TotalMedia Theatre 5 - Page 124 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 3699 Old 09-19-2014, 02:52 PM
Newbie
 
djsecrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbailey75 View Post
I think the problem with the task bar and active window bit is KB2977629, uninstall it and let me know, seems to have fixed my issues.
That fixed it! I removed the update and all is well with my HTPC once again. Thanks for doing the detective work on this one! Is there some forum or method to provide feedback to Microsoft about this security update to let them know that it had unwanted side-effects?
djsecrist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 3699 Old 09-19-2014, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsecrist View Post
We aren't likely to get much help from Arcsoft on this one... Not only is it TMT5, but they appear to have dropped Total Media Theater completely, including the latest TMT6! I started a new thread on the Arcsoft forum about it. The product has completely disappeared from their website. http://www.arcsoft.com/forum/forum_p...ID=54364#54364

Has anyone tried TMT3 or TMT6? Or the latest version of TMT5? I haven't since I don't want to mess with Cinevia.
Yeah noticed that too, they have a listing now of "current products they support" and TMT is all-of-a-sudden not one of them. No wonder they had a sale on TMT just recently. Looks like the joke is on consumers. In their support forum it's not even mentioned either--very weird.


It's funny the way these companies work--so fly by night as it were. I mean I started out using PDVD and with the various issues and whatnot I eventually switched to TMT. Then TMT started to suck and back to PDVD I went for BD playback. While it's not perfect it's at least better than before. They're pretty bad for the updates too, both of them. Instead of updating AACS keys as any company would, they just eventually stop supporting older versions and just make a new one instead While the new versions are fine you'd at least expect them to release AACS updtates for every version just like consumer electronics BD player makers have to. I mean you can still play every BD on an old skool Sony or Panasonic, etc. player despite the fact that they're many model years on now. Not so with PDVD at least. Have to use AnyDVD if you want to use the old versions.


Corel's WinDVD did at least issues plain AACS updates IIRC, though it's not too popular a program outside of OEM and never seemed to have as many config options to me.


It's ashame MS doesn't offer some kind of BD playback pack for Windows at least; put these companies like Cyberlink and Arcsoft out to pasture.
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #3693 of 3699 Old 09-19-2014, 05:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbailey75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsecrist View Post
That fixed it! I removed the update and all is well with my HTPC once again. Thanks for doing the detective work on this one! Is there some forum or method to provide feedback to Microsoft about this security update to let them know that it had unwanted side-effects?
No idea, i'm still bummed about TMT, but with cinavia, i would think the market for these products was dwindling as there are too many other players out there, you might not get full menue and 3d maybe a problem, but hey Kodi (XBMC) is free, right.

I'm trying to find out where to down loaded the latest version of 6 for safe keeping.

glad there was an easy fix to this problem.

PSN: CAPTDANMAN
dbailey75 is offline  
post #3694 of 3699 Old 09-19-2014, 05:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbailey75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by ES_Revenge View Post

It's ashame MS doesn't offer some kind of BD playback pack for Windows at least; put these companies like Cyberlink and Arcsoft out to pasture.
this is where MS would have killed the apple TV, to bad MCE was ahead of its time and Bill did a crappy job Marketing a great product, the number of household with a PC, and they failed to cash in on it, on the other hand folks are buying these media streamer, and your grand parents are streaming with a raku, or the like.

but yeah, MCE with BD play back, would be a God of a media center, and I would be willing to pay $100-200 for it. as much time as i've spend reading and tweaking systems, having an all in one solution I'm all in. I'm still using MCE 7 with my ceton, and will continue until it just stops working.

PSN: CAPTDANMAN
dbailey75 is offline  
post #3695 of 3699 Old 09-19-2014, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Luke M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ES_Revenge View Post
While the new versions are fine you'd at least expect them to release AACS updtates for every version just like consumer electronics BD player makers have to. I mean you can still play every BD on an old skool Sony or Panasonic, etc. player despite the fact that they're many model years on now.
Do old hardware players really get updates? I know my Samsung hasn't been updated in a long time. I think the difference is that hardware players don't get AACS blacklisted/expired like software players do. I could be wrong though.
Luke M is online now  
post #3696 of 3699 Old 09-20-2014, 08:40 AM
Member
 
carefreepastor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For additional information and comments, see new thread Arcsoft TMT is done with FYI. TMT6 is no longer available, other than as a torrent, on the net.
carefreepastor is offline  
post #3697 of 3699 Old 09-20-2014, 05:14 PM
Newbie
 
cward0625's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Powerdvd 12 and it is not able to play bdmv, but it plays my iso files and discs fine bitstreaming DTS HD audio fine. DTS HD audio is also working fine with MPC-HC. However I got TMT6 to play my bdmv folders and setup to use for playing ISOs and discs via xbmc. TMT6 is not bitstreaming DTS HD audio for me. I have tried messing with the audio settings in the AV Center drop down in TMT 6 but still unable to get the DTS HD. I play the same ISO files and discs just through Power DVD to confirm I get DTSHD there, and then do the same in TMT6 and it does not work.

What am I missing? Is there a solution for this and if not is there an alternative program that one can use to play bdmv's, ISO files, and discs for 3D blu ray movies that supports DTS HD?

Thanks
cward0625 is offline  
post #3698 of 3699 Old Yesterday, 04:12 PM
Member
 
leftcoastjayhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have "cured" the flashing by the simple process of stopping the explorer.exe process. (Using Task Manager). Does not seem to have any negative effect on Windows Media Center or TMT for now. (my HTPC is dedicated to using Windows Media Center and rarely for anything else.) I'll have to stop explorer.exe again on the rare occasions that I reboot the HTPC, but this solution is working for now.
leftcoastjayhawk is offline  
post #3699 of 3699 Old Yesterday, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinwoodward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbailey75 View Post
this is where MS would have killed the apple TV, to bad MCE was ahead of its time and Bill did a crappy job Marketing a great product, the number of household with a PC, and they failed to cash in on it, on the other hand folks are buying these media streamer, and your grand parents are streaming with a raku, or the like.

but yeah, MCE with BD play back, would be a God of a media center, and I would be willing to pay $100-200 for it. as much time as i've spend reading and tweaking systems, having an all in one solution I'm all in. I'm still using MCE 7 with my ceton, and will continue until it just stops working.
Yes !! I couldn't agree more. If you think back they were late to the game with DVD playback as well.
They should do it, and let the surface do it as well.
kevinwoodward is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off