Media Player Classic Problems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 12-15-2010, 07:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
david_nc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Coastal NC
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use Media Player Classic to watch ripped BD's and DVD's. Tonight, I tried to watch Avatar after ripping it to a MKV file. It started but had no video. I rebooted and tried again. This time, it played fine, but there are no controls in MPC... by that I mean the skip, pause, play, stop, etc 'buttons' are all missing. Instead, I have a blue progress bar with a blue square for the indicator. The sound and video work fine. The only way I can exit the program is with ALT+F4. I rebooted and tried a couple of DVD rips that I played last night (when MPC was working fine.) I cannot get it working properly now. I'd love to hear any ideas or suggestions on how to get this back to working again. Thanks!

System specifics:
Win7 Enterprise (32-bit)
Asus 5550 HD (ATI) video card
Media Player Classic - Home Cinema 1.4.2758
ffdshow
david_nc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 12-15-2010, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by david_nc View Post

I use Media Player Classic to watch ripped BD's and DVD's. Tonight, I tried to watch Avatar after ripping it to a MKV file. It started but had no video. I rebooted and tried again. This time, it played fine, but there are no controls in MPC... by that I mean the skip, pause, play, stop, etc 'buttons' are all missing. Instead, I have a blue progress bar with a blue square for the indicator. The sound and video work fine. The only way I can exit the program is with ALT+F4. I rebooted and tried a couple of DVD rips that I played last night (when MPC was working fine.) I cannot get it working properly now. I'd love to hear any ideas or suggestions on how to get this back to working again. Thanks!

Sounds like you have D3D FullScreen enabled, as far as the navigation menus and such just re check them in the view menu.
Nimo is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 12-16-2010, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
david_nc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Coastal NC
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post

Sounds like you have D3D FullScreen enabled, as far as the navigation menus and such just re check them in the view menu.

I'll check the settings again, but I did have those selected in the view menu. Thanks.
david_nc is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-06-2012, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
adrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry for resurrecting an old thread. This is going to sound really stupid, but is there a way to turn off the On Screen Display (OSD) in Media Player Classic? I have no idea how, but somehow it turned itself on by accident. Per dozens of returns on Google I went to Options/Player/Other/Show OSD, but the option there was already non-ticked. What the heck is going on??
adrift is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-06-2012, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 185
CTRL-j ?
adrift likes this.
olyteddy is online now  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-07-2012, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
 
adrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

CTRL-j ?

Wow. I feel like an idiot, but that fixed it. I still can't believe there was absolutely no hint on how to turn on/off the OSD on any of my Google searches. Maybe my Google-fu was weak with this one.

Thanks!
adrift is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-07-2012, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pagali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrift View Post

Wow. I feel like an idiot, but that fixed it. I still can't believe there was absolutely no hint on how to turn on/off the OSD on any of my Google searches. Maybe my Google-fu was weak with this one.
Thanks!

I might be wrong on this, but I'm thinking that Ctrl-J is the command to turn on/off MadVR's Information OSD, not MPC-HC's. Maybe that's why you didn't find the info easily?
Pagali is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-07-2012, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pagali View Post

I might be wrong on this, but I'm thinking that Ctrl-J is the command to turn on/off MadVR's Information OSD, not MPC-HC's. Maybe that's why you didn't find the info easily?

I never saw OSD for MPC-HC, how do you turn that on/off?
Mike99 is online now  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-07-2012, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post

I never saw OSD for MPC-HC, how do you turn that on/off?
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1298535/media-player-classic-problems/0_40#post_22197314
olyteddy is online now  
post #10 of 12 Old 07-08-2012, 12:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 40

That says "Ctrl-J is the command to turn on/off MadVR's Information OSD, not MPC-HC's". That would mean there are 2 different types of OSD. Ctrl-J does nothing for me.
Mike99 is online now  
post #11 of 12 Old 07-08-2012, 03:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post

That says "Ctrl-J is the command to turn on/off MadVR's Information OSD, not MPC-HC's". That would mean there are 2 different types of OSD. Ctrl-J does nothing for me.
It's also the control to turn-off/on mpc-hc's Info OSD - but I think it depends which Outpout method you use whether or not it will display. - I think it only works with EVR Sync or EVR Custom Pres.
steelman1991 is online now  
post #12 of 12 Old 07-08-2012, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post

It's also the control to turn-off/on mpc-hc's Info OSD - but I think it depends which Outpout method you use whether or not it will display. - I think it only works with EVR Sync or EVR Custom Pres.

I just use MPC-HC once in a while to view a video, usually mpeg2 or vob.
Mike99 is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off