Premiere Pro H.264 Color problems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-25-2010, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bmwf1gtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My camera is Sanyo Xacti FH1, oftenly shoot as 1080i29.97.
My PC is Intel Core2Quad 8300 with 9800GTX+

I edit with Premiere Pro CS5, when i finish simple editing like dissolve and title creations, i let the pc to compress as H.264, it is great when playing with Windows 7 WMP, but recently i found that the color is not exactly the same as the original footage (H.264 1080i29.97), and the contrast is lower, especially black and white parts of the video. all the frame rate, dimensions are exactly identical, except i use High Profile 5.1 to get a greater compression efficiency.

When i use MPEG2, excluding the noises and compressed artifacts, the color is exactly the same as the original. I compared it in Premiere Pro, using different synchronized layers.

Why is it like that? As i know the chromatic samplings are all the same (420), and the original is H.264, why is it different when compressed to the same format but not MPEG2? I wanna keep my original color and contrast, but my harddisk would get overflow twice faster.
bmwf1gtr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-25-2010, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Have you done any sample encodes showing L5.1 is better than L4.1?
Seems like its encoding the video to different levels than the source. Is there an option to change levels? Could be named tv, pc, 0-255(pc), 16-255(tv). Another possibility is the media player you are using...showing different levels than the source.
Mrkazador is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-03-2010, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bmwf1gtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, i have thought about what you said, i have done that testing before, using the same level, using higher or lower, but it seems the color is the same at all level with all profile. i want to find things like, 0-255 and 16-235, but no, UNlike MPEG2, the Adobe Media Encoder has few options for H.264, not even GOP structure settings, like IBPBP
bmwf1gtr is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-03-2010, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Might want to ask in the camcorders forum. More people will likely have direct input on the workings of Premire Pro there.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forum...ysprune=&f=161

Personally, I use Vegas Pro 9 so I don't know much about Premire.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off