*Official* Intel DH57JG "Jet Geyser" Mini-ITX Motherboard Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 542 Old 03-11-2010, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jreese831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: RI, USA
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This board is now available on Newegg for $125.

Anandtech's review of the board here.


Has anyone purchased this board yet, or planning to in the near future? I'm still hesitant myself, but I'm definitely going to be looking forward to seeing a few reviews!

"Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying." - Arthur C. Clarke
jreese831 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 542 Old 03-11-2010, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jreese831 View Post

This board is now available on Newegg for $125.

Anandtech's review of the board here.


Has anyone purchased this board yet, or planning to in the near future? I'm still hesitant myself, but I'm definitely going to be looking forward to seeing a few reviews!

babgvant has a review of the board. It's on the Core i7, i5, i3... thread. Just not in the mood to be rummaging through dozens of posts right now.

I'm buying one but I'm waiting for it to be available on Amazon as I've got a bunch of Amazon gift certificates I could use.
ilovejedd is offline  
post #3 of 542 Old 03-11-2010, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
user4avsforum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The missing remote review is here.
user4avsforum is offline  
post #4 of 542 Old 03-11-2010, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
user4avsforum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Image
user4avsforum is offline  
post #5 of 542 Old 03-11-2010, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
tlmaclennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Garden Grove, CA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should be placing my order on Monday, waiting for my money to be returned after falling victim to some fraudulent charges to my account. I have everything else sitting at home waiting for the motherboard.

My build:

Intel Core i3 530 Clarkdale 2.93GHz
Intel DH57JG
Western Digital Scorpio Black 160GB 2.5" hard drive
CORSAIR XMS3 4GB DDR3 1333
LITE-ON iHOS104-06 Blu-ray drive
PicoPSU-150-XT power supply
Apex MI-008 case
Windows 7 Professional 32 bit / 64 bit (Not sure yet)
tlmaclennan is offline  
post #6 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Placed my order yesterday along with a Clarkdale I3 540 proc. Both will arrive on Monday according to tracking info.
adidino is offline  
post #7 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 08:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

Placed my order yesterday along with a Clarkdale I3 540 proc. Both will arrive on Monday according to tracking info.

Did you get the Origen AE M10 for this build?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #8 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Did you get the Origen AE M10 for this build?

of course!
adidino is offline  
post #9 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 09:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

of course!

Nice, definitely post about your experience with that case once built. I know it is a premium case with a premium price, but it keeps whispering to me in my dreams!!!

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #10 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 10:45 AM
Member
 
gridpool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm interested. I hear that the stock i3 fans are just to tall for the stock PS in most of these cases. So I understand why you've got the PicoPS in your builds. I would like to know if you HAVE to go with a different PS?? I'd like to be able to build this with minimal cost since I don't need it. I just built a Biostar H55 uATX media center but I'm fascinated by the mini ITX form factor. The case in the OP supports a 3.5" drive as well... I see he's chosen a 2.5" drive. Are we just squeezed for space here? I want EVERYTHING to fit lol... I really think this will be the media center PC form factor moving forward. I'll be researching and checking in with this and other mini ITX threads...
gridpool is offline  
post #11 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 10:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by gridpool View Post

I'm interested. I hear that the stock i3 fans are just to tall for the stock PS in most of these cases. So I understand why you've got the PicoPS in your builds. I would like to know if you HAVE to go with a different PS?? I'd like to be able to build this with minimal cost since I don't need it. I just built a Biostar H55 uATX media center but I'm fascinated by the mini ITX form factor. The case in the OP supports a 3.5" drive as well... I see he's chosen a 2.5" drive. Are we just squeezed for space here? I want EVERYTHING to fit lol... I really think this will be the media center PC form factor moving forward. I'll be researching and checking in with this and other mini ITX threads...

The stock fan for the core i5 fits fine in the Antec case I used:

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2010...ni-itx-htpc-2/

I know others have issues using the Apex case

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #12 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
tlmaclennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Garden Grove, CA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I find the 2.5" drives to be quieter and more efficient than the 3.5" drives. SSD wasn't in my budget and I feel they are a bit too new to adopt yet. Also, I am using elastic cords to float my 2.5" hard drive in the 3.5" slot to eliminate vibrations...not necessary but it should eliminate some noise.

In the Apex, I'm not sure if the original PSU and CPU fan interfere, I was just assuming it would be tight. I went with the picoPSU to eliminate PSU fan noise, gain some room above the motherboard and between the PSU and blu-ray drive, and to have a more efficient PSU. I didn't need 300w.
tlmaclennan is offline  
post #13 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 11:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlmaclennan View Post

I find the 2.5" drives to be quieter and more efficient than the 3.5" drives. SSD wasn't in my budget and I feel they are a bit too new to adopt yet. Also, I am using elastic cords to float my 2.5" hard drive in the 3.5" slot to eliminate vibrations...not necessary but it should eliminate some noise.

In the Apex, I'm not sure if the original PSU and CPU fan interfere, I was just assuming it would be tight. I went with the picoPSU to eliminate PSU fan noise, gain some room above the motherboard and between the PSU and blu-ray drive, and to have a more efficient PSU. I didn't need 300w.

I am using a 2.5" drive (500 GB WD Caviar Blue) and I find that navigating around Media Browser appears to be a little more sluggish versus my other PCs/HTPCs which are using 3.5" drives. Obviously the core i5 plus 2GB DDR3 RAM should be plenty, so I have to assume the 2.5" drive is the bottleneck?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #14 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlmaclennan View Post

I find the 2.5" drives to be quieter and more efficient than the 3.5" drives. SSD wasn't in my budget and I feel they are a bit too new to adopt yet.

I sprang for the SSD (160Gb X-25M) and feel it is mostly a waste for HTPC.

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is online now  
post #15 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawguy View Post

I sprang for the SSD (160Gb X-25M) and feel it is mostly a waste for HTPC.

Good to know! I was about to bite the bullet on one of these! What do you recommend? Standard 2.5 drive then?
adidino is offline  
post #16 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

Good to know! I was about to bite the bullet on one of these! What do you recommend? Standard 2.5 drive then?

Yeah. I have a 7500 RPM 2.5" drive in one system. I bet if you had a stop watch, the SSD would be faster but in the real world, I have not really noticed a difference.

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is online now  
post #17 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawguy View Post

Yeah. I have a 7500 RPM 2.5" drive in one system. I bet if you had a stop watch, the SSD would be faster but in the real world, I have not really noticed a difference.

I was thinking more about noise and operating temperature. I think throughput is pretty close.. in fact some solid state drives are even slower than standard drives.
adidino is offline  
post #18 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

I was thinking more about noise and operating temperature. I think throughput is pretty close.. in fact some solid state drives are even slower than standard drives.

I had been hoping that my Zotac system would be quieter overall. With no media running, I can hear fan noise. With a movie going, I can't. Most HDDs are pretty quiet these days. I don't think a HDD will add much to room noise over what you will otherwise hear. It is a little difficult to tell for sure because the SSD is in a very small case and the HDD is in a large case.

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is online now  
post #19 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawguy View Post

I had been hoping that my Zotac system would be quieter overall. With no media running, I can hear fan noise. With a movie going, I can't. Most HDDs are pretty quiet these days. I don't think a HDD will add much to room noise over what you will otherwise hear. It is a little difficult to tell for sure because the SSD is in a very small case and the HDD is in a large case.

Good point.. I'm just going to go with a 7200 2.5 drive.. no reason to waste the cash. I already dumped enough money on a fancy case.
adidino is offline  
post #20 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 11:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

Good point.. I'm just going to go with a 7200 2.5 drive.. no reason to waste the cash. I already dumped enough money on a fancy case.

I think the 2.5" drive I am using is 5400 RPM which is probably accounting for the sluggishness. I am going to replace out with a 7200 RPM as well

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #21 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 12:29 PM
Member
 
danwallie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been waiting for this motherboard for months! Would you early adopters out there take the time to answer some of these questions for the rest of us:

1. Is the IGP video tearing issue still around or fixed?
2. Any issues with S3 sleep or USB resume?
3. For the brave: can you run a Core i3 530 with a passive cooler (and maybe a case fan blowing on it)?
4. Any annoying whiny inductors (ala DG45FC)?
5. Does it have a CIR port?
6. Post those temps and power consumption stats please!

Thanks,
Dan W.
danwallie is offline  
post #22 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
tlmaclennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Garden Grove, CA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't have it yet, but I'll take a stab at a few:

2. From the review babgvant did at missingremote.com, it looks like there are no issues with S3 sleep. He did mention that when it resumes at 1024x768 then changes to the correct resolution.

Check it out here, at the bottom of the page.
http://www.missingremote.com/index.p...1&limitstart=3

5. I don't think there is a CIR port. According to the tech specs it has:
-Front panel header
-Chassis intrusion header
-Alternate front panel power LED header
-BIOS setup configuration jumper block
-(4) SATA connectors
-(3) Front panel USB headers
-System fan header
-Processor fan header
-Serial port header
-S/PDIF header
-Front panel audio header

I am looking at making a simple internal IR receiver that interfaces with the serial port header. I can then modify my case and mount it inside. It should work with Winlirc and Girder.

http://lnx.manoweb.com/lirc/
tlmaclennan is offline  
post #23 of 542 Old 03-12-2010, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
HaLo6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine should arrive on Monday as well, paired up with an Antec 300-150 and a Core i3-530, 30GB Vertex SSD, and 4GB DDR3 from GSkill. I plan on using stock cooler...
HaLo6 is offline  
post #24 of 542 Old 03-13-2010, 09:46 AM
Newbie
 
qtpanther's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone used an atech fabrication case before? Its a little expensive and bigger than some. It would be good if you wanted a silent passively cooled system.

http://www.atechfabrication.com/prod...lient_2500.htm
qtpanther is offline  
post #25 of 542 Old 03-13-2010, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by qtpanther View Post

Has anyone used an atech fabrication case before? Its a little expensive and bigger than some. It would be good if you wanted a silent passively cooled system.

http://www.atechfabrication.com/prod...lient_2500.htm

Thinking about the rackmount version of that case for my second build. Depends how this board and chip do with my Origen AE M10 build.
adidino is offline  
post #26 of 542 Old 03-13-2010, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
mbulow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@adidino:

Would be great if you could share some of your experience with that setup, once you get it up and running

About to build an HTPC of my own, and the only thing I'm still waiting for is the DH57JG.

Setup:

Case: OrigenAE M10
CPU: Intel Core i3 530
Motherboard: Intel DH57JG
RAM: 2 x 2GB Kingston ValueRam 1333MHz DDR3
SSD: Intel X25-M 80GB

First time I have ever build an HTPC, so I'm a little nervous. Hope I selected all the right components
mbulow is offline  
post #27 of 542 Old 03-14-2010, 12:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Andrew535's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LLanfairpwll, Anglesey, GB
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danwallie View Post

2. Any issues with S3 sleep or USB resume?


Intel has already put out a BIOS update. Since I don't have mine yet, I'm not sure if this latest version 368 is shipping with the boards. The Release notes say it fixes several wake from S3 issues.

My HD DVD player is NOT for sale.
Andrew535 is offline  
post #28 of 542 Old 03-14-2010, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jreese831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: RI, USA
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For those of you using the M10 case, what are you planning on using for an optical drive (if any)? I noticed it only supports slimline slot-loading drives, and those aren't exactly very common...unless of course you have a lot of laptops sitting around to dismantle.

I'd love to have a BD-ROM drive in my HTPC, both for ripping my discs and for watching Netflix'd ones. I could only find 1 non-BD burner drive through Googling, and it was rather pricey ($300).

Has anyone come across anything like this? Newegg doesn't appear to have anything useful and I'm just not sure what other good, reputable places there are to look.

"Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying." - Arthur C. Clarke
jreese831 is offline  
post #29 of 542 Old 03-14-2010, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
This is the one I plan to use with my M10 is I decide to go with a bluray drive.

http://www.google.com/products/catal...wAg#ps-sellers

Quote:
Originally Posted by jreese831 View Post

For those of you using the M10 case, what are you planning on using for an optical drive (if any)? I noticed it only supports slimline slot-loading drives, and those aren't exactly very common...unless of course you have a lot of laptops sitting around to dismantle.

I'd love to have a BD-ROM drive in my HTPC, both for ripping my discs and for watching Netflix'd ones. I could only find 1 non-BD burner drive through Googling, and it was rather pricey ($300).

Has anyone come across anything like this? Newegg doesn't appear to have anything useful and I'm just not sure what other good, reputable places there are to look.

adidino is offline  
post #30 of 542 Old 03-14-2010, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jreese831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: RI, USA
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

This is the one I plan to use with my M10 is I decide to go with a bluray drive.

http://www.google.com/products/catal...wAg#ps-sellers

That's the one I had been looking at as well. It appears to only have a 2x read speed...how critical is that for playback and ripping? I'm honestly not sure what my current full-size drive has for numbers, but I've had no speed-related issues with that one at all.

"Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying." - Arthur C. Clarke
jreese831 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off