FAQ for the 3D HTPC - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 1526 Old 10-24-2010, 11:05 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

I wonder why the Mitsubishi 638 series is not supported. I could get a good deal on the 73" at the moment.

Perhaps it belongs to "More..." (there is not enough space on the slide)? Even in the worst case, Mitsubishi HDMI 1.4a adapter 3DA-1 should work.
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 1526 Old 10-24-2010, 11:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

confirmed

Finally the only player which has passed the multiple GPU streaming test is WinDVD 10.

Thanks. I thought WinDVD was more restrictive in general, but it isn't.
renethx is offline  
post #153 of 1526 Old 10-24-2010, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Perhaps it belongs to "More..." (there is not enough space on the slide)? Even in the worst case, Mitsubishi HDMI 1.4a adapter 3DA-1 should work.

Nope, I checked the AMD website for the full list:
http://www.amd.com/us/products/techn...-hardware.aspx


Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Thanks. I thought WinDVD was more restrictive in general, but it isn't.

I'm not surprised by anything about WinDVD at this point.
vladd is offline  
post #154 of 1526 Old 10-24-2010, 12:45 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

Nope, I checked the AMD website for the full list:
http://www.amd.com/us/products/techn...-hardware.aspx

I still feel it's a partial or incomplete list rather than the full list. For example, there are only three Panasonic VT20/V25 displays there. I don't see a reason why TC-P54VT25 is supported and TC-P58VT25 is not.

I am not sure about 638, though.
renethx is offline  
post #155 of 1526 Old 10-24-2010, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I'll wait for someone else to test it. My wife has cut off my "test" funds.
vladd is offline  
post #156 of 1526 Old 10-24-2010, 04:35 PM
Newbie
 
cjtho6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Just wanted to confirm that if I want to play 3D blurays at full quality I require a HDMI 1.4a video card. I can currently play them using the checkerboard setting on my Samsung Plasma but it doesn't look as good as it should. Are there any cheap cards that I can buy or are they all higher end cards?

It is for my dedicated HTPC so gaming performance is of no concern.

Thank you

Chris
cjtho6 is offline  
post #157 of 1526 Old 10-24-2010, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

2D over multiple displays using the same GPU. (nVidia 460)


And i can get HD audio bitstreaming with PDVD 10:


nVidia 460's DVI output to TV's HDMI input via a DVI to HDMI cable,
nVidia 460's HDMI output to AVR's HDMI input via an HDMI to HDMI cable. (DENON 1910)


Have you tried this with 3D? I have the GT430 and looking at a 1.4 3D display. I also have a 1.3 Pioneer SC-07.

I was hoping to send the image to the display via the DVI -> HDMI adapter and the audio to the Pioneer AVR over HDMI.

is this possible? Does the DVI port have the same bandwidth as the 1.4 HDMI port for handling the 3D signal?

thanks!
zombie10k is online now  
post #158 of 1526 Old 10-24-2010, 10:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjtho6 View Post

Hello,

Just wanted to confirm that if I want to play 3D blurays at full quality I require a HDMI 1.4a video card. I can currently play them using the checkerboard setting on my Samsung Plasma but it doesn't look as good as it should. Are there any cheap cards that I can buy or are they all higher end cards?

Which Samsung, graphics card, shutter glasses and an emitter models?

BTW you always lose half the resolution with these DLP HDTV, whatever graphics card you use.
renethx is offline  
post #159 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post

Have you tried this with 3D? I have the GT430 and looking at a 1.4 3D display. I also have a 1.3 Pioneer SC-07.

I was hoping to send the image to the display via the DVI -> HDMI adapter and the audio to the Pioneer AVR over HDMI.

is this possible? Does the DVI port have the same bandwidth as the 1.4 HDMI port for handling the 3D signal?

thanks!

No i haven't tried since i don't have 3D display yet but it must work.

Please see these:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=137

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=139

I think we have three options without an 1.4 AVR:

1) Extended mode with multiple GPUs:

iGPU to 1.3 AVR for HD audio bitstreaming.
GPU(460-450-430) to 1.4 compliant TV for video. (via HDMI 1.4)

If we choice this we must have a mobo supporting multiple GPU streaming, 1.4 compliant TV (which is relatively expensive) and WinDVD 10.

2) Extended mode over single GPU:

2.1)
nVidia GPU's DVI to 1.4 compliant 3D TV for video.
nVidia GPU's HDMI to AVR for audio
or:
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

In case the DVI port does not support HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats somehow: As the DVI ports of GeForce GT 430/GTS 450/GTX 460 support HD audio bitstreaming (with a generic DVI-HDMI adapter) as ricabullah confirmed (and perhaps HD 6xxx too with the ATI adapter), you should be able to switch DVI and HDMI and use the HDMI port to connect to a HDMI 1.4a HDTV and a DVI port to connect to a HDMI 1.3 AVR.

thx rene.

In this case, we must have an 1.4 compliant TV (which is relatively expensive) and any mobo and any commercial 3D player. (PDVD, TMT, WinDVD)


2.2)
nVidia GPU's DVI to 3D ready monitor or PJ for video. (if 3D monitor is 1080p you will need DVI to DVI, if PJ is 720p DVI to HDMI (1.3) will be enough. -thx rene)
nVidia GPU's HDMI to AVR for audio.

In this case, we don't need to spend much money and any mobo or PDVD10 /TMT 3/WinDVD 10 will be enough.



Rene please correct me if i'm wrong.

_ _ _ _ _

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #160 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Those 120Hz 3D Vision-certified PC monitors such as Acer GD245HQ do not comply with HDMI 1.4a. BR 3D playback in the framework of HDMI 1.4a sends frame packing 1920x2160 video signals @24Hz to a HDMI 1.4a display, then the display encodes video to 120Hz frame sequential (or whatever format the display's 3D technology supports) internally and displays 3D. On the other hand Acer GD245HQ accepts 120Hz frame sequential 3D video signals directly from PC over dual-link DVI (as HDMI does not have enough bandwidth for 1920x1080@120Hz;

Rene, i want to ask something which i've missed:

When i have a look at Hal's tests, i see he uses DVI to DVI on 3D video streaming in Acer monitor trial so there is no problem in this case. (without an 1.4 AVR)
Or we can send video to an 1.4 compliant TV over HDMI to HDMI (1.4 out > 1.4 in)

(extended mode over single GPU is used in both cases.)


But in PJ test; how this can be done over DVI to HDMI 1.3? There is no 1.4 compliant HDMI input of Acer PJ?

Thanks.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #161 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 01:16 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Acer H5360 does not comply with HDMI 1.4a. It receives 120Hz alternate-frame sequencing 3D video signals, just like Acer GD245HQ. The difference is that

- GD245HQ: 1080p@120Hz over dual-link DVI (as it is beyond the bandwidth HDMI supports)
- H5360: 720p@120Hz over HDMI 1.x (x < 4).

In HAL, a DVI-HDMI adapter was used to connect a DVI port of GTX 460 to the HDMI port of H5360.

Alternate-frame sequencing 3D video format is not in the HDMI 1.4a specs. HDMI 1.4a supports only three: Frame Packing, Side-by-Side(Half), Top-and-Bottom (L and R are included in a single frame in these formats, while L and R are sent in alternating order in Alternate-frame sequencing).
renethx is offline  
post #162 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, i forgot the PJ is 720 p so a DVI to HDMI 1.3 connection does the job

Thanks rene.

(and pls have a look at my previous post, any contribution will be appreciated; especially on item 2.1.
Really i don't know if any 1.4 cable or adaptor is different from the existing 1.3 one?
DVI to HDMI or all HDMI cables work with 1.4 port? )

EDIT: OK it seems we don't need new cables or do we (???)

Quote:


All of the other new HDMI 1.4 features will be compatible with the existing categories of cables.

Still not sure?

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #163 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 03:42 PM
Newbie
 
cjtho6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Which Samsung, graphics card, shutter glasses and an emitter models?

BTW you always lose half the resolution with these DLP HDTV, whatever graphics card you use.

I have a Samsung PS58c7000 using the shutter glasses that came with the TV.
Watching FTA 3D looks awesome on it but when I try and play the 3D Bluray Monsters VS Aliens I see a lot of Blur.

I am using the onboard video with my h55-USB3 MB and i3 CPU.

I was hoping that buying a 1.4a HDMI Video Card would give me better results.

Thanks
cjtho6 is offline  
post #164 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Investigation before the investment.
This is the way the first time i'm giving it a go

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #165 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 08:13 PM
Member
 
Fafhrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WTF AMD. Sony and nVidia can make framepacked 1080p24 Blu-Ray 3D work over HDMI 1.3, why the hell can't you?

I'm tempted to try some registry hacking to see if I can trick the driver into thinking I have a 68xx instead of a 5870 and enable it, but I don't actually have any 3D Blu-Rays to test with (and I don't have the faintest idea what I would have to change the registry keys to).

Has anybody else tried their hand at something like that, or is it too early still?
Fafhrd is offline  
post #166 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 09:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjtho6 View Post

I have a Samsung PS58c7000 using the shutter glasses that came with the TV.
Watching FTA 3D looks awesome on it but when I try and play the 3D Bluray Monsters VS Aliens I see a lot of Blur.

I am using the onboard video with my h55-USB3 MB and i3 CPU.

I was hoping that buying a 1.4a HDMI Video Card would give me better results.

Thanks

Intel HD Graphics+checkerboard is a wrong choice. As PS58C7000 is a HDMI 1.4a HDTV, you should use GeForce GT 430/GTS450/GTX 460 (you will need "3DTV Play", $40)+frame packing, or Radeon HD 6xxx+frame packing, for BR 3D.
renethx is offline  
post #167 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Intel HD Graphics+checkerboard is a wrong choice. As PS58C7000 is a HDMI 1.4a HDTV, you should use GeForce GT 430/GTS450/GTX 460 (you will need "3DTV Play", $40)+frame packing, or Radeon HD 6xxx+frame packing, for BR 3D.

rene, 3DTVPlay is not necessary for BR 3D. It is only for HDMI 1.4 gaming / stereoscopic photo viewer.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #168 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 09:35 PM
Newbie
 
cjtho6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Intel HD Graphics+checkerboard is a wrong choice. As PS58C7000 is a HDMI 1.4a HDTV, you should use GeForce GT 430/GTS450/GTX 460 (you will need "3DTV Play", $40)+frame packing, or Radeon HD 6xxx+frame packing, for BR 3D.

Thanks,

That is what I thought. Just to be clear if I go an NVidia GPU I will need to purchase 3DTV Play software to watch my 3D bluray using frame packing but require no extra software with the ATI option.

Hopefully ATI release some cheaper GPU that suppor 3D bluray playback.

Thank you again
cjtho6 is offline  
post #169 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjtho6 View Post

Thanks,

That is what I thought. Just to be clear if I go an NVidia GPU I will need to purchase 3DTV Play software to watch my 3D bluray using frame packing but require no extra software with the ATI option.

Hopefully ATI release some cheaper GPU that suppor 3D bluray playback.

Thank you again

No need for extra SW purchase with nV GPU if all you are going to do is watch 3D Blu-Rays. Please ref my earlier response sandwiched between your post and rene's

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #170 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 09:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

(and pls have a look at my previous post, any contribution will be appreciated; especially on item 2.1.
Really i don't know if any 1.4 cable or adaptor is different from the existing 1.3 one?
DVI to HDMI or all HDMI cables work with 1.4 port? )

EDIT: OK it seems we don't need new cables or do we (???)

Radeon HD 6xxx (right now only 6850/6870) and the upcoming Intel Sandy Bridge are other choices.

Look at this post. HDMI 1.4a is identical with HDMI 1.3 bandwidth-wise. There are two types of HDMI cables:

- Category 1 = "Standard": up to 74.5MHz
- Categroy 2 = "High Speed": up to 340MHz.

If your cable is "High Speed" and there should be no problem in sending any HDMI 1.4a 3D video format.
renethx is offline  
post #171 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 09:41 PM
Newbie
 
cjtho6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

No need for extra SW purchase with nV GPU if all you are going to do is watch 3D Blu-Rays. Please ref my earlier response sandwiched between your post and rene's

Thank you,

I am only after 3D Bluray playback so will just get the cheapest ATI or Nvidia card that will allow this.
cjtho6 is offline  
post #172 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 09:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

rene, 3DTVPlay is not necessary for BR 3D. It is only for HDMI 1.4 gaming / stereoscopic photo viewer.

Thanks for the correction.
renethx is offline  
post #173 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 09:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

No i haven't tried since i don't have 3D display yet but it must work.

Please see these:


2.1)
nVidia GPU's DVI to 1.4 compliant 3D TV for video.
nVidia GPU's HDMI to AVR for audio

In this case, we must have an 1.4 compliant TV (which is relatively expensive) and any mobo and any commercial 3D player. (PDVD, TMT, WinDVD)


Rene please correct me if i'm wrong.

_ _ _ _ _

thanks for the info. looking closer at this fellow's link:

http://monolith-theater.net/hal/?p=10185

it looks like he is using the extended desktop to provide bitstreaming to his 1.3 AVR and DVI->HDMI to support the 120hz Acer 720P DLP projector.

can we assume this would also work for a typical 1080P 3D capable TV? I am surprised that DVI has enough bandwidth to support the 3D image.
zombie10k is online now  
post #174 of 1526 Old 10-25-2010, 10:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post

I am surprised that DVI has enough bandwidth to support the 3D image.

A good point. Bandwidth-wise

3D Frame Packing 1080p@24 = 2D 1080p@60 = 148.5MHz/4.45Gbps (this post)

Even a single-link DVI can handle that.

In case the DVI port does not support HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats somehow: As the DVI ports of GeForce GT 430/GTS 450/GTX 460 support HD audio bitstreaming (with a generic DVI-HDMI adapter) as ricabullah confirmed (and perhaps HD 6xxx too with the ATI adapter), you should be able to switch DVI and HDMI and use the HDMI port to connect to a HDMI 1.4a HDTV and a DVI port to connect to a HDMI 1.3 AVR.
renethx is offline  
post #175 of 1526 Old 10-26-2010, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

A good point. Bandwidth-wise

3D Frame Packing 1080p@24 = 2D 1080p@60 = 148.5MHz/4.45Gbps (this post)

Even a single-link DVI can handle that.

In case the DVI port does not support HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats somehow: As the DVI ports of GeForce GT 430/GTS 450/GTX 460 support HD audio bitstreaming (with a generic DVI-HDMI adapter) as ricabullah confirmed (and perhaps HD 6xxx too with the ATI adapter), you should be able to switch DVI and HDMI and use the HDMI port to connect to a HDMI 1.4a HDTV and a DVI port to connect to a HDMI 1.3 AVR.

thank you guys for posting this information, I had no idea the DVI port could handle HDMI audio. I recall years back DVI was strictly a video output device and didn't think it could handle a protected audio stream.

This sounds like it might be a great solution if I pick up a 1.4 3D display and want to keep my 1.3 Pioneer AVR for bitstreaming HD audio.

does anyone in the thread own the Acer 720 3D projector? I already have a screen and a Mitsubishi 3LCD 1080p 2d projector. The acer would be for 3D BD's only. it seems like a good price, but RBE makes me nuts, not sure how bad it is on this model.
zombie10k is online now  
post #176 of 1526 Old 10-26-2010, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

In case the DVI port does not support HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats somehow: As the DVI ports of GeForce GT 430/GTS 450/GTX 460 support HD audio bitstreaming (with a generic DVI-HDMI adapter) as ricabullah confirmed (and perhaps HD 6xxx too with the ATI adapter), you should be able to switch DVI and HDMI and use the HDMI port to connect to a HDMI 1.4a HDTV and a DVI port to connect to a HDMI 1.3 AVR.

Congrats.
This is the safest way i suppose; i will edit my post, thanks rene.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #177 of 1526 Old 10-26-2010, 12:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

A good point. Bandwidth-wise

3D Frame Packing 1080p@24 = 2D 1080p@60 = 148.5MHz/4.45Gbps .

I think you left out of your calculation of Gbps the fact that 32 bit color requires 32 bits for each pixel.

Bandwith is not the only factor to conside,r both single link DVDI and single link HDMI have a limit on the number of data "blocks" that can be transferred per second since they each consume time to be acknowledged.

The 120Hz PC monitors that are available can only accept 120 fps content when using a dual-DVI iterface.
walford is offline  
post #178 of 1526 Old 10-26-2010, 01:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

I think you left out of your calculation of Gbps the fact that 32 bit color requires 32 bits for each pixel.

Bandwith is not the only factor to conside,r both single link DVDI and single link HDMI have a limit on the number of data "blocks" that can be transferred per second since they each consume time to be acknowledged.

The 120Hz PC monitors that are available can only accept 120 fps content when using a dual-DVI iterface.

As usual, your post is perplexing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Bandwith is not the only factor to consider

Consider what? What do you want to discuss here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

The 120Hz PC monitors that are available can only accept 120 fps content when using a dual-DVI iterface.

So? Nobody is objecting to this statement. How is this related to the question that the (dual-link) DVI port of a GeForce 430/450/460 card supports HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats or not?

Remember that we (actually I) are talking about the topic that:

1. The DVI port of GeForce 430/450/460 supports HD audio bitstreaming (confirmed). So the DVI port with an HDMI adapter is actually HDMI 1.3.
2. The next natural question is, Is this HDMI 1.4a? That is, does the DVI port with an HDMI adapter support HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats? (I don't see a reason why not; but only the experiment will prove/disprove it.)
3. Even if not, there should be no problem: connect the HDMI (1.4a) port of the card to a HDMI 1.4a HDTV for 3D video, and the DVI port to a HDMI 1.3 AVR for audio. This way we may not have to buy a HDMI 1.4a AVR to get 3D video on a HDMI 1.4a HDTV and HD audio bitstreaming at the same time.

Update

DVI port with a generic DVI-HDMI is completely equivalent to HDMI port as far as the majority of GeForce cards are concerned.
renethx is offline  
post #179 of 1526 Old 10-26-2010, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rene, we (actually i) are happy with what we are talking about

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #180 of 1526 Old 10-26-2010, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even it's not related with the topic i wanna mention i'm still going on with this method:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=359

I never understood what AVR video input and output does at all?

I'm happy with my extended mode; i get better picture Q btw.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off