XBMC Media Center : Setup Guide, Knowlege Base & Support - Page 113 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3361 of 3368 Old 07-23-2015, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,499
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 236
I'm always inches away from loving XBMC/KODI but there always seems to be a few roadblocks...

1. Like one billion audio/video/system settings. Yes, I think I've been told this is for flexibility, but I'm just not used to this coming from a PCH 400 that just played all files right...when it I got it to find the files, lmao.

2. Right now the issue is VC-1 file playback. Jumpy/frame drops all over the place...Back to the Future, Lethal Weapon, etc. All others seem to be fine. Anyone have any suggestion for the "magic setting"? I run an Intel NUC DN2820FYKH to a Marantz 7702 PRE PRO to an EPSON and Panny PJ.

I've reset all settings to default to no avail and tweaked what I could to no avail.

Really irritating. Almost as bad as trying to find an easy way of listing multiple "user favorites" on the home screen which seems- unbelievably so to me- miserably impossible.

Thanks for any help, here!

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3362 of 3368 Old 07-23-2015, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
sworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Try the interlacing/deinterlacing options. Sometimes it helps.
sworth is offline  
post #3363 of 3368 Old 07-29-2015, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Send a message via AIM to lovswr
TH

Loving Kodi/Isengard but whenever I make a change to the GUI, like changing from BIG LIST to THUMBNAIL under view: for movies, does not stay. Even if the screensaver comes on it changes back to the default. Is there a way to make my personal preferences permanent?

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
PSN = lovswr
XBOX Live = lovswr
lovswr is offline  
post #3364 of 3368 Old 08-13-2015, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,499
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Wondering how I can get XBMC to bitstream codes out to my Marantz 7702 pre pro. Currently it (the 7702) cannot down mix the LPCM multi channel it's seeing for the second zone so I'm wondering if it bit streams it if I'll have better luck.

Is my NUC incapable of doing it...running OPENELEC? http://www.amazon.com/Intel-DN2820FY...2&keywords=nuc

Still cannot get VC-1's to play without jumps, either.

Sigh.

Thanks
James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is offline  
post #3365 of 3368 Old 08-24-2015, 07:21 AM
Member
 
LucaT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys I'm still using XBMC gotham, I use it just for movies with external player mpc-hc/madVr, should I update to Isengard?
would I have any improvement for my use?

Thanks
LucaT is online now  
post #3366 of 3368 Old 08-24-2015, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
scott967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: hawai'i
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucaT View Post
Hi guys I'm still using XBMC gotham, I use it just for movies with external player mpc-hc/madVr, should I update to Isengard?
would I have any improvement for my use?
There is a fork of Kodi called "DS Player" that for a while has enabled using madVr. It is kept up to date with Kodi 15/Isengard. You might want to take a look at it. Check it out from here:
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=223175

scott s.
.
scott967 is online now  
post #3367 of 3368 Old Today, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
AXLCMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Jersey - USA
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Below is a PC I have laying around that I want to possibly use as a dedicated HTPC.

Does this PC have HD Audio and are there any other issues that I will have with connecting this to a new Denon A/V Receiver X4100W and playing DVD and Blu-ray rips and using it as a HTPC?

http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/doc/p...ocId=c03652398

I also will be putting all of my ripped movie files on a 8TB external harddrive:

http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Deskto.../dp/B00R45V3SW

Last edited by AXLCMT; Today at 11:08 AM.
AXLCMT is online now  
post #3368 of 3368 Old Today, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
scott967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: hawai'i
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXLCMT View Post
Below is a PC I have laying around that I want to possibly use as a dedicated HTPC.

Does this PC have HD Audio and are there any other issues that I will have with connecting this to a new Denon A/V Receiver X4100W and playing DVD and Blu-ray rips and using it as a HTPC?

http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/doc/p...ocId=c03652398

I also will be putting all of my ripped movie files on a 8TB external harddrive:

http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Deskto.../dp/B00R45V3SW

Not positive, but I'm guessing your PC has audio out on an SPDIF/optical connection which I think is limited to "DVD" level passthrough (dolby digital 5.1 or dts 5.1). If you want HD sound I believe you need something that supports sound output on HDMI (such as an NVidia GTX graphics card).

scott s.
.
scott967 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off