older AMD 5050e laying around - worth it for HTPC? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 06-26-2010, 09:34 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DireWolf08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I've got this old, unused AMD 5050e sitting in my closet collecting dust, and I am thinking of using it as the CPU in a new HTPC build (based on Win7MC). It's AM2, so that severely limits me in terms of motherboards, but is there a consensus best AM2 motherboard out there? I am looking at this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-394-_-Product

Any thoughts? The cool thing is I could throw a system together for real cheap, and I know it could handle all the video I threw at it, but would I be bummed I didn't spring for something a bit more powerful or speedier?
DireWolf08 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 06-26-2010, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GreenEyez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
HD audio or no HD audio?
GreenEyez is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 06-27-2010, 06:46 AM
Member
 
Eopian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My main htpc is running an AMD X2 5000 AM2 (the same thing as the 5050e, but your is the energy efficient model). With a 5670 it plays everything I throw at it including blu-ray. That is with win7 32bit by the way. Plus, correct me if I'm wrong, but you can put an am2 processor in any am3 motherboard with no problems.
Eopian is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 06-27-2010, 06:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
tman247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 32
The 5050e should make a great HTPC CPU (it's not that old either). Dual core, 45W is a very good start. Mobo seems fine as well. The integrated HD4200 graphics should be fine for everything inc 1080P.

Stick a couple of gig of ram in there, and you should be good to go.
tman247 is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 06-27-2010, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hirent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In my imagination!
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I use a 4850e for my HTPC; works just fine.
Get any older AMD board, a 5000 card and you will be fine with the 5050e.
hirent is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 06-27-2010, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Servicetech571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
4850e works fine for the most part but you will need a card for graphics. The 4850e doesn't do well with IGP.
Servicetech571 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 06-27-2010, 10:37 AM
Member
 
tiredder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Servicetech571 View Post

4850e works fine for the most part but you will need a card for graphics. The 4850e doesn't do well with IGP.

that's what I found as well, especially with my ECS mobo.
using a GT220 now

Timm
tiredder is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 06-27-2010, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DireWolf08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the great advice! Agreed the 5050e is not terribly old, but bleeding edge, it is not!

To answer the HD audio question: No, I won't need HD audio capability . . . at least not at first, my receiver is an older HK that doesn't handle 7ch HDMI. In the event that I wanted to upgrade to full HD audio, a 5000 series Radeon card would enable that, right?
DireWolf08 is online now  
post #9 of 11 Old 06-27-2010, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GreenEyez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Yup, a cheap HD5450 will get you HD audio. For the moment, the 785G is fine for bitstreaming DTS/DD and decoding H.264 / VC-1 video.
GreenEyez is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 06-27-2010, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hirent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In my imagination!
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Servicetech571 View Post

4850e works fine for the most part but you will need a card for graphics. The 4850e doesn't do well with IGP.

hmm....don't know about that.
Mine is plugged into a M3A78-EM w/ a 780G chipset. It works just fine with the integrated HD3200. Never had a problem with the IGP.
I use a 5750 now for HD audio with the same board.
hirent is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 06-27-2010, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Servicetech571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hirent View Post

hmm....don't know about that.
Mine is plugged into a M3A78-EM w/ a 780G chipset. It works just fine with the integrated HD3200. Never had a problem with the IGP.
I use a 5750 now for HD audio with the same board.

Might be an Nvidia thing, Couldn't get my 8200 or 8300 boards to work w/o stuttering with the 4850e. Works fine with a 7750.
Servicetech571 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off