Pink Display - Pink Tint? HELP!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 05-13-2010, 05:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I've had my HTPC setup for a few years now.

I am running a Radeon X1600 HDMI Graphics Card and have used this with a JVC 40" LCD 1080p for about 3-4 years now.

I recently upgraded to a 60" Sharp LCD Screen and every since I did - I get a dreadful Pink Tint on the screen. It is fine booting up, but when the screen adjusts for the 1080p resolution once Windows loads, a pink screen flashes and then windows desktop/etc has a pink tint (is this over saturation? im a newb)

In the past Ive had to restart anywhere from 5 to 20 times to get rid of it - so when its finally the correct color I just never shut my computer off. This is getting quite annoying.

On my past tv - this might of happened every 15-20 restarts - but now its happening every time.....does anyone know what this means or how i can fix it?

Just installed PowerDVD so I can start using the BluRay player I bought a while back - just picked up Avatar BluRay and had to restart (an hour of restarting and I still cant get rid of the pinkness!!!)

Thanks in Advance - I REALLY APPRECIATE IT!!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 05-13-2010, 06:00 AM - Thread Starter

Searching around I found this may be the issue:

"Typically this happens because you have a display (or receiver) that wants an RGB signal and is instead being given a YCbCr signal. Displays with DVI inputs are the most common example of displays that want RGB input. Although some source devices will figure this out automatically, others won't and you have to set the RGB output format explicitly. Since there is a receiver in the middle, it could be either the receiver or the source device that is confused. And the receiver could be confused either on the input side or the output side.