PSA: The SageTV HD300 is available for pre-order! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Although this has already been posted in the streamers forum, I'm sure there are a number of people here that might want the head's up.

SageTV has announced the HD300 extender! You can get all the details from the Sage site, but the two (check that) Three big ones are:

HDMI 1.3 support for bitstreaming TrueHD/DTSHDMA - Check!

-Edit- Now with 400% more FLAC! (Reports from Sage that they have 7.1 FLAC support working.) Audio encoded in 5.1 or 7.1 FLAC will be decoded and output as 5.1 or 7.1 PCM via HDMI!

Price - $150

Check it out: www.sagetv.com

First look review here: http://www.geektonic.com/2010/08/nex...r-arrives.html


-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Looks like they fixed all my gripes with the 200 and they made it cheaper to boot!. It might be time to switch from 7mc to sage, especially with my movies.

missingremote also has a review up.
Derek K. is offline  
post #3 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 10:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Definitely makes things interesting. Right now it looks like the biggest roadblock is no support for multi channel LPCM (so I guess you could say the mkv + FLAC guys won't be running to the HD300 anytime soon).

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #4 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

(so I guess you could say the mkv + FLAC guys won't be running to the HD300 anytime soon).

Eh... Who needs them. They smell anyway.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #5 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 10:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

Eh... Who needs them. They smell anyway.

-Suntan

Lol... When they come knocking on this thread I don't know you

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #6 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

missingremote also has a review up.

And my first unboxing video
babgvant is offline  
post #7 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 10:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

And my first unboxing video

Andy - do you have an HD200? If so would you recommend that there is enough with the HD300 for current HD200 owners to upgrade?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #8 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Right now it looks like the biggest roadblock is no support for multi channel LPCM...

I'm trying to figure out if that will be an issue for me. I have a few disney bd's with only lpcm. I guess I could rerip those 2 or 3 movies, but I'd rather not.
Derek K. is offline  
post #9 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 11:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek K. View Post

I'm trying to figure out if that will be an issue for me. I have a few disney bd's with only lpcm. I guess I could rerip those 2 or 3 movies, but I'd rather not.

I think maybe Casino Royale and a few others are lpcm for me. I guess you could rerip and convert the lpcm to DTS?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #10 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
missing lpcm is strange. I'd think that would be the easiest audio to do. why can't they just pass it along to the external decoder and let it do its thing?
Derek K. is offline  
post #11 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
tlmaclennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Garden Grove, CA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I could never get LPCM to work in my rips correctly. I have them converted to FLAC, which the HD300 supports. Plus I have my older rips from before I was able to bitstream that are in FLAC. I gave up on LPCM.

SageTV has really interested me lately. I'd like to get away from the Time Warner Cable HD-DVR, it's monthly fees, and lack of storage. But the biggest issue it that we like the OnDemand services and have HBO and Showtime. From what I can tell nothing other then the HD-DVR provided by the cable company can play and record these channels. It really is disappointing.
tlmaclennan is offline  
post #12 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 12:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlmaclennan View Post

I could never get LPCM to work in my rips correctly. I have them converted to FLAC, which the HD300 supports. Plus I have my older rips from before I was able to bitstream that are in FLAC. I gave up on LPCM.

SageTV has really interested me lately. I'd like to get away from the Time Warner Cable HD-DVR, it's monthly fees, and lack of storage. But the biggest issue it that we like the OnDemand services and have HBO and Showtime. From what I can tell nothing other then the HD-DVR provided by the cable company can play and record these channels. It really is disappointing.

Pretty sure it applies to flac as well, the hd300 will decode and send out as 2ch stereo

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #13 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Andy - do you have an HD200? If so would you recommend that there is enough with the HD300 for current HD200 owners to upgrade?

I used to have one. Sold it several months ago because I was frustrated with the lack of WOL and local DTS decoding (for DVDs). If those or HDMI 1.3 aren't blocking features I'm not sure it's worth the jump just for the better form factor and UI speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

I think maybe Casino Royale and a few others are lpcm for me. I guess you could rerip and convert the lpcm to DTS?

CR has a TrueHD track (it's my AVC/THD test file )

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Pretty sure it applies to flac as well, the hd300 will decode and send out as 2ch stereo

It does. Any audio decoded on the device can only output as stereo.
babgvant is offline  
post #14 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlmaclennan View Post

But the biggest issue it that we like the OnDemand services and have HBO and Showtime. From what I can tell nothing other then the HD-DVR provided by the cable company can play and record these channels. It really is disappointing.

Can the default cable player box (not their DVR, but the basic box you get from them) play the HBO and on demand stuff? If so, I would assume you could get Sage to record/DVR them by way of an HD PVR 1212 capture device. But I haven't had cable since before they offered DVR or on demand so I don't know for sure.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #15 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 02:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Andy - do you have an HD200? If so would you recommend that there is enough with the HD300 for current HD200 owners to upgrade?

If you use standalone mode, it's definitely worth it, it's way, way faster there. Otherwise I echo Andy's thoughts. If you don't care about HDMI 1.3, DTS decoding, the IR receiver, WOL, or the programmable remote, then it's a harder sell.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
post #16 of 46 Old 08-31-2010, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:


or the programmable remote, then it's a harder sell.

The programmable remote will be available independently through the Sage website at a later date.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #17 of 46 Old 09-01-2010, 04:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Writeup/Review by Geektonic (i.e. Brent Evans):

http://www.geektonic.com/2010/08/sag...geektonic.html

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #18 of 46 Old 09-01-2010, 05:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Writeup/Review by Geektonic (i.e. Brent Evans):

http://www.geektonic.com/2010/08/sag...geektonic.html

no multi-channel lpcm. bummer. it is _so_ close, too.

looks like I need to re-rip a few disney bds.
Derek K. is offline  
post #19 of 46 Old 09-01-2010, 09:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Where's the lack of PCM info coming from? I don't recall seeing anything official that it doesn't support it. (Unfortunately I don't have the equipment to test it).

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
post #20 of 46 Old 09-01-2010, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post

Where's the lack of PCM info coming from? I don't recall seeing anything official that it doesn't support it. (Unfortunately I don't have the equipment to test it).

The HD300 will play files with multi-channel LPCM but it down mixes to stereo.
babgvant is offline  
post #21 of 46 Old 09-01-2010, 09:45 AM
Super Moderator
 
Bob Sorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,454
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Right now it looks like the biggest roadblock is no support for multi channel LPCM (so I guess you could say the mkv + FLAC guys won't be running to the HD300 anytime soon).

You got that right. All of my rips are .MKV with multi-channel FLAC (even the LPCM tracks have been re-encoded to FLAC). You would think that with the popularity of FLAC that some company, somewhere would support it, but it just doesn't seem to be happening. I guess my HTPC will be sticking around for a long time to come...
Bob Sorel is offline  
post #22 of 46 Old 09-01-2010, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sorel View Post

You got that right. All of my rips are .MKV with multi-channel FLAC (even the LPCM tracks have been re-encoded to FLAC). You would think that with the popularity of FLAC that some company, somewhere would support it, but it just doesn't seem to be happening.I guess my HTPC will be sticking around for a long time to come...

If you haven't already asked for multi-channel FLAC support submit a request; Sage is really good about adding features that people want - especially ones that should be free (ignoring development costs).
babgvant is offline  
post #23 of 46 Old 09-01-2010, 09:58 AM
Super Moderator
 
Bob Sorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,454
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
If you haven't already asked for multi-channel FLAC support submit a request; Sage is really good about adding features that people want - especially ones that should be free (ignoring development costs).

I will do just that...thanks!

Edit: I sent them this message, short and sweet:
Quote:
Hello,

I am interested in purchasing SageTV, but from what I understand, you do not support the FLAC codec. There are quite a lot of us folks who rip our Blu-rays and remux to .MKV. In doing so, we decode both TrueHD and DTS-HD MA audio to LPCM and then re-encode to multi-channel FLAC – the same with raw LPCM tracks. If SageTV were to support such a format, I feel confident that you would gain a significant amount of new customers for your product.

Sincerely,

Bob Sorel
AVS Forum HTPC moderator

Bob Sorel is offline  
post #24 of 46 Old 09-01-2010, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
To be clear the HD300 does support FLAC playback, it (like every audio codec decoded on the device) is output as stereo.
babgvant is offline  
post #25 of 46 Old 09-01-2010, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

To be clear the HD300 does support FLAC playback, it (like every audio codec decoded on the device) is output as stereo.

A firmware update was released tonight that addresses this. Non Dolby/DTS multi-channel formats are output as multi-channel PCM now.
babgvant is offline  
post #26 of 46 Old 09-02-2010, 06:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

A firmware update was released tonight that addresses this. Non Dolby/DTS multi-channel formats are output as multi-channel PCM now.

so now bd rips with lpcm only tracks output lpcm (no downmix)?
Derek K. is offline  
post #27 of 46 Old 09-02-2010, 06:13 AM
Super Moderator
 
Bob Sorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,454
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:


A firmware update was released tonight that addresses this. Non Dolby/DTS multi-channel formats are output as multi-channel PCM now.

Does that mean that multi-channel FLAC inside of .MKV will be decoded and sent out as multi-channel PCM? I know it seems like you already answered my question, but I am asking about multi-channel FLAC specifically. I also want to be sure that the channels are properly mapped 1:1.
Bob Sorel is offline  
post #28 of 46 Old 09-02-2010, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sorel View Post

I also want to be sure that the channels are properly mapped 1:1.

Picky, picky...

It doesn't hurt to have clarity on these matters, multi-channel PCM and multi-channel FLAC support are really the last hurtles in making this thing the Bee's Knees for a lot of people. I too hope they get both PCM and FLAC completely sorted, even though I don't use them much.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #29 of 46 Old 09-02-2010, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

A firmware update was released tonight that addresses this. Non Dolby/DTS multi-channel formats are output as multi-channel PCM now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sorel View Post

Does that mean that multi-channel FLAC inside of .MKV will be decoded and sent out as multi-channel PCM? I know it seems like you already answered my question, but I am asking about multi-channel FLAC specifically. I also want to be sure that the channels are properly mapped 1:1.

Yes. I only did some quick tests last night to make sure audio was present in the surrounds and it seemed to be mapped correctly. Channel mapping with special audio files is on the todo list.
babgvant is offline  
post #30 of 46 Old 09-02-2010, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I think I know the answer to this question, but can the extender (or sage - doesn't matter to me) encode lpcm audio on the fly to dd or dts like pdvd does?
Derek K. is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off