Poor HD playback (choppy) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-08-2010, 10:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
-Ever-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good evening everyone!

I just got a Hauppauge HD PVR set up and I'm so excited to start editing my Xbox 360 gaming soon!

My first issue is this: I recorded a five-minute clip of play on the 360. I played the MP4 clip in both Quicktime and VLC Media Player. Both played back the file extremely poorly. Choppy, audio not matching video, and so forth.

I'm curious if this is a computer power issue. I have seen this issue before with other High Def downloads of mine, most all of which have never played right. Can anyone tell me whether or not this is due to hardware and not perhaps from software or driver issues?

My setup is as follows:
Intel Core2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13ghz (1600 core, 266mhz bus, P965 chipset)
2gig RAM (DDR2 PC2-6400 400hz)
NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT (256meg)
Windows XP

I know this is an older computer setup, however I feel that it should be plenty capable of at least simple HD playback.

Furthermore, I have noticed in my Task Manager that my CPU % never goes above ~40% and the memory above 500meg while trying to run the video. Perhaps is my graphics card and/or respective driver? I've already updated DirectX and my GFX driver.

Thanks so much for any advice!
-Ever- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-08-2010, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GreenEyez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
That`s because you are using two pieces of crap that have the nerve to call themself`s media players.

Get Media Player Classic Home Cinema : http://www.xvidvideo.ru/media-player...cinema-x86-x64


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


HTPC : AMD Zacate E350 with XBMC 10.00 + Aeon MQ
Storage : 6TB DLink NAS
GreenEyez is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-08-2010, 11:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
-Ever-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I considered that, but when I loaded the file into Sony Vegas to edit, it bogged down as well. This made me think it's much more in the hardware/driver side of things, beyond the fact that I need it to work in Vegas in the end :P

I tried it in MPC-HC and it didn't like it either!
-Ever- is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 07-09-2010, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
-Ever-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update: I installed the newest motherboard chipset drivers and this didn't suffice either.
-Ever- is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-09-2010, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Calcvictim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would guess the cpu can't pull it without DXVA
Calcvictim is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-09-2010, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spivonious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA, USA
Posts: 1,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 8600 handle h.264 and VC-1 decoding on XP? I don't think it does.
spivonious is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-09-2010, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
-Ever-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calcvictim View Post

I would guess the cpu can't pull it without DXVA

Would this be true even if the CPU in Task Manager shows it not working that hard while playing a HD clip? Furthermore, it looks like DXVA 1.0 works on XP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spivonious View Post

Does the 8600 handle h.264 and VC-1 decoding on XP? I don't think it does.

I just did a Google search for "8600 h264"
and the first link explained that one of the selling points was that it and the 8500 handle full h264 with their GPU.

It looks like it's not good for VC1 but can do h264.
-Ever- is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-09-2010, 06:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
-Ever-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd be surprised if a once-nice computer from just a few years ago couldn't play HD files without freezing. Still stumped on this one
-Ever- is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-09-2010, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spivonious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA, USA
Posts: 1,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Ever- View Post

I'd be surprised if a once-nice computer from just a few years ago couldn't play HD files without freezing. Still stumped on this one

I agree. Are you positive it's using DXVA? What's CPU usage like during playback? Is the hard disk going crazy?
spivonious is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-09-2010, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
-Ever-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A little reading makes dxva sound like something specifically for WMP. Is this the case or would it help with, say, editing in Vegas as well? I downloaded DXVA Checker and the Video Acceleration Settings button is greyed-out. Hmm.

The CPU percent is mid 40s, hard disc sounding fine.
-Ever- is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-09-2010, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
-Ever-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to say that I tried re-recording the file in M2TS instead of MP4 and it's working much better now!
-Ever- is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off