN-32R7 (all code is LN32R71BAX1XB6) and a Denon AVR 1610

Is there any mod I can use for this combination?

If not, could you please make one for me Tulli???

thanks a lot and thanks for all your work on this topic!!!

Regards,
Dario.
daril is offline  
post #1165 of 4039 Old 04-29-2010, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by daril View Post

I'm using a ati 5450 on my Samsung LN-32R7 (all code is LN32R71BAX1XB6) and a Denon AVR 1610

Is there any mod I can use for this combination?

If not, could you please make one for me Tulli???

thanks a lot and thanks for all your work on this topic!!!

Regards,
Dario.

um.... have you tried 10.4? You should only need an override if you have a video issue now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Guys, this thread is HISTORY!!!

I can confirm ATI fixed the EDID issue with Cat 10.4!

Tested on both my x32 & x64 systems over my DENON 988!

Enjoy!!!

vladd is offline  
post #1166 of 4039 Old 04-30-2010, 06:33 AM
Newbie
 
daril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's Working!!!!

Thanks a lot!!

Regards,
Dario.
daril is offline  
post #1167 of 4039 Old 05-02-2010, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nc88keyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Last night i upgraded from the 8600GTS silent pipe III from gigabyte to an HIS 5770 for my HTPC. Newegg hooked me up for 130 and free 4GB flash card.

I am very pleased with the HTPC video upgrade.

I have a Mits 73835 and a Sony STR-5300ES


I didnt see my edid combo listed so i suppose i will have to make one and post it.

My issues are this though. I have a htpc touchscreen case so that is two monitors vs one to deal with and I am somewhat confused with the instructions. Which program should work better then entwain one or vlad's.

i am using the 10.4 catalyst driver and dts-ma was working with avatar 1080p.mkv (test file) however my batman hd-dvd is not working in tmt3 with latest update.
it says hdmi out is selected but its just doing dts or something.

Im not a perfectionist but I would like to hear the very best bitstreaming option available to me for my avr.

it says truehd on the tmt3 but its not displaying on the avr,

In this case, i think 10.4 has fixed some stuff but maybe not for the hd-dvds.

I might buy my first bd disc this coming week to see what i have been missing.

Does it sound like i am in need of the edid override at this point:?

One thing is sure the Audio is very much crisper going out via hdmi vs coaxial onboard sound.

nc88keyz is offline  
post #1168 of 4039 Old 05-02-2010, 09:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TMT only plays HDDVD in pcm. Use BD to check for proper True HD and DTS HD MA playback.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #1169 of 4039 Old 05-02-2010, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nc88keyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
good to know ....

guess we are lucky they still have support for hd-dvd

nc88keyz is offline  
post #1170 of 4039 Old 05-03-2010, 07:09 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
David Bott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Traveling The USA
Posts: 11,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Hi All...

Card ATI HIS 5670
OS - Vista 64 Bit
Drivers - Current 10.4
Software - TMT3 (Current)
Receiver - Anthem D2V
Projector - Runco VX22DC

2 Issues I am running into...

1) If I sent TMT3 to output LCPM, It will output LPCM 48K 7.1 (Highdef audio already decoded by the card.) and the receiver sees 7.1 48K. However, if I try to send the bitstream to my Anthem so the Anthem will decode it, it is not sure what it is seeing and thus no sounds.

2) I usually leave the HTPC running all the time and just shut down the Anthem D2V, amps, projector, etc. If I turn off the Anthem D2V and then back on, I have video, but the computer drops the HDMI audio and stats shows "Not Connected" If I reboot the computer with the Anthem D2V already on , all is well again until I turn off the Anthem. Even if I have the HTPC on, and the Anthem D2V on and pull the HDMI cable and then put it back in, video comes back but not audio.

Note that the driver software reports it sees an AVR50 as the monitor. Anthem did say this was normal it says that as they have standardized on just one name for the handshake.

Any help would be great.

Thank you,

David Bott
Founder - AVSForum


DISCLAIMER: All spelling and grammatical errors done on purpose for the proofreadingly challenged...:)

David Bott is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off