5.1 surround sound how to set up? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 18 Old 11-09-2010, 08:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 42
hello guys, i know that one of you can help me with my small problem,regarding on how to set up the speakers, this is my first time to own a 5.1 surround sound (philipps 1000W 5.1 channel upconvert dvd/divx player home theater system) and i dont know which speakers do i need to make louder or lower, do front speakers louder?or center speaker is louder?or rear speaker is louder?or subwoofer is louder? and i have 3 choices of sound and i dont know which one is the best to use while watching dvd movies and blu ray movies, and the choices are Dolby digital and dolby pro logic II, 5 channel speakers, and stereo. which is the best sound do i need to use while watching movies? i hope anyone will reply and i appreciate it. thanks. caloy.

Energy RC 70 fronts
Energy RC LCR center
Energy RC LCR surrounds
Rythmik LV12R and Mirage Omni 12 subwoofers
Denon 2112CI
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 11-09-2010, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 250
http://www.audioholics.com/tweaks/sp...d-sound-system

I'm guessing you don't have an spl meter so you'll need to adjust levels by ear.

Out of the three formats you mentioned, Dolby Digital is best.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 18 Old 11-10-2010, 04:23 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What is the model number?
Did you check the manual for some sort of calibration feature?
Also, does it play Blu-Ray discs or just DVDs?
The listening mode depends on what audio track you are watching, it can be DD, DTS, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD etc.
post #4 of 18 Old 11-10-2010, 05:51 AM - Thread Starter