Off Topic-Capacitor... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mickey57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey fellas
.....While googling around to find a capacitor I ran across this forum. Since my interest does lay in this area I decided to register.
..... I am looking for a 100 microfarad Tantalum cap, rated at 6 volts.It is a surface mount.1/4" long....1/8" wide. I have contacted Digi-key.All they have in that size are higher voltage, like 16V.
....Radio Shack ain't like it use to be.All the parts stores have closed their doors since My Dad and I repaired Televisions back in the 70's. Can anyone help me in my quest?





Mickey57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 10:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Beefcake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlton, MA USA
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Uhh. it's beena while for me, but I always thought caps were sized by how many farads of energy they could store. The voltage rating is likely to be a maximum spec voltage rather than a necessary one.

I'd say get the same size one from Digikey that has the same (F) rating and closest (but higher) voltage rating. A capacitor should have whatever voltage is supplied to it within the reason of the materials.
Beefcake is offline  
post #3 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Yeah, the voltage rating on a capacitor has more to do with the potential limit it can withstand before the insulation between layers breaks down and it just shorts to ground. Long story short, running a cap at a little less than its rated voltage shouldn't cause much problem.

In any case, you can also check Mouser to see if they have the specific one you want.

www.mouser.com

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #4 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Servicetech571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If the 16V will fit the space use it. I've used regular caps in a pinch (just solder the leads to the board).
Servicetech571 is offline  
post #5 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mickey57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you guys.
.....Got it
"h**p://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=478-5258-1-ND"]http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=478-5258-1-ND

.....Been a while for me...I thought the 16v would be fine but I wanted to check with ya'll. How can I tell the polarity on the board...The way I have it pictured is opposite of the way I think it goes
Mickey57 is offline  
post #6 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
In your last pic, the right hand side seems to have a key marking (thicker line). I would guess that is the negative side but check one or more of the other capacitors on the board to see which way they are oriented to that key marking.

Edit: just looked at the capacitor you are purchasing. The stripe on the capacitor should line up to the stripe on the board.
vladd is online now  
post #7 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

In your last pic, the right hand side seems to have a key marking (thicker line). I would guess that is the negative side but check one or more of the other capacitors on the board to see which way they are oriented to that key marking.

installing the cap that way would be a bad idea...
Derek K. is offline  
post #8 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
in all honesty, the board is probably fine without the cap.
Derek K. is offline  
post #9 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

installing the cap that way would be a bad idea...

I do so love it when someone posts just enough info to make it look like they think they have a big brain on the subject, yet not enough information to actually be helpful...

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #10 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mickey57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

In your last pic, the right hand side seems to have a key marking (thicker line). I would guess that is the negative side but check one or more of the other capacitors on the board to see which way they are oriented to that key marking.

Edit: just looked at the capacitor you are purchasing. The stripe on the capacitor should line up to the stripe on the board.

....Bingo...that's it!..I see it now..All line up that way..Thank you so much
Mickey57 is offline  
post #11 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mickey57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

in all honesty, the board is probably fine without the cap.

......Wow and you have 1,760 posts
Mickey57 is offline  
post #12 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoshDorhyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey57 View Post

......Wow and you have 1,760 posts

I've taken caps off and kept running the equipment. Depends on what it does. It looks like an extra power supply cap tacked on to hopefully help with noise which could really not be needed.

Peter
JoshDorhyke is offline  
post #13 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 04:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mickey57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshDorhyke View Post

I've taken caps off and kept running the equipment. Depends on what it does. It looks like an extra power supply cap tacked on to hopefully help with noise which could really not be needed.

Peter

....Laptop Computer will not turn on...Four red flashes from battery.Thought it was the Power jack until I took the thing apart and saw the cap. and the usb port off their solder joints...Don't know if it was the heat and the motion of turning on/off the computer...that popped it loose,it is four years old .The cap does look like ii was torn not just popped off.This is on the other side of the board near the power switch...
....Looks like one of my sisters kids put a screwdriver or something in that usb port nearest the capacitor because the four prongs on that are busted off too..Then again...You may be right and I spend the $6.00 for having two capacitors shipped to me...and it is something else that caused these malfunctions.
....I'll let ya'll know...didn't mean to sound like a smartass..I do really appreciate all the help I have gotten here and I hope I can contribute soon.
Mickey57 is offline  
post #14 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

installing the cap that way would be a bad idea...

Why? The key marking is there for a reason.
vladd is online now  
post #15 of 52 Old 07-20-2010, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15

Good to hear you found the part. At least you didn't have to buy like 50-100 of them to get it, LOL!
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #16 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 04:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mickey57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ES_Revenge View Post

Good to hear you found the part. At least you didn't have to buy like 50-100 of them to get it, LOL!

......My heart sank when I saw the lots you could buy...That is until I saw you could buy just one,so I bought a 'just in case I lose one' for insurance lol
Mickey57 is offline  
post #17 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

I do so love it when someone posts just enough info to make it look like they think they have a big brain on the subject, yet not enough information to actually be helpful...

-Suntan

well, that would be installing the cap backwards and tantalum caps don't like being installed backwards.

edit:

fair enough. I should have stated that was backwards.
Derek K. is offline  
post #18 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey57 View Post

......Wow and you have 1,760 posts

as a hardware engineer that has designed computers using intel cpus, I know that intel suggests lots of extra capacitance so that the board will operate properly in all sorts of obscure temperature and voltage combinations. under normal operating conditions, the extra capacitance isn't necessary.

I'm sure amd does the same. most all electronic devices are designed this way.

tantalum caps are pretty robust, but they do occasionally just fail. since the op has since stated that a screwdriver was inserted into a usb slot, I'm guessing that this computer needs more than just a cap to get it working again.

I guess we'll see.
Derek K. is offline  
post #19 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

Why? The key marking is there for a reason.

the line in the silk screen represents the positive pad. this is the common convention used in pcb design.

the line on the cap represents the positive terminal. you suggested installing a polarized cap backwards. this could lead to the cap exploding, and could cause further damage to surrounding components and/or injure the poster.

your suggestion was wrong, and potentially dangerous.
Derek K. is offline  
post #20 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
mickey,

I have reels of these caps at work. pm me your address and I shoot you a few in the mail, if you haven't already placed your order. these are $.25 parts.

however based on your last comment, I don't think a cap is your problem.

Derek
Derek K. is offline  
post #21 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

the line in the silk screen represents the positive pad. this is the common convention used in pcb design.

the line on the cap represents the positive terminal. you suggested installing a polarized cap backwards. this could lead to the cap exploding, and could cause further damage to surrounding components and/or injure the poster.

your suggestion was wrong, and potentially dangerous.

My suggestion was not wrong, read it again. My assumption that the line represented the negative side may have been wrong (I tend to forget things when multitasking too much and was thinking electrolytic capacitors which are usually marked on the negative side) but I did tell him to align the markings (thereby installing it correctly: positive to positive).
vladd is online now  
post #22 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

My suggestion was not wrong, read it again. My assumption that the line represented the negative side may have been wrong (I tend to forget things when multitasking too much and was thinking electrolytic capacitors which are usually marked on the negative side) but I did tell him to align the markings (thereby installing it correctly: positive to positive).

afterwords yes, you did. but that isn't an electrolytic cap.
Derek K. is offline  
post #23 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

afterwords yes, you did. but that isn't an electrolytic cap.

I know that. That's just what my mind defaulted to at the time. Regardless, the OP now has the information he requested.
vladd is online now  
post #24 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

Regardless, the OP now has the information he requested.

yep. I have my fingers crossed for him. hopefully this will end well.

mickey,

how's your surface mount soldering skills?
Derek K. is offline  
post #25 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mickey57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

in all honesty, the board is probably fine without the cap.

....I owe you a sincere apology sir. I remember just enough to make me dangerous if I was on my own,lol

.....My Dad finally got back to me and he told me the same exact thing you did about this part very well likely to be a capacitor and be filter.Then he went on to say that it could also be a thermistor He came to that conclusion from the color band on the part as being 1900 ohms,Brown,White & Red (Bad Boys Rape Our Young Girls But Violet Gives Willingly) and the 6k would be 6000 ohms. These two numbers representing the Cold and Hot values of resistance.The other numbers as part numbers.

....He also told me that he thought he taught me to never assume something and to know exactly what I am dealing with before I mess with it

...So now I must ask...Is everyone on agreement that this is a Capacitor? Or could it be a Thermistor?
Mickey57 is offline  
post #26 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
no apology necessary.

it is definitely a cap. 100 uf, 6.3v tantalum from kemet. manufactured in january of 2006.

http://www.kemet.com/kemet/web/homepage/kechome.nsf/weben/B93D5B8E16DC7A87CA2570A500160920/$file/F3102_T491.pdf
Derek K. is offline  
post #27 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mickey57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

yep. I have my fingers crossed for him. hopefully this will end well.

mickey,

how's your surface mount soldering skills?

....Honestly.....I haven't soldered a thing in 20 years but I use to be pretty damn good at de-soldering and soldering. I tig pretty damn good now though. I did work as a boiler maker.
Mickey57 is offline  
post #28 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
getting it off with out damaging the board is harder than putting one back down, so you already did the hard part.

I'd suggest you use something other than a tig welder, though.

pick up a low wattage pencil iron from rat shack/etc. get one with the smallest tip. be patient. you can replace it.

it is actually a pretty big component, so you are lucky. it isn't a 0402 sized part.
Derek K. is offline  
post #29 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mickey57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

mickey,

I have reels of these caps at work. pm me your address and I shoot you a few in the mail, if you haven't already placed your order. these are $.25 parts.

however based on your last comment, I don't think a cap is your problem.

Derek

......I did place the order but something has gone wrong there;

To: MICHAEL COOK
Account: PERSONAL CHECKING/SAVINGS ACCOUNT ending in ****
Transaction date: 07/20/2010
Amount: $0.00
Merchant: DKC*DIGI KEY CORP

.....I will call and see what is going on.
Mickey57 is offline  
post #30 of 52 Old 07-21-2010, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
what are the dimensions of the cap (preferably in millimeters)?
Derek K. is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off