Netflix streaming 1080i and 5.1 for PS but not PC... yet - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 54 Old 10-23-2010, 10:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 686
I've streamed with my PS3 since the disc based streaming came out and have always been quite impressed with the PQ .. the diskless upgrade has improved upon what was already pretty good, at least on the HD material ..

Over the last few years, many threads on AVS have debated the timeframe issue regarding when high def streams will become more the norm than the exception for the population at large ..

I'll say Netflix has just shortened that window ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 54 Old 10-23-2010, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 1,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Using the new Netflix app on my PS3, I watched one movie and parts of another but only got stereo. Is there something special needed to get 5.1? I don't subscribe to high def in Netflix (yet), is that a prereq?
David James is offline  
post #33 of 54 Old 10-23-2010, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I did not know you could subscribe to high def Netflix. I thought hi def needs a movie available in hi def, (many are not), and possibly a 3MB or higher broadband connection to the internet.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #34 of 54 Old 10-23-2010, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by David James View Post

Using the new Netflix app on my PS3, I watched one movie and parts of another but only got stereo. Is there something special needed to get 5.1? I don't subscribe to high def in Netflix (yet), is that a prereq?

Not all movies are available to stream in HD w 5.1.

That said, I do not believe you need to have BR rentals selected to get HD streams. If it is availalbe in HD, and you have at least 2600Kbps continuous, you should get HD.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #35 of 54 Old 10-23-2010, 10:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 1,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

I did not know you could subscribe to high def Netflix. I thought hi def needs a movie available in hi def, (many are not), and possibly a 3MB or higher broadband connection to the internet.

To get high def it costs $2.00 a month more and yes not many are. During my trial I signed up for it then dropped it after. I may sign up again though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

Not all movies are available to stream in HD w 5.1.

That said, I do not believe you need to have BR rentals selected to get HD streams. If it is availalbe in HD, and you have at least 2600Kbps continuous, you should get HD.

-Suntan

Thanks, I was thinking that so I tried to see online which movies had 5.1 and I saw it mentioned but I couldn't see any differentiation between 5.1 on the DVD versus streamed.
David James is offline  
post #36 of 54 Old 10-24-2010, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Sorry, I am signed up for blu-ray disks and I did not know being signed up was tied to hi def streaming.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #37 of 54 Old 10-28-2010, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
dja2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have bluray access on my netflix and I still get HD streaming. Being that PS3 got 5.1 audio, will other devices offer that in the future? I just got rid of my PS3 and bought a standalone Panasonic bluray player .

dja2k
dja2k is offline  
post #38 of 54 Old 10-28-2010, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by David James View Post

Using the new Netflix app on my PS3, I watched one movie and parts of another but only got stereo. Is there something special needed to get 5.1? I don't subscribe to high def in Netflix (yet), is that a prereq?

You have to choose 5.1 at least once. Long discussion on the PS3 forum here.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #39 of 54 Old 10-28-2010, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

You have to choose 5.1 at least once. Long discussion on the PS3 forum here.

Please fix your link. It is not working for me. I would like to read the discussion.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #40 of 54 Old 10-29-2010, 12:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 1,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

Please fix your link. It is not working for me. I would like to read the discussion.

I found this, although I haven't tried it to see if it works.
Quote:


Its an option when viewing the full-screen listing in the new PS3 layout.

If the title has 5.1 (will show 5.1 next to name at top of screen), then on the left where it shows "Play, Add/Remove to/from Instant Queue, Rate the title" there will also be an option of "Audio and subtitles". Go in there and switch it to 5.1.

It should remember this setting for future titles, although I've found some which did not for some reason.

It's in this forum in the gaming section.

TornadoTJ - You could have saved even more time by just responding - look around, or better yet, not even bother
David James is offline  
post #41 of 54 Old 10-29-2010, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
There's no technical reason that 5.1 audio can't be pushed to the PC. For the PS3, they are using IIS Smooth Streaming technology to stream a .ismv file for the video track and a .isma file for the audio track and they are using Microsoft PlayReady for DRM. So their Silverlight player already supports these (a version upgrade may be required though).
vladd is offline  
post #42 of 54 Old 10-29-2010, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

There's no technical reason that 5.1 audio can't be pushed to the PC.

Well, there is a technical reason. Netflix isn't sending out the 5.1 streams to computers...

Not trying to be flippant, but just pointing it out in case someone is still confused and trying to get 1080/5.1 out of their firefox browser.

Right now, the only way to get 1080/5.1 is through the PS3 and it is so because Netflix is choosing to do it that way. I would assume it is only a matter of time before the Roku's and Xbox360's of the world get it too (and probably PCs at some point, but PCs have lagged behind hardware players on this front before.)

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #43 of 54 Old 10-29-2010, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by David James View Post

TornadoTJ - You could have saved even more time by just responding - look around, or better yet, not even bother

That's a little harsh. He did point out the solution for anyone wondering.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #44 of 54 Old 10-29-2010, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Yep, a little harsh. I could have just told you how to turn on 5.1, then you would have wondered why your PS3's interface looks different than the ones in the press releases, and different on each of your PS3's, or I could direct you to the PS3 forum where you can get PS3 specific answers rather than asking PS3 questions on the HTPC forum.

You might also like to know it's not working right for everyone, and there are different issues, soutions, and theories behind why.

Here's the thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1283366

I thought I was being helpful.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #45 of 54 Old 10-29-2010, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

Netflix isn't sending out the 5.1 streams to computers...

No kidding. I said there was no technical reason it couldn't be pushed to PCs. I didn't say there was no technical reason you couldn't get it on PCs.
vladd is offline  
post #46 of 54 Old 10-29-2010, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

No kidding. I said there was no technical reason it couldn't be pushed to PCs. I didn't say there was no technical reason you couldn't get it on PCs.

Calm down. My response was not aimed at you (like I said) but at anyone that didn't understand the nuanced difference between what you said, and what you didn't say.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #47 of 54 Old 10-29-2010, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I know. Rough day, sorry.
vladd is offline  
post #48 of 54 Old 10-30-2010, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

Yep, a little harsh. I could have just told you how to turn on 5.1, then you would have wondered why your PS3's interface looks different than the ones in the press releases, and different on each of your PS3's, or I could direct you to the PS3 forum where you can get PS3 specific answers rather than asking PS3 questions on the HTPC forum.

You might also like to know it's not working right for everyone, and there are different issues, soutions, and theories behind why.

Here's the thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1283366

I thought I was being helpful.

I was not aware of this thread. I am finding a lot of useful information, like the problem of exiting netflix with the PS3 button and necessary broadband speeds for 5.1 and 1080i.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #49 of 54 Old 10-30-2010, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I was a small gathering last night, and I was surprised how many people use Netflix streaming. One woman said she won't let her kids watch TV because they want the stuff on the commercials. With Netflix, no such problem. It more than pays for itself. No wonder Netflix is 20% of the nighttime Internet traffic!
Karyk is online now  
post #50 of 54 Old 11-01-2010, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Artslinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 1,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I read this interesting article the other day about MS dropping support for Silverlight on the PC. So maybe Sliverlight and the Netflix link on the PC has slowed the development of Netflix on PCs.

Maybe the release of Internet Explorer 9 and HTML 5 will give HTPC users some Netflix improvements.


"After years of touting Silverlight as its cross-platform solution for the web, Microsoft last week said it was dropping or at least deemphasizing the proprietary technology in favor of the truly open HTML 5 web standard. It will still continue to develop and improve Silverlight, but only in its use as the basis for Windows Phone applications. Silverlight on the web, for all intents and purposes, is dead.

"HTML is the only true cross platform solution for everything, including [Apple's] iOS platform," Microsoft president Bob Muglia told ZD Net's Mary Jo Foley. "Silverlight is our development platform for Windows Phone.""

http://www.windowsitpro.com/article/...lverlight.aspx
Artslinger is offline  
post #51 of 54 Old 11-04-2010, 01:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Anyone have info of the many BluRay standalone players that have Netflix streaming and TVs with built-in Netflix streaming will be getting updated soon to stream 1080/5.1?
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #52 of 54 Old 11-04-2010, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Nothing has been said officially. However, a betting man would have to guess that Netflix is going to roll it out to most of the hardware players that can support it as soon as they think wise. PC? That’s a different question. I wouldn’t be surprised to see PCs get the shaft for an extended period of time.

Roku has been claiming that “1080P” playback support would be rolled out on their top end players “Sometime in November” with a firmware update for a while on their website....

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #53 of 54 Old 11-05-2010, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wouldn't be surprised if SONY got a 1 year exclusive like MS and the XBox360 did.

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #54 of 54 Old 11-05-2010, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimwhite View Post

I wouldn't be surprised if SONY got a 1 year exclusive like MS and the XBox360 did.

That would only affect XBOX360 and Wii owners (and the Wii can't even do 1080.)

The Xbox360 exclusive was only against other game consoles. It didn't affect rokus or BR players.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off