XBMC Media Center : Setup Guide, Knowlege Base & Support - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
frankspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone figured out a why to create custom directories like you could in MediaBrowser? Example being create a folder called James Bond and create shortcuts to all your Bond films in that folder then when you go to it in MB you only get Bond films.
frankspin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
bencorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankspin View Post

Has anyone figured out a why to create custom directories like you could in MediaBrowser? Example being create a folder called James Bond and create shortcuts to all your Bond films in that folder then when you go to it in MB you only get Bond films.

Create a movie set. As far as I know this has to be done with a metadata editing program like Ember Media Manager or another NFO editor. It will then link all the movies together under one title in XBMC. When you click on that title, it opens like a folder and shows you all the movies in the set.

Bencorn's Media Room
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bencorn is offline  
post #93 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GreenEyez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I thnink you can do that using the smart playlist feature with the create menu item feature in Aeon MQ. I saw something similar in the Aeon forum. Need to check it out.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


HTPC : AMD Zacate E350 with XBMC 10.00 + Aeon MQ
Storage : 6TB DLink NAS
GreenEyez is offline  
post #94 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GreenEyez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Found it

Navigate to Videos
(Press down arrow for submenu)
Select 'Playlists'
Select New Smart Playlists...

Type: Movies
Name of playlist: HD Movies (type whatever you desire)
Find items where:
Select New Rule...

Match Items Where:
First Option:
Navigate to: Video Resolution
Second Option:
Navigate to: Greater Than
Text Field:
Enter Value: 719
Select OK...

Select OK


Step Two: Add Playlist to Main Menu

> Settings
> Styles
> Shortcuts (Select = Right Arrow)
Navigate to: New Item

(Select)

Select: Add Video Playlist
Navigate to and then select desired Playlist
Enter Label When Asked (As you would like it to appear on the home menu, Will not effect Playlist. keep it short, HD Movies fits perfectly)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


HTPC : AMD Zacate E350 with XBMC 10.00 + Aeon MQ
Storage : 6TB DLink NAS
GreenEyez is offline  
post #95 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
frankspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you both, I will play around with both of those. I'm currently importing Bond movies and right now in MB I have "James Bond" folder, so I'd like to do the same with XBMC.
frankspin is offline  
post #96 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 11:34 AM
Member
 
Black993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Here is my writeup on using DSplayer:

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2010...sing-dsplayer/

It is basically a direct show player integrated into XBMC. It allows you to use your own filters/decoders (such as FFDshow, MPC, etc...) instead of the native XBMC ones

So this is not possible with a Dharma release yet, is that correct?
Black993 is offline  
post #97 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GreenEyez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
No, the new AE will be implemented in the next release, Eden, so it's going to be about 2 months until it gets released. Atm, the DS Player is the online one who can bitstream HD audio. A new updated version will be released when Dharma is going stable, this month.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


HTPC : AMD Zacate E350 with XBMC 10.00 + Aeon MQ
Storage : 6TB DLink NAS
GreenEyez is offline  
post #98 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dan4081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 32
That Netflix add-on is great news.

One thing you may want to add in to your installation how-to is how to enable the option for dds conversion of all thumbs, fanart and pictures. Its very simple to do and makes the ion based systems much faster when scrolling movie libraries or picture thumbnails in the pictures areas.
Since making the change my Revo feels like a new machine.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?t=59115

Revo Ion...XBMC For Windows...Dharma RC2
dan4081 is offline  
post #99 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
frankspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GreenEyez, creating a movie set is the recommended method by XBMC. The info is here: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Movie_Sets

I'm messing around with it now to see how well it works.

Edit: So far this has been a pain. It seems so simple and clear but definitely requires a bit of elbow grease to make it work properly.
frankspin is offline  
post #100 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
jimjimmyjones85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenEyez View Post

XBMC by default does not cycle backdrops, that`s one of the features since switching to XBMC from media browser. Some skins have some hacks that enable this, but most are just hackjobs.
Support for multiple backdrops in the XBMC trunk has been added as a feature request . Hope it gets approved.

Btw, here`s a config xml for those who want to have the update library function also clean the library at the same time : download . put it in : C:\\Users\\\\AppData\\Roaming\\XBMC\\UserData folder
I`ve also added it to the guide. I`ve also added the TMT5 playercore.xml file, alongside the TMT3 one.

I tried this but must be doing somehting wrong.

I have been trying to get my library to update, but it still shows deleted items as if they were still in the library.

This should not be, but I am not sure how clean it up.
jimjimmyjones85 is offline  
post #101 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GreenEyez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjimmyjones85 View Post

I tried this but must be doing somehting wrong.

I have been trying to get my library to update, but it still shows deleted items as if they were still in the library.

This should not be, but I am not sure how clean it up.

It must be putting it in the wrong place.
Here`s a screenshot of the entire path, so you can check out how it`s done.

If you still can`t manage to do it, send me a PM with the Teamviewer ID and pass and i`ll get on your sistem to resolve it. But i`m online going to be online 20 minutes max since i took a sleeping pill by accident and it`s making it`s effects.
LL


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


HTPC : AMD Zacate E350 with XBMC 10.00 + Aeon MQ
Storage : 6TB DLink NAS
GreenEyez is offline  
post #102 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
frankspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greeneyez I got Movie Sets working and there is a 20x easier way than what is suggested in the XBMC Wiki. This is what I did:

System>Add Ons>Get Add Ons>XBMC.org Add Ons>Web Interface
--Download XWMM

The go back to System>Network
--Enable "Allow Control of XBMC via HTTP
Change the port, username, etc as you see fit
--Set the web interface to XWMM

Go back to the main home menu of XBMC

From another device open a browser window and browse to the IP of your XBMC box followed by the port number so example would be http://192.168.1.10:80

Go to Tools>Manage Movie Sets
-Click Add
-Name your movie set
Do this for as many sets as you see fit

Click Close

On the left hand side will be your movie library. Go to each movie you want to be part of a set. Click on "Other Details" in the bottom right and you will see an option for "Set". Change it to the set of your choice and then you should see a blue disc icon appear next to the name of the movie on the left.

When you finish go back to your XBMC box and browse into your movies directory again and you'll see your sets showing up in your movie list.
frankspin is offline  
post #103 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 03:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Defcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 39
XWMM UI reminds me of Ember, which can also create movie sets. But Ember hasn't been updated in a while. I read the thread and someone mentioned it also supports updating the library in MySql, which would be really neat.
Defcon is offline  
post #104 of 3276 Old 12-14-2010, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
frankspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defcon View Post

XWMM UI reminds me of Ember, which can also create movie sets. But Ember hasn't been updated in a while. I read the thread and someone mentioned it also supports updating the library in MySql, which would be really neat.

Only reason I was trying to avoid Ember was for fear of it overwriting all my metadata as it has happened to me before.

XWMM was also the first webui I tried and it worked right away so I just stayed with that.
frankspin is offline  
post #105 of 3276 Old 12-15-2010, 04:18 PM
Member
 
Black993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankspin View Post

Is everything tagged properly?

A dumb question I know, but XBMC looks at files based on tags instead of file type?

What program do I need to tag them with in order for them to show up? I have mp3tag but this is new to me. Usually just dump them into a directory, and load that into itunes to put them on my phone. NEver had to deal with xbmc for music before. Appreciate any help or direction. Can PM if it will clutter up this thread.

Thanks
Black993 is offline  
post #106 of 3276 Old 12-15-2010, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
frankspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black993 View Post

A dumb question I know, but XBMC looks at files based on tags instead of file type?

What program do I need to tag them with in order for them to show up? I have mp3tag but this is new to me. Usually just dump them into a directory, and load that into itunes to put them on my phone. NEver had to deal with xbmc for music before. Appreciate any help or direction. Can PM if it will clutter up this thread.

Thanks

According to their Wiki it states things must be tagged properly: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Music_Library

Just drag an album at a time into mp3Tag and check to make sure they are tagged. When you're done, clear out what's in Mp3Tag and drag in the next one. I recommend doing an album at a time because if they're not properly tagged it will look like a mess in Mp3Tag.
frankspin is offline  
post #107 of 3276 Old 12-15-2010, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Black993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pulled a few albums into mp3tag, and there is tag info in them. In the wiki it states that the default for XBMC is to use the " / " to separate fields, but when I export a tag in mp3tag, it is separated by " - ". Could this be my issue?

Here is the export of a tag:

Code:
Mp3tag - File Overview

12/16/2010
Title   Artist  Album   Track   Year    Genre   Filename
Critical Acclaim        Avenged Sevenfold       Avenged Sevenfold       1       2007    Alternative     Critical Acclaim.mp3

build on 12/16/2010 with Mp3tag v2.47b - the universal Tag Editor www.mp3tag.de
Black993 is offline  
post #108 of 3276 Old 12-16-2010, 05:17 AM
Senior Member
 
frankspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black993 View Post

Pulled a few albums into mp3tag, and there is tag info in them. In the wiki it states that the default for XBMC is to use the " / " to separate fields, but when I export a tag in mp3tag, it is separated by " - ". Could this be my issue?

Here is the export of a tag:

Code:
Mp3tag - File Overview

12/16/2010
Title   Artist  Album   Track   Year    Genre   Filename
Critical Acclaim        Avenged Sevenfold       Avenged Sevenfold       1       2007    Alternative     Critical Acclaim.mp3

build on 12/16/2010 with Mp3tag v2.47b - the universal Tag Editor www.mp3tag.de

I can't imagine, I've used Mp3Tag without issue before. I hate to have you load more software but try out MediaMonkey and tag a couple albums. XBMC Wiki recommends that program, which I use together with mp3tag, so maybe they tag in a specific way that works.
frankspin is offline  
post #109 of 3276 Old 12-16-2010, 06:19 AM
Member
 
Black993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will give it a shot frankspin. Let ya know how it goes. Appreciate the help so far!
Black993 is offline  
post #110 of 3276 Old 12-17-2010, 08:34 AM
Senior Member
 
davidtt485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
i just wanna say i LOVED Media browser, but having made the switch i do like the interface of xbmc alot more... The DXVA works all the time no codecs or hacks... I have two issues though.

1. My media info is okay but when i click on a movie it makes me go into the folder and than i have to click the file... am i doing something wrong??

2. the auto refresh rate change doesnt work with 720p....
davidtt485 is offline  
post #111 of 3276 Old 12-17-2010, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbcain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
im noticing some heavy granulation in xbmc that i wasnt getting in 7mc with mkvs.

i3 system
jbcain is offline  
post #112 of 3276 Old 12-17-2010, 09:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidtt485 View Post


1. My media info is okay but when i click on a movie it makes me go into the folder and than i have to click the file... am i doing something wrong??

You need to be in Library mode

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #113 of 3276 Old 12-18-2010, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GreenEyez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Announcement : XBMC 10.10 aka Dharma is finally out : http://xbmc.org/theuni/2010/12/18/xbmc-10-0/

Get your copies kids


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


HTPC : AMD Zacate E350 with XBMC 10.00 + Aeon MQ
Storage : 6TB DLink NAS
GreenEyez is offline  
post #114 of 3276 Old 12-18-2010, 04:34 PM
Member
 
airduct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the greeneyez for the xbmc writeup...just a few quickquestions:

1) i am still on winxp pro... is your win 7 link a free copy? do i need a serial or activation code after i install it?

2) does media center master work for winxp?

3) do i need win7 to set this up? or can i stick with winxp? thanks... i'll continue reading the thread

4) fyi... just got the wd hd tv live plus...but i think i am going to install/setup a xbmc htpc
airduct is offline  
post #115 of 3276 Old 12-18-2010, 04:49 PM
Member
 
pchannan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are the Bluray HD audio issues fixed with Dharma?
pchannan is offline  
post #116 of 3276 Old 12-18-2010, 05:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by pchannan View Post

Are the Bluray HD audio issues fixed with Dharma?

What issues? Do you mean bitstreaming (which dharma cAnnot do) or are there issues with dharma decoding the hd audio?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #117 of 3276 Old 12-18-2010, 09:38 PM
Member
 
pchannan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I meant the bitstreaming...but I guess the answer is still no
pchannan is offline  
post #118 of 3276 Old 12-19-2010, 05:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by pchannan View Post

I meant the bitstreaming...but I guess the answer is still no

You need to use the DSPlayer build or have MPC HC launch

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #119 of 3276 Old 12-19-2010, 10:39 AM
Member
 
skool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does that mean final Dharma 10.0 doesn't support bitstreaming as well? Does it at least supports output lossless pcm of hd audio?
skool is offline  
post #120 of 3276 Old 12-19-2010, 11:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by skool View Post

Does that mean final Dharma 10.0 doesn't support bitstreaming as well? Does it at least supports output lossless pcm of hd audio?

Not sure why anyone was expecting dharma to support bitstreaming of hd audio, it was never hinted at nor was it a feature in any if the dharma beta/rc releases. I believe xbmc uses ffmpeg which currently does not support bitstreaming (ffdshow audio is what is needed which you get with the dsplayer version). As long as xbmc can decode the hd audio I am sure it would output as lpcm, not sure what it does with dts(hd) as there is no free decoder for this (maybe it grabs the core dts to decode?)

I do find it interesting that boxee which is a branch of xbmc supports bitstreaming hd audio already yet xbmc does not.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off