Handbrake settings for HD 1080/720p encodes - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-01-2010, 10:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
africanmarty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys i have finished backing up my dvd collection using handbrake with x264 and wanted to do the same with my bluray and HD-DVD's but i'm getting about 2fps on 1080p and 5fps on 720p encodes (source my HDDVD/Blurays ripped to hard drive). I think the settings I'm using in the advanced tab might be over the top. if you guys could have a look at them for me and see where i am going wrong ( i think i might have some of them on overkill and thats why its taking so long). The PC I'm doing the encode on is an AMD quad core 965 @ 3.8Ghz using windows XP w/ 4 gig of ram.

Heres a pic of my advanced tab.


Hoping to hear from you guys.

Regards Marty.
LL
africanmarty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 04-01-2010, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kagolu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What you have looks like over kill. Unless you really need the small file size I would try the high profile setting with a crf of 18. A crf of 18 is pretty much transparent.

Kagolu
kagolu is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 04-01-2010, 10:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
africanmarty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok sweet i'll try that and post back the fps. thanks mate.
africanmarty is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off