how to get dts-hd output on laptop - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-13-2010, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
infamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a dell studio 1667 with a ati video card that has HDMI output.....everything works fine but I can't send dts-hd or dolby-hd over hdmi cuase my video card doesn't support that....is there another way, can i buy something to do this?

also, i've read that i can do uncompressed "LCM?" but how does that differ from dts-hd or dolby-hd??
infamo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-13-2010, 08:56 AM
Member
 
gimpgutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I'm aware of, there are no commercially available external soundcards for a laptop that can process and bitstream HD audio codecs.

Going back to your question on LPCM, you can still get DTS-HD and TrueHD that way. The difference is where the signal is decoded. If you choose LPCM, the laptop decodes the audio signal and will send the uncompressed digital stream to the receiver.

Bitstream is often compared to a zip file. It is a compressed version of the digital signal sent out and the receiver will decode the audio signal instead of the computer.

Overall, the information IS identical whether you let the computer or receiver do the work. The difference between the two is related to how the receiver handles the signal. Some do not have the ability to apply bass management and room correction to LPCM, but can to Bitstream or vice versa.

From what I read on www.notebookcheck.net , only the AMD Radeon 5600 series or higher can bitstream in a laptop, but I couldn't find any confirmation where someone actually did this.

If your laptop can support 7.1 channel LPCM via HDMI, then you should be just fine.
gimpgutter is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-15-2010, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Is it possible that your Ati video card does not support bitstreaming?

I know that the desktop 4xxx series do not support bitstreaming while the 5xxx series can bitstream with the right software.
audit13 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 10-15-2010, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hirent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In my imagination!
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by infamo View Post

I have a dell studio 1667 with a ati video card that has HDMI output.......is there another way, can i buy something to do this?
also, i've read that i can do uncompressed "LCM?" but how does that differ from dts-hd or dolby-hd??

Which card do you have?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpgutter View Post

From what I read on www.notebookcheck.net , only the AMD Radeon 5600 series or higher can bitstream in a laptop, but I couldn't find any confirmation where someone actually did this.

Well, I have the 5450 in my tablet and the HD Codecs show up in audio properties but I haven't tried BD playback on here; don't know if it works.
hirent is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 10-17-2010, 11:25 AM
Newbie
 
Sporac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

Is it possible that your Ati video card does not support bitstreaming?

I know that the desktop 4xxx series do not support bitstreaming while the 5xxx series can bitstream with the right software.

I have the Dell Inspiron 14R with i5 with ati 5470. It bitstream to my Onkyo 608 no problem.
Sporac is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-17-2010, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sporac View Post

I have the Dell Inspiron 14R with i5 with ati 5470. It bitstream to my Onkyo 608 no problem.

That's good to know. I could also get an MSI i3 laptop with Intel HD graphics to bitstream as well.
audit13 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-17-2010, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
zicoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpgutter View Post

From what I read on www.notebookcheck.net , only the AMD Radeon 5600 series or higher can bitstream in a laptop, but I couldn't find any confirmation where someone actually did this.

According to AMD.com it's 5400 and up.

http://www.amd.com/us/products/noteb...y-hd-5400.aspx
zicoz is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off