dts-hd pass through from dell studio 1557 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 08-01-2010, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
infamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a dell studio 1557 with windows 7 x64. It has a ati hd 4570 and I am trying to get DTS-HD to passthrough over HDMI to my HK avr254 receiver.....any ideas?
infamo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 08-01-2010, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
infamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
also...it only seems for some reason to support dolby digital......my receiver does dts-hd, and dolby-truehd
LL
LL
infamo is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 08-01-2010, 04:52 PM
Member
 
mungee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If I am reading this correctly, ATI Mobility Radeon HD4500 family does not support HD bitstreaming.

Quote:
Integrated HD audio controller with up to 2 channel 48 kHz stereo or multi-channel (7.1) AC3 enabling a plug-and-play cable-less audio solution

You will get DD/DTS 5.1/6.1/7.1 via HDMI not Dolby TruHD or DTS-HD MA via HDMI.

Having HDMI does not automatically guarantee HD audio.

You need the Mobility HD4830/4860 family to get HD Audio
HDMI output support

Quote:
Integrated HD audio controller with support for stereo and multi-channel (up to 7.1) audio formats, including AC-3, AAC, DTS, DTS-HD & Dolby True-HD, enabling a plug-and-play audio solution over HDMI5

mungee is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 08-01-2010, 08:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hirent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In my imagination!
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mungee View Post

If I am reading this correctly, ATI Mobility Radeon HD4500 family does not support HD bitstreaming.



You will get DD/DTS 5.1/6.1/7.1 via HDMI not Dolby TruHD or DTS-HD MA via HDMI.

Having HDMI does not automatically guarantee HD audio.

You need the Mobility HD4830/4860 family to get HD Audio
HDMI output support

No, no, no!
HD 4000 series does not support HD audio passthrough. For that you need a card from the HD 5000 series.
HD 4000 however can do multi-channel LPCM over HDMI. Basically your software player decodes the HD audio track to PCM (kinda like unzipping) and sends it out over HDMI.
hirent is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 08-01-2010, 11:33 PM
Member
 
mungee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Not all 4000 series support 8 ch LPCM. Only the 48xx and beyond. The 43xx to 46xx (that OP has 45xx) only support stereo and AC3 (DD/DTS 5.1/7.1) over HDMI not even LPCM.
mungee is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-01-2010, 11:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by mungee View Post

Not all 4000 series support 8 ch LPCM. Only the 48xx and beyond. The 43xx to 46xx (that OP has 45xx) only support stereo and AC3 (DD/DTS 5.1/7.1) over HDMI not even LPCM.

To be clear, this is only true of the "Mobility Radeon HD" line. All 4000 series cards from the desktop "Radeon HD" line support multichannel LPCM.
vladd is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 08-02-2010, 03:03 AM
Member
 
mungee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well I was talking about mobility too.

But just so that we are on the same page.....

If you click specification on ANY of the the following DESKTOP cards you will not see DTS-MA or TrueHD listed till you reach 4850. There is no mention of them in 4200-4830 series even on the desktop cards.

http://www.amd.com/us/products/deskt...00-series.aspx
mungee is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 08-02-2010, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
None of the 4000 series desktop cards will bitstream HD audio codecs (DTS-MA/TrueHD). They will all do multichannel (7.1) LPCM.
vladd is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 08-02-2010, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

None of the 4000 series desktop cards will bitstream HD audio codecs (DTS-MA/TrueHD). They will all do multichannel (7.1) LPCM.

+1
At best, if you can decode TrueHD in software, you can send the LPCM to your receiver. For DTS-HD MA, you're stuck with the core DTS track, unless you have Arcsoft TMT (IIRC), which has its own proprietary decoder. In that case, it will also be the lossless LPCM.
Any ATi 4XXX card cannot send a bitstream of the lossless audio codecs.
fitbrit is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-05-2010, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
infamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does converting to lpcm degrade the quality? and since its a laptop, I can't change the video card...is there anything else i can do?
infamo is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 08-05-2010, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Depends on the software used. Commercial players will downconvert to 48/16 (if the track is a higher quality). Some can hear it the difference and some can't so this is a debatable "downgrade" in the sound. FFDShow (used in the directshow player of your choice) will fully decode all formats except for DTS-HD with no quality loss. Using eac3to to decode the audio to LPCM (for ripping to MKV and the like) will work on all formats and the output from any player will be without any downgrade.
vladd is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 08-06-2010, 06:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Thrillho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Halifax,NS
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Where it's a laptop most of the standard thoughts about the 4xxx line do not apply. Your card has the same audio support as a 3xxx desktop card, which means you can bitstream legacy DD and DTS but not TrueHD or DTSHD.
You can output stereo LCPM at highres but not multichannel. For Blurays this means you can playback the core legacy track in surround but not the HD track.
There is also not much you can do to upgrade the laptop to do more. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.
Thrillho is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 08-06-2010, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Ah yes, Thrillho is correct. I keep forgetting that we are discussing a Mobile 4xxx chip.
vladd is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off