Asus Blu Ray drive didn't come with software... now what? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 09-18-2010, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
krillbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I recently purchased an Asus Blu Ray drive but I didn't realize that it didn't come with software until now. Returning this drive is not an option that I want to explore. I would rather pay the extra for my mistake and buy software seperately as it would save the headache of having to do a return.

I didn't realize that Blu Ray playback software was so expensive. I found out that the retail version of the drive I bought would have come with Cyberlink software. On Cyberlink's site, their cheapest Power DVD software that supports Blu Ray is $100, over double the price I paid for this drive.

I found Intervideo WinDVD Pro software for $40 online that will support Blu Ray, but I've heard bad things about WinDVD online.

I've searched ebay, but it's hard to find the "pro" or "ultra" versions that support Blu Ray.

Does anyone have advice on what software I should get if I want to spend the least amount of money possible?
krillbee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 09-18-2010, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jedi2016's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I would say "spend nothing" and get the software from Asus. If it was supposed to be packaged with the drive, then you need to contact the manufacturer and have them send it to you. No reason at all to spend a penny extra.

Welcome to Rivendell, Mister Anderson.
Jedi2016 is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 09-18-2010, 10:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
krillbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi2016 View Post

I would say "spend nothing" and get the software from Asus. If it was supposed to be packaged with the drive, then you need to contact the manufacturer and have them send it to you. No reason at all to spend a penny extra.

You don't understand. I don't think it was supposed to come with anything. All I got was the metal drive and an antistatic bag around it. It came in a cardboard shipping box.
krillbee is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 09-18-2010, 10:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by krillbee View Post

You don't understand. I don't think it was supposed to come with anything. All I got was the metal drive and an antistatic bag around it. It came in a cardboard shipping box.

Wouldn't it be cheaper to return it and get a drive that has the software you need?
ack_bk is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 09-18-2010, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
krillbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ack_bk View Post

Wouldn't it be cheaper to return it and get a drive that has the software you need?

The nearest post office is 40 minutes away.
Cheaper? Perhaps. Worth it? Not necessarily.
krillbee is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 09-19-2010, 12:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Craigslue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like you need to check the HTPC forum.
Craigslue is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 09-19-2010, 02:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stevie76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arvika, Sweden
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try out the trial version of Total Media Theatre 3:

http://www.arcsoft.com/estore/softwa...ductCode=TMT3P

Works brilliantly with every disc. I had Cyberlink PowerDVD before that, but some discs just wouldn´t play on that software.
Stevie76 is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 09-19-2010, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
msgohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Assuming you know that your post was moved, I would also recommend TMT3. Haven't tried WinDVD but I much prefer it to PowerDVD.
msgohan is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 09-19-2010, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Jermmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here's a link for TMT for $49.

Joe
Jermmd is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 09-19-2010, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Before buying anything, I would make sure the drive will properly read and playback BDs. Try MPC-HC since it is free and can playback BDs.

http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net/
audit13 is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 09-19-2010, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ogormask's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure why no one mentioned this but what you most likely purchased was an OEM drive meaning its barebones or just comes with the drive. What you may want to have purchased was a retail version which normally comes with software in this case. You might want to check where you purchased it and see if they have the retail version and explain them your mistake and see if they will swap you. Usually retail isnt that much more and in this case would save you some money. I know liteon drives usually come with software.
ogormask is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 09-19-2010, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
mcantu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

Before buying anything, I would make sure the drive will properly read and playback BDs. Try MPC-HC since it is free and can playback BDs.

http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net/


how do i make sure that hardware acceleration is turned on when using mpc-hc for bd's?
mcantu1 is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 09-19-2010, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dollars, Taxes
Posts: 2,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The "free" software that sometimes shipped with drives is usually 2 channel stereo so you end up having to buy it anyway to get surround.
Bob7145 is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 09-20-2010, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 2,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

Before buying anything, I would make sure the drive will properly read and playback BDs. Try MPC-HC since it is free and can playback BDs.

http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net/

MPC-HC will NOT play BD from disk, only ripped from the hard drive.
jdcrox is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 09-20-2010, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdcrox View Post

MPC-HC will NOT play BD from disk, only ripped from the hard drive.

I didn't know that. Thanks for the information.

Personally, I'm using the Asus version of TMT3 that came with my HDAV 1.3.
audit13 is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 09-20-2010, 07:48 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try the trial of TMT (no Dolby) to see if everything (no Dolby) (just switch everything to pcm in audio settings) works. Then decide,the player you'd like, which should be determined on your AVRs capability and if you own AnyDvdHD.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 09-20-2010, 11:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Guitar1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogormask View Post

Not sure why no one mentioned this but what you most likely purchased was an OEM drive meaning its barebones or just comes with the drive. What you may want to have purchased was a retail version which normally comes with software in this case. You might want to check where you purchased it and see if they have the retail version and explain them your mistake and see if they will swap you. Usually retail isnt that much more and in this case would save you some money. I know liteon drives usually come with software.

I bought an OEM version of the ASUS drive and it came with a CD. It had a old version of pdvd - I ended up upgrading anyways
Guitar1969 is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 09-21-2010, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't have any Blu-Ray playback software and I can watch Blu-Rays just fine. How? I rip to MKV.

Don't worry about TMT or PDVD, they all stink anyway. Just rip to MKV and you are good to go. You will need to get ANYDVD, but that is a virtual requirement for any HTPC anyway.

As others have said, the software the comes with the retail version of your drive is crippleware anyway so you don't really gain anything by getting the retail version, unless you are OK with stereo only sound. However, I bet if you were, you wouldn't be here in the first place.
davdev is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 09-21-2010, 11:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
SugarBowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You should be able to find PowerDVD 9 Ultra for cheap.
SugarBowl is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 09-21-2010, 11:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
lovemyram4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob7145 View Post

The "free" software that sometimes shipped with drives is usually 2 channel stereo so you end up having to buy it anyway to get surround.

If you're using passthrough/bitstreaming this doesn't matter, I used my PDVD 7 that came w/ my BD/ HD DVD rom until I switched to TMT 3 and it didn't matter that it was only 2 channel version because I ran it in pass through mode.

lovemyram4x4 is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 09-21-2010, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdunnill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guitar1969 View Post

I bought an OEM version of the ASUS drive and it came with a CD. It had a old version of pdvd - I ended up upgrading anyways

Mine had nothing bundled with it.

Blu-ray: 50+
HD-DVD: 23
DVD: 600+ and lost count
rdunnill is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off