XBMC Media Center : Setup Guide, Knowlege Base & Support - Page 113 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3361 of 3371 Old 07-23-2015, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,502
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 241
I'm always inches away from loving XBMC/KODI but there always seems to be a few roadblocks...

1. Like one billion audio/video/system settings. Yes, I think I've been told this is for flexibility, but I'm just not used to this coming from a PCH 400 that just played all files right...when it I got it to find the files, lmao.

2. Right now the issue is VC-1 file playback. Jumpy/frame drops all over the place...Back to the Future, Lethal Weapon, etc. All others seem to be fine. Anyone have any suggestion for the "magic setting"? I run an Intel NUC DN2820FYKH to a Marantz 7702 PRE PRO to an EPSON and Panny PJ.

I've reset all settings to default to no avail and tweaked what I could to no avail.

Really irritating. Almost as bad as trying to find an easy way of listing multiple "user favorites" on the home screen which seems- unbelievably so to me- miserably impossible.

Thanks for any help, here!

James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3362 of 3371 Old 07-23-2015, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
sworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Try the interlacing/deinterlacing options. Sometimes it helps.
sworth is offline  
post #3363 of 3371 Old 07-29-2015, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Send a message via AIM to lovswr
TH

Loving Kodi/Isengard but whenever I make a change to the GUI, like changing from BIG LIST to THUMBNAIL under view: for movies, does not stay. Even if the screensaver comes on it changes back to the default. Is there a way to make my personal preferences permanent?

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
PSN = lovswr
XBOX Live = lovswr
lovswr is offline  
post #3364 of 3371 Old 08-13-2015, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,502
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Wondering how I can get XBMC to bitstream codes out to my Marantz 7702 pre pro. Currently it (the 7702) cannot down mix the LPCM multi channel it's seeing for the second zone so I'm wondering if it bit streams it if I'll have better luck.

Is my NUC incapable of doing it...running OPENELEC? http://www.amazon.com/Intel-DN2820FY...2&keywords=nuc

Still cannot get VC-1's to play without jumps, either.

Sigh.

Thanks
James

Actual phone call (see pic to left):

 

Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"

Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."

mastermaybe is online now  
post #3365 of 3371 Old 08-24-2015, 07:21 AM
Member
 
LucaT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys I'm still using XBMC gotham, I use it just for movies with external player mpc-hc/madVr, should I update to Isengard?
would I have any improvement for my use?

Thanks
LucaT is offline  
post #3366 of 3371 Old 08-24-2015, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
scott967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: hawai'i
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucaT View Post
Hi guys I'm still using XBMC gotham, I use it just for movies with external player mpc-hc/madVr, should I update to Isengard?
would I have any improvement for my use?
There is a fork of Kodi called "DS Player" that for a while has enabled using madVr. It is kept up to date with Kodi 15/Isengard. You might want to take a look at it. Check it out from here:
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=223175

scott s.
.
scott967 is offline  
post #3367 of 3371 Old 08-28-2015, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
AXLCMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Jersey - USA
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Below is a PC I have laying around that I want to possibly use as a dedicated HTPC.

Does this PC have HD Audio and are there any other issues that I will have with connecting this to a new Denon A/V Receiver X4100W and playing DVD and Blu-ray rips and using it as a HTPC?

http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/doc/p...ocId=c03652398

I also will be putting all of my ripped movie files on a 8TB external harddrive:

http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Deskto.../dp/B00R45V3SW

Last edited by AXLCMT; 08-28-2015 at 11:08 AM.
AXLCMT is offline  
post #3368 of 3371 Old 08-28-2015, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
scott967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: hawai'i
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXLCMT View Post
Below is a PC I have laying around that I want to possibly use as a dedicated HTPC.

Does this PC have HD Audio and are there any other issues that I will have with connecting this to a new Denon A/V Receiver X4100W and playing DVD and Blu-ray rips and using it as a HTPC?

http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/doc/p...ocId=c03652398

I also will be putting all of my ripped movie files on a 8TB external harddrive:

http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Deskto.../dp/B00R45V3SW

Not positive, but I'm guessing your PC has audio out on an SPDIF/optical connection which I think is limited to "DVD" level passthrough (dolby digital 5.1 or dts 5.1). If you want HD sound I believe you need something that supports sound output on HDMI (such as an NVidia GTX graphics card).

scott s.
.
scott967 is offline  
post #3369 of 3371 Old 08-29-2015, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
AXLCMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Jersey - USA
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott967 View Post
Not positive, but I'm guessing your PC has audio out on an SPDIF/optical connection which I think is limited to "DVD" level passthrough (dolby digital 5.1 or dts 5.1). If you want HD sound I believe you need something that supports sound output on HDMI (such as an NVidia GTX graphics card).

scott s.
.

Thanks Scott. I does have a HDMI connection in the back. Will that qualify what you describe as "HDMI (such as the NVidia GTX Graphics Card)"???
AXLCMT is offline  
post #3370 of 3371 Old 08-29-2015, 02:04 PM
Senior Member
 
scott967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: hawai'i
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXLCMT View Post
Thanks Scott. I does have a HDMI connection in the back. Will that qualify what you describe as "HDMI (such as the NVidia GTX Graphics Card)"???
I did some more reading on a user manual, and it appears that you can in windows sound playback tab options, you can set it for "Realtek HDMI Output". (You might need to change the settings to "show disabled devices" and enable it first, then it is available.) So my guess is you are good with that hardware.

So connect the HDMI out to a Denon input. In Kodi you need to go to the settings menu (I think you have to set to advanced or expert mode to see all options). In system/audio audio output device cycle through the outputs until you find the Realtek HDMI. I would try WASAPI first and if you don't get sound then try DirectSound. Then enable the passthrough and all the passthrough modes the Denon supports (I think way in the back of the Denon user manual there are charts that show exactly what formats can be used on HDMI inputs). I think also an option is to send 7.1 LCPM multi-channel. But you probably want your Denon to do all the audio processing.

I don't have any HD audio hardware, so I can't tell you from personal experience, but that I think is how it all works. I know there have been problems people have with some HD audio in Kodi and you might want to go to Kodi windows OS forum and search through some thread topics. It sounds like you have all the hardware and just want to set it up so maybe just give it a shot and see what happens.

You might need to have a display hooked up to the Denon to get the whole HDMI chain working.

scott s.
.
scott967 is offline  
post #3371 of 3371 Old 08-29-2015, 07:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
AXLCMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Jersey - USA
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott967 View Post
I did some more reading on a user manual, and it appears that you can in windows sound playback tab options, you can set it for "Realtek HDMI Output". (You might need to change the settings to "show disabled devices" and enable it first, then it is available.) So my guess is you are good with that hardware.

So connect the HDMI out to a Denon input. In Kodi you need to go to the settings menu (I think you have to set to advanced or expert mode to see all options). In system/audio audio output device cycle through the outputs until you find the Realtek HDMI. I would try WASAPI first and if you don't get sound then try DirectSound. Then enable the passthrough and all the passthrough modes the Denon supports (I think way in the back of the Denon user manual there are charts that show exactly what formats can be used on HDMI inputs). I think also an option is to send 7.1 LCPM multi-channel. But you probably want your Denon to do all the audio processing.

I don't have any HD audio hardware, so I can't tell you from personal experience, but that I think is how it all works. I know there have been problems people have with some HD audio in Kodi and you might want to go to Kodi windows OS forum and search through some thread topics. It sounds like you have all the hardware and just want to set it up so maybe just give it a shot and see what happens.

You might need to have a display hooked up to the Denon to get the whole HDMI chain working.

scott s.
.

Wow. Thanks Scott for taking the time to read my manuals and give me the inside scoop!
I'm just reading the first few pages of this thread and will read all 100+ pages word for word. I'm at the posts back in 2011 when Kodi/XBMC does not have HD Audio yet but there are talks back then of it eventually being added so I apologize for having to ask a question which is now probably a well known factor......Does Kodi have HD Audio? I'm assuming the answer is Yes, since your last post for me said I can do it with the correct settings.
AXLCMT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off