Optimizing SSD install of Win7 x64 for HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-02-2010, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Guitar1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am building a HTPC and just bought a 60gb OCZ agility 2 SSD for Win7 Home Premium 64 and apps and am going to store media on a separate regular drive. I have been doing some googling and it appears there are some things that I need to manually configure in the setup to get optimal performance, especially since writing to SSD is a bottleneck. I am doing a fresh install of Win7 to use WMC, Boxee, Zinc.tv and some form of BD playback as well as some ripping and encoding of HD media.

Any special considerations for the HTPC aspect aside from the standard Win7 tweaks? - I am assuming all temp files should go on my media drive(like a WD Green Drive). Any other tweaks - since this unit will be on 24/7, I want it to sleep when not in use, and boot up very fast when needed.

Thanks,
Michael
Guitar1969 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-02-2010, 09:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guitar1969 View Post

...this unit will be on 24/7, I want it to sleep when not in use, and boot up very fast when needed...

^ I don't understand what you're trying to do.

In any case, I have the agility 1 120gb and have had to send it back multiple times due to data corruption (most likely 2/2 to fw tho). My intel ssd has been rock solid in comparision. In general ssd + win 7 = "fastness"


OCZ forums has a sticky thread that has all the tweaks recommended.
ymarker is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-03-2010, 01:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Calcvictim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In order to keep write performance fast you need to make sure windows uses "TRIM" on the drive.

In order for that to happen you need to use Win 7 hd controller drivers and not the ones that come with the mobo, your best bet is to set the bios to AHCI mode.
Calcvictim is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-03-2010, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ogormask's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just go to their forums there is too much to repeat here.
ogormask is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off