FAQ for the 3D HTPC - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 1533 Old 11-27-2010, 10:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
conan48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Will the ATI 5450 work for 3D blurays or do I have to buy the GT430? I have a Sony 3D projector, and an Onkyo 3D 1.4 receiver. I need to send side by side 1080p. I have both Power DVD10 and TMT.
conan48 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 1533 Old 11-28-2010, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
roller11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I got 3DTV Play to work, but there's still a serious limitation for which there's no fix. 3DTV Play was created specifically for playing games in 3D on a full sized LED/LCD/Plasma high definition 3D ready television set instead of a tiny computer monitor. Thing is, all these sets are native 1920x1080 res, yet games must be downresed to 1280x720. Anytime you downres below native there is a substantial loss of picture quality, so the 3D comes at a high price.
I understand the reason is lack of bandwidth on a HDMI 1.4 connection, so why is it that a 1920x1080 computer monitor does not have this same limitation using nvidia's 3D Vision?
roller11 is offline  
post #273 of 1533 Old 11-29-2010, 03:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Can anyone help me by telling me which parts of my new 3D HTPC I should get now. I know I am going to have to wait until January for the CPU and motherboard. What else will I have to wait for so that I would not get any equipment that I will not be able to use come January.
blee0120 is online now  
post #274 of 1533 Old 11-29-2010, 05:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,165
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by roller11 View Post

so why is it that a 1920x1080 computer monitor does not have this same limitation using nvidia's 3D Vision?

Because it uses dual-link DVI.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #275 of 1533 Old 11-29-2010, 05:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,165
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

Can anyone help me by telling me which parts of my new 3D HTPC I should get now. I know I am going to have to wait until January for the CPU and motherboard. What else will I have to wait for so that I would not get any equipment that I will not be able to use come January.

Core i3-2100/2120 is released on February 20th, that is supposed to support hardware MPEG-4 MVC decode and HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats. Quad-core versions, as well as H67 mb, are available in January, but overkill for a normal HTPC.

You can buy all the other components now (DDR3-1600 2 x 2GB, SSD/HDD [Intel Gen 3 25nm SSD will be released in Q1 2011, however], case, PSU).

Or you can buy a GeForce 430 graphics card, CPU/mb (whatever you like) and build the system now.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #276 of 1533 Old 11-29-2010, 06:52 AM
Member
 
h8redv2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to share my setup, with anyone who cares.
Maybe it can inspire or help with understanding the 3D woes

HTPC
Core i3 530
4 GB Corsair
2 x 1TB WD Breenpower HDD
Samsung BD-Rom
nVidia GT430
Mediabrowser
Arcsoft TotalMedia 3, with 3D plugin.
Virtual Clonedrive
Windows 7 64bit

Onkyo TX-SR 507

Samsung 50" 3D plasma

Loitech Harmony Remote 895

Connected like this:
nVidia GT430 HDMI to Samsung Plasma (for the direct HDMI 1.4 connection)
nVidia GT430 DVI, with ATi DVI to HDMI adapter to Onkyo TX-SR 507 (for bitstreaming audio)

All my dvd and blu-ray titles ripped to HDD, thanks slysoft.

I launch all my movies from mediabrowser, and it is configured as so:
When I launch a standard dvd, windows mediacenter pays it

When I launch a standard bluray, mediacenter minimizes, refreshrate changes to 24Hz.
TMT3 i launched and the movie is parsed.
When the movie ends, TMT3 quits, refreshrate changes back to 50Hz (I´m in PAL country)
And I´m back where i picked my movie in mediabrowser.

When I launch a 3D blu-ray, the ISO is mounted and mediacenter minimizes. nVidia 3D vision gets enabled and refreshrate changes to 24Hz.
The TV prompts to put on the 3D glasses.
TMT3 is launched and the movie is parsed.
When the movie ends TMT3 closes, nVidia 3D vision disables and refreshrate changes back to 50Hz.
ISO unmounts.
And I´m back where I picked my movie in mediabrowser.

Me likes....
h8redv2 is offline  
post #277 of 1533 Old 11-29-2010, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Core i3-2100/2120 is released on February 20th, that is supposed to support hardware MPEG-4 MVC decode and HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats. Quad-core versions, as well as H67 mb, are available in January, but overkill for a normal HTPC.

You can buy all the other components now (DDR3-1600 2 x 2GB, SSD/HDD [Intel Gen 3 25nm SSD will be released in Q1 2011, however], case, PSU).

Or you can buy a GeForce 430 graphics card, CPU/mb (whatever you like) and build the system now.

Would the core i3 2100/2120 allow me to play with 2D-3D conversions?
blee0120 is online now  
post #278 of 1533 Old 11-29-2010, 10:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,165
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

Would the core i3 2100/2120 allow me to play with 2D-3D conversions?

Yes, CPU has enough power to do so. (I confirmed it with Core i3-530; Core i3-2100/2120 is equivalent or better.)

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #279 of 1533 Old 11-29-2010, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Yes, CPU has enough power to do so. (I confirmed it with Core i3-530; Core i3-2100/2120 is equivalent or better.)

Ok, thanks. I was thinking that I needed a core i7.
blee0120 is online now  
post #280 of 1533 Old 11-29-2010, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by conan48 View Post

Will the ATI 5450 work for 3D blurays or do I have to buy the GT430? I have a Sony 3D projector, and an Onkyo 3D 1.4 receiver. I need to send side by side 1080p. I have both Power DVD10 and TMT.

5*** series can not be used for 3D BD playing. (you can play 3D games and convert 2D to 3D.
6*** series are able to play 3D movies. (Catalist 10.10 e hotfix- for now)

For nVidia, 4** series and new 5** series are suggested for bluray.(driver 160.99 and higher)


But neither nVidia nor Amd shows any Sony projector on their supported HW lists.

If PJ has its own eyewear that means you may use both nvidia and ati.

What is the technology used on this PJ?

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #281 of 1533 Old 11-29-2010, 12:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,165
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 366
These new 1080p 3D PJs support HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats. So GeForce 430/450/460, HD 6xxx, or Core i3/i5/i7-2xxx (Sandy Bridge) is required.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #282 of 1533 Old 11-29-2010, 01:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When I selected the HOLIDAY 3D link you posted my PC generated 30 separate links none of whch completed and whiich consumed the available memory on my PC before stopping,
walford is offline  
post #283 of 1533 Old 11-30-2010, 12:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
NickB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

5*** series can not be used for 3D BD playing. (you can play 3D games and convert 2D to 3D.
6*** series are able to play 3D movies. (Catalist 10.10 e hotfix- for now)

For nVidia, 4** series and new 5** series are suggested for bluray.(driver 160.99 and higher)


But neither nVidia nor Amd shows any Sony projector on their supported HW lists.

If PJ has its own eyewear that means you may use both nvidia and ati.

What is the technology used on this PJ?

I'm pretty sure I've seen reports of 3D Blu Ray working with the ATI 5X series, I just think it's doing it in software (not accelerated).
NickB is offline  
post #284 of 1533 Old 11-30-2010, 02:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Giving the limitations of HTPCs only being able to output a 1080p image for gaming on an HDTV setup, would there be a noticeable different between the Intel Core i3-530, i5-760, or a i7-920 paired with a NVIDIA GTX 460 graphic card?
blee0120 is online now  
post #285 of 1533 Old 11-30-2010, 02:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,165
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post

Giving the limitations of HTPCs only being able to output a 1080p image for gaming on an HDTV setup, would there be a noticeable different between the Intel Core i3-530, i5-760, or a i7-920 paired with a NVIDIA GTX 460 graphic card?

No, only 720p 60Hz for stereoscopic 3D gaming.

There is little difference between them for non-stereoscopic 720p 60Hz gaming. I am not sure about the stereoscopic case.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #286 of 1533 Old 11-30-2010, 02:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Thanks, I think I have everything I need for my 3D HTPC
blee0120 is online now  
post #287 of 1533 Old 11-30-2010, 06:19 AM
Member
 
childressmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
> Case: Antec ISK 310-150 Mini-ITX, $77.

Anyone know if this card:

Zotac ZONE (Fanless) GeForce GT430
Dimensions 4.37in x 5.69in - 111.11mm x 144.75mm

will fit in this case?

= = = = =

'The Green Room'
childressmd is offline  
post #288 of 1533 Old 11-30-2010, 10:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,165
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by childressmd View Post

this card:

Zotac ZONE (Fanless) GeForce GT430
Dimensions 4.37in x 5.69in - 111.11mm x 144.75mm

will fit in this case?

No. The case supports only a low-profile, single-slot card.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #289 of 1533 Old 11-30-2010, 11:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
So I installed my new gt430, installed the latest driver, installed the 3dtv update, and tried to set up the sterescopic output. This started the 3d vision wizard which gave me only 2 options - 3d through the 3d vision kit (shutter glasses) or "vision discovery" (anaglyph). Selection "vision" (shutter) asks for installation of the usb driver for the emitter. And that is that. I am sure if I try to install the driver, it will ask for the emitter.

The tv is the 720p Samsung plasma (c490), not on the supported list.

For the people where the nvidia 3dtv play worked with a 3dtv out of the box:

- was the vision emitter driver already installed?
- is your tv on the supported list?

I still have hope that the vision kit is required for 120 Hz sequential only.
Roussi is offline  
post #290 of 1533 Old 11-30-2010, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roussi View Post

So I installed my new gt430, installed the latest driver, installed the 3dtv update, and tried to set up the sterescopic output. This started the 3d vision wizard which gave me only 2 options - 3d through the 3d vision kit (shutter glasses) or "vision discovery" (anaglyph). Selection "vision" (shutter) asks for installation of the usb driver for the emitter. And that is that. I am sure if I try to install the driver, it will ask for the emitter.

The tv is the 720p Samsung plasma (c490), not on the supported list.

For the people where the nvidia 3dtv play worked with a 3dtv out of the box:

- was the vision emitter driver already installed?
- is your tv on the supported list?

I still have hope that the vision kit is required for 120 Hz sequential only.

This is the main confusion i think?

Q1) Do i need nvidia 3D Vision if i have a current 3dtv?
A1) No, the current 3Dtvs come with their original glasses and internal emtter-inside TV.

Q2) Do i need "3D Vision Player" software?
A2) No, arcsoft, cyberlink or corel will do this job better.

Q3) Where is the supported 3D TV list?
A3) http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dtv-pl...nts.html#3dtvs

edit: "3dtv-play" should be understood as any 3D capable player: arcsoft, cyberlink or corel.

edit: for some new HW you will need the update as pointed:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dtv-pl...ty-driver.html

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #291 of 1533 Old 11-30-2010, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
68sting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a Acer5360. I need an economical HTPC for 3D. I know just enough about computers to be dangerous. I really need someone to tell me exactly what I need and where to get it. Are there any pre assembled htpc? I'm guessing its cheaper to build from scratch?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
68sting is offline  
post #292 of 1533 Old 12-01-2010, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

This is the main confusion i think?

Q1) Do i need nvidia 3D Vision if i have a current 3dtv?
A1) No, the current 3Dtvs come with their original glasses and internal emtter-inside TV.

Q2) Do i need "3D Vision Player" software?
A2) No, arcsoft, cyberlink or corel will do this job better.

Q3) Where is the supported 3D TV list?
A3) http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dtv-pl...nts.html#3dtvs

edit: "3dtv-play" should be understood as any 3D capable player: arcsoft, cyberlink or corel.

edit: for some new HW you will need the update as pointed:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dtv-pl...ty-driver.html

Not quite so, it seems.
After some reading yesterday over at the Nvidia 3d vision forum, I confirmed (for myself) the following:
- 3dtv Play is the software for support of current 3d TV with NVidia's stereoscopic output (3d Vision); it is part of the video driver package, plus the 1.0.0.10 update.
- the 3d Vision emitter installed usb driver is required. The emitter itself is not required to be plugged in (late edit: this is unclear, 3dTV Play user guide says it is required), but is required at installation for validation. The installed usb driver makes the pc a "Vision PC", per Nvidia's obscure terminology.
- the 3d tv has to be on the supported list; an EDID override is needed for any other model, e.g. http://blog.bagearon.com/?p=38
There was much outcry and bitterness yesterday in the 3dTV Play thread (continuing today) that the standalone, paid-for 3dTV Play (no vision kit required) had not been released as promised(rumored?), and not just from gamers, but from people who, like me, only want to play 3d bd's. Untill I hear some evidence, I will go with that. It also matches my expectation that Nvidia will try to extract revenue from the availability of 3dtv's and no other mainstream (working) hdmi1.4 card besides the gt430.
Roussi is offline  
post #293 of 1533 Old 12-01-2010, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Roussi, you may find the answers here: (quoted from FAQ thread -nvidia forum)

Quote:


Question Will 3D Vision work with consumer HDMI 1.4 3D TVs?
Answer No, the current generation of 3D TVs use their own glasses and are not compatible with 3D Vision.

Question What are the necessary components to use NVIDIA 3DTV Play with a 3D TV?
Answer You will need a GeForce-equipped PC of medium performance or better (GTS/GTX class), NVIDIA 3DTV Play software, HDMI-to-DVI or HDMI cable (depending on your GPU connector type), a 3D TV, and 3D glasses that come with the 3D TV. Once you connect these together you will be able to big screen game on the 3D TV with over 425 games converted to 3D by GeForce GPUs. Please visit NVIDIA.com/3dtv and sign up for information

There are some posts here telling PDVD or Arcsoft works. (instead of 3dTV play)

BTW nVidia's 3dtv play is the light version of stereoscopic player and it's not in the driver package.




Even stereoscopic control driver (3d vision controller driver) isn't inside the package.


Here is what nvidia says:

Quote:


Starting with Release 260 drivers, NVIDIA has made changes to the 3D Vision driver kits and installation process to make new driver updates easier. Please read this FAQ for full details.
What is changing
The biggest change in Release 260 is that baseline 3D Vision driver which includes core driver, game profiles, setup wizard, and control panels will be included in the core GeForce driver download. There will then be a separate driver for the 3D Vision IR emitters which users install separately. This allows users to install new GeForce driver updates and get the new 3D Vision features without having to change the USB 3D Vision IR emitter driver which lead to some 3D Vision systems no longer working.
Driver names
The NVIDIA 3D Vision driver names have changed in Release 260. The following table illustrates the name changes that you will see during driver installation, add/remove programs and control panel entries.

.........

More:

http://nvidia.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/n...i=&p_topview=1

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #294 of 1533 Old 12-02-2010, 12:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Would a NVIDIA 460 graphic card show better than a 430 on a HDTV? Or will I only notice a different on a monitor?
blee0120 is online now  
post #295 of 1533 Old 12-02-2010, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

Roussi, you may find the answers here: (quoted from FAQ thread -nvidia forum)



There are no deffinite answers, only confusion... with incompatible OS's, players, 3d drivers, hdmi1.4a drivers and 3dtv models/EDID's.

The answer to the second question says 3dTV Play is required (note: this is different from nvidia's 3d player). However, per its webpage, 3dTV Play is available only on 3d Vision PC's (equiped with 3d vision kit). So, it seems, no vision kit, no 1.4a output.

Cyberlink only says a gf 400 series card is required, not a combination of a card with software/hardware allowing 1.4a output. So, which one is it?

After updating Powerdvd to the latest build (23??, providing "support for 3d vision in Vista"), I had 1.4a output initially showing up in the 3d settings, and then disappearing when I tried to play a 3d bd. Powerdvd would output only anaglyph; checkerboard was an option, but did not work (worked before with AMD 4650). I lost regular bluray playback.

Cyberlink's bd&3d advisor passed all checks, except "3d Display". So, the pn50c490 is not supported by powerdvd, or by nvidia, or by both; or 1.4a is not working at all, due to 3d vision not being set up, due to 3dtv play not working without a 3d vision usb driver/emitter, and this shows up as unsupported display.

(Btw, initially it confused the video driver with Live Mesh Beta's remote desktop, and failed; had to uninstall Mesh for the advisor to see the GT430)

I am confused and tired (and short on time; so, no url's supporting some of the statemens above). There are so many unknows that make it difficult to do controlled trials. I was hoping for people here to narrow the number of options down. But they say "it just works", no details.

Next steps should be overriding the EDID, in the hope of having the tv supported, and installing win7. And stop ranting.
Edit: and run the somewhat sophisticated instructions on the Powerdvd forum, this may be the key:
http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/13610.page
Roussi is offline  
post #296 of 1533 Old 12-02-2010, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You really confused too much.

3D TV is just a software but as i told you you don't need it if you are using a 3D TV Play compatible 3dTV. (you may use TMT, PDVD and WinDVD- and you must use one of them for 3D BD playback.)

Quote:


NVIDIA 3DTV Play is a software product that allows you to connect your NVIDIA GeForce-equipped desktop or notebook PC to the new 3D TVs coming on the market in 2010, including models from Panasonic, Sony, LG, and Samsung

http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/3dtv-play-faq-uk.html#q1

You must have one of those 3Dtvs supported by nvidia.
For the time being i can't help for the EDID issues; this is another thing.

PS: 3TV Play software is not for 3D Blu playback (just for the files and games) and you will need an additional SW as well :

DO NOT FORGET YOU DON'T NEED 3D TV PLAY SW IF YOU HAVE ONE OF THEM. (you can play 3D BD +3D files +3D games with Corel, CyberLink, ArcSoft)

Quote:


If I have purchased NVIDIA 3DTV Play, do I need additional software for Blu-ray 3D movie playback?


Yes, Blu-ray 3D support requires the purchase of a compatible video playback software application from Corel, CyberLink, ArcSoft, or Roxio.


Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #297 of 1533 Old 12-02-2010, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW confusion is a good thing for any commercial company which needs to sell its goods

Lets start: (FAQ prepared by myself )

Do i need an nVidia 3D vision kit if i have a DLP TV- like Mitsubishi or DLP PJ?
No; any DLP link glasses will do the same job because dlp device sends the signals to your eye-wear

OK i bought a pair of 3D vision kit glasses, can i use them with those new generation 3D TV play compatible 3D TVs?
No, never, new gen. TVs use their own glasses but you can use them with nVidia 4** or new 5** series cards.

But i had them already, where i gonna use them?
You can use them with DLP TVs and DLP PJs. But any DLP Link glasses will do the same job.

I have Geforce glasses, do i need to buy 3D TV Play software?
No, it's included in the Geforce nVidia 3D vision CD.

Ok , i have nvidia 3dVision glasses and 3D TV Play software, can i play 3D BD on my 3dTV?
No, you can only play games and videos with that SW on your 3DTV.
If you wanna watch 3DBD, you need an external SW like Corel, Arcsoft or Cyberlink.

Then can i watch 3DBD with my DLP TV or DLP PJ over nvidia glasses+3D TV Play SW?
No, you need the same external SW.

I don't have nVidia 3D Vision glasses and 3D TV Play SW but i have a 3DTV supported GPU by nVidia. Can i watch 3DBD or 3D video or play 3D games?
Yes you can; if you have any 3D commercial player like Corel WinDVD 10, Arcsoft TMT 5 or Cyberlink PDVD 10.


Any confusion left?

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #298 of 1533 Old 12-04-2010, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by blee0120 View Post
Would a NVIDIA 460 graphic card show better than a 430 on a HDTV? Or will I only notice a different on a monitor?
The IQ will be the same for HD content (some claimed the 460 was a bit better for upscaling SD content), the 460 is mainly if you want to play 3D games vs. the more economical 430 which can be bought in half height format for small cases.

I have the GT430, Win 7 and PowerDVD10. Works perfect with the Acer 5360, all playback is very smooth in 3D mode.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

zombie10k is online now  
post #299 of 1533 Old 12-04-2010, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
8:13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post
BTW confusion is a good thing for any commercial company which needs to sell its goods

Lets start: (FAQ prepared by myself )
I added your comment to the first post. Thanks.


There is new, and then you are new.
This is a moral of the bears and their cereal.
8:13 is offline  
post #300 of 1533 Old 12-04-2010, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8:13 View Post
I added your comment to the first post. Thanks.
Thanks for adding.

And adding these as well to the list maybe helpful?

Q:Where is supported 3D TV list?
A:http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dtv-pl...nts.html#3dtvs

For some new HW you will need this update:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dtv-pl...ty-driver.html

And i think you should correct this statement since we proved it's not true; we Acer PJ owners can watch frame sequential 3D BD over DVI to HDMI directly without an AVR 1.4.

Quote:
Receiver
For Non-Frame Sequential 3D, you don't need a HDMI 1.4 receiver, but for the full frame sequential 3D Blu Ray they say you'll need it to have HDMI 1.4 or HMDI 1.4a.
This may change in some review etc but for now this is what they say.
Otherwise this might be misunderstood:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...2&postcount=21

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off