EDID Overrides to solve bitstreaming issues for ATI 5xxx's - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneonefive View Post

Tulli, thanks a lot for your reply. After a lot of install/uninstall, I now see that while playing a blu ray, power dvd has a third option that deals with sending uncompressed audio to AVR.

When you say EDID override, you mean creating a .inf file using moninfo and using it as my display driver, right? I have tried that and as soon as pc sees the splitter the windows speaker config changes to stero and no HD audio after that. According to this old thread http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/archi...t-1181876.html there is a service by ATI that can be disabled to fix this issue, however, I am not seeing it anywhere. I am going to start disabling all audio related services to see if I can figure it out, unless someone has a better idea.

You should apply the override after detection of the splitter (EDID) and then reboot.

The service you're looking for is called "AMD External Events Utility".

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 01:01 PM
Member
 
moooog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a Denon 4308ci , a HTPC with ATI5670 using latest version of Total Media Theater Platinum, and a Epson 8500UB projector. I can get bitstreaming on DTS-MA from Blu-Ray, but no Dolby Tru-HD. I cannot get any bitstreaming from standard dvd on the HTPC. My Denon 4308ci shows up as a "monitor" in my HTPC. I have not read most of the thread so far, and only have time to post my info. right now.
moooog is offline  
post #633 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 01:09 PM
Member
 
John M Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure if this is relevant to this thread or not, but I'm having all sorts of problems with my Gigabyte H55M-S2H and Onkyo TX-SR805 receiver.

First, I cannot get audio to output via HDMI. I have installed the Intel Audio update (2086), which I know was causing some problems with ASRock mobos. I right-clicked on volume and went into "Playback devices". In there I see a device labelled "TX-SR805" which is my Onkyo receiver. This is set to "Enabled". It shows that the HTPC is trying to output audio (volume meter). Under "Jack information" it says "HDMI Digital Jack". Does this EDID thread fix these types of issues? Anything else I should do? I've been struggling with this for awhile.

Also I have problems on system restarts even getting a picture from my receiver. Once the HTPC starts up I have to switch over to another device and then back to the HTPC. Any advice on that? I've been spinning my wheels for days about this.
John M Miller is offline  
post #634 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by moooog View Post

I have a Denon 4308ci , a HTPC with ATI5670 using latest version of Total Media Theater Platinum, and a Epson 8500UB projector. I can get bitstreaming on DTS-MA from Blu-Ray, but no Dolby Tru-HD. I cannot get any bitstreaming from standard dvd on the HTPC. My Denon 4308ci shows up as a "monitor" in my HTPC. I have not read most of the thread so far, and only have time to post my info. right now.

Post both EDIDs (Projector & AVR) so that I make the mod ...

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #635 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by John M Miller View Post

I'm not sure if this is relevant to this thread or not, but I'm having all sorts of problems with my Gigabyte H55M-S2H and Onkyo TX-SR805 receiver.

First, I cannot get audio to output via HDMI. I have installed the Intel Audio update (2086), which I know was causing some problems with ASRock mobos. I right-clicked on volume and went into "Playback devices". In there I see a device labelled "TX-SR805" which is my Onkyo receiver. This is set to "Enabled". It shows that the HTPC is trying to output audio (volume meter). Under "Jack information" it says "HDMI Digital Jack". Does this EDID thread fix these types of issues? Anything else I should do? I've been struggling with this for awhile.

Also I have problems on system restarts even getting a picture from my receiver. Once the HTPC starts up I have to switch over to another device and then back to the HTPC. Any advice on that? I've been spinning my wheels for days about this.

AFAIK Intel IGPs, including Clarkdale, cannot be EDID-overriden. Archibael or Wo0zy can help you there on the Clarkdale thread (if that's really an EDID issue at all).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #636 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 02:03 PM
Member
 
oneonefive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Ah, yes!, the "enable gpu scaling" is known to give those issues. It's been even reported before in this thread. Whatever it means (I really have NO idea and have never used it before!) you certainly don't need it.

... will add it to the first post just in case I forget ...

Correction, it is compressed, therefore, powerdvd is sending audio untouced.
oneonefive is offline  
post #637 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 02:42 PM
Member
 
John M Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Tulli.
John M Miller is offline  
post #638 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 02:43 PM
Member
 
oneonefive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

You should apply the override after detection of the splitter (EDID) and then reboot.

The service you're looking for is called "AMD External Events Utility".

Tulli, are you saying first connect HTPC to avr and create the .inf file, then split the signal to avr and tv, and install the monitor driver? BTW, stopping the AMD External Events Utility service had no effect on windows hdmi auto detection, maybe because I had the order wrong. Once you reply, I will restore my image and start over.
oneonefive is offline  
post #639 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneonefive View Post

Tulli, are you saying first connect HTPC to avr and create the .inf file, then split the signal to avr and tv, and install the monitor driver? BTW, stopping the AMD External Events Utility service had no effect on windows hdmi auto detection, maybe because I had the order wrong. Once you reply, I will restore my image and start over.

You can use the one you've already posted. So connect the AVR/TV to the splitter and the splitter to the ATI card. After detection override the EDID on the "GenericPnP monitor" associated to the splitter and reboot.

This is not guaranteed to work as the splitter might still only accept a 2-channel audio. In that case you'll have no choice but to remove the splitter from the hdmi chain and route the HTPC through the AVR to the TV. Of course you'll need no override then at all.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #640 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 03:03 PM
Member
 
oneonefive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tulli, that did not work. Now playing mkvs produce only static, and video is very very choppy. I really need the splitter as playing regular tv shows (noggin, cnn) through the receiver is overkill. Thanks again for all your help, if you have another idea at any time in the future, please let me know.
oneonefive is offline  
post #641 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneonefive View Post

Tulli, that did not work. Now playing mkvs produce only static, and video is very very choppy. I really need the splitter as playing regular tv shows (noggin, cnn) through the receiver is overkill. Thanks again for all your help, if you have another idea at any time in the future, please let me know.

OK, so how about having 2 connections from the ATI to the TV, one going through the AVR and the other directly to the TV? You'll need of course 2 free hdmi ports on the TV (and the HDMI and DVI ports on the ATI, plus a DVI->HDMI adapter that would connect to the TV).

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #642 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 03:28 PM
Member
 
oneonefive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That would work but then I have to run separate audio cable to the tv in addition to the DVI-HDMI, and use a mouse to change DVI vs HDMI. I know, I know, that is being picky, but I am shooting for gold first before I settle for bronze.
oneonefive is offline  
post #643 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 03:42 PM
Member
 
oneonefive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Well, no. The DVI->HDMI adapter/cable will transport the 2-channel audio stream too so it's only one cable to the TV.

really, please point me to one of those. My ati card is http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-339-_-Product
oneonefive is offline  
post #644 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneonefive View Post

really, please point me to one of those. My ati card is http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-339-_-Product

You know, I can't find a DVI/HDMI adapter for the 5xxx's! So only solution that comes to my mind is to replace that HDMI splitter with an HDMI switcher. It "should" work as there's going to be only one active EDID at at time ... but I can't be sure 100%.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #645 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 03:57 PM
Member
 
oneonefive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not see how the switch would work since I still need to run audio cable to the tv somehow, or am I just not seeing it?
oneonefive is offline  
post #646 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 04:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneonefive View Post

I do not see how the switch would work since I still need to run audio cable to the tv somehow, or am I just not seeing it?

Yeah you're right. Don't you have a 4xxx card around with a DVI/HDMI adapter to try?

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #647 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Here's a DVI/HDMI adapter for the 5xxxs from HIS!

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #648 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 04:10 PM
Member
 
oneonefive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No leftover 4x card. I will see if I can pick this adapter up. Thanks again for all your help.
oneonefive is offline  
post #649 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Just tested with a DVI/HDMI adapter from my 4670 and it requires a separate audio connection ... But maybe it works with a "true" adapter for the 5xxxs.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #650 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 04:45 PM
Member
 
SenojNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tulli
Here's my inf files - I hope this is what you need. I created the files using Moninfo using what seemed to be the registry entry it was using at the time (as per my PM).

Thanks very much for your help.

 

TV & AVR EDIDs.zip 1.9599609375k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip TV & AVR EDIDs.zip (2.0 KB, 0 views)
SenojNW is offline  
post #651 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 04:50 PM
Member
 
0majestic1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Here's your mod ...

Thank, Tulli.
This solved all my bitstream and handshaking problems. Much appreciated.

-0majestic1
0majestic1 is offline  
post #652 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 04:56 PM
Member
 
SenojNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tulli
Here's the files using GetEDID just incase. I didn't retitle the files but the names in the zip file are correct.

Cheers

 

Panasonic THP50X10A & Denon AVR1909.zip 1.8125k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Panasonic THP50X10A & Denon AVR1909.zip (1.8 KB, 0 views)
SenojNW is offline  
post #653 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by SenojNW View Post
Tulli
Here's the files using GetEDID just incase. I didn't retitle the files but the names in the zip file are correct.

Cheers
Ok here you are ...

EDIT:

Ouch! Just realized that the Speaker Allocation Block is missing in this mod so I fixed it. Please download again.

 

Panasonic THP50X10A - DENON 1909.zip 1.19140625k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Panasonic THP50X10A - DENON 1909.zip (1.2 KB, 0 views)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #654 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 06:28 PM
Newbie
 
eallum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Tulli,
I am having some handshake problems and unable to get TrueHD thru my HD5670 on a Sony KDS-R60XBR1 display and Sony STR-DA5300ES AV receiver.

Do i require a require an EDID override ?

I've attached the inf files for the display and receiver from moninfo.

 

Sony KDS-R60XBR1.zip 0.9931640625k . file

 

Sony STR-DA5300ES.zip 1.0009765625k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sony STR-DA5300ES.zip (1.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: zip Sony KDS-R60XBR1.zip (1,017 Bytes, 0 views)
eallum is offline  
post #655 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 07:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by eallum View Post

Hi Tulli,
I am having some handshake problems and unable to get TrueHD thru my HD5670 on a Sony KDS-R60XBR1 display and Sony STR-DA5300ES AV receiver.

Do i require a require an EDID override ?

I've attached the inf files for the display and receiver from moninfo.

I guess so as the SONY STR DA2400ES is flawed. But those captures are 128-bytes, so either user latest moninfo version or getEDID to do the captures.

Did you try the SONY KDL40-X3500 - SONY STR DA2400ES mod? The Sony KDS-R70XBR2 - DENON AVR-2310 mod should really work fine for you.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #656 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 07:43 PM
Member
 
SenojNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks very much Tulli - I'll test tonight and report back. Again - great job you are doing providing this service!
SenojNW is offline  
post #657 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 08:05 PM
Newbie
 
eallum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
I guess so as the SONY STR DA2400ES is flawed. But those captures are 128-bytes, so either user latest moninfo version or getEDID to do the captures.

Did you try the SONY KDL40-X3500 - SONY STR DA2400ES mod? The Sony KDS-R70XBR2 - DENON AVR-2310 mod should really work fine for you.
I made the captures with moninfo version 2.44.0.825 which i think is the latest. Not sure why it only captures 128 bytes though.

I'll try out the other sony mod you suggested also.

Here are the getedid captures attached.

 

Sony TV and Sony AVAMP.zip 1.39453125k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sony TV and Sony AVAMP.zip (1.4 KB, 0 views)
eallum is offline  
post #658 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 08:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by eallum View Post
I made the captures with moninfo version 2.44.0.825 which i think is the latest. Not sure why it only captures 128 bytes though.

I'll try out the other sony mod you suggested also.

Here are the getedid captures attached.
OK, here's your mod anyway ...

 

Sony KDS-R60XBR1 - SONY STR-DA5300ES.zip 1.232421875k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sony KDS-R60XBR1 - SONY STR-DA5300ES.zip (1.2 KB, 1 views)

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #659 of 4025 Old 03-15-2010, 08:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by SenojNW View Post

Thanks very much Tulli - I'll test tonight and report back. Again - great job you are doing providing this service!

Please download the mod again from previous post as it had a problem. Sorry about that.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #660 of 4025 Old 03-16-2010, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ewingr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lawrence, KS USA
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
If you want me to check, post the 3007 EDID so that to make sure that it's not an EDID issue.
The INFs are attached. I create the one per the instructions on the first post, for Realtime, and one for the Onkyo.

Again, this is related to my Onkyo TX-NR3007 which is not bitstreaming. Read earlier in this thread that the EDID is fine, but you indicated you would evaluate it.

Thanks so much. Let me know if you need anyting else.

 

INFs.zip 2.037109375k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip INFs.zip (2.0 KB, 0 views)
Ewingr is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off