FAQ for the 3D HTPC - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1539 Old 10-27-2010, 07:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Most AVR's will pass through HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats to a 3D TV and there is no reason that that HDMI 1.4a video format has to be created by a unit with an HDMI 1.4 transmitter chip or even an HDMI tranmitter chip. A DVI transmitter chip could output the 3D video format and then could have a DVI-HDMI adapter used to connect it to the TV via an AVR.
However. Only a 1.4 capable AVR can extract the audio from the doube packed buffer 3D format transmitted from 3D blu-ray players since the audio is not contained in the same location in the buffer as it is in the other HDMI 1.4a 3d or HDMI 1.3 2D formats.
The solution you are using to avoid getting a 1.4 AVR is completly valid and is often reccomended.
walford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1539 Old 10-30-2010, 08:16 AM
Member
 
childressmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post


The upcoming HDMI 1.4a 3D HDTV is different from the above two.

MPEG-4 MVC
-> frame packing 1920x2160 @23.976Hz (decoded by GPU or CPU/PowerDVD)
-> over

HDMI 1.4a connection (output by a HDMI 1.4a graphics card)
-> frame sequential 1920x1080 @120Hz (converted by the HDMI 1.4a 3D TV, with 2:3 pulldown)
-> frame sequential 1920x1080 @120Hz displayed. To support frame packing 1920x2160 @23.976Hz video signals over HDMI, the graphics card (GeForce GT 240, GTX 4xx, Radeon HD 5xxx, or Intel HD Graphics) will require a driver update (3DTV Play for GeForce in August, AMD and Intel soon?) as well as a patch to PowerDVD 10 Mark II (obviously).


Is there any software that presently supports frame packing?

I can not find any info on the NVidia regarding anything other than the checkerboard, and likewise TMT3 or PowerDVD.

For that matter, the displays listed on NVidia's site are last year's models, and they don't list the Samsung Plasmas. Like the one I have.


Thanks,
Scott

= = = = =

'The Green Room'
childressmd is offline  
post #183 of 1539 Old 10-30-2010, 08:28 AM
Member
 
turbofeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys
I use my HTPC to watch all of my Blu-Rays and DVDs. My HTPC has a ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 which I think sounds great, and enables Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master through my amp using RCA cables.

I have just bought a Panasonic TX-P42VT20B 3DTV.

It came with a 3D Blu-Ray player however it only has an optical connection and my amp will not decode the Lossess Audio from an optical connection.

I was looking at changing the graphics card to enable Full HD 3D from my HTPC. I do not need Ethernet or Sound to pass through, just the picture(s).

Can anyone recommend a card that does the job?

I am a little confused with the choices but these are a couple I am considering:

ZOTAC GeForce GT 240 1GB ZT-20404-20L

Link

MSI Nvidia N460GTX Cyclone 1GB GDDR5 OC

Link

An advice would be appreciated. If you have any specific links to products that will do the job that would be awesome!

Cheers
turbofeet is offline  
post #184 of 1539 Old 10-30-2010, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zombie10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,748
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post


In case the DVI port does not support HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats somehow: As the DVI ports of GeForce GT 430/GTS 450/GTX 460 support HD audio bitstreaming (with a generic DVI-HDMI adapter) as ricabullah confirmed (and perhaps HD 6xxx too with the ATI adapter), you should be able to switch DVI and HDMI and use the HDMI port to connect to a HDMI 1.4a HDTV and a DVI port to connect to a HDMI 1.3 AVR.

thank you guys for the advice. I ended up picking up the Acer 5360 and the Nvidia glasses.

I went HDMI -> projector and DVI-HDMI to the Pioneer SC-07.

Powerdvd sent the HD audio to the receiver no problem and the PC picked up on the Acer5360 as an Nvidia 3D capable projector. When I went from PC->reciever->projector, the PC could not identify the projector. The AVR is probably blocking the EDID.

I watched a number of 3D BD's, it's impressive but definately caused some eye strain, mainly trying to look around and follow all the 3D effects.
zombie10k is online now  
post #185 of 1539 Old 10-31-2010, 05:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
8:13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's too bad about the eyestrain. Don't force yourself to watch it if it hurts your eyes, treat it like a novelty.

I added this text below to the first post:

________________________

Best monitor?
________________________

The best monitor is the one that doesn't strain your eyes, and this means no crosstalk. For this you would buy a Mitsubishi 3D DLP TV. Look at a mitsubishi model and research it to see if it needs a upgrade or has no crosstalk or is 3D blu ray compatible. This is the way it is in November 2010, in the future the Plasma and LCD TV's may offer no crosstalk.

Checkout the tru3d website, they offer the dlp TV and adapter kit. (I'm not affiliated with any of these people in any way. I got this name 'tru3d' from the 3d forum and googled the link I'm providing now.) link


There is new, and then you are new.
This is a moral of the bears and their cereal.
8:13 is offline  
post #186 of 1539 Old 10-31-2010, 11:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
None of the glases that are currently availabe for the Mits DLP are crosstalk free since none of them are completly opaque for the eye who shutter is "closed". Also some glases model have slower response times which also contribute to crosstalk. IMHO the best for use with the Mits adapter are the Viewsonic DLP-link glases.
walford is offline  
post #187 of 1539 Old 10-31-2010, 11:18 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

IMHO the best for use with the Mits adapter are the Viewsonic DLP-link glases.

Opinion = imagination or real experience? In the latter case which glasses did you compare?
renethx is offline  
post #188 of 1539 Old 10-31-2010, 06:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Based on all the reports from users that I have seen and almost 40 years of exeperience with ditgiall dislays and certainly non on my imagination
Any of the DLP link glases have the advantage that there isno possible crosstalk being created by the dispaly and the glases being out of sync since the display creates the sync signal used by the glases. However the response time, and opaque of the DLP-Link glases can differ. The Optima and the Viewsonic DLP-Link glases appear to produce better PQ then the Xpand 102 DLP Link glases and are apparently made by the same manufacturer. Since the Viewsonic glases hava a switch in them that swithes the Lenss being blocked they are best if you might want to use DLP-link and IR emiitter glases concurently.
walford is offline  
post #189 of 1539 Old 11-01-2010, 12:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Based on all the reports from users that I have seen and almost 40 years of exeperience with ditgiall dislays and certainly non on my imagination
Any of the DLP link glases have the advantage that there isno possible crosstalk being created by the dispaly and the glases being out of sync since the display creates the sync signal used by the glases. However the response time, and opaque of the DLP-Link glases can differ. The Optima and the Viewsonic DLP-Link glases appear to produce better PQ then the Xpand 102 DLP Link glases and are apparently made by the same manufacturer. Since the Viewsonic glases hava a switch in them that swithes the Lenss being blocked they are best if you might want to use DLP-link and IR emiitter glases concurently.

I asked this because your posts in the HTPC forum include lots of incorrect information. Perhaps you'd better limit your advice to areas where you have hands-on experience. (Nothing personal, but I am really tired from correcting your incorrect statements.)

BTW why are there so many misspellings in your posts (words in red letters above)? This alone is enough for me to question the credibility of your statements.

- exeperience -> experience
- ditgiall -> digital
- dislay -> display
- glases (8 times) -> glasses
- dispaly -> display
- isno -> is no
- hava -> have
- swithes -> switches
- Lenss -> lens
- emiitter -> emitter
- concurently -> concurrently
renethx is offline  
post #190 of 1539 Old 11-05-2010, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which one?

VIEWSONIC PJD6531 WXGA 3D or ACER H5360?

3D; it's time to have fun but i can't decide what should i buy?

Any ideas?

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #191 of 1539 Old 11-05-2010, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie10k View Post

I watched a number of 3D BD's, it's impressive but definately caused some eye strain, mainly trying to look around and follow all the 3D effects.

Did you give it a go with WinDVD10 Pro as well?
That would be interesting to know the result of the comparison with PDVD10 really. (there is a fully functional 30 day trial of Corel as you know.)

http://www.corel.com/servlet/Satelli.../1287761939663

EDIT: PLS create a restore point before installing WinDVD10 Pro trial.
And do me a favor and give us the feedback?

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #192 of 1539 Old 11-05-2010, 09:36 PM
Newbie
 
shaithis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

/showthread.php?p=19180318#post19180318"]ricabullah confirmed[/url] (and perhaps HD 6xxx too with the ATI adapter), you should be able to switch DVI and HDMI and use the HDMI port to connect to a HDMI 1.4a HDTV and a DVI port to connect to a HDMI 1.3 AVR.

I can confirm this also, just set mine up, HDMI to Samsung PS50C6900 and used an old DVI>HDMI cable to connect to the Pioneer VSX-AX4ASi, using 2 ports on a GTX460....full auto-3d switching and full bitrate audio.

The Avatar 3D BluRay looks totally AWESOME, so much better then the above/below version that has been doing the rounds.

Now just need that damned 3DTV Play to become available....got the force unleashed 2 sat here waiting for it...
shaithis is offline  
post #193 of 1539 Old 11-06-2010, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
H8nXTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Pacific Palisades, CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaithis View Post
I can confirm this also, just set mine up, HDMI to Samsung PS50C6900 and used an old DVI>HDMI cable to connect to the Pioneer VSX-AX4ASi, using 2 ports on a GTX460....full auto-3d switching and full bitrate audio.

The Avatar 3D BluRay looks totally AWESOME, so much better then the above/below version that has been doing the rounds.

Now just need that damned 3DTV Play to become available....got the force unleashed 2 sat here waiting for it...
So confused! Which Avatar 3D Blu-Ray? I can't find it and thought I read that they weren't even releasing it in 3-D with the upcoming extended edition. Unless it's the simulated 3D, not actual 3D?
H8nXTC is offline  
post #194 of 1539 Old 11-06-2010, 09:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On November 16th:

http://www.avatarmovie.com/

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #195 of 1539 Old 11-06-2010, 10:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
H8nXTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Pacific Palisades, CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

On November 16th:

http://www.avatarmovie.com/

Yes, that's the one, but as I stated, I read that it won't be available in 3D. So how is he watching Avatar in 3D on BluRay?
H8nXTC is offline  
post #196 of 1539 Old 11-06-2010, 10:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Really good friends at Fox or Panasonic?

http://www.dvdtown.com/news/avatar-b...equipment/7659
vladd is offline  
post #197 of 1539 Old 11-07-2010, 05:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks vladd for the link.

For the time being, it seems that we can find out just two 3D BD in Amazon stocks: (except those of Imax)

1) Cloudy with a Chance of Meeatballs,

2) Monster House...


Alice in Wonderland 3D locked by Sony,

Avatar 3D locked by Panasonic (and two other 3D unknown disks)

Monster vs Aliens 3D locked by Samsung. (and How to Train Your Dragon and Shrek will be locked as well.)

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #198 of 1539 Old 11-07-2010, 07:12 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
renethx is offline  
post #199 of 1539 Old 11-07-2010, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the link rene.
At least we have one option more: MY BLOODY VALENTINE.

EDIT: No it doesn't seem a real 3D.
LATEST EDIT: OK there is another one at bestbuy exclusive but i can't buy it since i don't live in US

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #200 of 1539 Old 11-11-2010, 09:50 AM
Member
 
childressmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaithis View Post

I can confirm this also, just set mine up, HDMI to Samsung PS50C6900 and used an old DVI>HDMI cable to connect to the Pioneer VSX-AX4ASi, using 2 ports on a GTX460....full auto-3d switching and full bitrate audio.

The Avatar 3D BluRay looks totally AWESOME, so much better then the above/below version that has been doing the rounds.

Now just need that damned 3DTV Play to become available....got the force unleashed 2 sat here waiting for it...


Is this full HD 3d via HDMI 1.4 using frame packing?

What software are you using for viewing?

Thanks,
Scott

= = = = =

'The Green Room'
childressmd is offline  
post #201 of 1539 Old 11-11-2010, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know it's not related with 3D HTPC thread directly but i wonder if ex-fat PS3 plays 3D Blues with October 3.5 update? (i know even slim PS3 downsamples HD audio to dts or ac3 but what about 3D video?)
And the question is how PS3 slim sends 1080p over HDMI 1.3?
Is it possible, if so what is 1.4 for?
Or does it send only 720p via 1.3?

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #202 of 1539 Old 11-12-2010, 01:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
PS3 with 3.5 sends 1080p24 frame packing (i.e. 1080p x 2 at 24Hz) by *software update*. It's purely a software matter if it decodes MVC (by Cell processor) and send it as HDMI 1.4a 3D video format (this post).
renethx is offline  
post #203 of 1539 Old 11-12-2010, 03:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rene, i really confused

If PS3 Slim's 1.3 is able to be updated to 1.4 via a firmware (3.5 update) then the same must be valid for ex-fat PS3?

Correct?

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #204 of 1539 Old 11-12-2010, 04:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
renethx is offline  
post #205 of 1539 Old 11-12-2010, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #206 of 1539 Old 11-12-2010, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it is so easy, AVR manufacturers are expected to update their firmware.
In this case our 1.3 AVRs would be 1.4?
But it won't be happened; never.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #207 of 1539 Old 11-14-2010, 06:33 AM
Member
 
sobskarlpox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you guys play your 3D ISO's or MKV (2D to 3D from PDVD10 or TMT3)? Does the 3DTV recognize the content as 3D content automatically and syncs with the shutter glasses?
sobskarlpox is offline  
post #208 of 1539 Old 11-14-2010, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sobskarlpox View Post

How do you guys play your 3D ISO's or MKV (2D to 3D from PDVD10 or TMT3)? Does the 3DTV recognize the content as 3D content automatically and syncs with the shutter glasses?

Let me tell my own experience:

HW:
HTPC (Clarkdale mobo+460/430) + nVidia 3D Vision glasses kit + Acer H5360.

Original 3D BD: Plays fine with PDVD 10 and WinDVD10. (you should configure the player to 3D-display, source etc)

Created file: m2ts or m2ts under BD structure.
I used TSMuxer to test; re-created BD or m2ts from the main mpls works with PDVD10 only (m2ts file only). WinDVD doesn't work in 3D mode.

Created ISO: doesn't work with any player; always ignores 3D.

mkv: I don't think any mkv muxer is available for 3D as for now.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #209 of 1539 Old 11-14-2010, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,224
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

mkv: I don't think any mkv muxer is available for 3D as for now.

Stereoscopic Player works in 3D for mkv with Haali splitter and ffdshow-tryouts installed.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is offline  
post #210 of 1539 Old 11-14-2010, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I meant true stereoscopic BDs, not anaglyph files.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off