ASRock Vision 3D HTPC... interesting. - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 387 Old 10-17-2010, 07:27 PM
Member
 
mwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to get a metal top cover? I just don't like the idea of having plastic enclosures where it can potentially be over 60c.

Also, any idea when it will go for sale in the US?
mwok is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 387 Old 10-17-2010, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwok View Post

Is it possible to get a metal top cover? I just don't like the idea of having plastic enclosures where it can potentially be over 60c.

Also, any idea when it will go for sale in the US?

The motherboard is shielded away from the top by two layers, one is that of the hard disk / optical drive, and then, on top of that is a full metal shield. I don't think that will be much of an issue (I see that the Zino 410 which has a higher powerdraw is all plastic -- so this is at least 1 step better).

I will let you know about US availability as soon as the PR guys over at ASRock tell us.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #183 of 387 Old 10-19-2010, 11:48 AM
Member
 
lawlen2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jakmal, can you tell me what kind of temperatures u are seeing on the hard drives? CAn It mount a second hard drive in a raid format?
lawlen2 is offline  
post #184 of 387 Old 10-19-2010, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawlen2 View Post

Jakmal, can you tell me what kind of temperatures u are seeing on the hard drives? CAn It mount a second hard drive in a raid format?

When I was writing data to the hard drive for more than 1 hour from the USB 3 port (close to 100 MB/s write rate), the hard drive reached 55 C.

As for second hard drive, I would not advise installing one even though there is a spare SATA port and SATA cables provided. There is not enough spacing in the drive chassis (See AnandTech review linked on a previous page for the pictures).

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #185 of 387 Old 10-21-2010, 12:41 PM
Member
 
manvanstaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's still only possible to preorder. Only two shops have the boxes on their website, but they don't have them in stock yet.

Chaos is a higher form of organising
manvanstaal is offline  
post #186 of 387 Old 10-22-2010, 06:48 AM
Member
 
manvanstaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by manvanstaal View Post

It's still only possible to preorder. Only two shops have the boxes on their website, but they don't have them in stock yet.

One of the vendors responded on my question what the expected delivery time is, with: We did not yet got a indication from asrock. So take 3 to 4 weeks into account ................DUHHHHH

Chaos is a higher form of organising
manvanstaal is offline  
post #187 of 387 Old 11-02-2010, 07:59 AM
Member
 
leviathan18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
where did you find in pre order, I want one NOOOW before I do it my self
leviathan18 is offline  
post #188 of 387 Old 11-02-2010, 11:15 AM
Member
 
manvanstaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leviathan18 View Post

where did you find in pre order, I want one NOOOW before I do it my self

look here informatique nl
look here Alternate nl

Chaos is a higher form of organising
manvanstaal is offline  
post #189 of 387 Old 11-03-2010, 07:11 AM
Member
 
manvanstaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by manvanstaal View Post

look here Alternate nl

announced delivery date expcted: month december arrrrhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Chaos is a higher form of organising
manvanstaal is offline  
post #190 of 387 Old 11-05-2010, 12:17 PM
Member
 
manvanstaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by manvanstaal View Post
announced delivery date expcted: month december arrrrhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
The Asrock Vision 3D 137D Zwart is now on stock, but this is the DVD version!!!

OOOHHHH unlucky me

Chaos is a higher form of organising
manvanstaal is offline  
post #191 of 387 Old 11-05-2010, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by manvanstaal View Post
The Asrock Vision 3D 137D Zwart is now on stock, but this is the DVD version!!!

OOOHHHH unlucky me
Yes Just reached US shores also US ordering on Newegg should be up by next week.

They had a problem in the factory, and that is why the shipments had to be delayed. It is all sorted out now.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #192 of 387 Old 11-05-2010, 01:47 PM
Member
 
Kevenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jakmal, would you buy an Asrock Vision 3d or a Zino HD 410? in therm of performance mainly.

And what is the price of the Dvd version?

I can't find anything via google.
Kevenz is offline  
post #193 of 387 Old 11-05-2010, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevenz View Post

jakmal, would you buy an Asrock Vision 3d or a Zino HD 410? in therm of performance mainly.

Idle power of Vision 3D is less than idle power of Zino 410.
Full load power of Vision 3D is more than full load power of Zino 410.

Heat to be dissipated is proportional to the power consumed. Both thermal solutions are capable enough to cool down the respective units. So, a purchase would depend on the intended usage model. If you are going to keep your unit 'idle' (say downloading stuff overnight and other such activities) most of the time, the Vision 3D is a better, albeit costlier / overkill, choice.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #194 of 387 Old 11-05-2010, 02:28 PM
Member
 
Kevenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw benchmark test of both machine and the Asrock is much more powerful..... it all depend of the actual price.

Zino is $700 CAD for the quad core.

if asrock is $1000 or more..... it might be overkill for an htpc.

I'm currently selling my zino 400 dual core on ebay because it wasn't snappy enough for me..... especially playing games.

even Xbmc was kinda sluggish with the lastest Dharma version.
Kevenz is offline  
post #195 of 387 Old 11-06-2010, 01:44 AM
Member
 
manvanstaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

Yes Just reached US shores also US ordering on Newegg should be up by next week.

They had a problem in the factory, and that is why the shipments had to be delayed. It is all sorted out now.

I expected something like this, delivery took too long. The DVD version (659 euro-$925) is now hitting the market, but delivery of the Blueray version (749 euro-$1052) is stalled to december. We only can order the I3 version.

Chaos is a higher form of organising
manvanstaal is offline  
post #196 of 387 Old 11-11-2010, 12:36 PM
Member
 
manvanstaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by manvanstaal View Post

I expected something like this, delivery took too long. The DVD version (659 euro-$925) is now hitting the market, but delivery of the Blueray version (749 euro-$1052) is stalled to december. We only can order the I3 version.

Today I ordered the Asrock Vision 3D, i3-370M, GT425M, Blu-ray. Tomorrow it will be available. Major playtime!!!!

Chaos is a higher form of organising
manvanstaal is offline  
post #197 of 387 Old 11-12-2010, 08:37 AM
Member
 
leviathan18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dude I envy you, still not showing on amazon or newegg
leviathan18 is offline  
post #198 of 387 Old 11-12-2010, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by manvanstaal View Post

Today I ordered the Asrock Vision 3D, i3-370M, GT425M, Blu-ray. Tomorrow it will be available. Major playtime!!!!

So, this thing has been the always-on HTPC for me since I got it.

One advice to everyone using it in the same manner (running downloads in the background all day long etc. or just browsing casually) is to use the ASRock OC Tuner to set it to run at a lower frequency (I am using bus freq of 134 MHz with multiplier of 10). SpeedStep also works but this way you are much more sure of what it is maxing out at

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #199 of 387 Old 11-12-2010, 09:13 AM
Member
 
leviathan18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

So, this thing has been the always-on HTPC for me since I got it.

One advice to everyone using it in the same manner (running downloads in the background all day long etc. or just browsing casually) is to use the ASRock OC Tuner to set it to run at a lower frequency (I am using bus freq of 134 MHz with multiplier of 10). SpeedStep also works but this way you are much more sure of what it is maxing out at

have you tried mkv and streaming dts ma or dd hd ?

I've read your review several times, but after the extended use, do you think is the best htpc out there for 3D ?
leviathan18 is offline  
post #200 of 387 Old 11-12-2010, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by leviathan18 View Post

have you tried mkv and streaming dts ma or dd hd ?

I've read your review several times, but after the extended use, do you think is the best htpc out there for 3D ?

Works great with bitstreaming with ffdshow tryouts and MPC-HC for MKVs. You have the silent stream 'bug' which is not an issue if you don't switch files in your playlist every minute or so. This is a nVidia issue, but I don't think it is very serious unless you have lots of media which are all of short length.

I don't personally believe in 3D (the only access to 3D TVs I have is not at home), so this HTPC was just tested for the basics of 3D stuff at review time. After that, it has just been functioning as a regular 2D HTPC This is absolutely the best high end pre-built HTPC you can get at the moment. If you are building one yourself, and don't care about 3D, use a Clarkdale with a ATI 5570 (try to get a passively cooled model).

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #201 of 387 Old 11-12-2010, 09:36 AM
Member
 
leviathan18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want the best HTPC and with 3D because I have a 3D UN46C8000 from samsung, I care for 2D and 3D and I want to take advantage of both.

do you use any specific software like boxee for the media?

is the remote any good to enjoy the experience or do you recommend any other form of input ?

I was think about using the vision 3d with boxee and an ipod touch as remote for the tv the receiver and the htpc
leviathan18 is offline  
post #202 of 387 Old 11-12-2010, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by leviathan18 View Post

I want the best HTPC and with 3D because I have a 3D UN46C8000 from samsung, I care for 2D and 3D and I want to take advantage of both.

do you use any specific software like boxee for the media?

is the remote any good to enjoy the experience or do you recommend any other form of input ?

I was think about using the vision 3d with boxee and an ipod touch as remote for the tv the receiver and the htpc

I don't use any specific frontend like XBMC or Boxee usually, but I did try out XBMC for the review and the whole experience was smooth with the remote.

The remote build quality is good (and it is exactly the same remote that Dell bundles with the Zino 410 too!), but given the choice, I would go with something like the hand-held keyboard / trackball combo from Lenovo. (I use a wireless keyboard and mouse right now, but that is because I have 3 - 4 PCs lying clustered around in the living room and it is easier to change control from one PC to the other).

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #203 of 387 Old 11-12-2010, 10:15 AM
Member
 
leviathan18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my last question and sorry to be such a pita, I live in Panama and I have cable TV with a STB all the channels are codified so you need the box to be able to look at them is there any way to connect that to the HTPC and make it a DVR ?

My wild guess is you connect the out put source from de STB to the video IN of the HTPC and from I'm lost
leviathan18 is offline  
post #204 of 387 Old 11-12-2010, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by leviathan18 View Post

my last question and sorry to be such a pita, I live in Panama and I have cable TV with a STB all the channels are codified so you need the box to be able to look at them is there any way to connect that to the HTPC and make it a DVR ?

My wild guess is you connect the out put source from de STB to the video IN of the HTPC and from I'm lost

I think what you need (in addition to the HTPC) is the Hauppauge HD-PVR : http://www.hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hdpvr.html ;

The component out of the STB can be connected to the HD-PVR. The HD-PVR is connected over USB 2.0 to the HTPC. The HD-PVR records whatever is currently being output by the STB and streams it over USB 2.0 to the PC. The hard disk of the PC will hold the recording.

I have NOT personally used the HD-PVR, so can't give the 'personal recommendation' stamp to it. However, the product has been around for 2 - 3 years now. You can easily Google it and find more information / feedback about this product.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #205 of 387 Old 11-12-2010, 10:39 AM
Member
 
leviathan18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks jakmal, you now we need more reviews of htpc and related stuff at anandtech.
leviathan18 is offline  
post #206 of 387 Old 11-12-2010, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

I don't personally believe in 3D (the only access to 3D TVs I have is not at home), so this HTPC was just tested for the basics of 3D stuff at review time.

3D rocks Only problem right now is content, but that is starting to sort itself out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

The component out of the STB can be connected to the HD-PVR. The HD-PVR is connected over USB 2.0 to the HTPC. The HD-PVR records whatever is currently being output by the STB and streams it over USB 2.0 to the PC. The hard disk of the PC will hold the recording.

I have NOT personally used the HD-PVR, so can't give the 'personal recommendation' stamp to it. However, the product has been around for 2 - 3 years now. You can easily Google it and find more information / feedback about this product.

I've used a HD PVR for about 2yrs. It's not perfect; but being the only option to record HD with DD the device's failings are minor in comparison to its upside.
babgvant is offline  
post #207 of 387 Old 11-12-2010, 07:42 PM
Member
 
leviathan18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

3D rocks Only problem right now is content, but that is starting to sort itself out.



I've used a HD PVR for about 2yrs. It's not perfect; but being the only option to record HD with DD the device's failings are minor in comparison to its upside.

I bought how to train your dragon, which one do you have?
leviathan18 is offline  
post #208 of 387 Old 11-12-2010, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by leviathan18 View Post
I bought how to train your dragon, which one do you have?
Right now just Coraline and Ice Age - Dawn of the Dinosaurs on BD. Also fortunete to have ESPN 3D so there some college football on that.

There's supposed to be some non-exclusive BD coming over the holidays, so I'm looking forward to that.
babgvant is offline  
post #209 of 387 Old 11-13-2010, 12:56 AM
Member
 
manvanstaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leviathan18 View Post
dude I envy you, still not showing on amazon or newegg
The box is as silent as a wispering Ghost!!! In one word Perfect!

At this moment i have problems with Instant Boot. it runs one time and after that the shutdown hangs. I am investigating why o why!

Chaos is a higher form of organising
manvanstaal is offline  
post #210 of 387 Old 11-16-2010, 07:32 PM
Member
 
leviathan18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by manvanstaal View Post

The box is as silent as a wispering Ghost!!! In one word Perfect!

At this moment i have problems with Instant Boot. it runs one time and after that the shutdown hangs. I am investigating why o why!

are you using any kind of front end like boxee or just mpc ?
leviathan18 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off