Windows 7 Media Center randomly restarts? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 51 Old 02-17-2010, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Watching TV (both live and recorded) and Windows 7 Media Center randomly shuts down and restarts.

It hasn't happened much... twice, maybe three times? But it IS rather annoying.

Anybody have this issue? A search (even on Google) brought up nothing. Maybe it's just a little hiccup and nothing to worry about?
woody777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 51 Old 02-17-2010, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It means it is "bluescreen"'ing. You probably do not see the bluescreen if it is set to restart afterwards, but there should be something in the event viewer that may or may not give a hint to the problem.

There are many reasons not limited to:

- bad driver installation or faulty driver (try clean installing the latest driver)
- faulty memory
- overclocking memory, GPU or CPU too much
- Just wrong timing in the BIOS for CPU, chipset or memory
- overheating

It is something to worry about and should not happen.
jong1 is offline  
post #3 of 51 Old 02-17-2010, 12:39 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post

It means it is "bluescreen"'ing. You probably do not see the bluescreen if it is set to restart afterwards, but there should be something in the event viewer that may or may not give a hint to the problem.

There are many reasons not limited to:

- bad driver installation or faulty driver (try clean installing the latest driver)
- faulty memory
- overclocking memory, GPU or CPU too much
- Just wrong timing in the BIOS for CPU, chipset or memory
- overheating

It is something to worry about and should not happen.

Thank you.

-Drivers were all installed cleanly and are up-to-date.
-Not sure about memory... or how to check.
-No overclocking, GPU is set to max memory in bios
-Timing... possibly. My board technically only supports 1333 memory, but I installed 1600. I didn't make any bios changes (most settings are defaulted to auto) and it just "worked"
-I don't think overheating is an issue

I opened the event viewer and I had two errors. I have no clue what the second error might be. The first is most likely the culprit since I was in media center and I was using the HDHomerun:

Event 3, ehRecvr
TV tuner encountered an error. (0xc0040524) Silicondust HDHomeRun Tuner 1018D369-1

Event 1000, Application Error
Faulting application name: ehshell.exe, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bccdc
Faulting module name: audiokse.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bdac9
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00059cfa
Faulting process id: 0x%9
Faulting application start time: 0x%10
Faulting application path: %11
Faulting module path: %12
Report Id: %13
woody777 is offline  
post #4 of 51 Old 02-17-2010, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Did you look in the system event log and the application event log?

If you have >2GB installed, especially in 4 banks the default BIOS settings may well not be good enough and you may need to tweak timings and voltages.

To test your system in general (memory and CPU and chipset) try running Prime95 (http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft/) overnight or better 24 hours using "Blend" on all cores simultaneously and see if you get errors. After you have installed read "stress.txt" in the program folder for more info. It is not a guarantee, but if your PC holds up to that it is pretty solid! NB: this will not eliminate sound card, GPU or tuner driver problems.
jong1 is offline  
post #5 of 51 Old 02-17-2010, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mike_311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am having a similar issue with crashing during sleep that is related to video drivers, you can check out a program called Who Crashed.

http://www.resplendence.com/whocrashed

it will analyze the crash dumps and present them in terms you can understand.

"If the world didn't suck, we'd all fly off."
mike_311 is offline  
post #6 of 51 Old 02-17-2010, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post

Did you look in the system event log and the application event log?

If you have >2GB installed, especially in 4 banks the default BIOS settings may well not be good enough and you may need to tweak timings and voltages.

To test your system in general (memory and CPU and chipset) try running Prime95 (http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft/) overnight or better 24 hours using "Blend" on all cores simultaneously and see if you get errors. After you have installed read "stress.txt" in the program folder for more info. It is not a guarantee, but if your PC holds up to that it is pretty solid! NB: this will not eliminate sound card, GPU or tuner driver problems.

Yes, I just checked the rest of the logs. I think Win7 sums up all event logs in Event Viewer. I did find the errors listed again in the application event log.

I have 4GB installed in two banks.

Thanks for the suggestions on programs to run (you too mike_311). I'm going to post this in the Silicon Dust forums as well. I'm pretty sure my issue is with the HDHomerun and ehRecvr - I had an issue yesterday and unfortunately had to do a complete reinstall.
woody777 is offline  
post #7 of 51 Old 02-17-2010, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by woody777 View Post

Yes, I just checked the rest of the logs. I think Win7 sums up all event logs in Event Viewer. I did find the errors listed again in the application event log.

Really? No Error around the time of the reboot in the system log. I would definitely expect one or more, especailly a "Bugcheck". Filter the system log on "error" to make it easier.
jong1 is offline  
post #8 of 51 Old 02-17-2010, 02:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post

Really? No Error around the time of the reboot in the system log. I would definitely expect one or more. Filter the system log on "error" to make it easier.

The system didn't reboot. Media Center just restarted. Not sure if that would trigger a system log error, but it did trigger a media center log error.
woody777 is offline  
post #9 of 51 Old 02-17-2010, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Oh, right. I completely misunderstood your first post. Ignore everything Mike and I have written!

I would say this is probably a driver issue with your audio, tuner or video card. The second error your report suggests it may be an audio driver issue, but I'm guessing at this point and do not use Windows Media Center, so others will be able to help better.
jong1 is offline  
post #10 of 51 Old 02-17-2010, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I did find this:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post17950874

Wo0zy may be able to help you (say hi from me!).
jong1 is offline  
post #11 of 51 Old 02-17-2010, 04:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post

I did find this:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post17950874

Wo0zy may be able to help you (say hi from me!).

Thanks for your help jong1!

Sorry I wasn't super clear in the OP that only WMC restarted, not Windows.

Interesting post from Wo0zy... same issue it seems, except I wasn't switching inputs at the time. Actually, I wasn't doing anything at all!

I've got the guys at Silicon Dust monitoring the tuner and I'm ready to give them the exact time if it happens again.
woody777 is offline  
post #12 of 51 Old 02-20-2010, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Figured I should bump this thread rather than starting a new one...

I'm still getting some random Windows Media Center restarts... not Windows... just MC.

I got two restarts this morning. If I check event viewer I get errors on the following:

audiokse.dll 6.1.7600.16385 <- the driver number corresponds to the driver for the Intel i5-650 in device manager

igdumd32.dll 8.15.19.2057 <- the driver is the latest release of the Intel graphics driver

What is going on???
woody777 is offline  
post #13 of 51 Old 02-20-2010, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rob316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by woody777 View Post

Figured I should bump this thread rather than starting a new one...

I'm still getting some random Windows Media Center restarts... not Windows... just MC.

I got two restarts this morning. If I check event viewer I get errors on the following:

audiokse.dll 6.1.7600.16385 <- the driver number corresponds to the driver for the Intel i5-650 in device manager

igdumd32.dll 8.15.19.2057 <- the driver is the latest release of the Intel graphics driver

What is going on???

Looks like a couple of DLL's are causing the crash, may have to unintstall the driver completely and reinstall. If you go that route of uninstalling when you click on uninstall make sure you click in the box that sez delete drivers completly doing this will allow you delete those DLL's forever and when you reinstall you will reinstall a fresh copy of them.
rob316 is offline  
post #14 of 51 Old 02-20-2010, 10:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks rob316. I'll try to reinstall those drivers.

Any advice on how to properly uninstall the chipset drivers? Do I have to click on all four instances in device manager and uninstall? Any chance both errors could be caused by the video drivers? I know it gave the driver for the chipset, but that error seemed audio related and the graphics driver carried both...
woody777 is offline  
post #15 of 51 Old 02-20-2010, 10:51 PM
Member
 
HTPC4Ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Where the Sun does not shine
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Personally, I would start over... reinstall windows. But that is me... or do more research on your system and see if there are issues with the audio or video drivers. Could be an update would solve the issue... or beta drivers....
HTPC4Ever is offline  
post #16 of 51 Old 02-21-2010, 06:45 PM
Member
 
Zyzzyva100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This happened to me, and I was getting some BSOD's too. Turns out that one stick of RAM was bad. I ran memtest86 and got a bazillion errors on the second stick. Once I took that stick out the errors and crashes stopped (have since RMA'd and gotten a replacement).

So my advice would be to checkout memtest86 and let it run overnight. If theres any errors you probably have your culprit.
Zyzzyva100 is offline  
post #17 of 51 Old 02-23-2010, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zyzzyva100 View Post

This happened to me, and I was getting some BSOD's too. Turns out that one stick of RAM was bad. I ran memtest86 and got a bazillion errors on the second stick. Once I took that stick out the errors and crashes stopped (have since RMA'd and gotten a replacement).

So my advice would be to checkout memtest86 and let it run overnight. If theres any errors you probably have your culprit.

WMC was crashing or Windows? It's happened to me 9 times (according to event viewer).

8 times I get this:

Faulting application name: ehshell.exe, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time
stamp: 0x4a5bccdc
Faulting module name: audiokse.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time
stamp: 0x4a5bdac9
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00059cfa
Faulting process id: 0x%9
Faulting application start time: 0x%10
Faulting application path: %11
Faulting module path: %12
Report Id: %13

1 time I get this:

Faulting application name: ehshell.exe, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time
stamp: 0x4a5bccdc
Faulting module name: igdumd32.dll, version: 8.15.10.2057, time stamp:
0x4b5e4895
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000a6d9a
Faulting process id: 0x%9
Faulting application start time: 0x%10
Faulting application path: %11
Faulting module path: %12
Report Id: %13
woody777 is offline  
post #18 of 51 Old 02-23-2010, 07:06 PM
Member
 
kalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brooklyn,NY, USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it looks like igdumd32.dll is part of intel HD graphics drivers. and audiokse.dll is part of WASAPI driver. you might want to reinstall video drivers, maybe something is corrupt there.
kalex is offline  
post #19 of 51 Old 02-23-2010, 07:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What is the WASAPI driver? Could the video driver reinstall fix both issues?
woody777 is offline  
post #20 of 51 Old 02-23-2010, 08:08 PM
Member
 
kalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brooklyn,NY, USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WASAPI is windows way of dealing with exclusive audio. the way i understand it is that when application wants to get exclusive control it uses WASAPI to talk to audio device. so it looks like something craps out there. how many audio devices do you have in your system? are you using H55 and i3 or something else. can you provide your specs?
kalex is offline  
post #21 of 51 Old 02-23-2010, 09:10 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Intel Core i5-650 Clarkdale 3.2GHz dual-core processor
Asus P7H55-M PRO microATX motherboard
4GB G.Skill DDR3 1600 memory

The only audio device is my recevier, which is an Onkyo TX-SR706. All connections are HDMI. Nothing is disabled in the audio manager or the device manager.

So, I assume I'm just using the Intel Display Audio driver and not the Realtek driver. I think it all makes sense that this is connected to the video driver. The driver number referenced in the first error is the i5 chip itself, which makes sense since the graphics are integrated with the chip.

I installed the latest driver (.2057), but I think I'll roll back to .2021. If I go to the Intel site, that is the latest driver for the i5 chip. The .2057 is only available for Intel motherboards.

I can't figure out exactly when I installed the latest driver to see if all of the errors happened after the install, but I'm pretty dang sure that's the culprit.

Thanks!!!
woody777 is offline  
post #22 of 51 Old 02-25-2010, 11:56 AM
Member
 
kalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brooklyn,NY, USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry for late reply. I have gateway i3 system and I'm using 2021 drivers that are listed on intel site. I use those and so far had 0 issues in media center. I don't watch it often though since I'm still using my tivo and waiting for cable card tuner. My gateway has analog audio in addition to HDMI audio. I disabled it in the bios and installed only intel graphics driver. also make sure you have latest motherboard bios as i have seen those cause issues as well. if its out of date few versions some features might be buggy.

do you sleep your computer with media center running? I noticed on my computer if i leave media center running and sleep, when it wakes up my hdhomerun tuners fail to work. if i quit the application before sleeping, then i have no issues. this is easy enough to handle with logitech remote so i never bothered to check further.

It seems though that you are having some sort of driver issue. another option of last resort is to actually do clean install and don't install anything extra that you don't need. but that involves time and if you have data on the computer, back up of it.

Do you have any other problems besides media center crashing?
kalex is offline  
post #23 of 51 Old 02-25-2010, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I rolled the drivers back to the original ASUS provided 1995 video driver and 3037 audio driver. Then I updated to 2021 (audio updated to 3040). So far so good! No more crashes. I guess when Intel only provided the latest 2057 driver for their own mobos, they meant it!

I did not do a bios update - there is only one update available and the changes didn't really impact my setup at all. I can't disable the onboard audio in the bios, but it doesn't seem to matter. I can select my receiver as the default device and that automatically uses the display audio driver.

I do let my computer go to sleep in MC, with no issues so far. I didn't have to change any settings either. It can wake up, record a program, go back to sleep and then wake up ready to use.

Thanks for your help! I think I'm all set... in this thread anyway
woody777 is offline  
post #24 of 51 Old 02-25-2010, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ugh... I spoke too soon. It just did it again. Same error message as above - video drivers listed in Event Viewer.
woody777 is offline  
post #25 of 51 Old 02-25-2010, 04:43 PM
Member
 
kalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brooklyn,NY, USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
was this while watching livetv or after it sleeps? try restarting it PC and disable sleep mode, see if it crashes. I'm trying to see if corruption happens after sleep.

also its not a good idea to roll back to old drivers first then upgrade. if you can, you might want to download 2021 drivers from intel, save them then use something drivercleaner to remove intel drivers, restart then install 2021 right away. you can find it here: http://www.drivercleaner.net/

it use to be freeware but now its $10, but it might be worth it since even if u uninstall drivers there are still left overs all over the place. what drivercleaner does is completely remove all files and registry entries associated with the driver.
kalex is offline  
post #26 of 51 Old 03-01-2010, 10:50 AM
pkx
Member
 
pkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Woody, I'm having the same problem - I've got the same motherboard as you. Interested in hearing if you've found a fix. I tried installing the Intel graphics accelerator app hoping that would fix it, but it didn't.
pkx is offline  
post #27 of 51 Old 03-01-2010, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Unfortunately, I have not.

Working on a clean install right now. I think I'm just going to stick with the 1995 Intel driver from the Asus install CD until I have a real reason to update.

What is the graphics accelerator app?
woody777 is offline  
post #28 of 51 Old 03-01-2010, 11:00 AM
Member
 
kalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brooklyn,NY, USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Woody - does it happen with 1995 drivers?
kalex is offline  
post #29 of 51 Old 03-01-2010, 11:21 AM
pkx
Member
 
pkx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The graphics accelerator app I guess was just the driver. I thought it was a separate app.

Anyway, I just reinstalled 1995. We'll see if that fixes it... Right now it's crashing approx every 24hrs, so I won't know until tomorrow or Wed.
pkx is offline  
post #30 of 51 Old 03-01-2010, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalex View Post

Woody - does it happen with 1995 drivers?

I don't know yet. We'll see I did try the Driver Cleaner app. It did what it was supposed to do... but it didn't fix the crashes with any version of the Intel graphics driver installed.

I was having a separate issue that I finally resolved by turning off navigion sounds in WMC. My gut feeling says the crashes are related to that and not the drivers.

I'll post back... since it looks like at least one other person is having the same issue.
woody777 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off