Nvidia GeForce GTX 460(GF104 GPU) supports full audio bitstreaming - Page 53 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1561 of 1812 Old 05-18-2011, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
adrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Get ready for a really stupid question (I admit I didn't search the whole thread for the answer).

If I connect a mini-HDMI to HDMI cable from a GTX 460 to my Onkyo HT-S5400 I should be able to play PC games like BFBC2 in full 5.1 surround sound, correct?

I'm asking this dumb question because I recently got my first surround setup in years, and after years of casually playing PC games, and even working in IT, it was a complete revelation to me that PC games don't produce surround sound with basic optical out. It was driving me nuts that I could watch blu-rays from my htpc in full surround sound, but playing a game of BCBF2 dropped audio to stereo. I started googling the issue today, and found that this has been common knowledge for some time. I asked my IT co-workers and they were as clueless as I was about the subject so that made me feel a little better.

As a side question to my main dumb question... how does a video card extract and output audio from the motherboard to begin with? I don't understand how that works. Oh, and just in case its important in answering question number 1, this is my current motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H

Thanks for any answers/advice anyone can offer.
adrift is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1562 of 1812 Old 05-18-2011, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Yes, with HDMI you can get full 5.1 sound. (even 7.1 if you want)

The GTX 460 has its own sound card in board. Once you connect a HDMI device that accepts sound, it'll show up in your audio configuration.

Some motherboards also come with a Dolby encoder that allows you to pass 5.1 through the optical link, but not all. Its mostly a licensing issue, really. If yours does, you can choose a "Dolby Digital 5.1" output format in your audio device configuration.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1563 of 1812 Old 05-18-2011, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
adrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

Yes, with HDMI you can get full 5.1 sound. (even 7.1 if you want)

The GTX 460 has its own sound card in board. Once you connect a HDMI device that accepts sound, it'll show up in your audio configuration.

Terrific! Thank you.

Quote:


Some motherboards also come with a Dolby encoder that allows you to pass 5.1 through the optical link, but not all. Its mostly a licensing issue, really. If yours does, you can choose a "Dolby Digital 5.1" output format in your audio device configuration.

Yeah, I don't see anything with the 5.1 designator in the output properties or anything, just plain DTS and DD (which, again, seems to work fine with everything except games).
adrift is offline  
post #1564 of 1812 Old 05-18-2011, 09:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 346
You should have bought GA-MA785G(P)MT-UD2H, that supports Dolby Home Theater (including Dolby Digital Live).
renethx is offline  
post #1565 of 1812 Old 05-19-2011, 01:35 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Tong Chia,

Have you tried LAV CUVID + ffdshow Raw (for SVP) + madVR? I have a color space conversion issue.

Selecting ffdshow raw > Codecs > Raw video: YV12 fixed the issue. Both video in and out are YV12 in ffdshow raw filter. This combination works for every HD/SD video formats (AVC, VC-1, MPEG-2) beautifully.

Edit

This was already answered in FAQ:

Quote:


I see wrong colors, for example the skin is blue like in Avatar movie.

The simpliest solution is to turn on "Postprocessing" in ffdShow.

This is another solution.
renethx is offline  
post #1566 of 1812 Old 05-19-2011, 05:11 AM
Senior Member
 
adrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
You should have bought GA-MA785G(P)MT-UD2H, that supports Dolby Home Theater (including Dolby Digital Live).
Oh wow. Yeah. Well I bought the board a year ago, and it was before I knew I was going to use the pc for an htpc, I just needed a new board, and it had decent reviews and price at the time. At least now I have a somewhat reasonable excuse to upgrade my ancient (2 and a half year old) current video card.
adrift is offline  
post #1567 of 1812 Old 05-19-2011, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
All these SVP color issues are weird. It sounds like its interpreting NV12 data as YV12, or vice versa. I don't know if its a ffdshow issue, but it certainly doesn't seem to be a issue with my decoder.

Possibly only with AVISynth in ffdshow. You give it NV12 data, and it tells the script its actually YV12? That would surely explain totally wrong colors.

The future version will allow you to force a specific pixel format, so if only YV12 works, then you can just force YV12 in LAV CUVID.
Of course that adds a small overhead converting the NV12 to YV12, but i wrote some assembler optimized code for that, so it should be pretty fast.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1568 of 1812 Old 05-20-2011, 12:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tong Chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Selecting ffdshow raw > Codecs > Raw video: YV12 fixed the issue. Both video in and out are YV12 in ffdshow raw filter. This combination works for every HD/SD video formats (AVC, VC-1, MPEG-2) beautifully.

That worked well, the colors are back to normal. Thank you for that.

LAVCUVID has surprising low CPU utilization, most of the work is now
pushed to the GPU. I am getting better than 60% peak utilization
on the GPUs (i7 + GTX460pair) from less than 40% with CoreAVC

This in turn, allows for more aggressive motion vector search and prediction
Tong Chia is offline  
post #1569 of 1812 Old 05-21-2011, 09:22 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post


...

Since there is no software solution similar to what i can do with my NVIDIA for ATI (at least that i know of), which i outlined above as well, i think this is a clear factor to help the selection process.

Its not pretending, no other solution to my specific requirements exist.
Hardware decoding, hardware deinterlacing, madVR. Show me the ATI solution to this.

Actually there is. I've just discovered the Korean software player PotPlayer and can get DXVA + MadVR with my ATI 5750. This is an evolution of KMPlayer and by the same author AFAIK, incredibly customizable in every conceivable way that I can imagine. Highly recomended!

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1570 of 1812 Old 05-21-2011, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Actually there is. I've just discovered the Korean software player PotPlayer and can get DXVA + MadVR with my ATI 5750. This is an evolution of KMPlayer and by the same author AFAIK, incredibly customizable in every conceivable way that I can imagine. Highly recomended!

I don't need another player. I would love it if that code were in a stand alone decoder, but, that doesn't seem likely does it?
SamuriHL is offline  
post #1571 of 1812 Old 05-21-2011, 09:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

I don't need another player. I would love it if that code were in a stand alone decoder, but, that doesn't seem likely does it?

Well, it's good to know that there is a DXVA + madVR solution for ATI cards, and I want one!

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1572 of 1812 Old 05-21-2011, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I tried PotPlayer just because of that feature, and it was a massive fail for me, but since Tulli is using a 5750 (me a 5770) I guess there's something in my system. Man I can't wait to upgrade to Ivy Bridge and a Radeon HD 7000.
Andy o is online now  
post #1573 of 1812 Old 05-21-2011, 11:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Actually there is. I've just discovered the Korean software player PotPlayer and can get DXVA + MadVR with my ATI 5750. This is an evolution of KMPlayer and by the same author AFAIK, incredibly customizable in every conceivable way that I can imagine. Highly recomended!

Actually hardware deinterlacing (i.e. AMD's VA) never works. Ranpha didn't say so:

Quote:


Then go to 'Deinterlacing' filter section and configure it exactly like what the picture below suggests. This filter is optional if you use LAV CUVID Decoder as your video decoder (the only decoder that can do decoder-level deinterlacing).

and I couldn't get it work either for Cheese Slices. Hardware decoding is not important for today's processor, but software can't do deinterlacing properly.

Or am I missing something?
renethx is offline  
post #1574 of 1812 Old 05-21-2011, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post

Actually there is. I've just discovered the Korean software player PotPlayer and can get DXVA + MadVR with my ATI 5750. This is an evolution of KMPlayer and by the same author AFAIK, incredibly customizable in every conceivable way that I can imagine. Highly recomended!

The player itself actually kinda sucks. Customizability isn't always good, heck in most cases it ends up in bloating and options overload - like in that one. I find the player unintuitive and really unnatural to use/configure.
Plus, i really wouldn't want to switch player..

Anyhow, i actually know how that DXVA mode works, and i nearly wrote a codec to do that, but instead i decided to write my CUVID filter instead, because it seemed so much easier (and was!).
All non-DirectShow players use that mode for DXVA, like VLC and XBMC and whatnot. It'll only work on Vista/7, and is still severly limited.

Anyhow, like others pointed out, that one does not use hardware deinterlacing, which is a crucial feature for me - decoding can be done in any CPU of todays generation.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1575 of 1812 Old 05-21-2011, 04:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
Actually hardware deinterlacing (i.e. AMD's VA) never works. Ranpha didn't say so:



and I couldn't get it work either for Cheese Slices. Hardware decoding is not important for today's processor, but software can't do deinterlacing properly.

Or am I missing something?
No, you're missing nothing Rene. After more checking found that the player is in fact only doing (ffmpeg) software deinterlacing. So the solution of Nevcairiel for Nvidia is the only true/complete hardware accelerated one that works with madVR.

Sorry guys for getting OT somehow but maybe this will add to the clarification of the very interesting situation we have now, where Nvidia, thanks to Neivcairiel's masterful work, is enjoying a clear, neat advantage over AMD for a graphic card recommendation.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #1576 of 1812 Old 05-23-2011, 02:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Faceless Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulli View Post
No, you're missing nothing Rene. After more checking found that the player is in fact only doing (ffmpeg) software deinterlacing. So the solution of Nevcairiel for Nvidia is the only true/complete hardware accelerated one that works with madVR.

Sorry guys for getting OT somehow but maybe this will add to the clarification of the very interesting situation we have now, where Nvidia, thanks to Neivcairiel's masterful work, is enjoying a clear, neat advantage over AMD for a graphic card recommendation.
I think Nvidia's clear, neat advantage over ATI has always been their drivers. With my GTS 450, I was able to correct my issue of the card refusing to output Full Range simply by creating a custom resolution of 1920x1080 to output to my TV, the card accepted this without complaint. I was then able to also create a custom resolution of 1920x1080 with 23.976hz refresh, again the card accepted this without complaint and with MPC-HC using EVR Sync, I am able to get true 24fps playback of content. It's just so much easier when Nvidia gives you all these options in their drivers to create your own custom profiles for things when default ones don't work. My main gaming PC is the same way, I'm able to create custom AA and SLI profiles for games which don't have a default profile (the vast, vast majority already do), something that ATI owners have been complaining about for something like 5 years now with absolutely no plans for resolution.
Faceless Rebel is online now  
post #1577 of 1812 Old 05-24-2011, 12:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone using a NVIDIA card (4xx or 5xx series) successfully got an interlaced VC-1 clip to play back with EVR renderer? I am specifically looking for a setup where the decoder uses DXVA2.

If you have any graph fitting this criteria, please let me know! Thanks!

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #1578 of 1812 Old 05-24-2011, 01:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 346
ArcSoft Video Decoder or CyberLink Video Decoder as mentioned in another thread.
renethx is offline  
post #1579 of 1812 Old 05-24-2011, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
LAV CUVID can do it, its not "strictly" DXVA2 in the traditional sense, but you know, same thing.

I wonder how much work it would be to add interlaced support to the open source VC-1 DXVA decoders, would mostly just be header parsing.. i should pick up my video decoder again.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1580 of 1812 Old 05-24-2011, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

i should pick up my video decoder again.

Yes, for the love of God, yes, you should!
SamuriHL is offline  
post #1581 of 1812 Old 05-24-2011, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,421
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

Yes, for the love of God, yes, you should!

If only a day had 48 hours...
madshi is online now  
post #1582 of 1812 Old 05-24-2011, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

If only a day had 48 hours...

Yea, I know how that goes. Work is currently killing me for that very reason.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #1583 of 1812 Old 05-26-2011, 10:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Did anybody try to play Basketball clip (1080p60) with LAV CUVID Decoder + madVR? I see lots of dropped frames even with GTS 450.
renethx is offline  
post #1584 of 1812 Old 05-26-2011, 11:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
I did run it before, but i'll do it again when i get home to double-check.

What OS? XP might have some performance deficits that Vista/7 don't have due to the new driver model.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1585 of 1812 Old 05-26-2011, 11:21 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 346
renethx is offline  
post #1586 of 1812 Old 05-29-2011, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
adrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay folks, I went ahead and got an MSI GTX 460, and finally have 5.1 in games (woohoo!), I'm just curious about something. As I mentioned in a previous post, audio is going out to an Onkyo receiver. While playing any audio content, whether it be blu-rays, mp3s, streaming media, my receiver only ever shows MCH PCM 5.1. I never see it display anything like Dolby TrueHD or anything. Is this to be expected or do I have something not quite configured right?
adrift is offline  
post #1587 of 1812 Old 05-29-2011, 02:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrift View Post

Okay folks, I went ahead and got an MSI GTX 460, and finally have 5.1 in games (woohoo!), I'm just curious about something. As I mentioned in a previous post, audio is going out to an Onkyo receiver. While playing any audio content, whether it be blu-rays, mp3s, streaming media, my receiver only ever shows MCH PCM 5.1. I never see it display anything like Dolby TrueHD or anything. Is this to be expected or do I have something not quite configured right?

What are you using for playback, wmc, xmbc,etc...?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1588 of 1812 Old 05-29-2011, 03:51 PM
Senior Member
 
adrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

What are you using for playback, wmc, xmbc,etc...?

I don't really use a media center (though I have and occasionally run both Windows Media Center and Boxee). I'm playing blu-rays with PowerDVD 10, and other video content with VLC. Nothing fancy. I stream Netflix and Hulu from my browser, and play audio content with foobar2k. No matter what player I'm running media through the only thing that displays is MCH PCM 5.1. I mean, it sounds okay. Surrounds seem to work fine. I do currently have the system running with PLIIz front highs, but I wouldn't think that would matter. I don't know. I asked the same question in one of the Onkyo threads, but based on the lack of feedback, I figured maybe it was something to do with Windows and the GTX 460.
adrift is offline  
post #1589 of 1812 Old 05-29-2011, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
In PDVD10 you need to change the audio setting *WHILE PLAYING A BLU-RAY*. Then, and ONLY THEN, will you get bitstreamed sound. And if you play a non-Blu-ray, you will need to go back in and change it again when you play the next Blu-ray.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #1590 of 1812 Old 05-29-2011, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
adrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

In PDVD10 you need to change the audio setting *WHILE PLAYING A BLU-RAY*. Then, and ONLY THEN, will you get bitstreamed sound. And if you play a non-Blu-ray, you will need to go back in and change it again when you play the next Blu-ray.

Hmm. Not sure I quite follow... If I take a BD disk like 5th Element it has 2 English 5.1 tracks, PCM 5.1 (Uncompressed), and 5.1 Dolby TrueHD. If I swap between the two tracks while the movie is playing, the display on my receiver still reads MCH PCM 5.1 no matter which track I choose.
adrift is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off