FAQ for the 3D HTPC - Page 52 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 1545 Old 08-23-2014, 01:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmelan View Post
Is dual HDMI out broken in TMT?? thx
Yup, dual HDMI is broken with TMT 6.7.1.199. I don't know any fix. PowerDVD 14.0.4223 works just fine.
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 1545 Old 09-04-2014, 12:06 AM
Newbie
 
AVSJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
renethx -

used your suggestion to add a second cheap video card to use for audio via HDMI since my receiver can't passthrough 3D. Still working out some glitches: e.g. if not in AutoPlay, playing 3D from TMT5 sends a garbled signal. If in AutoPlay, sometimes starts playing in TMT 5, but most of the time, it displays the picture but with a weird "bouncing" at top and bottom of display. Stopping the Blu-Ray and starting again usually works.

In any case, my question is how do you force WMC to open on the primary display (projector)? WMC always starts on the secondary display (receiver), and I have to disable it, then re-enable it to keep it on the primary monitor. I have tried to close and open WMC a few times on the primary display but it always starts on the secondary. This is a problem because since there is no display hooked up to the receiver, I can't "see" anything to drag and drop WMC on the right screen.

Thanks for your assistance and getting 3D partially working on my HTPC (far better than not having it at all).
AVSJunkie is offline  
post #1533 of 1545 Old 09-04-2014, 08:53 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVSJunkie View Post
In any case, my question is how do you force WMC to open on the primary display (projector)? WMC always starts on the secondary display (receiver), and I have to disable it, then re-enable it to keep it on the primary monitor. I have tried to close and open WMC a few times on the primary display but it always starts on the secondary. This is a problem because since there is no display hooked up to the receiver, I can't "see" anything to drag and drop WMC on the right screen.

Thanks for your assistance and getting 3D partially working on my HTPC (far better than not having it at all).
UltraMon, that makes the secondary display 'invisible' to the user (no application window will ever fall outside the primary display), while audio in the secondary display still works.
renethx is offline  
post #1534 of 1545 Old 11-13-2014, 10:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I can't get 3d going at all. New setup here.
HTPC = core 2 duo CPU, Win7x64, GT520 video card, high speed HDMI and BenQ W1070 3D projector.
When I use a hardware standalone blue ray player, the 3D works great!
But I cannot get it going on my HTPC?

I've tried physical DVD decrypted by DvdFab Passkey and also MakeMKV as a .mkv file.
I've tried PowerDVD14 trial (may not do 3D?) and XBMC and Zoom Player.
XBMC pops up and asks me if I want to do side-by-side or something normal. I chose side-by-side and you can see things getting 3D'ish but nothing is synching right with my 3D glasses? Some parts of the picture wrap around and come out on the top or bottom of the pic.
On my projector I've tried frame packing, SBS and over/under. Nothing works. WTF am I doing wrong??

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
post #1535 of 1545 Old 11-14-2014, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Yeahh, pretty sure you're not using anything that is capable of frame-packing. I think you need either BD player software or Stereoscopic Player, no? PDVD14 can do it but you're right, probably not in the trial version. If you can get SBS to work, that's a start. However displays typically don't detect SBS or Over/Under automatically so once you have the SBS output going, you'll have to switch your TV/projector to switch to SBS 3D manually. Note that this is not as ideal as frame-packing due to the resolution drop but I think you should be able to make it work.
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #1536 of 1545 Old 11-14-2014, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ES_Revenge View Post
Yeahh, pretty sure you're not using anything that is capable of frame-packing. I think you need either BD player software or Stereoscopic Player, no? PDVD14 can do it but you're right, probably not in the trial version. If you can get SBS to work, that's a start. However displays typically don't detect SBS or Over/Under automatically so once you have the SBS output going, you'll have to switch your TV/projector to switch to SBS 3D manually. Note that this is not as ideal as frame-packing due to the resolution drop but I think you should be able to make it work.
Yep, I manually switched my projector to frame packing, SBS and over/under. And it does do 3D but the images are all out of whack. Aspect ratio gets changed and nothing syncs up.

Can someone recommend a player that does 3D?
I don't like the PowerDVD interface and would prefer to find a different player.

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
post #1537 of 1545 Old 11-15-2014, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I tried Stereoscopic and had the same results. An out of whack 3D image. Ugh.

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
post #1538 of 1545 Old 11-17-2014, 07:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
schmidtwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post
Can someone recommend a player that does 3D?
I don't like the PowerDVD interface and would prefer to find a different player.
PowerDVD trial does support 3D, has for years (since at least PowerDVD 10). Works great with ATI 6850 & DLPLink glasses on my BenQ W1070 - make sure you're running the current firmware for the W1070.

Can't speak to NVidia cards - I thought you needed special NVidia glasses for those? What glasses are you using for the hardware 3D solution?

You could download Tridef3D trial - that will display 3D for games, pictures, videos. 3D games are awesome on a 135" screen! If that doesn't work, you have some graphics card/glasses/hardware/cable compatibility issues.
CZ Eddie likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Schmidt Haus Theater - WIP (or not) since 2010
schmidtwi is offline  
post #1539 of 1545 Old 11-18-2014, 01:48 AM
Member
 
Vivek Sood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: World Wide Web
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TMT is better than PowerDVD for 3D. I tried PowerDVD for 3D, didn't like it much and it was never stable. Try TMT. Works best for 3D.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post
I can't get 3d going at all. New setup here.
HTPC = core 2 duo CPU, Win7x64, GT520 video card, high speed HDMI and BenQ W1070 3D projector.
When I use a hardware standalone blue ray player, the 3D works great!
But I cannot get it going on my HTPC?

I've tried physical DVD decrypted by DvdFab Passkey and also MakeMKV as a .mkv file.
I've tried PowerDVD14 trial (may not do 3D?) and XBMC and Zoom Player.
XBMC pops up and asks me if I want to do side-by-side or something normal. I chose side-by-side and you can see things getting 3D'ish but nothing is synching right with my 3D glasses? Some parts of the picture wrap around and come out on the top or bottom of the pic.
On my projector I've tried frame packing, SBS and over/under. Nothing works. WTF am I doing wrong??

AMD Phenom II X2 560 - Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 - Corsair Vengeance 4GB - Sapphire R7 240 - 5250 GB HDD - Panasonic L42ET60D 3D TV - Xonar DX - Edifier DA5000P Pro - FiiO E10 - Audio Technica M50 - Corsair VX450- Corsair Carbide 400R
Vivek Sood is offline  
post #1540 of 1545 Old 12-22-2014, 12:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
clausdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Anyone experienced heavy crosstalk with powerdvd14 ?

NVidia GTX 970 GPU HTPC. 3d is basicly unwatchable. There's lots of 3d depth but there's heavy crosstalk. If I play a 2d movie and simply enable 2d-3d conversion directly on my projector it is very relaxing on the eyes. I am suspecting I have a settings problem either in Windows, powerdvd or nVidia?
clausdk is online now  
post #1541 of 1545 Old 01-06-2015, 07:43 AM
Member
 
wekya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm using powerdvd 13, just did the upgrade, and now the image is showing a huge divergence in the red and green components. Has anyone heard of issues with PDVD 13?

Acer Revo RL100 HTPC Win7 64;1.3Hz Athlon II Neo K325 Dual Core;4GB 1,066MHz DDR3;512MB (shared) Nvidia GeForce GT9400 (Ion)>Panasonic P50ST60.
Audio: Oppo 105D>Linn 5125>Aktiv Katans(K400 and black RCA), OR Optical(Realtek Digital output)>Vizio S4251w-B4 5.1
Synology 215j, Asus N66U
wekya is offline  
post #1542 of 1545 Old 01-07-2015, 05:41 AM
Newbie
 
darkwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hey Guys,

using the following setup, 2 different computers;

- Sony KDL55W900a - Evga 980 GTX - HDMI connected - Powerdvd 14, no 3D Play software, 344.80:
Behavior: when playing BD-3D iso - powerdvd plays with stuttering unless the powerdvd windows is shaken or set the display to 24hz, tried changing settings on 3d display on powerdvd no changes on behavior. Powerdvd does change the resolution to 3D but will play choppy until it is perform the aforementioned.

- Sony KDL55W900a - Evga 670 GTX - HDMI Connected - Powerdvd 14, no 3D Play Software, 344.75:

Same Behavior:

- I do have a system that is using an I5 3570k and KODI to launch Powerdvd when Blu-Ray 3D iso's are in the library, they play with no issues, even launching Powerdvd on it's own and playing the movie it is fine, no stuttering or anything, from what it seems it could be something about the Nvidia Drivers; my brother used to have a 7970 Matrix card and had no problems with 3D and powerdvd until the 980, just want to give some heads up to some people that might be having some issues.

Also the latest Nvidia Drivers broke 3D blu-ray to all the media player software, like powerdvd, Arcsoft....... : 347.09 I believe is the latest driver, I can confirm that it broke it on the 980 and the 670, Geforce forums have some threads about it.

If anyone have any insight on why powerdvd has the issue of stuttering under nvidia card until it is manually set the refresh rate at 24hz instead of 23hz on the control panel, or by shaking powerdvd's window, would be great help.


Thanks!
darkwizard is offline  
post #1543 of 1545 Old 01-09-2015, 02:25 AM
Newbie
 
mjp_maestro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Liverpool, England
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tawd1992 View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by petes457

@renethx @roknrol
1. 3D Bluray disk playback. I only have one 3D bluray disk, so my testing is limited. I have the sttings of TMT5 to automatically play Bluray 3D in 3D, straightforward, simple (I think). TMT5 fires up the disk, the top menu starts, I choose play 3D movie - and it plays in perfect 2D. Since this is my first experience with 3D Bluray disks, I really don't know what to expect, but it's not playing 3D, just the 2D movie even though I chose to play the 3D movie. I even chose playing the 2D movie to see if maybe the disk was mastered incorrectly, but it also played the 2D movie. So that experience was just a bust.
.


3D didn't work for me either until I changed a setting in TMT5. When you open TMT5 & go into the 3D or 2D settings the General Settings tab at the top will be open. Click on the Viewing Environment tab at the top & select the appropriate display configuration, mine was the top one (Intel S3D Display.) Once I did that the TV automatically detected 3D when I started playing a movie & switched to 3D mode.
Fantastic. Purchased my first 3d TV (Sony KDL-55W829) the other week and although the purchase wasn't particularly with 3d in mind, I was still keen to get that working with my HTPC (Radeon HD6530 APU with TMT 5 software). Anyhow have been banging my head against a brick wall since setting the tv up at the weekend trying to get the 3d working and have trawled through every page on this forum trying every suggestion with no luck - and then I saw this post as regards the "Viewing Environment" tab in TMT. That proved to be the answer and 3d now works! A big thank you to the poster of this (petes457) and to everyone else who contributed on this forum, I had actually reached the point where I thought I might have to buy a separate 3d blu ray player so that is some money and more hassle saved! As an aside, I can't actually believe I missed this setting in TMT as it was reasonably obvious in the end, but with family and responsibilities on the go these days, the time I get to spend on my AV hobby is less and less. I remember seeing a comment a few years ago that AV and in particular HTPC's is a hobby best suited to single people and from experiences over the last few years I am inclined to agree!
mjp_maestro is offline  
post #1544 of 1545 Old 03-27-2015, 02:28 AM
Member
 
neppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there any software for htpc that can do vertical stretch to 3d bluray content? It's a small pain in the *ss not to be able to watch 3d movies in 2.35:1 with anamorphic lens.
neppa is offline  
post #1545 of 1545 Old 04-13-2015, 02:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
ati hd5450 3d display problem

Hello, i have a hp n36 htpc with 5 gigs of ram and the ati radeon hd5450 video card. I also have an acer h6510bd 3d projector.

My projector works perfectly when paired with my 3d bluray player, but i cant get it to work with my htpc. i have tried powerdvd and kmplayer and a few others, but nothing displays correctly.

I think I might have a setting wrong somewhere and would appreciate help.

I load a SBS MKV in corel powerdvd 14 and click the 3d button which makes it go full screen and a single picture and ensures it is displayed at 1920x1080 at 24hz, my projector adjusts the source, I then turn on 3d on my projector and the picture ghosts a bit from it trying to change the picture. i have switched between each option to find one that works and none do.

The closest i can get it to working is to just play the SBS video in any player regardless of 3d settings then turn projector to 3d and force it to SBS and i can see 3d but it is a bit blurry and really hurts my eyes.

But if i stream the same video over my network through my bluray player it works perfectly in 3d.

Any thoughts

Thanks
7ja77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off