AMD Radeon HD 6900, 6800, 6600 etc. Series Thread: Supporting HDMI 1.4a and BR 3D! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 255 Old 12-22-2010, 12:59 AM
Senior Member
 
micksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA, US
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Windows Sound Playback devices, AMD HDMI device, Configure, Speaker setup nothing worked except 7.1 setup. Test sound didn't work, I didn't go further.

This was before I reinstalled the drivers. Now this is irrelevant, every speaker setup can work now. Reinstalling the drivers fixed everything.
micksh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 255 Old 12-22-2010, 01:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You'll still have the MC sounds problem though, it's a bug. Unless they've fixed this with 10.12, which I don't think they've done.
Andy o is offline  
post #93 of 255 Old 12-22-2010, 01:22 AM
Senior Member
 
micksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA, US
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What MC sound problem? What did I miss?
micksh is offline  
post #94 of 255 Old 12-22-2010, 01:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This issue:
Quote:
Originally Posted by micksh View Post

Today I tried to watch live TV in Media Center and it didn't work.
I get error: Files needed to display video are not installed or not working correctly.
TV starts to show for few seconds, audio gets cycled, and then this error is displayed.

It's fixable by disabling MC menu sounds, or setting the mixer to stereo. Or using the Realtek driver. Although I don't know how that works with the 6000 series, I suspect it works the same as with the 5000 cards.
Andy o is offline  
post #95 of 255 Old 12-22-2010, 02:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,014
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post

This issue:


It's fixable by disabling MC menu sounds, or setting the mixer to stereo. Or using the Realtek driver. Although I don't know how that works with the 6000 series, I suspect it works the same as with the 5000 cards.

Yes, it works the same way with the 6850.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #96 of 255 Old 12-22-2010, 02:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You mean the Realtek driver?
Andy o is offline  
post #97 of 255 Old 12-22-2010, 02:44 AM
Senior Member
 
micksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA, US
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But I like MC menu sounds and I don't like setting MC sound to stereo. Digital TV broadcasts in 5.1 and I like to hear it in that way.

It's all working now and I still don't understand what I'm missing. I did have the problem that I reported but reinstalling drivers fixed it in my case. There was no need in Realtek. Everything seems to work now.
micksh is offline  
post #98 of 255 Old 12-22-2010, 02:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, you have the Windows mixer set to 7.1, MC menu sounds on, and aren't getting an error when using the 10.12 HDMI AMD driver? Are you bitstreaming Dolby Digital to your receiver when you watch Live or Recorded TV in MC?
Andy o is offline  
post #99 of 255 Old 12-22-2010, 03:03 AM
Senior Member
 
micksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA, US
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, everything is correct, except that I'm using 10.10e driver. 10.12a would also work in most cases except some blu-ray playback so I reverted to 10.10e.
micksh is offline  
post #100 of 255 Old 12-22-2010, 03:14 AM
Senior Member
 
micksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA, US
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If that sounds surprising - one thing that could be relevant: I have almost clean Windows 7 installation. Just upgraded from Vista few weeks ago with clean install. Installed Shark007 codecs, TMT3 and very few other programs. x86. 60Hz TV if that's relevant.
micksh is offline  
post #101 of 255 Old 12-28-2010, 08:03 AM
Newbie
 
imfletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all

I just picked up a 6850, replacing a 5750 for my HTPC. I have two separate issues, but the one i'm most interested in is this:

My receiver only does HDMI 1.3a, so i can't do full 3D passthrough to my TV (panny P65VT25). The newer 3D bluray players are solving this by having 2 HDMI outputs: 1 for HDMI 1.4 video to the TV, 1 for 1.3 audio to the receiver for TrueHD. This works quite well (i have the samsung C7900 doing just this).

I'm trying to accomplish the same with this card using a DisplayPort->HDMI converter. Ideally i'd be able to do the same as the converter preserves the protected path, etc. It seems i should be able to hook up the TV to one and the receiver to another, and get both video and sound. I can't, however, figure out how to do this. It seems that when i have the TV on the Displayport (via converter), the card will not send audio over HDMI. When i have the TV on the standard HDMI, there is no way to send audio over DisplayPort (despite saying so in the Specs).

Any ideas? I wish the drivers provided more control over the outputs.

On a separate note, using PowerDVD 10 Ultra Mark II, I can't get highdef sound (TrueHD, DTS Master). This worked perfectly on my 5750, but on my 6850 using 10.12, PowerDVD won't even give me the option for nonencoded highdef bitstream. Could be an issue with PDVD, but checking to see if others have this problem.

Thanks!
imfletcher is offline  
post #102 of 255 Old 12-30-2010, 11:00 PM
e55
Newbie
 
e55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by imfletcher View Post
Hello all

I just picked up a 6850, replacing a 5750 for my HTPC. I have two separate issues, but the one i'm most interested in is this:

My receiver only does HDMI 1.3a, so i can't do full 3D passthrough to my TV (panny P65VT25). The newer 3D bluray players are solving this by having 2 HDMI outputs: 1 for HDMI 1.4 video to the TV, 1 for 1.3 audio to the receiver for TrueHD. This works quite well (i have the samsung C7900 doing just this).

I'm trying to accomplish the same with this card using a DisplayPort->HDMI converter. Ideally i'd be able to do the same as the converter preserves the protected path, etc. It seems i should be able to hook up the TV to one and the receiver to another, and get both video and sound. I can't, however, figure out how to do this. It seems that when i have the TV on the Displayport (via converter), the card will not send audio over HDMI. When i have the TV on the standard HDMI, there is no way to send audio over DisplayPort (despite saying so in the Specs).

Any ideas? I wish the drivers provided more control over the outputs.

On a separate note, using PowerDVD 10 Ultra Mark II, I can't get highdef sound (TrueHD, DTS Master). This worked perfectly on my 5750, but on my 6850 using 10.12, PowerDVD won't even give me the option for nonencoded highdef bitstream. Could be an issue with PDVD, but checking to see if others have this problem.

Thanks!
Hi, all

I also tried split audio(HDMI1.3) and video(HDMI1.4) of blu-ray3D with HD6870 and succeeded in another way. HDMI1.4 display is JVC DLA-X7 and HDMI1.3 receiver is Integra DHC-80.1. http://monolith-theater.net/hal/?p=11099 (sorry in Japanese but summary and some figures in English)

Because Radeon has only one internal HDMI device under the present situation, split output is not capable,I think.

If the HDMI device, which is recognized in device manager was used for AMD HD3D (1080p 24Hz frame packing 3D video from HDMI connector), other onboard sound device or sound card was needed for audio pass through. So, I reluctantly used HDMI device of VGA(HD5870) as HDMI sound device. I think that HDMI1.4 receiver is better in AMD HD3D for full spec playback.

Moreover, HD5870 on catalyst10.12 cannot pass through HD audio with PowerDVD as you showed. There is no third option ,but second option works fine. It may be the issue due to current catalyst.

Thanks.
e55 is offline  
post #103 of 255 Old 12-31-2010, 06:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 762
I think it is time to replace my X3870

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #104 of 255 Old 12-31-2010, 08:23 AM
Newbie
 
imfletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It actually is sorta possible, but you have to do things a certain way
First, you have to uninstall the ATI HDMI Audio drivers, and install the audio drivers directly from realtek.com. This will allow PowerDVD to see it and passthrough TrueHD, etc.

Second, you have to hook up one at a time. I did DisplayPort to Receiver (via DP->HDMI adapter), got the audio working and made sure everything was fine. Then, i plugged the TV directly into the HDMI and put the desktops on Clone (it thinks it has 2 monitors, the receiver and the tv). The audio remained on DisplayPort while the Video went to both, so you can choose to use the one through the receiver or direct through TV. I can't confirm the last bit though, because despite their claims, PowerDVD won't do 3D on the ATI 6800 series, although they claim a patch is on the way.
imfletcher is offline  
post #105 of 255 Old 12-31-2010, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
micksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA, US
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why don't you use 10.10e driver? It is known that 10.12 broke PowerDVD HD audio, just check Catalyst 10.12 thread.
Maybe it broke 3D too, I don't know as I don't have 3D TV. 10.10e works fine for me, though. No need in Realtek. It seems to be more stable than 10.12a.
micksh is offline  
post #106 of 255 Old 01-01-2011, 01:57 PM
Newbie
 
imfletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by micksh View Post

Why don't you use 10.10e driver? It is known that 10.12 broke PowerDVD HD audio, just check Catalyst 10.12 thread.
Maybe it broke 3D too, I don't know as I don't have 3D TV. 10.10e works fine for me, though. No need in Realtek. It seems to be more stable than 10.12a.

I tried to go back, but it seems 10.12 is the first version to support the 6800 series of video cards (i have a 6850)
imfletcher is offline  
post #107 of 255 Old 01-01-2011, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,014
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by imfletcher View Post

I tried to go back, but it seems 10.12 is the first version to support the 6800 series of video cards (i have a 6850)

The 10.10 hotfixes (aka 10.10e, 10.10d, etc.) support the 6800 series. They do not support the 6900 series.

However, the 10.12 drivers fix DXVA acceleration for SD content as well, so you might not want to go back to 10.10.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #108 of 255 Old 01-01-2011, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dollars, Taxes
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Maybe 10.12a works? It shows in device manager as 10.11
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...12ahotfix.aspx

Driver Packaging Version 8.79.6.2-101215a-110532E
Catalyst Version 10.11
Provider ATI Technologies Inc.
2D Driver Version 8.01.01.1094
2D Driver File Path /REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet001/Control/CLASS/{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0001
Direct3D Version 8.14.10.0795
OpenGL Version 6.14.10.10315
Catalyst Control Center Version 2010.1215.2136.38682
Bob7145 is offline  
post #109 of 255 Old 01-02-2011, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
SAVholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Porta del Sol, PR
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My WEI got down to 6.6 from 7.8 since the 10.12 on my 6850...I know the rating is meaningless but I'm curious if anybody is experiencing this, re-installing the ccc does not "fix" this.

"My English is not very good looking" - Celia Cruz

SAVholic is offline  
post #110 of 255 Old 01-02-2011, 05:36 PM
Member
 
nijel8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Disable MorphoLogical AntiAliasing.
nijel8 is offline  
post #111 of 255 Old 01-02-2011, 06:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
SAVholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Porta del Sol, PR
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks! Just did that and my WEI went back up to 7.8... and my avg. FPS in L4D2 went from ~80 to ~120+

"My English is not very good looking" - Celia Cruz

SAVholic is offline  
post #112 of 255 Old 01-03-2011, 05:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
mariner888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DXVA playback of 1920x2160/60p and 3840x1080/60p video

Greetings everyone.

I'm thinking of upgrading from the 5670 to something that will provide smooth DXVA playback of 1920x2160/60p and 3840x1080/60p H264 video. These are 3D top/bottom and side-by-side encode of Panasonic x700 camcorder 1920x1080/60p clips. Would appreciate if you could kindly provide screen cap and decoder used in testing.

The 5670 could not handle the raw L4.2 Panasonic clip smoothly. It would be interesting to see if the new UVD 3.0 could do better.

No 3D TV is required for testing, a single normal display is sufficient. For those with dual display hooked up, you could use the Eyefinity feature to create 1920x2160 or 3840x1080 desktop spanned across two displays.

Name: 700_hL41_2D3D.mkv
Size: 125.28MB
Description: 3840x1080/60p 2Dto3D Side by Side L4.1
http://www.sendspace.com/file/9ty5jh

Name: 700_hL42_2D3D.mkv
Size: 125.28MB
Description: 3840x1080/60p 2Dto3D Side by Side L4.2
http://fs04u.sendspace.com/processupload.html

Name: 700_vL42_2D3D.mkv
Size: 125.41MB
Description: 1920x2160/60p 2Dto3D Top/bottom L4.2
http://www.sendspace.com/file/owupa4

Name: 700_v_2D3D.mkv
Size: 125.25MB
Description: 1920x1080/60p 2Dto3D Top/bottom L5.1
http://www.sendspace.com/file/hnw7q9

Name: 700_h18.mkv
Size: 94.72MB
Description: 3840x1080/60p 3D Side by Side L5.1
http://www.sendspace.com/file/e7h9yu

File name: 20100314_141414.m2ts
File description: Ginza Cat, raw Panasonic x700 1920x1080/60p mts L4.2
File size: 158.2 MB
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=3EBAWEWN

Many thanks for testing.

 

2Dto3D_h.txt 2.6689453125k . file
mariner888 is offline  
post #113 of 255 Old 01-03-2011, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
 
micksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA, US
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariner888 View Post

DXVA playback of 1920x2160/60p and 3840x1080/60p video

Are 68xx even supposed to have DXVA for H.264 level 5.1? I don't think so. I think only NVidia enabled DXVA for high profile level 5.1 recently.

Anyway, DXVA didn't work. Tried in MPC-HC (all internal filters) and PowerDVD 10. Video works but CPU usage is too high. TMT 3 gave blue screen (I never watch MKV in it actually). Sapphire 6850, 10.10e drivers, Single 2D HDTV.
micksh is offline  
post #114 of 255 Old 01-04-2011, 04:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
mariner888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by micksh View Post

Are 68xx even supposed to have DXVA for H.264 level 5.1? I don't think so. I think only NVidia enabled DXVA for high profile level 5.1 recently.

Anyway, DXVA didn't work. Tried in MPC-HC (all internal filters) and PowerDVD 10. Video works but CPU usage is too high. TMT 3 gave blue screen (I never watch MKV in it actually). Sapphire 6850, 10.10e drivers, Single 2D HDTV.

Greetings micksh. Many thanks for testing.

The UVD2 in 5670 could not playback the raw 1920x1080/60p L4.2 Panasonic clip smoothly in DXVA. Did the new UVD3 in 6x cards resolve this issue?

I've also posted a new L4.2 encode of the 1920x2160 top/bottom clip for your kind testing. Best regards.

Name: 700_vL42_2D3D.mkv
Size: 125.41MB
Description: 1920x2160/60p 2Dto3D Top/bottom L4.2
http://www.sendspace.com/file/owupa4
mariner888 is offline  
post #115 of 255 Old 01-04-2011, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dollars, Taxes
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Read thru the entire thread and noticed no one mentions you CAN play 3DBD with a 5xxx card. I bought a 6970 when purchasing a 120Hz 3D projector but tested it 1st with the 5870 before installing the 6970. Worked just fine in PDPD10 3D with hdmi 1.3 cable. The limiting factor seams to be the HDTVs. BR may be fine @ 24-30Hz but certainly not for gaming in 3D on an HDTV. Anyway, I bought a 6970 and turned out I did not need it. Gaming in 3D is awesome!
Bob7145 is offline  
post #116 of 255 Old 01-05-2011, 12:14 AM
Senior Member
 
micksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA, US
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariner888 View Post

Greetings micksh. Many thanks for testing.

The UVD2 in 5670 could not playback the raw 1920x1080/60p L4.2 Panasonic clip smoothly in DXVA. Did the new UVD3 in 6x cards resolve this issue?

I've also posted a new L4.2 encode of the 1920x2160 top/bottom clip for your kind testing. Best regards.

Name: 700_vL42_2D3D.mkv
Size: 125.41MB
Description: 1920x2160/60p 2Dto3D Top/bottom L4.2
http://www.sendspace.com/file/owupa4

OK. That level 4.2 file worked with DXVA.
DXVA didn't work in MPC-HC and PowerDVD 10 but it worked fine in ffdshow and TMT3.

On HTPC with HD6850 I have Core 2 Duo 3GHz (E8400). CPU usage was
60% - MPC-HC (internal video filters)
100% - PDVD 10
15% - WMP (ffdshow DXVA)
5% - TMT 3

For the previous 2 files (I tried only 2 first) I got the same CPU usage in MPC-HC and PDVD 10 but TMT3 and ffdshow didn't work at all. UPDATE: ffdshow actually worked. It appeared that I need to load some good file to WMP first, then it would play your files. Without DXVA though, 100% CPU usage. If I load your file first, WPM crashes.

I also have Geforce GTS 240 with latest drivers on desktop and I tried these. I don't have any blu-ray player installed but I can tell that none of these files worked in ffdshow and MPC-HC. Just black screen in MPC-HC. The only way I could play these was through VLC Player, with high CPU usage.

PS. Maybe I was wrong about level 5.1 DXVA. It looks like AMD video cards should support AVC profile 5.1. There is probably some limitation on frame size - your files have double frame size.

PS2. On both PCs I have DXVA working fine in every program for every level 4.1 1080p video. Latest stable ffdshow build from December.
micksh is offline  
post #117 of 255 Old 01-05-2011, 05:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
mariner888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Final piece of the puzzle

Below is the L4.2 encode of 3840x1080/60p side-by-side 3D video for your testing.

Here is a summary of your test results so far:

1. UVD3 does not support DXVA playback of 3840x1080/60p and 1920x2160/60p L5.1 H264 video 700_v_2D3D.mkv and 700_h18.mkv.

2. UVD3 supports smooth DXVA playback of 1920x2160/60p L4.2 H264 video 700_vL42_2D3D.mkv.

3. UVD3 supports smooth DXVA playback of raw Panasonic 1920x1080/60 28mbps L4.2 video 20100314_141414.m2ts.

4. 3840x1080/60p L4.2 video 700_hL42_2D3D.mkv?

Let me know if this is correct. Kindly post screen cap and indicate player/decoder used.

Many thanks and best regards.

Name: 700_hL42_2D3D.mkv
Size: 125.28MB
Description: 3840x1080/60p 2Dto3D Side by Side L4.2
http://www.sendspace.com/file/1d3ivb
mariner888 is offline  
post #118 of 255 Old 01-05-2011, 06:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob7145 View Post

Read thru the entire thread and noticed no one mentions you CAN play 3DBD with a 5xxx card. I bought a 6970 when purchasing a 120Hz 3D projector but tested it 1st with the 5870 before installing the 6970. Worked just fine in PDPD10 3D with hdmi 1.3 cable. The limiting factor seams to be the HDTVs. BR may be fine @ 24-30Hz but certainly not for gaming in 3D on an HDTV. Anyway, I bought a 6970 and turned out I did not need it. Gaming in 3D is awesome!

This is a well-known (kind of) fact: Confirmed fix for ATI 5000 series 120hz page flipped 3d output. HD 6xxx is still necessary for HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats (this is not your case of course).
renethx is offline  
post #119 of 255 Old 01-05-2011, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dollars, Taxes
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
This is a well-known (kind of) fact: Confirmed fix for ATI 5000 series 120hz page flipped 3d output. HD 6xxx is still necessary for HDMI 1.4a 3D video formats (this is not your case of course).
Thanks, well that would have saved a little experimentation had I read that thread! Don't normally search HTPC threads for 3D gaming ha ha. Not unhappy though. Moved the 5870 to rescue a 4870 CF rig that 1 card died in. Only problem so far is running an 3 x 1 60Hz Eyefinity group and a 120Hz projector at the same time. If I let it run long enough it will Blue Screen.
Bob7145 is offline  
post #120 of 255 Old 01-05-2011, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
micksh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose, CA, US
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariner888 View Post
Let me know if this is correct. Kindly post screen cap and indicate player/decoder used.
...
Description: 3840x1080/60p 2Dto3D Side by Side L4.2
http://fs04u.sendspace.com/processupload.html
That's correct. Decoder is ffdshow, beta 7 from December, ffmpeg-mt, used in Windows Media Player. Also whatever TMT3 is using internally. I will post a screenshot.

#3 - Standard resolution L4.2 worked on both PCs in every program with DXVA.

#2 - It's interesting that it looks like AMD HD6800 has an advantage over NVidia here. I believe GT 240 has the most recent NVidia engine - VP4, yet it could not show 1920x2160/60p L4.2 video with DXVA (neither could 5670, I understand) but 6850 could. At least in ffdshow; later I will install TMT3 on desktop and test.

#4 - you posted wrong link - processupload.html
micksh is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off