USB QAM tuner - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-11-2010, 01:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Perps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,

I have a couple questions about my USB tuner stick. I recently purchased a Kworld-435-q USB tuner stick for my HTPC. This is the first one I've ever tried and first time trying out QAM. I am using Windows Media Center (Win7x64) to view. After lots and lots of messing around and internet reading/searching I was able to pick up the "ClearQAM" (about 10) channels that my cable provider (Charter) broadcasts in HD and SD for free. (at least that's what I understand it as, it is a free broadcast)

I have a basic subscription to Charter cable (channels 2-70 or so, not an HD package). I have the 1 digital box (just 1) set up in the bedroom. I have a strait cable coming off a splitter before the box going to the office to a 10 year old tv that is NOT HD compatible. It is NOT on a box and is able to pick up all the channels that the box displays in the bedroom in SD. My question is - why is the USB tuner only able to view/pick up the unencrypted "clearQAM" channels and the 10 year old SD tv is able to pick them all up? The USB stick shows that more channels are there, but they have a locked symbol next to them, and if I try to view it says I'm not allowed. I don't really care if they are not HD, I'd just like to be able to get all the channels on the HTPC that are coming into my house.

Thanks a lot for reading and replying with any help!!
Perps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-11-2010, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
thadsaab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This tuner is not capable of receiving analog signals--the only kind your old TV can receive.
thadsaab is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-11-2010, 05:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Perps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok now I'm confused. Am I mistaken in assuming the feed coming into my house is digital? (I thought that is what the digital switch last year was all about.) I understand that my old tv is displaying anolog, I just don't understand how if everything is transmitted in digital now. Can you explain please? Thank you much.
Perps is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-12-2010, 06:33 AM
Senior Member
 
thadsaab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The transition to digital only this spring was for over-the-air broadcasting. Many cable systems still send analog signals for customers with old TVs. They will probably be phased out eventually to make room for more digital channels or other services.
thadsaab is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-12-2010, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yeah you need a hybrid tuner. There's one from HP that goes for around $50-60 new, USB and does both NTSC and ATSC/QAM. Comes with MCE compatible remote too. Can you return the one you bought?
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-12-2010, 11:04 AM
 
duvetyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Am I mistaken in assuming the feed coming into my house is digital?

yes.
duvetyne is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-12-2010, 04:53 PM
Member
 
strudel.chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm quite happy with this Hauppauge USB tuner.
It can do analog cable, as well as QAM.

It is able to pick up all the same channels (analog and digital) that my Vizio HDTV can.

However, My ATI USB tuner can't pick up any QAM channels.
(So, I just keep PVR duties assigned to one PC!)

Just thought I'd let you know my experience with USB tuner devices!

Always tweaking, modifying and re-arranging my electronics....
strudel.chris is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off