plaese help me!!display driver error the video device doesnt support protected conten - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 06-25-2010, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
googlesomething's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
display driver error the video playback device does not support playback of protected content

this is killing me!! I have had my ati cable card tuner for almost a year now with some success.now i cant seem to fix my current problem which is i can not watch protected content (hbo) recored or live.I have had problems like this before but now I CANT FIX IT tried all my little tricks 1 ati control panel dynamic contrast has caused problems in the past includeing enforce smooth playback and interlaced tv 2 edid override to help pevent handshake issue with avr inbetween tv and HTPC but no luck there either I have even taken the avr out still no luck 3 taking codecs out to prevent breaking live tv.
symptoms: playing live or recorded hbo.the show or movie will play for 5 to 15 minutes and it will lock up my computer either 1 let my computer do its thing and the computer will come out of crash state and continue to play the video where it left off at which takes about 5 to 10 minutes 2 turn avr off and then back on again or if avr is not in the chain then turn tv off and on again but by doing this media center will be all black and sometimes it will come up with a error screen "display driver error the video playback device does not support playback of protected content" i then have to close the program and start it up again then i can navigate back to the video to resume where i left off @.very frustrating i want to pull my hair out .I have been through so many problems with this HTPC but its a beautifull thing when it all works which is not that often.all my movies on my hard drive including blu-ray that play with true-hd dts-hd.
another thing i did was update my bios on my motherboard. was having constant display driver stopped responding while playing recorded or live tv. not any other files just tv and that has come to a stop for the most part.please help me i do not want to do a clean install it takes about a whole day to do.i have also unistalled playready and let media center install with no luck.I know playready is the culprit why would media center come out of a crash state to play the file that had a flag but to find out a little time later that it isnt being played by a different device or it has compliant hdcp devices and thats why the video will resume later on.but for god sake can microsoft ease up and let us enjoy our HTPC its not like we dont pay enough for them.i have enough time and money in this thing to call it a freakin job


system
Radeon HD 5570
GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5400
ati digtal cable card tuner
googlesomething is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-26-2010, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
googlesomething's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the only workaround i found was to use my xbox 360 to watch protected content.please somebody chime in cause i dont want to do a clean install
googlesomething is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-26-2010, 01:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does the display you are connected to over DVI/HDMI support HDCP? If not try using component instead.
walford is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 06-26-2010, 11:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
googlesomething's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes it has hdcp its a samsung LN52A650. Im still confused why!! I tried using a different hdmi cable with no luck. I'm gonna try a geforce gt220 to see if it is a hardware problem or software.my best guess is pointing to windows media foundation got broken somehow and that's why this is happening.all of this was working just fine a few weeks ago. but I can't trace back to what I did to make this happen probally cause it did it by itself dam evil monkeys always into things that they have no business being in lol
googlesomething is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-14-2010, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am getting the same error. I am trying to watch ABC through cable without a box in WMC. The weird thing is NY1 which is an actual cable channel views correctly .I recently updated Windows and my display driver
jmsnyc is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-21-2012, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
NoMoTBCs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was tearing my hair out over this, too. I came across a post in this forum--which I can no longer find--where one of the posters reported that if the MC window was "restored down" (the middle button between "Minimize" and "Close,") then "Maximized," that the situation with the "Display Driver Error" message corrected itself.

(This is assuming your system has been working properly, but just hiccups on this message once in a while.)

It has worked for me several times now. I don't understand it. (Hey, sooner or later there had to be something, right?cool.gif ) I don't need to understand it.

This really points up one of the wondrous things about tech forums, and also that you should always try the least-dangerous suggestion first.

It also bolsters the old adage that, "Computers are dumber than humans but smarter than programmers."

Hats off to the tinkerer that found this. If it's you, speak up to receive your due.

Art
NoMoTBCs is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off