Nvidia GeForce GTX 460(GF104 GPU) supports full audio bitstreaming - Page 58 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1711 of 1812 Old 07-14-2011, 02:34 PM
Member
 
erik71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Several of the newegg reviews report that their GTS 450 worked fine for weeks or months, then for no apparent reason developed problems (BSOD, freezes, recovered messages, etc.). I was going to buy one until I saw so many reviews like that.
erik71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1712 of 1812 Old 07-14-2011, 04:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by erik71 View Post

Several of the newegg reviews report that their GTS 450 worked fine for weeks or months, then for no apparent reason developed problems (BSOD, freezes, recovered messages, etc.). I was going to buy one until I saw so many reviews like that.

Yeah, the reviews scared me as well but I decided to throw caution to the wind. Hoping the issue is just as Andy o suggested

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1713 of 1812 Old 07-14-2011, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,939
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I have the single-slot MSI GTS 450 and it's been a great card so far. No problems to report and I'm using the latest Nvidia released drivers.
LexInVA is offline  
post #1714 of 1812 Old 07-14-2011, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Hmmmm....sounds like that could be the issue. Definitely had issues when viewing firefox 5. What is odd is that it just started yesterday (pc has been up and running and no issues with ff for a week). When my replacement card comes in I will look at that. Do you disable hw accel in the firefox settings?

Yes. You have to uncheck it in Advance options. It seems to happen when I'm scrolling (not always of course, but when it happens, I'm scrolling).
Andy o is offline  
post #1715 of 1812 Old 07-15-2011, 04:07 PM
JDz
Senior Member
 
JDz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
Yeah, the reviews scared me as well but I decided to throw caution to the wind. Hoping the issue is just as Andy o suggested
I hope so too, that is the exact card I just bought and put in my htpc.
JDz is offline  
post #1716 of 1812 Old 07-29-2011, 12:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 112
New Beta Drivers are out, 280.19, on NVIDIAs page.

XP:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp-2...ta-driver.html

XP64:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp64...ta-driver.html

Vista/7 32-bit:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/win7-wi...ta-driver.html

Vista/7 64-bit:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/win7-wi...ta-driver.html

Feedback so far seems very good.
The driver claims to add support for a GT530 (not the OEM version) and a GT520MX (apparently mobile?), anyone has any spec details on those?
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1717 of 1812 Old 07-30-2011, 01:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

New Beta Drivers are out, 280.19, on NVIDIAs page.

XP:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp-2...ta-driver.html

XP64:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp64...ta-driver.html

Vista/7 32-bit:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/win7-wi...ta-driver.html

Vista/7 64-bit:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/win7-wi...ta-driver.html

Feedback so far seems very good.
The driver claims to add support for a GT530 (not the OEM version) and a GT520MX (apparently mobile?), anyone has any spec details on those?

Running very good so far on my GTX 460 with madVR v.61 since installing yesterday...
balky is online now  
post #1718 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 07:35 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,190
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 371
It looks like if I created a custom resolution, this will be always the "current" resolution even if the actual resolution is different.

Well, that's not a big issue. To edit it, create a new custom resolution "24Hz" that will override the old one. The original "24Hz" = 24.000 Hz will be lost even if you specify "23Hz" as usual.
LL

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #1719 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 07:50 AM
Member
 
MickBim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which fault is it ? nVidia or MS ? Who rounds up 23.976 to 24Hz ?

It's incredible that everybody praises HTPC and that no GC can't output 23.976fps natively
MickBim is offline  
post #1720 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 08:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,190
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Well, creating a custom resolution that is almost exactly 23.976Hz is pretty easy (at least in my configuration).

BTW at "23.97601Hz", "1 frame drop every 9.93 hours" is not correct: 23.976 - 23.97601 = 0.00001 s^(-1), 1/0.00001 = 100000 s = 27.7 h; so 1 frame repeats every 27.7 hours.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #1721 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 08:11 AM
Member
 
MickBim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah I created the 23.976 custom res too but I lost the 24Hz correct one in the process.

I tried to create a correct 24Hz one over the native 25Hz (since in the custom res creator screen the refresh rate has to be between 23 and 25Hz) but I can't. It seems that the drivers only support one custom res

GG nVidia
MickBim is offline  
post #1722 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 112
I use that version just fine with 3 custom resolutions, 24, 50 and 60Hz.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1723 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 08:28 AM
Member
 
MickBim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

I use that version just fine with 3 custom resolutions, 24, 50 and 60Hz.

On these latest version drivers you can create multiple custom res now ?

But maybe the bug appeared on my side because the refresh rates were too close (23.976, 24 & 25)
MickBim is offline  
post #1724 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 09:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,190
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Custom resolution "23Hz" with refresh rate > 23.5000 Hz is considered as "24Hz" by the tool and "24Hz" is overridden. So you can never create both of "23Hz" = 23.976Hz and "24Hz" = 24.000Hz.

23Hz: 22.500Hz--23.5000Hz
24Hz: 23.500Hz--24.5000Hz
25Hz: 24.500Hz--25.5000Hz

Right now there are 232 24.000 fps BDs out of 4296 BDs according to NEW Unofficial Blu-ray Audio and Video Specifications Thread (I don't own any of them BTW). This is definitely a bug that should be fixed quickly.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #1725 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,467
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

BTW at "23.97601Hz", "1 frame drop every 9.93 hours" is not correct: 23.976 - 23.97601 = 0.00001 s^(-1), 1/0.00001 = 100000 s = 27.7 h; so 1 frame repeats every 27.7 hours.

madVR tries to take the audio clock deviation (deviation between audio hardware clock and system clock) into account, too. The refresh rate is calculated by using the system clock. The audio hardware clock can differ from the system clock and the audio hardware clock is (usually) the master clock of the DirectShow graph. Unfortunately measuring the exact audio clock deviation is very hard to do right, because the audio clock jitters like hell...
madshi is online now  
post #1726 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Custom resolution "23Hz" with refresh rate > 23.5000 Hz is considered as "24Hz" by the tool and "24Hz" is overridden. So you can never create both of "23Hz" = 23.976Hz and "24Hz" = 24.000Hz.

Right now there are 232 24.000 fps BDs out of 4296 BDs according to NEW Unofficial Blu-ray Audio and Video Specifications Thread (I don't own any of them BTW). This is definitely a bug that should be fixed quickly.

232 out of 4296 is around 5%, i wouldn't call that ground breaking, considering that probably 80% are 23.976, and the remaining are split between 25p and 60i.
I think i have one disc thats 24.000, and i just use ReClock and don't worry about it. I don't get why people obsess about it that much, and don't just get ReClock.
Its a very rare refresh rate to use, some discs have it, but none are really that mainstream - so i don't require the 100% absolute perfect solution, and ReClock does just fine providing a 99% solution.

PS:
If thats something that broke in a recent driver, you can just create the resolutions in an older version and then install the new one.

PPS:
I don't see how the list you linked makes a difference between 23.976 and 24.000, all i see about video is it saying "1080p24"
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1727 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 09:24 AM
Member
 
MickBim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

I think i have one disc thats 24.000, and i just use ReClock and don't worry about it. I don't get why people obsess about it that much, and don't just get ReClock.

You can't use reclock when bitstreaming audio (which I'm doing)
And btw, reclock convert DTS into AC3 no ? Is there any audio loss ?
MickBim is offline  
post #1728 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 09:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,190
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

I don't see how the list you linked makes a difference between 23.976 and 24.000, all i see about video is it saying "1080p24"

1080p24* (asterisked) is 24.000 fps.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #1729 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by MickBim View Post

You can't use reclock when bitstreaming audio (which I'm doing)

I also don't understand why people insist on making it so hard on themself by insisting on bitstreaming.

Wonder how hard it would be to write a small tool that can just set the custom resolutions inside the nvidia settings without the limitations of that control panel. Or maybe the limitation isnt in the panel, but rather somewhere deeper, even in windows itself?
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1730 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 09:52 AM
Member
 
MickBim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

I also don't understand why people insist on making it so hard on themself by insisting on bitstreaming.

For DTS-HD audio, simple as that.

Reclock resamples in AC3 no ?
MickBim is offline  
post #1731 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 112
ReClock *can* encode into AC3, but it does not *have* to, its purely optional if you only have a SPDIF connection and want multi-channel audio.

Anyhow, i get all audio decoded to PCM (including DTS-HD), let ReClock do its magic, outputting full PCM over WASAPI, and it all works so smoothly.

I'll leave everyone else to their setup, just saying, its possible to get near perfect playback.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1732 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 10:04 AM
Member
 
MickBim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

ReClock *can* encode into AC3, but it does not *have* to, its purely optional if you only have a SPDIF connection and want multi-channel audio.

Anyhow, i get all audio decoded to PCM (including DTS-HD), let ReClock do its magic, outputting full PCM over WASAPI, and it all works so smoothly.

I'll leave everyone else to their setup, just saying, its possible to get near perfect playback.

But in that case no "DTS Master Audio" led on my onkyo

And your solution, even if it works (no sound loss what so ever ?) is a workaround for the buggy drivers.
MickBim is offline  
post #1733 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MickBim View Post

But in that case no "DTS Master Audio" led on my onkyo

And your solution, even if it works (no sound loss what so ever ?) is a workaround for the buggy drivers.

He's using the ArcSoft DTS-HD MA decoder, so, no sound loss whatsoever is correct. And you ALWAYS need workarounds for buggy drivers with videocards. That's a decent solution as you get consistent PCM output which is flawless and ReClock does channel mapping correctly by using WASAPI excl mode.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #1734 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 112
There is only a very very minor loss in quality due to the resampling done by ReClock. I doubt anyone can actually hear the difference. Who knows what a receiver does to the audio before sending it to the speakers.

Anyhow, you might call it a workaround, i call it a smooth movie experience.
Sure, they could fix the control panel one day, but shrug, gotta go with what we have. IMHO, its still vastly superior to ATI where you simply cannot create a custom resolution at all.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #1735 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I would LOVE a tool that creates those custom resolutions for us. HINT HINT.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #1736 of 1812 Old 08-09-2011, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No one using the 280 drivers with any of these cards still experiencing driver crashes when using Firefox 4 or 5 with HW accel on? I still am, up to 280.19 beta, but I'm using a 9200m GS on Win 7-64. I don't think the ones reported earlier were able to confirm that this was their problem with the 450GTS.

Trying the 180.26 now but don't have much hope.

The most annoying thing is that with most driver versions I've tried (which is all since FF4 came out officially) I don't get the black flash and "driver recovered" message. Just a plain old crash that requires a hard reboot.
Andy o is offline  
post #1737 of 1812 Old 08-21-2011, 03:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
nightfly85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I bitstream and use reclock without issue. The key thing is that reclock really isn't doing anything while I am bitstreaming so it's main purpose is defeated, but for LPCM/PCM, works great and get's around the Nvidia's 7.1 channel mapping issue.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nightfly85 is offline  
post #1738 of 1812 Old 08-22-2011, 12:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't think there's an Nvidia 7.1 channel mapping issue anymore. Is this what you're referring to? If so, you don't need to bitstream to get around it, you can just use ReClock's WASAPI exclusive mode.
Andy o is offline  
post #1739 of 1812 Old 09-21-2011, 12:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I have an NVidia Gigabyte GTS450. Just came home from vacation today and whenever I go to play any sort of video the driver crashes and I get a message that the driver kernel has stopped responding but has been recovered. Thinking it may be a driver issue I just upgraded to the latest beta driver and still the same issue. What do you guys think, the card is toast? It is only 2 months old so it should still be under warranty from Gigabyte, but if this card went bad to be honest my experience with NVidia cards will be a bit soured (this will be the second card that has gone bad since I bought two months ago)

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1740 of 1812 Old 09-21-2011, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'd try the following:

1) Uninstall the current driver completely
2) Shut down the machine, pull the card, clean all the contacts, and reseat it. I know that sounds stupid but it's worth trying anyway.
3) Do a clean install of the driver.

See if that helps. If not, um, well, that's not so good.
SamuriHL is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off