Please sanity check my HTPC list!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-21-2010, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bottomlessmug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's what I plan to do with my HTPC:

- Hook it up to my 40' Samsung LCD dinosaur that outputs in 1368x768 (what an odd resolution)
- DVR preferably record one and watch one. Also, I want to DVR HD channels.
- Play all downloaded movies; can I upscale average quality to 1080i?
- Stream from youtube, hulu and other sites through boxee media; also sopcast soccer games
- I would like to use it as a NAS too
- Play games... nothing hardcore, maybe NFS, FIFA, Madden

So here's the list I picked out: (Forum wouldn't let me post URLs, so removing them.)

Case - nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum / Acrylic / Steel HTPC 5000B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case = $80

Mobo - can't decide between these 3, but if you've got a better suggestion let me know
1. Foxconn Cinema II Deluxe - at New Egg
2. ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO AM3
3. MSI 785GM-E65 AM3

= $90

CPU - Athlon II X2 245 Regor 2.9GHz = $60

Is this enough for what I need to do or do I need the Phenom variety or X3 / X4 variety? I am fine with spending upto $100, but not if I don't need it.

Power Supply: (Is 500W enough?)
OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ500MXSP 500W @ New Egg

= $45

RAM - (what's the cheapest place to get 4GB DDR3 ram?)
OCZ Gold 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 @ New Egg

= $100

I already have an OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD as boot drive = $80

Graphics Card / Sound Card - Do I need any of these? I don't have an A/V receiver, just plain TV speakers.

TV Tuner: ASUS My Cinema EHD3-100 HDTV/FM Tuner (not sure if it's still available) good reviews @ benchmarkreviews.com - $120

Any other TV tuner suggestions are welcome - I want to record from my HD FIOS cable box and watch cable at the same time.

My total is approx = $575

Please review, recommend or trash any of my picks. All opinions welcome.
bottomlessmug is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-21-2010, 10:13 AM
Member
 
processedmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Make sure your htpc box isn't too big for your media console if you have one and with enough clearance. I found out the hard way after I put it all together!
processedmeat is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-21-2010, 10:41 AM
Member
 
MAK1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by processedmeat View Post

Make sure your htpc box isn't too big for your media console if you have one and with enough clearance. I found out the hard way after I put it all together!

Lol, I had to take the front feet off my Silverstone GD05 case to get mine to fit. Luckily there's a bit of room on the sides and I cut out the back so it can breathe properly.
MAK1967 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-21-2010, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bottomlessmug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great point - I find these boxes really deep. My STB from FIOS is a perfect fit for my media console and it's 11 in deep. Anything else will stick out and I've gotten the wife to agree to it.

But any thoughts on the specs?
bottomlessmug is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-21-2010, 12:03 PM
Member
 
darkangelism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are you wanting to DVR encrypted HD channels?
darkangelism is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-21-2010, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bottomlessmug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes; i currently get HBO etc. So I want to DVR that and also DVR regular HD channels on Cable TV like Comedy Central etc.

Would this be a challenge? Are there tuners for this?
bottomlessmug is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-21-2010, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bottomlessmug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or would be able to achieve everything for a cheaper price by getting a FIOS DVR plus a ZBOXHD-ID11 which has a dual core Atom and a 512MB DDR3 NVIDIA ION 2 chip? http://forums.legitreviews.com/about26242.html
bottomlessmug is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-21-2010, 02:29 PM
Member
 
darkangelism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you are not going to be able to record off of your fios box with a tv tuner, there is no way to connect the two for HD recording. you would have to use a cablecard tuner or an HDPVR. Unless you dont want a single box solution and will keep the fios dvr and just have a PC connected for everything else
darkangelism is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off