FAQ for the 3D HTPC - Page 52 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 1539 Old 08-23-2014, 02:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmelan View Post
Is dual HDMI out broken in TMT?? thx
Yup, dual HDMI is broken with TMT 6.7.1.199. I don't know any fix. PowerDVD 14.0.4223 works just fine.
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 1539 Old 09-04-2014, 01:06 AM
Newbie
 
AVSJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
renethx -

used your suggestion to add a second cheap video card to use for audio via HDMI since my receiver can't passthrough 3D. Still working out some glitches: e.g. if not in AutoPlay, playing 3D from TMT5 sends a garbled signal. If in AutoPlay, sometimes starts playing in TMT 5, but most of the time, it displays the picture but with a weird "bouncing" at top and bottom of display. Stopping the Blu-Ray and starting again usually works.

In any case, my question is how do you force WMC to open on the primary display (projector)? WMC always starts on the secondary display (receiver), and I have to disable it, then re-enable it to keep it on the primary monitor. I have tried to close and open WMC a few times on the primary display but it always starts on the secondary. This is a problem because since there is no display hooked up to the receiver, I can't "see" anything to drag and drop WMC on the right screen.

Thanks for your assistance and getting 3D partially working on my HTPC (far better than not having it at all).
AVSJunkie is offline  
post #1533 of 1539 Old 09-04-2014, 09:53 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVSJunkie View Post
In any case, my question is how do you force WMC to open on the primary display (projector)? WMC always starts on the secondary display (receiver), and I have to disable it, then re-enable it to keep it on the primary monitor. I have tried to close and open WMC a few times on the primary display but it always starts on the secondary. This is a problem because since there is no display hooked up to the receiver, I can't "see" anything to drag and drop WMC on the right screen.

Thanks for your assistance and getting 3D partially working on my HTPC (far better than not having it at all).
UltraMon, that makes the secondary display 'invisible' to the user (no application window will ever fall outside the primary display), while audio in the secondary display still works.
renethx is offline  
post #1534 of 1539 Old 11-13-2014, 11:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I can't get 3d going at all. New setup here.
HTPC = core 2 duo CPU, Win7x64, GT520 video card, high speed HDMI and BenQ W1070 3D projector.
When I use a hardware standalone blue ray player, the 3D works great!
But I cannot get it going on my HTPC?

I've tried physical DVD decrypted by DvdFab Passkey and also MakeMKV as a .mkv file.
I've tried PowerDVD14 trial (may not do 3D?) and XBMC and Zoom Player.
XBMC pops up and asks me if I want to do side-by-side or something normal. I chose side-by-side and you can see things getting 3D'ish but nothing is synching right with my 3D glasses? Some parts of the picture wrap around and come out on the top or bottom of the pic.
On my projector I've tried frame packing, SBS and over/under. Nothing works. WTF am I doing wrong??

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
post #1535 of 1539 Old 11-14-2014, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Yeahh, pretty sure you're not using anything that is capable of frame-packing. I think you need either BD player software or Stereoscopic Player, no? PDVD14 can do it but you're right, probably not in the trial version. If you can get SBS to work, that's a start. However displays typically don't detect SBS or Over/Under automatically so once you have the SBS output going, you'll have to switch your TV/projector to switch to SBS 3D manually. Note that this is not as ideal as frame-packing due to the resolution drop but I think you should be able to make it work.
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #1536 of 1539 Old 11-14-2014, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ES_Revenge View Post
Yeahh, pretty sure you're not using anything that is capable of frame-packing. I think you need either BD player software or Stereoscopic Player, no? PDVD14 can do it but you're right, probably not in the trial version. If you can get SBS to work, that's a start. However displays typically don't detect SBS or Over/Under automatically so once you have the SBS output going, you'll have to switch your TV/projector to switch to SBS 3D manually. Note that this is not as ideal as frame-packing due to the resolution drop but I think you should be able to make it work.
Yep, I manually switched my projector to frame packing, SBS and over/under. And it does do 3D but the images are all out of whack. Aspect ratio gets changed and nothing syncs up.

Can someone recommend a player that does 3D?
I don't like the PowerDVD interface and would prefer to find a different player.

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
post #1537 of 1539 Old 11-15-2014, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I tried Stereoscopic and had the same results. An out of whack 3D image. Ugh.

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
post #1538 of 1539 Old 11-17-2014, 08:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
schmidtwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post
Can someone recommend a player that does 3D?
I don't like the PowerDVD interface and would prefer to find a different player.
PowerDVD trial does support 3D, has for years (since at least PowerDVD 10). Works great with ATI 6850 & DLPLink glasses on my BenQ W1070 - make sure you're running the current firmware for the W1070.

Can't speak to NVidia cards - I thought you needed special NVidia glasses for those? What glasses are you using for the hardware 3D solution?

You could download Tridef3D trial - that will display 3D for games, pictures, videos. 3D games are awesome on a 135" screen! If that doesn't work, you have some graphics card/glasses/hardware/cable compatibility issues.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Schmidt Haus Theater - WIP (or not) since 2010
schmidtwi is offline  
post #1539 of 1539 Old 11-18-2014, 02:48 AM
Member
 
Vivek Sood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: World Wide Web
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TMT is better than PowerDVD for 3D. I tried PowerDVD for 3D, didn't like it much and it was never stable. Try TMT. Works best for 3D.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post
I can't get 3d going at all. New setup here.
HTPC = core 2 duo CPU, Win7x64, GT520 video card, high speed HDMI and BenQ W1070 3D projector.
When I use a hardware standalone blue ray player, the 3D works great!
But I cannot get it going on my HTPC?

I've tried physical DVD decrypted by DvdFab Passkey and also MakeMKV as a .mkv file.
I've tried PowerDVD14 trial (may not do 3D?) and XBMC and Zoom Player.
XBMC pops up and asks me if I want to do side-by-side or something normal. I chose side-by-side and you can see things getting 3D'ish but nothing is synching right with my 3D glasses? Some parts of the picture wrap around and come out on the top or bottom of the pic.
On my projector I've tried frame packing, SBS and over/under. Nothing works. WTF am I doing wrong??

AMD Phenom II X2 560 - Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 - Corsair Vengeance 4GB - Sapphire R7 240 - 5250 GB HDD - Panasonic L42ET60D 3D TV - Xonar DX - Edifier DA5000P Pro - FiiO E10 - Audio Technica M50 - Corsair VX450- Corsair Carbide 400R
Vivek Sood is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off