HDMI audio keeps switching from 5.1 to stereo - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2010, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
DQL
Newbie
 
DQL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My system:
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P Media PC with an ATI 4670 video card running Win7 x64
Realtek ATI HDMI audio driver

HDMI cable goes to a Yamaha RX-v3900 receiver

Pioneer KRP-600M plasma display connected to the Yamaha.

If the Pioneer is fully powered down and a boot the computer, it sees the Yamaha and the HDMI driver displays a "5.1" option in its speaker config, and everything works great. If the Pioneer is powered up however, the HDMI driver only shows the stereo option in the speaker config and I don't get any 5.1 sound to the Yamaha.

I am guessing the Realtek driver is trying to automatically configure for the capabilities of the device at the other end of the HDMI cable, and the Yamaha is passing through the Pioneer audio config instead of it's own.

Is there any solution to this? I would really like to just hardwire the audio driver to always put out 5.1 no matter what.

Thanks!
DQL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2010, 11:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Well every HDMI receiver should have an option for HDMI audio that can be set to either one of (something along the lines of):

-AMP
-AMP + TV

If it's set to "AMP + TV" then the audio properties of the television (i.e. usually 2ch stereo and sometimes DD as well) will be relayed to the output device. (Note that as a result of this setting both your TV and the receiver will get audio.) If it's set to AMP, the audio properties of the TV should be ignored and it should reflect the capabilities of the receiever.

Have you checked that setting on your receiver?
ES_Revenge is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 02:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,984
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Ok, here's an idea in case you cannot find a any other way to get it to work. The Geffen HDMI Detective. It sits between the sound card and the AVR, and remembers the EDID of your AVR, feeding it back into the soundcard even if you turn off the AVR. The soundcard thinks it's still there and stays in 5.1 mode.

Deadwood Atmos theater
AV7702 Atmos 7.4.4, SSP-800 PLIIx 7.4
Aerial Acoustics 7B/CC3B fronts, B&W CWM8180 surrounds, Tannoy Di6 DC heights, Hsu ULS-15 subs
Roger Dressler is online now  
Old 09-21-2010, 11:04 AM
Member
 
jackodagreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
DQL,
I think I was having the same problem, but I was using the ATI HDMI driver. Everytime I changed the channel on my TV, the soundcard (5450) and AVR (onkyo 807) would lose the TV "handshake"; therefore, when I turned the TV's input back to the AVR/HTPC it would change the output from ATI HDMI to "speakers." In my "playback devices," I just "disabled" the options other than HDMI (they can always be re-enabled later). Now I can turn the AVR on/off, change channels on TV, and whatever without ever having the HTPC change to speakers...hope it helps.
jackodagreat is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Set your Yamaha amp to strip the audio from the HDMI and not pass it to the downstream device. In my case it makes sense as I have a speraker-less projector as my display. In your case it would eliminate the PC from seeing anything further than the A/V receiver.

Also, set your control panel to NOT refresh the EDID info unless you force it. This will cut back on this issue as well.

Another thing is to set the audio in your PC to NOT generate 5.1 from stereo audio. This has caused my Onkyo to be switching modes every time a commercial comes on, or I switch between sources. The receiver sees DD 5.1 during DVDs and TV and then 'simulated' 5.1 PCM during stereo upconversion... of course, not all mobos have this capability.
Andrew Hornfeck is online now  
Old 09-22-2010, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
DQL
Newbie
 
DQL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ES_Revenge View Post

Well every HDMI receiver should have an option for HDMI audio that can be set to either one of (something along the lines of):

-AMP
-AMP + TV

If it's set to "AMP + TV" then the audio properties of the television (i.e. usually 2ch stereo and sometimes DD as well) will be relayed to the output device. (Note that as a result of this setting both your TV and the receiver will get audio.) If it's set to AMP, the audio properties of the TV should be ignored and it should reflect the capabilities of the receiever.

Have you checked that setting on your receiver?


ES_Revenge, that was it, thanks for the help! I had it set that way because for a while I was trying to have the Yamaha feed two TVs (one of which has speakers) but that didn't work for other reasons.
DQL is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off