Official Dell Zino 410 HTPC - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 794 Old 10-19-2010, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Java Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3lions View Post

Hi Jack
Nice review

You mentioned on your blog that Dell had a Black Friday deal. If you don't mind, could you give us an indication as to the discount? I know there is no guarantee that it will be the same this year but it might be worth waiting if the discount was significant

Thanks

As I recall, they dropped the entry level system price down to $199 on black friday and that the original price was around $239. I think they also had free shipping.

I don't know if they plan on having this part of black friday this year or not.

Regards.
Java

There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary, and those that don't.

AMD@Home Blog: http://links.amd.com/Home
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Java_Jack
Java Jack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 08:39 AM
Newbie
 
chrikenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the Zino 410 with the blu-ray DVD drive be used for playback of 3D blu-ray discs if attached to a 3D-capable TV via HDMI?

Or does one need a special 3d blu-ray drive to playback 3d blu-ray discs?

Edit: Or does the ATI 5450 video card not support 3D?
chrikenn is offline  
post #213 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Java Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by phy88 View Post

I don't think that link is a good example since the flash server adjusts the quality and bitrate dynamically. In any case, the 6850/4330 plays that video smoothly with and without gpu acceleration (I didn't notice any quality difference):

Available: 5277kbps
Current Bitrate: 4060kbps
With GPU acceleration: Plays smoothly, CPU 30-50%
Without GPU acceleration: Plays smoothly, CPU 70-90%

On the other hand, this youtube 1080 flash video trailer isn't smooth with or without acceleration:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=siQgD9qOhRs

With GPU acceleration: Noticeable dropped frames, CPU 60%
Without GPU acceleration: Slight stutter, CPU 90-100%

So I did a quick check with this clip on my demo box. Results seem a little odd and probably require a deeper dive to better understand what is happening given the difference between Accel. on and off.

While I would not say it was completely stutter free, it played very good. The observable stutter was really during the scene in congress and even that was only slight. Rest of clip played very well with very little observable stutter. During the action sequences, it was hard to see any real stutter. That may be because the editing was so quick, it was not noticable. Likewise, during the slo mo scenes, it would be hard to tell what was stutter and what was slo mo.

Now, I would say a clip may not truly relate what watching a full length, 1080P movie streamed over the internet might be like. I would prefer to watch something for 15-30 mins to get a sense of how the experience might be.

However, with that said, while the clip was not perfect, it did play very good with only slight stutter during parts of the clip.

With GPU acceleration, CPU was ~55 -65%
Without GPU acceleration, CPU was ~60-70%

Regards.
Java

There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary, and those that don't.

AMD@Home Blog: http://links.amd.com/Home
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Java_Jack
Java Jack is offline  
post #214 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Java Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrikenn View Post

Can the Zino 410 with the blu-ray DVD drive be used for playback of 3D blu-ray discs if attached to a 3D-capable TV via HDMI?

Or does one need a special 3d blu-ray drive to playback 3d blu-ray discs?

Edit: Or does the ATI 5450 video card not support 3D?

I don't believe you will be able to play Blu-ray 3D on this unit at this time. It may be something that is supported at a later date, not sure. However, right now, I think the answer is not right now.

Regards.
Java

There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary, and those that don't.

AMD@Home Blog: http://links.amd.com/Home
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Java_Jack
Java Jack is offline  
post #215 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 1,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Java,

In your opinion, if all I wanted to do was
  1. Play DVD's (not BD)
  2. Watch OTA HD content delivered from an HDHomeRun, including DVR functions
  3. Play 720P or less resolution Internet content

All on my 50" plasma, would the basic entry level Zino 410 work?
David James is offline  
post #216 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Java Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David James View Post

Java,

In your opinion, if all I wanted to do was
  1. Play DVD's (not BD)
  2. Watch OTA HD content delivered from an HDHomeRun, including DVR functions
  3. Play 720P or less resolution Internet content

All on my 50" plasma, would the basic entry level Zino 410 work?

Yes, I believe so. In fact, I am doing that with the previous version Zino already. I think it would be fine for that.

Regards.
Java

There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary, and those that don't.

AMD@Home Blog: http://links.amd.com/Home
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Java_Jack
Java Jack is offline  
post #217 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 1,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Java Jack View Post

Yes, I believe so. In fact, I am doing that with the previous version Zino already. I think it would be fine for that.

Excellent, thank you sir.
David James is offline  
post #218 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by R1Budha View Post

my testing with a BlacX Duet says the ports DO NOT support PM's.

The BlacX works fine on a add on Sil card in another computer and none of the drives are recognized via eSata in the ZinoHD.
Kinda sad really.

But at least they supply two to begin with.

(BTW the BlacX Duet works fine when connected via USB to the ZinoHD)

I have the following information from a very reliable source (do not have a port multiplier based eSATA storage tower myself):

Quote:


The eSata port does support multiple devices. One issue we have seen with eSata is sometimes the cheaper cables don't have enough of the connector exposed to make a solid connection into the system. There are some cables that expose more of the connector then others. We have tested this and also have seen where certain cables don't plug in far enough into the system and the devices are never detected.


Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #219 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Java Jack View Post

So I did a quick check with this clip on my demo box. Results seem a little odd and probably require a deeper dive to better understand what is happening given the difference between Accel. on and off.

While I would not say it was completely stutter free, it played very good. The observable stutter was really during the scene in congress and even that was only slight. Rest of clip played very well with very little observable stutter. During the action sequences, it was hard to see any real stutter. That may be because the editing was so quick, it was not noticable. Likewise, during the slo mo scenes, it would be hard to tell what was stutter and what was slo mo.

Now, I would say a clip may not truly relate what watching a full length, 1080P movie streamed over the internet might be like. I would prefer to watch something for 15-30 mins to get a sense of how the experience might be.

However, with that said, while the clip was not perfect, it did play very good with only slight stutter during parts of the clip.

With GPU acceleration, CPU was ~55 -65%
Without GPU acceleration, CPU was ~60-70%

Was Flash acceleration ever enabled by drivers in the 4xxx IGP ? I remember having a long exchange with AMD/ATI PR about lack of Flash acceleration support in the older ATI GPUs, but don't recollect exactly as to whether it was for the 3xxx standalone GPUs or it included the 4xxx IGP.

Anyways, I think the 5450 should have no issues with this. I will check it in my review unit ( Just finished collecting some gaming benchmarks last night -- The review is making slow progress ).

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #220 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Java Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

Was Flash acceleration ever enabled by drivers in the 4xxx IGP ? I remember having a long exchange with AMD/ATI PR about lack of Flash acceleration support in the older ATI GPUs, but don't recollect exactly as to whether it was for the 3xxx standalone GPUs or it included the 4xxx IGP.

Anyways, I think the 5450 should have no issues with this. I will check it in my review unit ( Just finished collecting some gaming benchmarks last night -- The review is making slow progress ).

Yes, h/w accel of flash was enabled on the 3xxx IGP. I don't recall at which driver release it was enabled but it was right around the time that flash 10.1 came out that we released a driver update that enabled h/w accel. of flash.

Therefore, the 4xxx series should have it by default.

Regards.
Java

There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary, and those that don't.

AMD@Home Blog: http://links.amd.com/Home
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Java_Jack
Java Jack is offline  
post #221 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Java Jack View Post

Yes, h/w accel of flash was enabled on the 3xxx IGP. I don't recall at which driver release it was enabled but it was right around the time that flash 10.1 came out that we released a driver update that enabled h/w accel. of flash.

Therefore, the 4xxx series should have it by default.

In my exchange with Dave Erskine of AMD PR, it was mentioned that that Flash acceleration would be available only for UVD 2 enabled GPUs. So the 3xxx as well as the 3xxx IGP don't fall in that category.

The 4xxx IGP does, though. So, theoretically, the base configuration of Zino 410 should have Flash acceleration. You will need to dig deeper

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #222 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
klas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Java Jack View Post

So I did a quick check with this clip on my demo box. Results seem a little odd and probably require a deeper dive to better understand what is happening given the difference between Accel. on and off.

While I would not say it was completely stutter free, it played very good. The observable stutter was really during the scene in congress and even that was only slight. Rest of clip played very well with very little observable stutter. During the action sequences, it was hard to see any real stutter. That may be because the editing was so quick, it was not noticable. Likewise, during the slo mo scenes, it would be hard to tell what was stutter and what was slo mo.

Now, I would say a clip may not truly relate what watching a full length, 1080P movie streamed over the internet might be like. I would prefer to watch something for 15-30 mins to get a sense of how the experience might be.

However, with that said, while the clip was not perfect, it did play very good with only slight stutter during parts of the clip.

With GPU acceleration, CPU was ~55 -65%
Without GPU acceleration, CPU was ~60-70%

That's a bit disappointing and I wonder if Quad Core will eliminate this issue?

Mac Mini HTPC (Win7)
klas is offline  
post #223 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Java Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually. The Radeon 3200 IGP is uvd 2 and does support h/w acceleration. I have had it working since last year. I even posted some results on it in another thread here.

Regards.
Java

There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary, and those that don't.

AMD@Home Blog: http://links.amd.com/Home
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Java_Jack
Java Jack is offline  
post #224 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by klas View Post

That's a bit disappointing and I wonder if Quad Core will eliminate this issue?

I still think the quad core + 5450 is the best option to go with even if you are not planning to play Blu-Rays right now. That way, this HTPC will be a 2 - 3 year investment. If you get the lower end config you are probably going to upgrade next year itself Just my 2 cents.. your particular situation might call for a different choice.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #225 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Java Jack View Post

Actually. The Radeon 3200 IGP is uvd 2 and does support h/w acceleration. I have had it working since last year. I even posted some results on it in another thread here.

I know Wikipedia is not a trusted source, but, maybe AMD PR needs someone on the lookout over there as it is referred to most often:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AMD_700...rated_graphics

Can you link me to your Flash acceleration piece on the 3200 IGP?

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #226 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Java Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

I know Wikipedia is not a trusted source, but, maybe AMD PR needs someone on the lookout over there as it is referred to most often:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AMD_700...rated_graphics

Can you link me to your Flash acceleration piece on the 3200 IGP?

It was in the 2nd blog post I did on the original Dell Zino HD.

http://blogs.amd.com/home/2009/11/30...piron-zino-hd/

Regards.
Java

There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary, and those that don't.

AMD@Home Blog: http://links.amd.com/Home
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Java_Jack
Java Jack is offline  
post #227 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 01:17 PM
Newbie
 
matdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New too zino's.Can you install 2 ssd for OS only, leave the rest on original hhd?
Also what up with option #5 in dell store is it the some or some old components, because it will send you to another web page then the rest of the options?
matdx is offline  
post #228 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Java Jack View Post

It was in the 2nd blog post I did on the original Dell Zino HD.

http://blogs.amd.com/home/2009/11/30...piron-zino-hd/

Jay,

I perused the piece and it looks like you upgraded to a newer processor and also to the 4330 Mobility Radeon add-on (the equivalent to this in the Zino 410 would be the 5450 add-on, right?).

I am sure the Mobility Radeons in the 4xxx have UVD 2 and Flash acceleration works fine. I had commented about the integrated 3xxx IGP in the chipset of your original config, which I understand comes with the mobo and is not an add-on card.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #229 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Java Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did the upgrade on the gpu after I did the flash testing on the IGP. If you look at the paragraph just above the table I spell out what I used for the testing.

I tested with both the 3250 and the 6850 but posted the results of the 6850 CPU. The gpu was the 780g chipset.

I know for a fact that h/w acceleration works on the 780g and 780m chipsets because I am using it at home. I also worked with the team enabling uvd on the 780 and was one of the early testers before it was released.

Regards.
Java

There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary, and those that don't.

AMD@Home Blog: http://links.amd.com/Home
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Java_Jack
Java Jack is offline  
post #230 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Java Jack View Post

I did the upgrade on the gpu after I did the flash testing on the IGP. If you look at the paragraph just above the table I spell out what I used for the testing.

I tested with both the 3250 and the 6850 but posted the results of the 6850 CPU. The gpu was the 780g chipset.

I know for a fact that h/w acceleration works on the 780g and 780m chipsets because I am using it at home. I also worked with the team enabling uvd on the 780 and was one of the early testers before it was released.

OK, point taken. I saw that your first paragraph mentioned you had an updated config and then I jumped directly to the Flash testing section. My mistake

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #231 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 02:06 PM
Member
 
phy88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Java Jack View Post

So I did a quick check with this clip on my demo box. Results seem a little odd and probably require a deeper dive to better understand what is happening given the difference between Accel. on and off.

While I would not say it was completely stutter free, it played very good. The observable stutter was really during the scene in congress and even that was only slight. Rest of clip played very well with very little observable stutter. During the action sequences, it was hard to see any real stutter. That may be because the editing was so quick, it was not noticable. Likewise, during the slo mo scenes, it would be hard to tell what was stutter and what was slo mo.

Now, I would say a clip may not truly relate what watching a full length, 1080P movie streamed over the internet might be like. I would prefer to watch something for 15-30 mins to get a sense of how the experience might be.

However, with that said, while the clip was not perfect, it did play very good with only slight stutter during parts of the clip.

With GPU acceleration, CPU was ~55 -65%
Without GPU acceleration, CPU was ~60-70%

That is very disappointing. Based on your description, the playback is nearly identical on the 6850, which means the P340/P520 is no improvement at all. In my opinion, that type of playback does not qualify as 'very good'. There should be no hesitation or slight stutter at any point. Anyway, thanks for checking.

I'd be interested to see how the P940 performs (and if it has the same issues), but with the current configuration, the price just makes no sense for me (I'd rather just build a more powerful i3 system for that price, as size of the case is not a concern).
phy88 is offline  
post #232 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by matdx View Post

Also what up with option #5 in dell store is it the some or some old components, because it will send you to another web page then the rest of the options?

It appears to be the same configuration, just at a lower price. I was thinking about going with the $499 option and adding a BD drive, but since the top option is now just $150 more and you get the better processor, more ram, bigger hard drive and the BD player all for about what it would cost for me just to add the BD player myself it seems like a no brainer. Of course I don't really need the extra ram or hard drive space but it's all good. Not really sure why they still have both options listed, but one for $100 less.
David Scott is offline  
post #233 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
klas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by phy88 View Post

That is very disappointing. Based on your description, the playback is nearly identical on the 6850, which means the P340/P520 is no improvement at all. In my opinion, that type of playback does not qualify as 'very good'. There should be no hesitation or slight stutter at any point. Anyway, thanks for checking.

I'd be interested to see how the P940 performs (and if it has the same issues), but with the current configuration, the price just makes no sense for me (I'd rather just build a more powerful i3 system for that price, as size of the case is not a concern).

That's exactly my thinking. I guess I will stick to my 6850 w/ 4330 a bit longer, unless quad core proves to be more exciting then this.

Mac Mini HTPC (Win7)
klas is offline  
post #234 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 08:53 PM
Member
 
R1Budha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
interestingly, i downloaded the iron man trailers and then played them from local storage as flv files....

no skips.
no stutters
no stalls.

maybe its youtube that is the problem........


btw , the only stutter i saw in the congress scene was from bad encoding as it happens on any system i use. and always at exactly the same time.
R1Budha is offline  
post #235 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Java Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could also be my work network. Some times get stutters on my laptop with files as well

Regards.
Java

There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary, and those that don't.

AMD@Home Blog: http://links.amd.com/Home
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Java_Jack
Java Jack is offline  
post #236 of 794 Old 10-20-2010, 10:38 PM
Member
 
phy88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by R1Budha View Post

interestingly, i downloaded the iron man trailers and then played them from local storage as flv files....

no skips.
no stutters
no stalls.

maybe its youtube that is the problem........


btw , the only stutter i saw in the congress scene was from bad encoding as it happens on any system i use. and always at exactly the same time.

Unlike the 6850/4330 zino, my i7 and Q9450 systems on the same network play that particular video fine (though I agree youtube's encoding is still a bit off). Regardless, the network can't be an issue if you let the video load completely.

Anyway, I'd be interested to see the win 7 performance score for P340/P520.
phy88 is offline  
post #237 of 794 Old 10-21-2010, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
oaklandnative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Java Jack View Post

So I did a quick check with this clip on my demo box. Results seem a little odd and probably require a deeper dive to better understand what is happening given the difference between Accel. on and off.

While I would not say it was completely stutter free, it played very good. The observable stutter was really during the scene in congress and even that was only slight. Rest of clip played very well with very little observable stutter...

However, with that said, while the clip was not perfect, it did play very good with only slight stutter during parts of the clip.

With GPU acceleration, CPU was ~55 -65%
Without GPU acceleration, CPU was ~60-70%

Just to be clear, are you saying the stutter happened only when GPU acceleration was off or was the stutter present even with GPU acceleration? Thanks for all your tests!
oaklandnative is offline  
post #238 of 794 Old 10-21-2010, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bri4jenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Incase anybody is interested there is an active coupon that works on the Zino for $35 off any system with a pre-discount price of $699. I hope this helps someone. Use coupon code CVTMP6XQ8KV1VV. This offer ends 10/30/2010.

Also, don't forget to use Discover Cashback to get an extra 5% off.
bri4jenn is offline  
post #239 of 794 Old 10-21-2010, 09:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bri4jenn View Post

Incase anybody is interested there is anactive coupon that works on the Zino for $35 off any system with a pre-discount price of $699. I hope this helps someone. Use coupon code CVTMP6XQ8KV1VV. This offer ends 10/30/2010.

Also, don't forget to use Discover Cashback to get an extra 5% off.

got any more coupons? that one is redeemed already...thanks!
David Scott is offline  
post #240 of 794 Old 10-22-2010, 05:23 AM
Member
 
chopchop0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bri4jenn View Post

Incase anybody is interested there is anactive coupon that works on the Zino for $35 off any system with a pre-discount price of $699. I hope this helps someone. Use coupon code CVTMP6XQ8KV1VV. This offer ends 10/30/2010.

Also, don't forget to use Discover Cashback to get an extra 5% off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Scott View Post

got any more coupons? that one is redeemed already...thanks!

It was probably single-use or something.

Dell does release some pretty good coupons from time to time for their outlet store. In a couple of months, these Zinos will probably be hitting the outlet as S&D or refurbs, and after a 20-25% discount, you can get a pretty good price on this system.

I've had good luck with my dell refurb desktop so far, and it comes with a 1-yr warranty.
chopchop0 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off